More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.55

Awesome35.29%
Worth A Look: 19.61%
Average: 25.49%
Pretty Bad: 3.92%
Total Crap: 15.69%

2 reviews, 39 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Transcendence by Peter Sobczynski

Other Woman, The (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Starry Eyes by Jay Seaver

American Jesus by Jay Seaver

Coastlines by Jack Sommersby

Joe by Jay Seaver

Raid 2, The by Brett Gallman

Crimes Against Humanity by Jay Seaver

Murder at 1600 by Charles Tatum

Mr. Bean's Holiday by Charles Tatum

subscribe to this feed


Encino Man
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Absolute crap. So why do I enjoy it so?"
3 stars

Pauly Shore is as hated as Carrot Top. Well, maybe not that hated, but kinda close to it. And that's pretty bad. But why is he so hated? Could it be he had one funny joketen years ago that he's been rehashing ever since? Could it be that the one joke wasn't real funny to begin with? Or could it just be put down to Biodome?

Whatever it was, there was a time when Shore was funny. The hell you say, but I stand by that. In Encino Man, a boring film that opened our eyes to the vanilla essence of one Brendan Fraser, Pauly Shore's 'weasel' is the one watchable thing about it.

Okay, so you're all starting to get incredulous by now, I know the drill. How can he say Pauly Shore is not only funny, but watchable, blah blah. The simple fact is, he was and was. I saw this cat on a late night chat show in Australia one time sitting opposite Dannii Minogue (Kylie's sister) and a Dave Letterman impressionist (he knows who he is), and Shore was hysterical. Not because he was doing a 'bit' or a routine, but because he just had a blast. He talked shit, he poured a bucketload of it on Mingoue as she preened and pretended she was important, and dude, he killed. He was that kind of funny you only usually get when you're trying a new drug or when you've just insulted someone beautifully in front of a whole group of people. That nastay kind of funny that makes you sit back and just think "that... was fucking... funny."

So back to Encino Man. Caveman thaws in suburban kid's swimming pool, runs amuck, becomes freind, disguised as Bolivian exchange student, becomes coolest kid in school, jocks pick on him but he wins through, geeky kid who found him gets jealous, caveman ditched, Pauly Shore character injects moments of levity amidst the moments of boredom.

Stupid? Yes. Moronic? Sure, okay. Not worth your money? I suppose.

But Pauly Shore's finest hour, and dammit, doesn't that mean something in this day and age?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2121&reviewer=1
originally posted: 07/31/99 22:28:31
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/07/12 matthew T. Dalldorf Its a movie. 3 stars
3/18/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess Fun in a stupid way, but i wouldn't see it again. 3 stars
3/29/08 Pamela White Valley Caveman very cute funny 5 stars
7/22/07 gr117 Still damn funny! 5 stars
3/07/07 Betha I absolutely loved it! Check out the fresh nugs, wheezing the juice! Oooww Bud-dy 5 stars
9/29/06 Bee this is one of the best moives around no matter what other people say. 5 stars
4/16/06 Juan Corona Come on! "Wheez the Juice"? that's classic! Or the prom scene? Classic 5 stars
8/23/05 Quigley introducing Pauly Shore, the worst actor ever. one of the worst films made. poor sean astin 1 stars
7/22/05 Jodie and Ben and Amanda Jodie:The ketchup art by Mr. Fraser was goot/Ben: Love it!Pauly Shore too!Amanda:It was gay 4 stars
12/18/04 Ghetto Smurf Didn't hold my interest for too long, but wasn't totally unwatchable 3 stars
9/09/04 burkenstock this film is totally grrrrEASY! chillin...chiiiillin 5 stars
4/17/04 Morally Sound No wheezing the ja-uice! 5 stars
1/05/04 cwlg420 Classic, Brendan Fraser is cute, and Shore almost doesn't suck! 5 stars
12/31/03 Commissar This "film" SUCKS!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
12/03/03 re A GREAT FILM 5 stars
9/30/03 Daneyll PAULY SHORE IS SOO DEADSEXY,AND A BADASS ACTOR SO YOU ALL THAT THINK HE SUCKS F.U. 5 stars
8/06/03 DM A complete piece of shit! I can't believe this. 1 stars
6/09/03 Elizabeth This movie is soooo awesome. Seriously Pauly Shore & Brendan Fraser are totally hot!!!!! 5 stars
4/02/03 Zach We all loved this as kids. We still do today. 5 stars
2/16/03 Sara AWWWO!,Buh-dy..Yeah I like Pauly Shore,how'd ya guess? 5 stars
1/14/03 Calliann I LOVE THOIS MOVIE. Pauly Shore is the best!!!! 5 stars
11/17/02 SiliconHero You'll like it better if you forget that Pauly Shore's in it. 3 stars
11/07/02 Charles Tatum Pauly Shore is as funny as a flaming bag of dog poop 1 stars
8/26/02 Holocaust Cloak Good stuff. Pauly Shore does not suck - a career rarity. He is kind of annoying, though 4 stars
1/27/02 Underratron Pauly's best by far. Surprisingly enjoyable and good-natured. Sean Astin rocks, too =^) 5 stars
1/23/02 Andrew Carden Good Premise Wasted In Teen-Punk Theme. 1 stars
1/23/02 Geo7654 Passable time waster. 3 stars
1/05/02 Jessica Miller It was ok. It wasn't the best, but I liked it because Brendan Fraser was in it. (hottie) 4 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L Its a funny movie....if you don't take it (or yourself) too seriously 3 stars
2/25/01 Romeo This movie is hilarious! 5 stars
2/20/01 Victoria I love the movie! 5 stars
2/17/01 kevin the best movie ive seen 5 stars
2/16/01 Anna could've been better 2 stars
11/14/00 The EVIL Penguin I agree with Richard Wright 1 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright One of the worst comedies ever made. To like this you DO need a stone-age sense of humour. 1 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski Okay, Pauly Shore's tolerable, but "Stoney" still can't compare to "Ducky" (Pretty in Pink) 2 stars
7/19/99 Duck Great fun movie! 4 stars
6/29/99 Ah Dooey ok for this type of movie 3 stars
6/15/99 Dylan In a word - shit. Absolutely fucking shit. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1992 (PG)

UK
  02-Jul-1992 (PG)

Australia
  02-Jul-1992 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast