More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.7

Awesome48.52%
Worth A Look: 19.83%
Average: 4.64%
Pretty Bad: 7.17%
Total Crap: 19.83%

4 reviews, 213 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Back in Time (Fleet of Time) by Jay Seaver

Annie (2014) by Peter Sobczynski

Inherent Vice by Jay Seaver

Babadook, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hobbit, The: The Battle of the Five Armies by Peter Sobczynski

Strong Man, The by Jay Seaver

Top Five by Jay Seaver

Zero Motivation by Jay Seaver

Exodus: Gods and Kings by Peter Sobczynski

Imitation Game, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Forrest Gump
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"First-class entertainment that became a dartboard through overexposure."
5 stars

The commercials for "Forrest Gump" made it look like the sort of movie described as "wonderful" and "heartwarming"; fortunately, it's better than that.

I had read the book, by Winston Groom, and hoped the movie wouldn't lose the engaging voice of the novel -- the voice of Forrest Gump (IQ 75), a simple-minded, good-hearted Southern boy whose life is a series of whimsical, mildly satirical episodes. As it happens, Tom Hanks, as Gump, narrates the movie from a bus-stop bench and delivers many of Groom's best lines. The script isn't as funny as the novel -- the film's Gump isn't as much of a screw-up as the book's Gump -- but it's funny enough, and sometimes it hits daring notes. When Gump tells us that his childhood sweetheart Jenny is lucky to have a father who kisses and touches her and her sisters all the time, the line is funny because it's exactly what the blinkered, innocent Gump would assume. But it's also not funny. It's these examples of Gump's trusting nature being utterly inaccurate that save Forrest Gump from being mush.

The movie, directed by Robert Zemeckis, isn't meant to be taken literally; like many enchanting films, it falls apart under close scrutiny. Most people, though, won't have the heart to scrutinize it, and, aside from a few minor complaints, I see no need to, either. Its flaws don't do it any great harm; it's as comforting as an afternoon nap, but also as refreshing. Forrest Gump creates its own floating reality, and the problem many critics have with this is that it deals, in large part, with actual historical events (much of the film addresses Vietnam and the peace movement). The movie is meant to be American history as seen through the eyes of a man who understands very little of what he sees. And he speaks for people who can't make any more sense of the last three decades than he can.

In other words, Forrest Gump -- America considered through a folksy, satirical lens -- will annoy those who prefer their satire with a harder edge (i.e., satire that punctures the "correct" targets). The movie has drawn fire for being reactionary, and it may well become a favorite of conservatives, but I think that has more to do with what didn't survive the transition from book to movie (Groom's satire was more even-handed) because of time limitations. For example, the radical hippies of the peace movement are presented as slimy, predatory womanizers who slap their girlfriends around (one guy even does this and then blames it on "that goddamn Johnson"). But talk to some women who remember those days and they'll tell you this isn't far from the truth: The "sexual revolution" turned out to be a new, hip variation on the time-honored male ploy to get women to spread their legs, and we're still paying for it. The critics who want to be intellectually one up on the large, stupid wad of Americans who embrace this film are attacking the wrong movie for the wrong reasons. Forrest Gump, a proudly square fantasia, has much more to offer than a likable but coldly hip critics' darling like Four Weddings and a Funeral, and certainly more than the summer of 1994's crop of movies that don't ask you to feel anything -- The Shadow, Wyatt Earp, The Crow, The Flintstones, and on and on.

Almost 25 years ago, Pauline Kael wrote that the then-popular movie Joe (another counter-counterculture hit, all but forgotten today) could easily be turned into a Saturday-morning cartoon, and the episodic, virtually plotless Forrest Gump would also be ideal ("Gump Plays Football," "Gump Goes to Vietnam," "Gump Starts a Shrimping Business"). At two hours and twenty-two minutes, the movie is an epic ramble, with characters disappearing and reappearing as the story requires. Gump is a safe guide through the tumult of the '60s, the absurdity of the '70s, and the greed of the '80s. Jenny (played in adulthood by Robin Wright), on the other hand, seems to experience everything terrible about those decades: drugs, soulless sex, more abuse, more drugs, and one final pitfall that isn't in the book. Letting her pristine features collapse into numbness, Wright fleshes out Jenny's self-disgust. This masochistic woman isn't ready for Gump, who, in his infinite kindness, wants only to love her. She embodies American disillusionment, and she will probably make a lot of feminists foam at the mouth. I can't say I disagree; the book's Jenny certainly wasn't this self-hating (she was, in fact, more of a free spirit like Gump). Gump flies through the decades with nary a scratch, but a vague, doomy cloud hangs over poor Jenny, who always makes the worst choices. You may fairly ask what this woman is being punished for.

The movie, however, continues to see through Gump's eyes, and since he never judges or condemns Jenny, we clearly aren't meant to. Even the aforementioned feminists may forgive much when they see how tenderly Gump looks at Jenny (the camera agrees with him). Here, Tom Hanks cements his status as the movies' great modern romantic lead. Handsome (though not in a plastic cover-boy way -- especially not with the dorky Gump buzz-cut he's been given), non-threatening, emotionally direct, Hanks is the obvious successor to James Stewart, who in his early thirties would have done well by Gump. Hanks' Gump is as solemnly attentive as an owl, absorbing information he can't add up. But he's also confident enough in himself to be good-natured despite his low intelligence; he remembers nothing so much as what his dear, tough mama (Sally Field in a tart, restrained performance) told him: You're no different than anyone else. One of the movie's ironies is that only an idiot like Gump could have such terrific self-esteem.

Zemeckis makes Tom Hanks lovable, but Hanks resists being shameless -- he has too much good humor for that. His beautifully modulated work as a grieving man in Sleepless in Seattle seemed too hefty for that piffly romantic comedy, yet he had a superb moment parodying women's weepy connection to An Affair to Remember -- he and a buddy sobbed while recalling choice scenes in The Dirty Dozen. And in Philadelphia he proved he wouldn't disgrace himself by shilling for easy tears. Hanks doesn't make Forrest Gump a cutie-pie. He intensifies his greatest resource as an actor -- that we can read him better than any star since James Stewart -- so that Gump's feelings come across with startling clarity. When Hanks has his big moment near the end -- Gump talking to Jenny and fighting to keep his composure -- the audience is his to lose, and he doesn't. He also has the generosity to step aside and let his co-stars take over: Mykelti Williamson as Bubba, who worships shrimp; Gary Sinise as Lieutenant Dan, who is disabled in Vietnam and blames Gump for saving his life, because he'd wanted to die heroically in combat. These fine actors ground the movie in bitter reality.

A review of Forrest Gump wouldn't be complete without a mention of the astounding computer-generated visual effects, which enable Gump to interact (in actual newsreel footage) with JFK, Nixon, John Lennon, and many others, and also give us small pleasures that don't announce themselves as artificial: a ping-pong ball, the feather during the opening credits, the peace rally of thousands of people -- all computerized images, of course.

This shouldn't be surprising coming from Robert Zemeckis, the toy-shop magician who seems to set himself a new technical challenge with each movie (his previous film was "Death Becomes Her"). What is surprising is that Zemeckis should have such assured control of such potentially sugary material. Embracing sentiment while avoiding the pitfalls of sentimentality is a special effect in itself.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=210&reviewer=416
originally posted: 12/28/06 12:43:55
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/04/14 matinwqvhbh USA 3 stars
8/29/13 Tammy Woodall This was one of Tom Hanks best movies. I watch it at least once a year. Its a classic. 5 stars
6/06/11 AEB A delicious petit four. 5 stars
1/09/11 Pamela White funny history lesson of the US and culture trip 5 stars
12/16/10 andrija very good 4 stars
6/01/10 User Name Tom Hanks is fantastic, but much of this drama is a false representation of mental illness 3 stars
5/17/10 NSS Trite, manipulate, reactionary, blissfully ignorant, unenlightened piece of cinematic crap. 1 stars
5/09/10 ERICA sinanan very cool great message 5 stars
1/17/10 PAUL SHORTT CHARMING DRAMA WITH A GOOD STAR PERFORMANCE 4 stars
11/23/09 Jeff Wilder Hanks is good. Plenty of heart. But could be a lot edgier. 4 stars
10/14/09 art IN REAL LIFE GUMP WOULD HAVE BEEN PUT IN A MENTAL-HOSPITAL! 1 stars
7/08/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* Absolute classic. Always loved this movie and always will. Great series of american events! 5 stars
3/21/09 charles chips charles drew medicine r university? charles drew medicine science university. charles drew 1 stars
3/20/09 charles worthington big hair spray charles darwin and on the origin of the species. charles darwin and the art of john steinbe 1 stars
2/16/09 Samantha Pruitt very original story and great acting, one of my favs! 5 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. yeah "Zarathustra" is definitely in the minority. this is an emotional and great movie. :] 5 stars
12/17/08 Nick One of my favorites. 5 stars
11/29/08 Tyler Sciortino Zemeckis is a liberal you paranoid dumbfucks. 5 stars
9/06/08 Lizzzzzz I love this movie.It gives people hope. After watchin this, you feel everything is possible 5 stars
9/02/08 Amanda this guy writing this review is an idiot! the only negative review i could find for my ppr 5 stars
7/26/08 Tonster Excellent movie. Zaratoothy's review missed the point entirely -- escapism. 5 stars
6/02/08 MIchelle it wass okay i guess. 4 stars
5/03/08 jimbo kick ass 5 stars
4/18/08 shontravia excellent movie..anyone can achieve things if gump did 5 stars
3/26/08 Dale Dudee WOW DIS FILM IS INCREDIBLE N WHOEVER CNT SEE HOW GOOD IT IS HAS NO TASTE WHATSOEVER IN FILM 5 stars
3/02/08 bubblegump To all you gump haters, heres a suggestion, take a minute out of your meaningless shitty lu 5 stars
2/15/08 karenmae stupid is as stupid does! 4 stars
2/13/08 jAmiLLe.13 nice movie! you can learn man things here! great job! 5 stars
2/10/08 Jason Horrible...horrible! Why does anyone like this?? 1 stars
1/21/08 dr. zoidberg glorifies ignorance and conformity. Putrid. 1 stars
1/20/08 mb What was the point? 3 stars
11/23/07 R.W.Welch Cleverly concocted yard with a profound moral: "There ain't no substitute for dumb luck." 4 stars
10/25/07 Roberto Second only to Scent of a Woman - Pacino 5 stars
9/14/07 dude truly great 5 stars
5/21/07 Qaisar Janjua This movie makes you think that Nothing is imposible even for a less than ordinary persdon. 5 stars
3/07/07 dude one of the best movies ever made 5 stars
3/03/07 man best movie ever made 5 stars
12/09/06 Ron one of the worst movies ever made. Tom Hanks sucks anyway 1 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini very funny 5 stars
11/14/06 Sugarfoot Not only the worst movie to ever win an oscar, the worst film ever. Period. 1 stars
10/29/06 Priya Superb movie ever seen... 5 stars
7/18/06 David Cohen Audiences are like a box of chocolates: A bunch of lumps that soak up candy coating 2 stars
7/13/06 EZ Where's K-Dog?? I want to tell him he is insane!!!!! 5 stars
6/18/06 Umberto this moron isn't playng with a full deck! all he has is the 2 jokers! what a nincompoop! 1 stars
6/11/06 Dave Webber Interesting idea; mild social satire 3 stars
6/09/06 Mitch the gump haters club had gump painted in the toilets so we can take a dump on gump! 1 stars
6/07/06 Max Great Film. Try not to take it too seriously, it isn't a drama. 5 stars
5/28/06 isn't important Best Film i've ever seen 4 stars
3/28/06 Marco The gump haters club just got a lifesize gump doll to abuse and gump dart boards 1 stars
3/14/06 Anan Tello I just love the movie... it's multi-amazing... 5 stars
1/31/06 Bobby V. if you think your a film critic you are full of shite 5 stars
12/20/05 kr a great movie and anyone who thinks different is not intelligent enough to know a goodflick 5 stars
12/15/05 Mean Man I'm a member of the gump haters club. I'D LOVE TO KICK HIS F**KING TEETH IN! FUCKING NITWIT 1 stars
11/27/05 cr a great movie, great story,and tom hanks gives a wonderful perfomance a rare gem 5 stars
11/25/05 Movielover This a brilliant movie experience. Don't think of it as real life. 5 stars
11/18/05 jethro Get the bootleg with the scene where the bikers beat him up and dunk his head in the toilet 3 stars
10/16/05 Quigley I loved this movie and still do. hanks was superb, story is great, and it really is moving 5 stars
10/07/05 Johnny Tom Hanks' best, along with "Saving Private Ryan". 5 stars
8/26/05 Bill Horrible, horrible movie. 1 stars
8/24/05 ES An excellent movie with heart, style and a dash of levity. You truly want Gump to be happy 4 stars
8/20/05 Monster W. Kung Insultingly bad piece of shit. 1 stars
8/14/05 Gary The irony is that the people who found this movie "stupid" are too dumb to get it. 4 stars
7/21/05 Brandy Harrington He gave Lennon the words to Imagine! 5 stars
7/07/05 rosh mesmerising 5 stars
7/03/05 jimmy fuckin' great 5 stars
6/08/05 me best movie of the 90's 5 stars
6/08/05 Rock-Steady What a great and movie film. 5 stars
6/03/05 Pinkline Jones The most bowel-filling pile of toilet slosh ever put onto film 1 stars
5/11/05 Simon The movie gets so many things right in so many ways on so many levels. Transcending. 5 stars
5/10/05 Indrid Cold Epic drama/comedy. Entertaining but not profound enough to be a classic. 4 stars
3/09/05 Jake Slave Quite possibly the best movie made in the 1990s. 5 stars
2/28/05 Gray possibly the best movie ever made I honestly feel sorry for those who don't see it's beauty 5 stars
2/23/05 haha this movie is sick, it aint shit compared to pulp fiction though. 5 stars
2/19/05 Captain Craig A modern day classic from start to finish! 5 stars
2/06/05 ELI Y'all SUCK! This movie totally deserved the best pic oscar 5 stars
1/01/05 Abbath I loved it because I'm not a pompous asshole who takes himself and his movies too seriously 5 stars
12/10/04 joe cue horrible movie horrible andi can say it again if u know what im talkin aboout disgussing mo 1 stars
11/21/04 Pinkline Jones Pretentious, saccharine, kebab reflux 1 stars
11/17/04 Gooey wha? I thought it was a porn..forrest hump...? 2 stars
10/27/04 Carolyn Metz I found this movie fascinating; far-fetched, yes, but entertaining and educational too 5 stars
10/24/04 UMER amazingly honest performance by tom hanks 5 stars
10/03/04 albert pretty bad 2 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G fuck you john rice, this movie rules ass, lick my sack loverboy! 5 stars
7/15/04 John Rice Painfully calculated and heartless 1 stars
7/08/04 the dainty i loved this film and i prefer the film than the book. 5 stars
6/19/04 Horace a 5 stars
6/15/04 Daz Awesome. Excellent. Brillant. Beautiful. Wonderful. 5 stars
6/14/04 MyGreenBed An insult. The most common example I use to represent all that's wrong with the cinema. 1 stars
6/11/04 T. Maj Manipulative, irritating--but fun to watch 4 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Howdid Hanks win oscar? He mostly just stands and looks dumb. The movie's not half bad, tho 4 stars
5/23/04 Mitch Massive Oscar-theft will prevent me from ever liking this film. 3 stars
5/16/04 immegra Completely AMAZING! Just a great movie! 5 stars
5/11/04 J.Peckerfoot Great family film.Nice to see something original,touching and funny. 5 stars
4/09/04 BIG Phil I love the movie, makes me cry everytime, :'( 5 stars
4/07/04 anonomis its very sad but a heart touching movie 5 stars
3/27/04 jamie very good and sensitive 5 stars
3/27/04 a awesome 5 stars
3/24/04 Regina Revesis worth a look , even if ur under 13! 4 stars
3/02/04 NA This was a great movie along with the histoirical events 4 stars
2/25/04 Dingleburt HamsterPink Monstrously embarrassing - puke-flavoured Chest Beat 1 stars
2/11/04 willy allen great movie 5 stars
12/28/03 alice If you're under 13 watch the film. If you have a cynical bone in your body read the book! 2 stars
12/12/03 Amanda Brinkley I do believe that this is the best film ever, everyone should see it. Forest gump represent 1 stars
12/10/03 Samuel "Me and Jenny are like peas and carrots...we just go together" 4 stars
11/30/03 john decent = dumb?? also diabetics must be warned to stay away from this one - Mrs Penn is good 1 stars
11/05/03 jckc bluddy brilliant 5 stars
10/14/03 DM Right wing propaganda? I'm totally liberal and found none of that! 5 stars
8/24/03 Norbert Poindexter III Greatest movie ever made. Simplicity and Love beats hubris. 5 stars
8/20/03 miranda I HATED this movie-sappy,inane,etc......0 stars!!! 1 stars
8/11/03 Donald Hasselhoff "Hi There" - YOU are the oxygen thief dunderklunk! 1 stars
6/19/03 John Aster Habig an innocent sincere look at a troubling time from a man who more by not overthinking 5 stars
5/17/03 George Jung More formulated crap designed to win Oscars. 2 stars
5/14/03 Dan like it 5 stars
4/20/03 Hi there Hey, Jack Sommersby, go fuck yourself and die, you fucking idiot! 5 stars
4/01/03 Mr. Do this movie just sucks. 1 stars
3/27/03 Josh If you don't like this movie I kind of pity you. 5 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby Right-wing propoganda that's both insulting and unbearable. 1 stars
3/18/03 Blabity blah Great movie. Very gentle. I loved it. 5 stars
1/26/03 Hi there Tom Hanks at his very, very best! 5 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones Saccharin Flag-beating Pile of Ping Pong Pretension. 1 stars
1/02/03 Kalifornia ***** 5 stars
1/02/03 John Aster Habig a true look at a complicated time 5 stars
12/30/02 Femme_Fataleaa Heart Warming! Hanks is the man! 5 stars
12/21/02 cinkcool good 5 stars
12/17/02 rotten s. milk One of my favorites. 5 stars
12/08/02 moviemachine Zarathustra can suck my big fat cock! Excellent movie! 5 stars
11/22/02 chris one of the best movies ever 5 stars
11/21/02 Fuck me fuck you, the movie rocks 1 stars
11/15/02 Chiendog A work of art for the casual film viewer. The rest of us know better. 1 stars
11/07/02 Justin What kind of an asshole thinks this is bad? A masterpiece! 5 stars
10/29/02 Jay Winner of 6 Academy Awards including Best Picture. 5 stars
10/18/02 Charles Tatum Hollywood schlock 1 stars
8/18/02 Larry O'Connor Im still pissed all these years later that Pulp Fiction was beat by this cowpie. 1 stars
8/14/02 Ramblin' Wreck If you hate this movie, you have no soul.............. 5 stars
7/03/02 Cracked head A box of dung that's sold as Belgian chocolate. Shit. 1 stars
6/03/02 Monster W. Kung *VOMIT* 1 stars
5/13/02 Dark Baron Life's like a box of chocolates?? WTF does that mean? I know what chocolates tastes like! 4 stars
4/15/02 Incubator From the very bottom to the top and back....beautiful experience of emotions 5 stars
2/22/02 Bertha Venation I'm a sentimental fool but this left me cold and wondering why this movie was made 2 stars
2/20/02 Nicole Hicks Life's Like a Box of Chocolates 4 stars
2/20/02 katie maloney this is sucha good movie i love the way tom hanks acts and portrays his charcter 5 stars
2/01/02 Andrew Carden OK Movie...Pretty Slow, but It Was A Very Good Try. 3 stars
1/14/02 John McFly Well, there may be nothing profound in it but every time I watch it I spend a wonderfultime 5 stars
1/06/02 Magnum Craphole Idiotic ultra-conservative propaganda masquerading as a sentimental film. Junk. 1 stars
1/04/02 LiliaNic With this movie, Tom Hanks reaches the height of cinematic pretension.Only good for laughs. 2 stars
12/19/01 The $1.98 Pyramid "Run, Forrest! Run!" 5 stars
12/02/01 BlasterX Great suff! 5 stars
11/19/01 Charles Tatum Without question, the most overrated film ever released. 2 stars
11/18/01 Seather Awsome 5 stars
9/23/01 Monster W. Kung Sentimentality for dummies. Phony. Thought the Oscars couldn't do worse, then came Titanic. 2 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean Overrated, but a nice touching film 4 stars
8/31/01 spaceworm Both fans and detractors of this movie need to take a pill. 4 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Only a nazi could hate this movie. 5 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg I've never met anyone who didn't cry during this film . 5 stars
6/22/01 Judith Latham Anyone who said this film was crap is an idiot who has nothing better to do . 5 stars
6/21/01 J Ok so it really wasn't his best movie. But hateful, evil & totally cynical? Yeah right. 4 stars
6/20/01 Bada Bing Crosby The most hateful piece of crap since the invention of celluloid 1 stars
5/03/01 BrainPan Not as good as the play or the TV series. 3 stars
5/02/01 eep Good at first, but comes across as contrived later. Totally relies on special effects. 2 stars
4/30/01 scarecrow86 pretty damn good! you guys have no reason to hate it, it FUCKING AWESOME 5 stars
4/29/01 Misty Erdahl something you can enjoy time after time 5 stars
4/08/01 cookie it is a great film tom hanks is a great actor 4 stars
3/31/01 Jesse L I wanted to punch him... 2 stars
3/30/01 rayking@raydio.fsnet.co.uk some nice effects working Tom Hanks in to footage, suitable for all the family to enjoy. 4 stars
3/27/01 Monster W. Kung One of the most overrated movies of all time (at least at the Oscars). Sucks, anyway. 2 stars
3/21/01 Thomas J. Run, Forest , Run...an extra 75 IQ points is chasin' your ass! 3 stars
3/12/01 Kellis this movie is pretty funny 4 stars
2/26/01 Big P. Terrific movie, very uplifting. 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Oh God............. 1 stars
2/19/01 Claudia Tomschke a brillant film 5 stars
2/12/01 Del R One of my favorites. 5 stars
2/12/01 Jake I declare: "The most overrated film ever made." Sinise was bright spot though. 2 stars
2/07/01 m Only for the intellectually challenged. Try "Being There" instead. Peter Sellers was (God 2 stars
2/04/01 Avenger girl Amusing and at times funny but lacks impact, could have made a good satire if modified 4 stars
12/28/00 Viking A great achievement despite the right wing propaganda. 5 stars
12/23/00 Jaws1 A Larger than life movie. It has it all: Drama, Romance, Comedy and War. 5 stars
11/15/00 The EVIL Penguin The musoc is great; the rest of it stinks 2 stars
11/11/00 hayley my favourite movie of all time 5 stars
11/07/00 Sheen Butt Kicker FUCKING Amazing 4 stars
11/03/00 Cristopher Revilla anybody who didn't like this movie is either a fucking idiot or doesn't pay attention. 5 stars
8/19/00 Bender One of the most entertaining movies of the '90s. 5 stars
6/21/00 John A. Pfeiffer Pure crap and boring as hell - who cares; 1 stars
6/01/00 Jed Basically its the "American Beauty" of 1994 in a way. 4 stars
5/31/00 Michael Grimm entertaining 4 stars
5/29/00 Cristián Davis Acosta This is the best movie I have seen 5 stars
5/19/00 Creeper Incredible film. Loved it. 5 stars
4/05/00 Dale Hathaway A charming, but unrelentingly reactionary reinterpretation of a crucial period of history. 1 stars
3/08/00 perverted pixie Utter wank! If Hanks thinks he's being convincing he should check out "Gilbert Grape" 1 stars
2/22/00 Bozo I am a militant hater of this sugarcoated shite; I am insulted anyone liked it 1 stars
2/07/00 steve layne One of my favorite movies of all time 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski The Michael Bolton of film actors!!! Ay!!! I'll kick you in the nuts!!!! 5 stars
1/13/00 Chef ADogg Well, it's pleasant. 3 stars
12/16/99 Eric S. Forrest Gump is easily one of the greatest and most inspirational films ever made 5 stars
11/05/99 Anthony Ellis Improves with every viewing. Maybe just a tad overrated, though. 4 stars
7/11/99 Daria One of my favourite movies ever. Pity it had to beat Pulp Fiction, though. 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
7/01/99 Elizaveta This movie annoys me terribly...ugh. 2 stars
6/15/99 Dylan A must see. Its funny and thought - provoking. 4 stars
5/10/99 Beachlovr9 One of the Best movies I have ever seen!! No doubt about it 5 stars
5/02/99 Whitney Great Movie. 5 stars
4/20/99 Tim Gilles This movie is awesome. Tom Hanks is great in this movie. This is a great look at history 5 stars
1/24/99 Melissa Amazing film. Hanks is a genius. 5 stars
1/23/99 C Dub I really enjoyed this movie in spite of all the hype (unlike Titanic) 5 stars
11/24/98 little jerry Too contrived to be enjoyable.Purely a film of the moment. Will date badly. 2 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce Hype or not, unbelievable or not, it was still fun to watch. 4 stars
9/28/98 katherine this movie's great, but a little too much mush. 4 stars
9/15/98 Badass A wonderful film. 5 stars
9/11/98 LuvPat one of the most disgusting, emotionally manipulative films I've ever seen. Total crap 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Sorry, maybe I was swept up by the hype, but I loved it a lot. 5 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet Fun in chunks but didn't need to be so long. Will be forgotten. 3 stars
8/19/98 sean Overrated, perhaps ... but it's pretty engrossing when you watch it. 4 stars
8/17/98 Johny Overrated, but fine 4 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Run, movie-goer, run! Didn't live up to the hype. Textbook Zemeckis. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Jul-1994 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1995




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast