More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.36

Awesome58.93%
Worth A Look: 28.57%
Average: 3.57%
Pretty Bad: 7.14%
Total Crap: 1.79%

2 reviews, 44 user ratings



Strange Brew
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"I am your father, Luke. Come to the dark side, you hoser."
4 stars

My brother and I used to say that drownin' in beer was like heaven, eh? Now he's not here, and I've got two soakers... this isn't heaven, this sucks!

This is quite simply a comedy classic, and the first movie that introduced me to Canadians (I'm sheltered, alright?).

Bob & Doug McKenzie (Rick Moranis and Dave Thomas) are two brothers who drink beer and say "eh?" a lot. I mean, A LOT. You'll either find it funny as hell or as annoying as hell. Take a chance, kids, 'cause it's funny.

You'd also be surprised to learn that part of the plot is based on Hamlet (note one W. Shakespeare receiving writing credit), in fact, the McKenzie brothers have the Rosencrantz and Guildenstern roles. Bet you didn't know that, you hosers. The two brothers have to help a woman regain control of a brewery that Brewmiester Smith (Max Von Sydow) is using to create some really suspicious beer.

Anyway, the plot's not really important. Trust me.

I hope you enjoy the beer, oh, like I mean the movie, eh.

There wasn't much to do. All the bowling alleys had been wrecked. So's I spent most of my time looking for beer.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=213&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/10/98 00:00:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/10/14 PAUL SHORTT UNFUNNY, UNEVEN AND CLUNKY 2 stars
7/29/07 Jeremy One of my top 10 movies of all time. A must see 5 stars
1/05/07 Watch This Movie! Forget Napoleon Dynamite. This is random, quotable buddy humor at its best, evn decades l8r 5 stars
12/27/06 Sugarfoot So hilarious,eh? Especially after a couple beers. 5 stars
8/03/06 Nicole Hilarious! Must see funny take on Hamlet!! 5 stars
8/26/05 ES I've loved this movie since I was a wee hoser 5 stars
2/17/05 Janet Crandall late night funny 3 stars
10/29/04 Dustin Reinders It was a funny movie me and my buddies could watch and drink beer to. 5 stars
6/16/04 logan thiel it was the best fuckin movie ever!!! 5 stars
7/09/03 niall o connor original and like nothing you've seen before 5 stars
6/09/03 John Meservy It doesn't get any better than this, and when I say any, I mean it doesn't get ANY better. 5 stars
3/15/03 Clay This movie is stupid humor at it's finest, you will laugh at how bad it is 4 stars
2/09/03 HELLO BOB! Simply the best, eh! 5 stars
12/23/02 Charles Tatum Why is this movie so funny? 5 stars
11/02/02 Gary. After the first 5 minutes; not very good, eh? 2 stars
9/22/02 Morally Sound This movie was filmed in 3B -- and it still looks good, eh? 5 stars
9/21/02 travis sraybash it's super thanks for asking 5 stars
3/30/02 robb Take off, any movie in hoser-rama has got to be good 5 stars
1/24/02 Marty Layton First half funny, second half fair. 4 stars
1/22/02 a canadian G'day, eh! See this, you hosers! 5 stars
1/06/02 Johnny P. A halarious Canadian sterotype. You have to be from Toronto to really understand this movie 5 stars
11/26/01 Graham Rae This is the best film ever. The end. 5 stars
11/18/01 Ricky I can sum this movie up with with on easy to remember word. STUPID! 1 stars
10/24/01 BRANDT I TRY TO BASE MY LIFE ON THIS MOVIE 5 stars
10/19/01 domenic goloob this movie kicks ass 5 stars
10/14/01 Bobby an hour and a half that I'll never be able to get back!! 2 stars
8/24/01 jason my favorite comedy of all time, a classic 5 stars
4/06/01 David Brown I come from the time, the days of 1983. and I love it. 5 stars
2/17/01 Jake Cheech and Chong they are not! Got old quick. 2 stars
2/07/01 m Speaking as a Canadian what can I say but great film. Max is hilarious. 5 stars
11/27/00 hk how can you see this movie and not love it? 5 stars
11/03/00 Kurt Thomas Awesome 5 stars
9/05/00 jonathan stange this best fick i have ever seen 5 stars
3/21/00 da Yooper Outstanding! Deez guyz are da best, eh! 5 stars
1/16/00 machine Mandatory viewing for all Canadians. I heard the sequel was just scrapped? 5 stars
10/24/98 Kwyjibo I heard a rumor they're trying to make a comeback. We can only pray. 5 stars
9/17/98 cheryl_ann I saw it when i was 4, i had no idea what canadians were, but it was a hysterical flick. 5 stars
9/06/98 Young Einstein How Rick Moranis has fallen. He could have been a comedic genius. 5 stars
8/25/98 The Capital City Goofball "BACK OF, YA HOSER!" "Hey, ya nearly spilled my beer, eh." 5 stars
8/23/98 James McCauley Kick ass flick. The quest for free beer. This movie relates to every day of my life! 5 stars
8/19/98 zubilicious a movie about canadians drinking beer, what more could you ask for, eh? 4 stars
8/17/98 J-Guy (The MFC) beer is pretty funny. so is this flick. 3 stars
8/16/98 Johny Maybe they lied about the writers here, but the flick is just plain funny 5 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Why they never got a TV series I'll never know. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Aug-1983 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast