More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.48

Awesome55.61%
Worth A Look: 37.07%
Average: 6.83%
Pretty Bad: 0.49%
Total Crap: 0%

13 reviews, 127 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

Birdman by Peter Sobczynski

John Wick by Peter Sobczynski

Blue Room, The by Jay Seaver

Cat and the Canary, The (1927) by Jay Seaver

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

subscribe to this feed


Run Lola Run
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"The Third time really is the charm . . ."
4 stars

So, I was watching Lola sprint through the streets of Berlin for the third time, when I realized that her entire existence is just a game. The narrator likens it to soccer, but to me it's more like an old-school video game (you remember the arcade kind where you only got 3 lives, long before the advent of PC gaming and the quicksave key). Or, perhaps, a game of chance - Roulette, for instance. 3 spins. 3 chances to get things right. We should all be so lucky.

Lola (Franka Potente) is a cute eurotrash girl with bright red hair and a panic-stricken boyfriend named Mannie (Moritz Bleibtreu) on the phone. Turns out Manni, a wannabe gangster, has just fucked up his first major assignment as a mob bagman. When trying to avoid the cops on a train, he just happened to "misplace" a bag containing 100,000 Dueschmarks. His bosses, a trio of large men with shaved heads (why do all the movie euro-thugs always have shaved heads?), are going to break every bone in his body when they show up in 20 minutes and find Manni sans cash.

Lola tells him to hang on and wait for her. She'll meet him in 20 minutes with the cash - somehow. As the camera pans around her, flashing images of everyone she knows as she mutters their names (and further cementing the Roulette idea), she decides on her estranged father, who just happens to be a bank manager. (Well, duh! Daddy runs a bank? He should have been the obvious choice).

Time to run!

She sprints from the apartment, never looking back and not slowing down for much of anything. She bumps into various characters along the way, and we are treated to fast-forward glimpses of how their lives will turn out. Her attempt to get the money and reach Manni in time fails, with fatal results. Game over, right?

Wrong. After all, this is a game, remember? Two lives left. Take another spin.

As she bolts out of the apartment again, Lola travels the same route - but this time, everything else is different. She bumps into the same characters, but this time the flash-forwards tell a much different story. It seems that everyone else is playing the game as well. Everyone gets another spin.

The film certainly has a lot going for it. Tom Twyker's frenzied direction is never dull, and casting his girlfriend Potente in the role was a smart choice. She gives an intriguing performance, and while I wouldn't exactly call her beautiful, she is oddly attractive and magnetic. And unlike, say, Sondra Locke (Clint Eastwood's ex-girlfriend, who dragged down way too many of his films), Potente can actually ACT. The supporting cast is excellent as well, especially Armin Rohde as the patronizing bank guard who calls Lola "the Little Princess," and who doubles as the film's narrator (or umpire, if you will). But what really sticks with you is the vivid imagery, especially the varied scenes of Lola running (and running and RUN-NING). Also on-par is the hypnotic soundtrack, an eclentic blend of German synth-pop and electronica that meshes seamlessly with Lola's triple-marathon. If you need some music to help you get in the mood to go running, this would be it.

Drive-In Triple-Feature Gasping-for-breath-man-I-gotta-quit-smoking Picks for Lola Rennt:

Fight Club- Gawd this movie rocks. David Fincher's greatest film, Ed Norton and Brad Pitt's best performances. Norton runs around quite a bit as well (in his boxers and carrying a gun . . . way to travel incognito, Sparky).

Marathon Man- Dustin Hoffman is a marathon runner in training who gets mixed up with some Nazi war criminals after they murder his brother. [Cheesy tag line]Now he's running for his life!!![/Cheesy tag line]

And if you like them eurotrash babes with red hair, don't forget Milla in The Fifth Element. Never has an ace bandage looked so enticing!

Pop this in the DVD player, hop on the treadmill, and get ready to run your ass off. Oh, and don't be lazy and choose the English soundtrack. Watch it with the subtitles. Believe me, you'd rather hear Franka's acting in German than whoever the chick is that they got to do the English dub.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2128&reviewer=258
originally posted: 10/15/02 10:05:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/08/14 fbphgz USA 4 stars
3/12/14 PAUL SHORTT EXHILARATING, STYLISH THRILLER 3 stars
4/03/11 Glenn VERY good movie; outstanding "energy" and wonderful soundtrack; VERY COOL Movie. 4 stars
3/08/06 Ashley Amazing! So much fun. It will appeal to a very wide audience of filmgoers. 5 stars
11/21/05 ken mad 5 stars
10/18/04 Hadassah There was so much symbolism in this movie, I've watched it about 6 times. 5 stars
9/26/04 Tor Honolulu If I ruled cable, this is would have its own channel and play non stop 5 stars
9/15/04 Muscle Mike Great spirit! I needed a cool-down lap after viewing this film. 5 stars
6/22/04 Kate Going 100km/s, the "parallel universe" theme, music and "outcomes" of actions is brilliant! 5 stars
5/12/04 John gets repetitive after a while, feels like it should have been a short film 2 stars
12/14/03 Image15 Fate and Destiny in 81 minutes...Great flick 4 stars
11/14/03 Anderson You won't fall alseep in total 81 minutes 4 stars
11/12/03 heidi it is interesting when i watched the 2nd replay...but it is not when i watched the 3rd 3 stars
11/08/03 Cindy quite interesting with three different endings just like a game 4 stars
10/16/03 Jenny There are lots of meanings included, but I can't really understand by watched it once only. 5 stars
10/08/03 Ka Yiu its a interesting film 3 stars
10/07/03 suki wu interesting and refreshing 4 stars
10/07/03 Van that's an interesting film i haven't seen before 4 stars
10/07/03 xanthe somehow it is a pretty good film as the story can be repeated three times without boring 4 stars
10/06/03 B quite interesting 4 stars
10/05/03 Andrew German Techno beats match the rhythm of the film! 5 stars
10/04/03 John That's is a very special film coz you can say it has 3 ending! 5 stars
10/01/03 yui exciting 4 stars
9/30/03 Ophelia 3 ending film is so interesting 5 stars
9/30/03 estheticaura A lady that would do it all over again, just for her lover. 4 stars
9/29/03 KKS_flimic nothing's special, just repeat for three times...but somethings really unexpected 3 stars
9/28/03 Yan_space I most like the music and light of this film, but the story of this film was a bit bored. 3 stars
9/28/03 Mark Fortner This is my favourite movie 5 stars
9/27/03 Irene Quite interesting 4 stars
9/26/03 Monica It cannot be imagined that the ending was like this if you haven't seen it before. 4 stars
9/25/03 J. LEE Repetition of the story makes the film very attractive 4 stars
9/25/03 Francis Space i think thiss film the pattern is quite special, many thing is out my expectation 4 stars
9/25/03 Jimmy_space In my view, it's not very interesting. Lola seems like Jesus, the story is unbelieveable. 3 stars
9/24/03 karen interesting 4 stars
6/21/03 Andilecious Briliant concept and well executed 5 stars
5/06/03 Dave Loved it. Slick, stylish, funny and believable, and if you don't like subs then fuck off. 5 stars
4/18/03 Olivia best film I've seen in years 5 stars
2/18/03 thomas york lola is a fun movie, you care what happens to the characters and the soundtrack kicks ass 5 stars
2/09/03 Zefram Mann Completely style over substance, but what good style it is in places. 4 stars
12/25/02 Goofy Maxwell Tom Tykwer? Sounds like the name of a hobbit. btw, "Lola" runs rings round LOTR. 5 stars
11/23/02 Christopher Liked it. Interesting. 4 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum I love Franka 5 stars
10/06/02 HARVEY J POST LA PETITE COUCHON 5 stars
9/01/02 Robbie Banfitch there's so much to like in this movie 5 stars
8/19/02 .Choadushouse. Amazing! Unlike any film I've ever seen! Completely entertaining and Lola is SO HOT!!! 5 stars
8/11/02 akash sexy 5 stars
7/09/02 Movie Expert Just another example that 99 was one of the most innovative and best years at the movies 5 stars
6/23/02 Phil M. Aficionado Inventive/gripping, little twists provide robust different outcomes. Subtitled beats dubbed 4 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi this film was fucking awesome, i could watch it for hours and hours, ova and ova agen 5 stars
4/27/02 Gremlin A different movie, nice change of style, action, and German background makes it great. 5 stars
3/23/02 R.W. Welch Inventive format, longer on technique than substance. 4 stars
2/20/02 Sebastian Brocks Good Film with 'special' story 5 stars
1/13/02 The Moorhen WOAH! 5 stars
1/05/02 Sparky Polastri One of the most watchable movies ever; I love this the most 5 stars
9/26/01 Gabrielle I liked it. It had pace, action and variation. It was never dull or boring. 4 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Great movie! I love the parts where Lola runs into people and we get to see thier future. 5 stars
8/16/01 Marlene I have'nt watched this movie, but The devil told me it was good so I like it. 4 stars
7/20/01 Gus It blew me away after a disappointing start 5 stars
5/15/01 P.Rodriguez Sick Techno Soundtrack and some of the madests character credits makes the film a classic. 5 stars
5/15/01 zeitgeist u have to respect this kind of originality 5 stars
5/03/01 Bada Bing Crosby Everything I look for in a movie is right here in this masterpiece 5 stars
4/27/01 Silver Starfire It has an innovative storyline that keeps you on edge the entire time you watch. 5 stars
4/15/01 y2mckay Great premise and story, seamlessly meshed with an awesome techno soundtrack. BUY THIS DVD. 5 stars
3/11/01 Vinod Zachariah Really Amazing Idea 5 stars
2/28/01 Loki You must see it. 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Yum. 5 stars
2/13/01 stella Klassnoe kino 5 stars
2/09/01 John Adams Chutiya jevu movie cheeeeee............ 5 stars
1/10/01 Rob Banfitch If only america could make movies like this. 5 stars
1/09/01 Eden This movie is unlelieveable. it perfectly fuses sound and sight. 5 stars
1/03/01 svetlana so fast paced it only felt 20 mins long! 5 stars
12/28/00 Kat tres magnifique 5 stars
10/11/00 P. Rodriguez FanF@#$nTastic easily leaves for dead shit american thrillers. 5 stars
8/02/00 Delusia Great love story. 5 stars
7/14/00 Dr Strange I thought this was great, visually perfect, and I'm always a sucker for this type of story. 5 stars
7/13/00 Tom Very cool! 5 stars
7/07/00 Elvisfan Wow, she runs & screams & smokes like a champ! Great great movie 5 stars
6/26/00 stranded on the Island Best movie of 1999! Expect to be worn out by the time you finish watching... 5 stars
5/29/00 Weird Andy I could watch stuff like this for free on MTV's "AMP." Great opening sequence, though. 3 stars
5/03/00 Mortis Amazing editing, otherworldly storyline, Fuckin' awesome 5 stars
1/10/00 Will run you crazy bitch run 5 stars
1/06/00 Jason Imaginative, enthusiastic, thoughtful and energetic 5 stars
12/20/99 Pix Cliche story line - Fantastic execution. 5 stars
12/12/99 Glenn A high-energy romp. And then a romp. And then another romp. 5 stars
11/29/99 Mic Not as good as I thought it would be, but nevertheless... 4 stars
11/16/99 gnomical inventive, enjoyable. loved the mixed media approach. 4 stars
11/08/99 Eden all I can say is WOW. Amazing! 5 stars
11/08/99 Ruth J BRILLIANT!!! 5 stars
11/05/99 Mike Not as good as what you may think... 4 stars
10/30/99 cate dare fantastic 5 stars
10/27/99 pipeman So fucking cool. I was mesmerized. AND I went out and bought the soundtrack immediately. 5 stars
10/26/99 Greg A fun film 4 stars
10/26/99 Pierce Lanson Creative, Fast, Exciting, Great music, Thought-provoking-Brilliant 5 stars
10/25/99 Gawain McLachlan Adrenaline pumping,kinetic, techno fuelled, hyperactivity. Run into your cinema now! 5 stars
10/23/99 Belinda Get the soundtrack 4 stars
10/17/99 Grahame Wells Loved it: striking, brilliant, funny 5 stars
10/12/99 Jon I like Lola, she is a nice girl. 5 stars
10/11/99 Weird Andy Great opening sequence. Some nice touches, but the film's structure saps its energy. 4 stars
10/01/99 majawat quirky, fun 4 stars
9/19/99 Costars Creative, Funky & FUN 4 stars
9/19/99 majawat das is fun movie 4 stars
9/18/99 Mairi Thomas What a blast! Fast, pacey, gripping and FUN 5 stars
9/17/99 Robert Smith I liked it. I liked it a lot. 5 stars
9/17/99 Richard Fortunato really really fun to watch- German enuf to seem "different", universal enuf to be great 5 stars
9/16/99 Heather Loved it!! Just going off to dye my hair red.... 5 stars
9/09/99 Dr. Fardook Restored my faith in humanity, art, and senseless beautiful flash 5 stars
9/09/99 Elijah The über-action movie! Action for the brain 5 stars
8/16/99 sean a hyper-active synthetic thrill ride that blows the mind away and leaves you begging 4 more 5 stars
8/16/99 Kenéz Krisztián kelotiodni 5 stars
8/13/99 ProfJim An MTV video feature length film done right, now with metaphysics and chaos theory added! 5 stars
8/12/99 raf AMAZING 5 stars
8/04/99 Cameron ... 4 stars
8/03/99 jason as slick as the shit that you dont even have to wipe. 5 stars
8/03/99 Milena Verzeanu Awesome music ! Definitely the best and freshest movie of the year ! 5 stars
7/29/99 ralph norton GREAT fast paced film, I loved it! Unfortuatly Hollywood will ruin it with a remake,I'msure 5 stars
7/26/99 Suzanne Riveting, energetic, amazing! 5 stars
7/25/99 Tom Moore rocked! 5 stars
7/25/99 jen please, PLEASE don't let hollywood fuck with this one... 5 stars
7/24/99 iyu There is no genius. This movie is a repetitive pretentious piece of German shit. Lame. 5 stars
7/13/99 jvt Inventive, running time flies by, but LOCK, STOCK is still year's best arthouse so far 4 stars
7/10/99 bridgette you can't help but get into it. high energy. great soundtrack. 5 stars
7/10/99 James Hong Brilliant, as good as or better then 2 smoking barrels 5 stars
7/09/99 Oliver Bandte energetic, high power, brack through movie 5 stars
7/07/99 Brian M very kinetic, techno love story 3 stars
6/21/99 Vanessa Meidinger fast, varied, great ideas, breathtaking 5 stars
6/18/99 Mr Showbiz Not much depth, but has kinetic, exhilirating energy in spades. 4 stars
6/14/99 Aoife White Adrenalin rush. Smart sassy Lola tries to beat the clock and save her boyfriend. Echt cool. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Jun-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Oct-1999 (MA)


Directed by
  Tom Tykwer

Written by
  Tom Tykwer

Cast
  Franka Potente
  Moritz Bleibtreu
  Herbert Knaup
  Nina Petri
  Armin Rohde
  Joachim Król



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast