More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.95

Awesome54.46%
Worth A Look: 22.32%
Average: 3.57%
Pretty Bad: 2.68%
Total Crap: 16.96%

4 reviews, 88 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Eraserhead
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by The Ultimate Dancing Machine

"In Heaven, everything is fine..."
5 stars

"Eraserhead" is the greatest movie ever made. No, it's the worst. It is extraordinarily compelling. It is utter nonsense. You cannot have a moderate opinion of this movie. Trust me, to this day no one has ever come away from it going, "It was okay, but..."

I have my own theory about this. Most movies--and most novels, plays, etc.--deal with the daylight world; they're about, figuratively speaking, the nine-to-five existence. Whatever genre they inhabit, they're essentially situated in the concrete world we all share in common: the extravert's world, in which everything can be settled in the Big Game (any sports movie), the big shootout in the warehouse (the average action movie), or the courtroom (John Grisham and his like). It's even true with a movie like Jerry Maguire, which purports to question our materialistic values but ends, without the slightest irony, with our heroes becoming filthy rich.

Every once in a while--less and less frequently nowadays--some foolhardy talent decides to flip the switch and show us what we look like in the dark. Thus, we get movies like Altman's 3 Women or Kubrick's Eyes Wide Shut, movies that roll about recklessly in the twilight world of the unconscious. That is an awfully hazardous business. I have had three different people tell me that 3 Women is the worst movie they've ever seen; and we all know how Eyes Wide Shut was received.

(There's a story about the premiere of Eyes Wide Shut: During the scene where Tom Cruise is asked for the password to the mansion, some guy in the back of the theatre shouted, "Bullshit!" So it goes.)

And then there's Eraserhead, possibly the ultimate twilight movie. It is like nothing else you've ever seen. Five years in the making, it was arduously cranked out by an unknown AFI film student named David Lynch, who literally lived on the set for much of that time, his only income coming from delivering newspapers.

I first saw Eraserhead as a teenager, and at the time I was interested chiefly in the look of the film, its spooky black-and-white expressionist visuals, which tend to lose resolution around the edge of the screen. The film looks like something glimpsed out of the corner of the eye--like something that may or may not be real. Having recently seen Eraserhead again after a decade's time, I'm still mesmerized by its bleak patina, but I can now appreciate how much the industrial soundtrack--the continuous grinding, squealing, hissing racket in the background--contributes to the film's power. Especially at that incredible moment--really one of the most powerful scenes I've ever witnessed, no joke--when everything simply...stops.

What's it all about? There's an alienated young man, his high-strung wife, their deformed baby. And a woman who lives in the radiator. The story creeps along at its own pace, following its own logic, demanding to be met on its own terms. Like a nightmare, the film is convincing even where it cannot be understood.

It is funny, bizarre, and horrifying all at once. Ultimately, "Eraserhead" evades proper description, and perhaps even criticism: it may not be a movie you will like, but it is one you should see. Before you die.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2122&reviewer=223
originally posted: 05/28/02 18:03:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/16/17 morris campbell solid but very strange 4 stars
2/28/15 stanley welles an amazing industrial nightmare 4 stars
7/22/13 Dashoost34 The only film in which I couldn't wait for the ending, yet I was sad when it ended 5 stars
6/03/13 Te Deum Dreck. Waste. Excretum. Wish it was filmed in Black & Black w/no sound track. 1 stars
8/22/11 hurdy gurdy man ...trippy Moe, Larry and Shemp -- sans chuckles. 1 stars
6/18/11 John H Absolutely the worst movie I've ever seen 1 stars
5/31/11 franky w very freaky but long, drawn out and utter shit that makes no sence 1 stars
12/31/10 Dave Nightmarishingly awsome! Must be seen to be believed. 5 stars
6/01/10 User Name David Lynch- Promoting birth control since 1977. 4 stars
5/27/10 Brady Should have gotten 4 stars at least! 5 stars
4/24/10 PAUL SHORTT TEDIOUSLY REPULSIVE 2 stars
1/25/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Defies description. Should be seen by everyone at least once. 5 stars
12/13/09 Chris F very interesting but the weirdest film i have watched 4 stars
11/04/09 a random girl i don't know what to say...i liked it...? 4 stars
9/04/09 Matt Had high hopes because it was critically acclaimed, but easily the worst movie ever = eBay 1 stars
6/23/09 Anonymous. The weirdest movie i've ever seen... 4 stars
4/10/09 Dane Youssef An abstract surrealist film about Lynch and fatherhood. Like an art painting. 4 stars
7/01/07 Jesse Why the hell was that lady tossing salad on that other ladies lap? 5 stars
3/17/07 matthew genius and insanity rolled into one, highly reccomended 5 stars
2/07/07 zenshark porbeagle this coming from the guy that gave Shaft's Big Score five stars 5 stars
12/31/06 mr.mike good..damn good. 4 stars
10/27/06 Isaac Baranoff David Lynch's cult masterpiece still holds up, even after 29 years. 5 stars
10/09/06 jeffrey tate II raw, pure, and powerful. Art in it's purist form 5 stars
8/16/06 Cameron Massey Lynch says it best - a dream of dark and troubling things. Lynch stands alone. 5 stars
7/11/06 David Cohen Don't try and think about the plot, just think about how it made you feel. 5 stars
2/01/06 Daniel Wilson Visually stunning; the soundtrack is surreal- my favorite film hands down. 5 stars
9/27/05 Wilt Chamberlin In Heaven, Everything is fine 5 stars
8/27/05 Rever_Bear-Trap Not bad... IF YOU'RE A David Lynch FAN OR "Seinfeild" FAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
8/08/05 Jake a brilliant, visual, nightmarish masterpiece! 5 stars
6/21/05 R i don't understand it, so it must be crap! 5 stars
6/13/05 Agent Sands I have no idea what the hell I just saw, but whatever it was, it was interesting. 4 stars
6/10/05 Indrid Cold Disturbing, but no substance, as with many Lynch movies. 4 stars
1/30/05 Bob Barton Great movie...too far over the head of most people but a great movie nonetheless 4 stars
12/28/04 becky anyone that dosent absoutly adore this film is just to dull to understand david lynch 5 stars
12/04/04 Glenn Anderson Way out there... exceptional 4 stars
8/16/04 DM What the fuck was that? 1 stars
6/25/04 Daveman Classic surrealist cinema. Lynch's second best film after Blue Velvet. 5 stars
6/05/04 MyGreenBed A fantastic intro-to-arthouse film, one that helped to warp me. Though has some flaws. 4 stars
4/04/04 Rob Davidson Best part was when my friend ran from the theatre screaming I can't take this anymore! 5 stars
3/09/04 Seabrooke What's the point? 1 stars
2/26/04 Naturezrevenge Cult classic. The man by the window reminds me of God. Do not watch on first date. 5 stars
2/06/04 moonbeam Forget the "artsy" reviews, this flick is just plain, LAME! ZERO "stars". 1 stars
1/29/04 Larry Dean This is the oddest movie I've ever seen -- one has to see it to believe it! 5 stars
12/06/03 Brian amazing visual effects, great sound, disturbing/grotesque/amazing/mind blowing, great film 5 stars
10/27/03 krafty1 Absolutely, without question the worst movie I have EVER seen 1 stars
8/18/03 Masacree A movie that makes you think... 4 stars
8/08/03 3man Another weird movie from Lynch 3 stars
7/17/03 MadMatt I can appreciate this film, but I could never sit though it again. 4 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!! 3 stars
4/26/03 Dave Boring, pretentious drivel. Go and see a good surrealist film like Tetsuo: The Iron Man. 2 stars
3/08/03 LIAM JACKSON a dream of dark and troubling things, a brilliantly surreal nightmare.outstanding********** 5 stars
2/12/03 Dill Havarti Fuckin Sucks Dill Havarti, you are a fuckin dumbass. Go back to watch disney movies or grow a brain. 5 stars
8/24/02 conman haunting... mezmorizing... a superior film 5 stars
5/29/02 Charles Tatum Please please please do not waste your time on this junk 1 stars
4/18/02 sdfr too unique, too well crafted to dismiss. Fans of surrealism will enjoy this the most.. 4 stars
4/10/02 counce brampton one of the greatest films ever made 5 stars
3/11/02 Brad Streep This film makes me wanna hum KUMBAYA! 5 stars
12/20/01 Jack MeHoff disturbing insanity 5 stars
11/27/01 Ian Barr Near perfect 5 stars
10/19/01 Rutegar Dupree Bizarre dream logic, brilliant b+w cinematography,light & sound. A stunning film. 5 stars
10/18/01 girl E would've been an good short. is in fact an excruciating full-length feature. 2 stars
9/30/01 froglight refinement of outer limits t.v. show stylism 5 stars
9/27/01 Ewan Davidson ...sorry, I'm not the talkative type... 5 stars
9/13/01 catherine If Lynch's name was not on the film I'm sure everyone would see it for what it really is. 1 stars
4/12/01 Hyjyljyj Well, Henry, whaddya know?...Watch this, and you'll never, EVER have unprotected sex again. 5 stars
3/07/01 Mike Best Classic! 5 stars
2/13/01 Eraser head The film is lable to offend, garish yet bleak but rich in ambiguity. 5 stars
2/08/01 lucy liked the way women symbolise escape but also entrapment. 5 stars
2/05/01 Gabe Just cut it up like a regular chicken. 5 stars
11/18/00 The Bill Head With Blue Velvet, The Elephant Man, and The Straight Story...one of Lynch's best! 4 stars
11/06/00 Syco zero It's like reality distorted and made ten times as worse...I am even now disturbed. 5 stars
11/03/00 perverted pixie What the fuck was that?! Outstanding. I wish there were more films like this... 5 stars
9/11/00 Dimitris Tsallas Not for everyone but a masterpiece nonetheless 5 stars
8/20/00 BT Everything you should know BEFORE you marry and have babies... 5 stars
4/21/00 Fishsticks Its black here.. Too black. We have no light. 5 stars
4/18/00 punkass How on earth do you rate this? It's art, NOT a movie. Ummm, a bit disapointing, too hyped. 3 stars
2/23/00 Girl in the radiator "In Heaven Everything Is Fine" 5 stars
1/18/00 yorgos dalman simply awesome, one of the best!! 5 stars
1/16/00 Paul An exploration of one man's nightmare, pure brilliance 5 stars
1/09/00 John Markham Well and truly up it's own bumhole.Don't even waste a second of your life watching this poo 1 stars
12/18/99 thestefan Full of mystery and the artists secrets. 5 stars
12/02/99 Nick Belane I can totally relate to Henry the world he lives in, as it is the world I live in as well 5 stars
7/23/99 Glitter Berry A thought-provoker. A MUST-SEE especially for those with TRUELY open minds 5 stars
7/12/99 ken heine the baby scenes were cool. 5 stars
7/11/99 Daria There is no crap like pretend-to-be-high-art crap... 1 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg NOT FOR ALL TASTES!! I'm not into Lynch, but this one's like a good nightmare. 4 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Fucking bizzare. 4 stars
6/07/99 jvt It'll take you awhile to figure it out, but it's haunting film 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Jan-1977 (NR)

UK
  02-Feb-1978 (18)

Australia
  02-Feb-1978 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast