More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.41

Awesome68.18%
Worth A Look: 20.45%
Average: 2.27%
Pretty Bad: 2.27%
Total Crap: 6.82%

1 review, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

Amazing Spider-Man 2, The by Daniel Kelly

Hysteria by Jack Sommersby

Congress, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


East of Eden
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Teen Movie Critic

""
5 stars

The first film that helped create the legend of James Dean, it's basically an updating of the biblical story of Cain and Abel to California, during the WWI years.

Dean plays a troubled youngster, who is involved in a heated rivalry with his brother (Richard Davalos) for the love of their father (Raymond Massey). Dean believes his father thinks of him as a bad seed, and he stoops to the lowest means of getting his father to think of his son as a somebody. However, Dean simply further complicates things, which aren't helped by the fact that he's falling in love with his brother's girlfriend (Julie Harris). Extremely fine performances by all, including Dean, Harris, Massey and Jo Van Fleet (in an academy-award winning role) as Dean's mother. This has an element of realism that still holds up today. The subject never fails to strike a nerve among decades of young people, who I think this film is well geared to.



link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2118&reviewer=48
originally posted: 12/18/99 06:45:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Tribeca Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Tribeca Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

5/04/12 keith miron This movie is better than A streetcar named desire 2 stars
2/28/09 PAUL SHORTT A FILM OF GREAT PERFORMANCES, ATMOSPHERIC PHOTOGRAPHY AND A SURE SENSE OF PERIOD AND PLACE 5 stars
2/18/08 Pamela White James does classic work 5 stars
10/14/06 servs nice! 5 stars
9/27/05 Daveman Wonderful film, James Dean is on fire. 5 stars
7/12/05 Jake Execellent 5 stars
3/28/04 Tina G. It covers a short part of the book but it is definitely a good movie 4 stars
3/02/04 john sensational acting and a gut wrenching story - superb! 5 stars
10/27/03 Rory Dean is an inspiration 5 stars
10/02/03 Alice I always liked this flick 4 stars
5/23/03 carol very very good 5 stars
2/05/03 Adrian Lazo THis movie sucks 1 stars
11/25/02 Charles Tatum Dean should have lived long enough to give us more of this 5 stars
6/28/02 Nicki Taylor Brilliant, Fantastic, James is just perfect 5 stars
6/24/02 R.W. Welch Top flight acting plus good, if not great, story line = 4 stars
4/23/02 Jeff Dean has interesting mannerisms, but a weak vocal presence throughout most of the movie. 4 stars
4/18/02 Janelle I thought it was pretty good, actually 4 stars
4/09/02 ~e~*anGel* Very provcativ, still powerful & sum scenz r painful 2 watch bcus its so real ILUVJAMESDEAN 5 stars
3/22/02 thomas Wyatt How good movie it is . With a so true analysis of the human psychology . 4 stars
1/23/02 vivienne Bowdry it was a great film i enjoyed it very much 5 stars
1/21/02 Patrick A beautiful film in which you cry for everyone 5 stars
8/21/01 Abermelin not enough emotion.. not enough depth into character.. not enough of the theme.. 1 stars
8/08/01 Merle A Masterpiece. Dean was the greatest. 5 stars
7/17/01 David Duchin Wonderful, from the lighting and cinematography, to Dean's physical performance, revolution 5 stars
4/26/01 Jenny Great!!!!!! 5 stars
4/17/01 Brian Oxley One of the best films I've seen 5 stars
3/30/01 Anonomous This is a great movie, and it made me cry. 4 stars
11/30/00 Amy Robson The first of Dean's stunning film performances; he was Cal Trask 5 stars
11/29/00 Jeff Realism? This movie surreal -- and not in a good way. 1 stars
11/11/00 Chris Coyne I love this film. I just love James Dean's films 5 stars
9/15/00 Shimmer I used to love this movie, many years ago. But it's really not as great as people think 3 stars
9/14/00 PJ If I were gay, James Dean would be my fantasy, his best performance from his holy three 5 stars
5/27/00 master.node Excellent, but hasn't aged well. Pretty damn depressing, too. 4 stars
5/15/00 Shannon This is an excellent movie, Jimmie's best performance though he couldn't give a bad one. 5 stars
4/19/00 Andy Palilonis James Dean should have won the Oscar. 5 stars
2/14/00 Jorge Porto very good movie 5 stars
1/18/00 Anne Good movie! 4 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Forget Rebel Without a Cause - this is most definately Deans finest 90 mins. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1955
  DVD: 31-May-2005

UK
  02-Jul-1955 (PG)

Australia
  02-Jul-1955 (PG)


Directed by
  Elia Kazan

Written by
  Paul Osborn

Cast
  Julie Harris
  James Dean
  Raymond Massey
  Burl Ives
  Richard Davalos
  Jo Van Fleet



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast