More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.44

Awesome68.47%
Worth A Look: 16.22%
Average: 9.91%
Pretty Bad: 1.8%
Total Crap: 3.6%

1 review, 105 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Lion King, The (1994)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by rotten f. milk

"Screw Simba. *I* just can't wait to be king."
4 stars

I spend way too much time watching kiddie flicks. But this one... I like.

Lion King is a story about a young lion cub, Simba, who runs away from home after he is convinced about his evil uncle, Scar that he has killed his father in some bigassed stampede. Simba, befriends Timon and Pumbaa (a meercat and a wild boar) and he learns the way of hakuna matata. Etc. etc.

Lion King is a film that kids can learn from -- friendship, responsibility are all major themes. Not only that, but they can enjoy the catchy songs and crazy looking zebras that are in the film.

To keep the older folks happy, there's a lot of killing and bloodshed, and as well as a deathmatch. However, it's still a Disney flick, so I can't promise you edge-of-your-seat-piss-your-pants type fun, here.

Anyhoo, the overall animation was breath taking. Disney should be pretty damn proud of this flick. As well, each performance held there own (with props to Nathan Lane and Jeremy Irons for being more memorable than the others).

The songs, while contributing nothing content-wise, do give the kids with Attention Deficit Disorder something to stay focused with. They're catchy and flamboyant in their own Disney-type manner.

So go out and buy/rent this movie. With any luck it'll cost a lot of money, just like the Little Mermaid does now. Plus your kids'll love ya.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=211&reviewer=3
originally posted: 08/20/98 17:14:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/22/15 FIEVEL RELEASED IN 1994 AFTER SLEEPING BEAUTY,THE LITTLE MERMAID,BEAUTY AND THE BEAST and ALADDIN. 5 stars
8/13/15 Hope This movie was my childhood 5 stars
8/29/12 J-Money I grew up watching this. A must-see. 5 stars
2/16/12 stanley welles yawns over roars 1 stars
10/19/11 Magic A gorgeous movie, but lacks drama mostly due to a really bland protagonist. 3 stars
10/10/11 ashley rexrode all time favorite move!!! what a classic. so glad its out again! theater 3d was amazing 5 stars
10/03/11 sarai aguilar i loved this movie so sad love the music my kids loved it 5 stars
9/05/10 lauren great movie 5 stars
1/17/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING ANIMATION WITH SOME STUNNING MOMENTS 4 stars
4/28/09 Dominic Released after SLEEPING BEAUTY,THE LITTLE MERMAID,BEAUTY & THE BEAST and ALADDIN. 5 stars
1/10/09 Bethany Cox Love this film. Same with my sister (her fave) First saw this when I was 2 and I cried. 5 stars
6/26/08 Mario Masterpiece. For the whole family. 5 stars
10/11/07 April S. This is like the best movie ever. u cant expect a lion movie without fights. c'mon now ppl. 1 stars
9/14/07 dude one of the best movies ever 5 stars
6/21/07 rachel all i have to say is this movie is THE BEST AND anyone who thinks otherwise can GO TO HELL! 5 stars
4/06/07 movieman masterpiece 5 stars
3/07/07 man Best animated film ever 5 stars
1/25/07 Abs Great balance of story, music and believable characters. One of the best Disney films made. 5 stars
1/19/07 movieman my favorite 5 stars
12/06/06 Austin Wertman THE GREATEST ANIMATED FILM EEEEEEVEEEERRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/06/06 Dude Fucking Fanastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist I grew up with the film, it is easily on my top 50!!!! 5 stars
7/20/06 David Cohen Disney's last great film 5 stars
5/20/06 duh I LOVE the song I just cant wait to be king.I wanna sing it out loud!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/22/06 Poopy Woopy One of the best animated films of all time 5 stars
4/02/06 chris f another great disney film 5 stars
9/02/05 Tom Burns One of my favorite children's movies. 5 stars
8/25/05 Eden One of the best animated films ever - great characters, style, score 5 stars
8/18/05 ES More immortal word for Manu the cartoon nerd = movie alright 4 stars
8/01/05 gypsyshroom Just loved this movie 5 stars
6/22/05 Manu Ginobli It's good! Anyone who says it's kiddie crap should blow their brains out. 5 stars
5/15/05 Madeline This is my all time favourite kids movie. I love it! Go watch it! 5 stars
5/11/05 Katie Malone King of animation! 5 stars
4/23/05 Quigley christianity flows like wine in this movie. though for kids, it's a profound, awesome movie 5 stars
4/22/05 Pippin007 Its OK!! Another one of those children movies 3 stars
1/28/05 New Jersey Rules Scar is a Hitler figure, and Simba is a Jesus figure. Disney is awesome. 5 stars
1/21/05 Uncle Phucker A sadistically dark story under the shadow of a kids movie. 5 stars
12/31/04 Max timon and pumba killed the movie, can it be anymore cliche'd? 3 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams HANDS DOWN my favorite movie of ALL TIME 5 stars
11/20/04 Shane Barton It is the best movie ever made 5 stars
11/17/04 Gooey the best kids film ever 5 stars
11/14/04 X $ % & ! The best Disney film. 5 stars
10/18/04 Naka Hands down one of the greatest animated films of all time. Truly classic. 5 stars
9/04/04 Valerie One of the best animated movies ever! See it if you haven't already! 5 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G precious 5 stars
6/26/04 Chris best animated movie of all time! one of the best movies as well. 5 stars
6/19/04 Puspa Allamanda cute 5 stars
5/11/04 Sean Scanlan So much fresh 5 stars
5/04/04 da hood i hated the movie, but the fact it was peppered with subliminal sex messages gets 10 stars! 5 stars
3/28/04 Ray This is one of the greatest animated movies ever!!! 5 stars
3/22/04 . luv it to bits 5 stars
12/10/03 Samuel good film! 3 stars
11/26/03 Gi Gi I was hoping Simba would kill Scar himself 5 stars
10/20/03 here a great film 5 stars
10/12/03 Kelli Disney is impressive 5 stars
10/02/03 Tanya Headdy Great movie! I would take my kids to see it over and over! 5 stars
9/01/03 Kitty B. can u say *SCAR*??? 5 stars
8/31/03 Kitty Kelso Fuck all the bad reviews ive seen on this site the music was the best part!! i cried!! 5 stars
6/14/03 Alice Beautifull, one of the best new Disney's 5 stars
6/12/03 meggie this is such a good movie! i luv the hula song! 4 stars
5/06/03 SImba The Movie was excellent. Good for ALL ages, cept for soem mid-teens who dont appreciate. 5 stars
4/24/03 Kevin An amazing film! 5 stars
4/03/03 bob i love this movie!!!!! 5 stars
3/24/03 Brittany This movie rocks, baby! Simba is the cutest little thing oh, he's sooo sweet 5 stars
12/31/02 John Aster Habig Disney lost its magic when Disney died 1 stars
11/09/02 Stevo Best Disney film. 5 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Wonderful, just avoid the lousy sequel 5 stars
9/29/02 CVJ okay but not the best disney movie 4 stars
7/08/02 Henry Ginsberg LOVELY LIONS N] 5 stars
3/10/02 Rebecca i loved this movie when i was 7 and i love it still 5 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand good movie...very funny 4 stars
10/07/01 Andrew Carden Too Slow For Kids, Nice Animation Though. 3 stars
9/09/01 Gary Great songs, funny characters (love Scar & the hyenas). A lot of fun. 4 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Really good. I watched this a billion times in kindergarten & 1st grade. 4 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Best disny film ever made .Great animation and storyline . 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary Good, but I felt it was a step down after Aladdin. Not as much excitement. 4 stars
2/25/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) "Hamlet" for the kiddies. One of Disney's very best. 5 stars
2/16/01 LOOBER Great Animation but too violent and bad ending. Talking lions, what were you guys smoking. 3 stars
2/06/01 kelly alsome "i best movie i've ever seen" 5 stars
1/01/01 Stewart Ball I'm sorry, but I think "Bambi" is the king of Disney animated movies. Not this one. 3 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin The Daily News:"Boy in the Designer Bubble was crushed today." 5 stars
10/27/00 viking Total delight !!! 5 stars
9/23/00 nicole washington On a scale from 1 to 10, it's a 10+++ 5 stars
9/13/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Stupid, mind numbing fluff. Give the people crap, they're too stupid to know better! 2 stars
7/11/00 J. Andrew Hefner Best animated movie ever. Perhaps the best soundtrack ever. Gotta check out the musical! 5 stars
7/08/00 Bruce Doesn't rank as high as "Beauty and the Beast", but it is still excellent 5 stars
6/17/00 Nbowa My Favorite movie! 5 stars
6/06/00 MATTHEW MYLAN MY FAVOURITE ANIMAL. COULD SEE IT A MILLION TIMES MORE!!! 5 stars
5/30/00 perverted pixie Disney has been trash ever since this milestone movie. 5 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers This wasn't Matt's style. Stick to Godzilla and Ferris Buller. 3 stars
1/28/00 mister man Mediocre at best. Anyone who says this is the best Disney movie ever is sad and deluded. 3 stars
1/26/00 doctor very good 5 stars
7/23/99 Marcelo Lima Excellet 5 stars
7/15/99 Freyja The best Disaney movie ever. Period. 5 stars
7/01/99 Elizaveta ugh...no... 3 stars
6/21/99 Trey Westerburg Beautiful. By far the best disney movie ever made. 4 stars
5/26/99 iyu The Schindler's List of Disney Films. 5 stars
2/19/99 Piz for those that like disney its top-notch, nice story, great sound, simple and sweet 5 stars
1/13/99 Melissa I'm ashamed to admit it, but I cried. C'mon...it was sad! I loved it 5 stars
1/03/99 Dasha Quite good, and the songs were great. But not really much fun. 4 stars
12/05/98 Jules I really wish there wasn't any of that pseudo mystical shit when the dad returns... 3 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob Great animation, but TOO many elements stolen from the 'Kimba' series. 4 stars
10/24/98 grunter all I have to say is: "a farting pig" -- Disney's absolute lowest point 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball For kids only. I slept at one stage. 2 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} You can't take two billion in merchandise sales without being a decent film. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Jun-1994

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast