More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.68

Awesome45.86%
Worth A Look: 17.83%
Average: 9.55%
Pretty Bad: 12.1%
Total Crap: 14.65%

4 reviews, 133 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Return of the Jedi
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"A fitting end to the trilogy (or is it now a six-logy? Sexogy?)."
5 stars

NOTE: This review covers the Special Edition release of Return of the Jedi.

Bunch of Muppets, my ass. While before 1997 I would have agreed with Clerks's Dante on his disdain for the third - uh, sixth - installment in the Star Wars series, the Special Edition team that tackled this episode made dramatic improvements to the film.

You all know what happens by now. Han Solo (Harrison Ford) is freed from the clutches of Jabba The Hutt, R2D2 serves mixed drinks, Princess Leia (Carrie Fisher) sports a leather bikini, Yoda dies, Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamill) faces his father Darth "Don't Call Me Anakin Skywalker" Vader (David Prowse with James Earl Jones's larynx) and is tempted by the Emperor, and Lando Calrissian (Billy Dee "Colt .45" Williams) pilots his old Millennium Falcon on a mission to destroy Death Star II. Oh yeah, and there's a lot of C3PO-worshipping furry little Ewoks, basically miniature Chewbaccas.

The only new thing that kinda takes away from Jedi's integrity is the new "cabaret" scene in Jabba's lair. While it's a pretty cool number, it seems more cartoonish than the original. But you'll get no complaints from me on the other extras. Where there wasn't much to the Sarlacc the first time around, the SE team has made a new Sarlacc in the image of Audrey II from "Little Shop of Horrors". This time it actively chomps on its victims rather than waits for them to fall in. The new scenes of crowds partying in the streets of the liberated Coruscant add tremendously to the story. You now see the true effect that the Death Star's destruction and the Emperor's demise have on the galaxy.

Finally, the new music at the end is another drastic improvement. While the Ewoks' little song was cute (I think the lyrics, loosely translated, are "I get knocked down, but I get up again, and you're never gonna kick me down"), to me the original music just wasn't fitting for an ending to the Big Trilogy. While the new stuff sounds like a track for a new Paul Simon album, it still sounds more heroic, more appropriate for a concluding interlude.

Those whippersnappers who have never seen Star Wars until its special rerelease in 1997 will find Jabba The Hutt's acting a little wooden. No, this ain't the computer-generated turd-with-a-face that was in the New Hope SE. Just like the other two Star Wars films already made, time and progress have taken away from Jedi's aura. But while the film pales in comparison to the other two, it finishes a very close third.

There really was no other reason to make this film than to wrap up the loose ends of Empire Strikes Back. But at least they did a nice job making it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=212&reviewer=9
originally posted: 08/26/98 06:48:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/23/15 Lisa H Hugely disappointing.The tone is too childish and the pace drags. 2 stars
3/22/15 HunterB return of the king kick jedi and randall ( clerks 2 ) ass everyday. 1 stars
3/02/15 james hictchock the plot was terrible: death star destroyed and then death star comeback 1 stars
2/27/15 ewoks the worst star wars film in my opinion 2 stars
2/26/15 dylan gordon there's only one return this ain't the king it's of jedi LOLZ 1 stars
2/16/15 eywa only one truly good film in this world in my life 1 stars
2/15/15 juan bastian i remember randall saying in clerks 2" that's only one return" LOL 1 stars
2/14/15 jason gracio i really found twilight are better 1 stars
6/23/14 M W star wars 5 stars
12/02/09 pnclshrpnr Lucas might have been out of ideas, but the gaps were filled and its still quite enjoyable 5 stars
8/09/09 jim star wars shit. 1 stars
12/10/08 andy 'jedi' comes as a huge disappointment after the much more intense and emotional prequel 1 stars
10/22/08 Shaun Wallner Great Film! 5 stars
10/01/08 PAUL SHORTT THE LEAST OF THE THREE, BUT IT IS STILL A GOOD EXPERIENCE IN ITS OWN RIGHT 3 stars
7/03/07 Jimster only one return!im so convinced lol 1 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK Earth to lucas: STOP MAKING KIDDIES SHITE. 1 stars
1/28/07 David Pollastrini never a big fan 4 stars
1/20/07 droidshit!! should crawl back to the shallow-end of the film makeing genepool 1 stars
12/24/06 del There's only one RETURN and that's OF THE JEDI. Now go whip out your "precious"!!! HAHAHA 4 stars
8/06/06 THERES ONLY ONE "TRILOGY" AND THATS THE LORD OF THE RINGS.....NOOBCAKES suck my lightsabre 2 stars
7/25/06 David Cohen It was this was that began the dumbing down of the franchise, which continues to this day 3 stars
5/26/06 drydock54321 love it but too many puppets 5 stars
5/12/06 chris f ditto with hunts review 5 stars
1/14/06 hunt my favorite part about star wars movie is when darth vader kills the darth sidious 4 stars
12/05/05 cody in my opinion the best of them all, yes l like the ewoks, a great ending to boot 5 stars
10/27/05 chris great film with a great ending 11/10 5 stars
9/13/05 Zack rally good 5 stars
9/02/05 ES Lucas obviously was never a genius, enjoy your millions you hack 3 stars
8/28/05 Quigley the ewoks were so incredibly lame. they appeared, like, everywhere! Empire is much better. 3 stars
8/26/05 EZ Great film and even better triolgy 5 stars
6/21/05 R as for the DVD, hayden at the end is a disgrace. (so why didn't obi wan regress in age?) 5 stars
6/12/05 Gecko Fanfoot Wow! Those Ewoks are SOOOO realistic! Fooled me completely! 1 stars
6/11/05 Stan awesome movie. not as good as ep. 4 and 5. but still great ending. 5 stars
6/08/05 Naruto horrible 1 stars
6/05/05 Ubu the Ripper Lucas was more involved on this than Empire, and it shows. Warm puke. 4 stars
5/25/05 JFK great end of the best trilogy of sci fi cinema 5 stars
5/19/05 Jonny Sissys vote for Empire, real men back Jedi 5 stars
4/26/05 Pippin007 Good Movie! 4 stars
4/19/05 Cassander Empire should have won 5 stars
3/25/05 indrid cold Secretely I always liked this one the best of the three. 5 stars
2/17/05 Cody my favorite star wars movie, the empire falls! great movie! 5 stars
2/04/05 Dan FUCKING AWESOME!!! 5 stars
1/13/05 Tom Benton Nearly killed by the Ewoks, "Jedi" is a great film, albeit the worst of the trilogy. 5 stars
1/03/05 t-1000 jabba's and the ewok's scenes are rubbish 1 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams fuck the ewoks 5 stars
11/06/04 gray good 5 stars
9/23/04 Clock Quality of this movie made me question my faith... 2 stars
9/21/04 Vicious THe Empororor was an awsome villian. 5 stars
9/14/04 Travis Masterpiece. 5 stars
8/22/04 Peter James I think it is the best in the Star Wars series 5 stars
8/19/04 courtney well done by the cast a must see to fit the others 5 stars
7/10/04 Bobbo First two were better but a fitting ending to the series. Anyone who says differently sucks 5 stars
6/01/04 Nobody DON'T DISS THE EWOKS!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/29/04 Brian Jacobson Best Star Wars film ever! 5 stars
5/05/04 dead next door love the battle between father and son. 3 stars
2/21/04 Joe My least favorite of all the Star Wars flicks. 1 stars
2/05/04 c.r My most favorite star wars movie of all time, I love the ewok battle! 4 stars
1/25/04 Elena I cried when I saw this in theatres because it was so amazing. I'm not a nerd.. uh, i swear 5 stars
1/14/04 Eric Really silly and boring. 1 stars
12/08/03 john more of a kids movie - could not stand on its own - disappointing 2 stars
11/04/03 American Slasher Goddess The weakest of the series, but still pretty good. 4 stars
10/06/03 DM Wonderful- but the weakest of the original trilogy 5 stars
8/11/03 Mike Krasienko Niggas I got bluud on ma dick cuz i fuckin luved dis movi. Y'all sum bitches! 5 stars
4/18/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Oh, come on. The Ewoks were only in the movie for like a minute. 5 stars
4/01/03 Luke Skywalker I blew up the Ewoks... 5 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby More of a Muppet Mice than an adventure. Weakly acted and bloated. 2 stars
11/26/02 Ahhhhh!!!! This will definitely go down as the worst Ep. Such a weak culimination to the series - sad. 1 stars
11/07/02 Joe Stark (Bio Man) I love the Ewoks to death! I wonder if they can be dissected? Hmm........ 5 stars
10/18/02 Ewok Lover Deluxe A perfect way to end the saga, and features the best space battle of all time! 5 stars
10/18/02 Flynn How did Ewoks armed with sticks beat soldiers in body armor? 3 stars
8/14/02 Tim This movie totally makes attack of the clones look like a puppy. 5 stars
7/21/02 KMG ------------YAWN------------- 3 stars
7/04/02 gary vidmar Scene at end with emperor and vader/luke was one of the best ever. Best SW film to date! 5 stars
6/14/02 Mama Vidmar If I were not married, I would totally go for Palpatine! Whatta movie! 5 stars
6/07/02 Joe Levy This is another unbelievable addition to the already epic Star Wars Saga! 5 stars
4/27/02 maximal01 That bloated bastard Darth Vader may have killed the Emperor, but he should've killed Luke. 5 stars
4/03/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Best in trilogy for absence of garbage scene & miscast Fisher has less chance to screw up. 5 stars
2/27/02 Shrike Not as good as Ep4 and Ep5 but still good 4 stars
2/20/02 Brian Jacobson oh, gag me. 1 stars
1/04/02 Matt Utt This movie is just a great ending to an already epic saga. Unbelievable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/08/01 Axe Murderer i agree with connoisseur......the movie is fun 5 stars
12/06/01 Andrew Carden Good Ewok Scenes, but Slow Screenplay and Too Many Subplots. 4 stars
12/02/01 travis r. sorensen ewoks are too cute and can rocks and arrows really kill stormtroopers? 4 stars
9/14/01 D'Morph Its a shame the Imperials get treated so badly. They make cool badguys. But the ewoks SUCK! 3 stars
9/06/01 spaceworm Watch it agian after contemplating "Phantom Menace." 4 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) This is great! 4 stars
7/15/01 Rampage more kick-ass than ID4! Curse those Ewoks! 5 stars
7/10/01 TLsmooth I would love to wipe my ass with an Ewok, those little fucking satans. 5 stars
6/04/01 keith langman just as fun to watch as the others but not as good weakest of the two 4 stars
4/02/01 Jesse L Just hated the Ewoks but a great flick 4 stars
2/22/01 waldiddy a decent action film, but a disappointment next to the first 2 Star Wars films 3 stars
2/17/01 Michael Nicholls Once you've overcome teddy-bear hatred, this is a perfect conclusion... 5 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi A perfect end to a timeless sci-fi epic. 5 stars
1/20/01 viking The final battle between Luke and Darth Vader was great. The Ewoks sucked. 5 stars
1/07/01 The Evil Penguin the most likeable in the trilogy 5 stars
12/27/00 Turtle The best Star Wars movie so far. Harrison Ford at his best! 5 stars
12/22/00 Destruction Worker Yeah, it's pretty good but.....WHERE IS THE DVD?!? 5 stars
12/14/00 Tom How many trilogies link so well that it feels like they are the one movie?! Wonderful! 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla It wasn't that great, but it was still good, the new music in the end kinda sucks 4 stars
11/21/00 The Bill Head Excellent third installment manages to uphold the quality of the series...Menace killed it 5 stars
10/29/00 Big Al my fav movie of all time, empire number two,star wars # 3 5 stars
8/11/00 Brian Jacobson The Weakest film of the Original trilogy. 1 stars
8/07/00 Jed Sorry David but I did like this film. But why do people hate the ewoks? THEY RULE! 4 stars
6/30/00 Deckard From the utter majesty of 'Empire' to THIS?What a disappointment. 1 stars
6/05/00 Will the new ending song sucks, bring back the old ending song. 3 stars
5/31/00 danilo great ending, it's better than star wars but not as good as Empire 5 stars
5/13/00 Bat My personal favorite. 5 stars
4/19/00 malcolm worst of the middle three. best lightsaber and starfighter battles. TheMole is a dumbass. 3 stars
4/13/00 Rita All I wanna know is How Boba Fett got so fucking big! He was in it for like 2 damn seconds! 4 stars
4/02/00 perverted pixie Luke gets very creepy, but hey! It has ewoks and a happy ending! 4 stars
3/01/00 Ionicera The ending just doesn't give satisfactory closure to this incredible series 4 stars
2/07/00 Kyle Broflovski One suggestion, though: Keep Sy Snoodles & Yazzum, ditch the fucking Ewoks. 5 stars
1/19/00 Jedi15 A perfect ending to the Trilogy! 5 stars
11/12/99 alyssa A classic. Not able to act? I have 2 words for ya - Capt. Kirk. 5 stars
11/10/99 Gary Durso See it you will, yes hum. 5 stars
7/05/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
6/10/99 Hungry Hungry Hippo Nice to see a Jedi kick some arse. More dead ewoks would have been nice. 5 stars
5/28/99 Bob, Lord of Evil Gungans vs Ewoks. Ewoks you don't have to even bother figuring out what they're saying. 5 stars
5/27/99 Allen Paulsen Luke acted like to much of a fruit cake, I don't care if he was at peace with the force 3 stars
5/22/99 Cage What is the deal with the hate against the Ewoks? Are we the only species? Give it up. 5 stars
5/10/99 Arkansas Jon Appropriate ending to trilogy. Even Ewoks can't derail the holy trilogy. 5 stars
1/28/99 Vick Di Brecci Best exploration of Darth Vader's character, best Mark Hamill perf, on a par with other two 5 stars
1/11/99 I.P. Freeley Mark Hamill was great! Even the Ewoks were funny! 5 stars
1/10/99 Dasha Not bad, but Mark Hamill is no dramatic actor. 3 stars
10/30/98 Silent Rob Better than your average Star Wars rip-off, but a rip-off none-the-less! 3 stars
9/24/98 Jeff Hayward The saga of the slave owning Rebellion ends, at last. 1 stars
9/16/98 Trav This movie was always lame, and the Special Edition is WORSE! 1 stars
9/11/98 The incredible, edible GKR The best of the 3 5 stars
9/08/98 Swan Ugh! GL sold out 2 the toy companies! Goddam EWOGS! I'll never trust GL again! Slime! 1 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet Not the best of the holy trilogy 3 stars
8/17/98 Johny Works on once viewing only, awful in others 2 stars
8/17/98 J-Guy (The MFC) Good flick. I enjoy it, but only after watching the first two. 4 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Luke is such a pussy-ass ho. Still a great movie though. He loses a hand n'shit. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-May-1983 (PG)
  DVD: 12-Sep-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast