More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.15

Awesome: 15.22%
Worth A Look: 5.43%
Average: 2.17%
Pretty Bad: 33.7%
Total Crap43.48%

6 reviews, 56 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Down to You
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"The race for the year's worst film has begun"
1 stars

Down to You (*) – Down to You is the cinematic equivalent of an audio book. And not a very good one. In it, the two leads turn to the audience and tell us everything they’re thinking, feeling, how they think others are feeling, how they want us to feel about them, and even ask our forgiveness for cheating on the other. There have been college lectures on the nothingness of being that are more interesting. A mere change of prepositions in the title and, at least, you would have had an interesting poster.

Freddie Prinze Jr., trying to capitalize on his success with the far superior She’s All That, teams up with Julia Stiles, trying to parlay her lesser success in the average 10 Things I Hate About You and the result is 90 minutes of watch watching. The film starts off promising enough, in the very least that it makes it’s college students hanging out like actual college students, smoking and drinking in a local bar. Unfortunately though, they also talk and say nothing worth listening to. Some attempt is made to show the ups and downs of a relationship, but it’s in the manner of a checklist posted on the screenplay, which continues to take time outs, having the actors talk to the camera like an episode of Twentysomething Once and Again in the Real World. All this wouldn’t be such a big deal if there was anything funny in the film. A side plot involving friends in the porno industry even fails to produce any laughs. Henry Winkler gets the single laugh in the movie, proposing a “Cops”-style reality show called “Cooks!” about chefs that would barge into your house and cook your meals for you. That was funny. Down to You features your standard issue WB-type soundtrack including the most overused song to promote romantic comedies – The Goo Goo Dolls’ “Black Balloon” – which if anyone ever bothered to listen to the lyrics is about a girl who overdosed on heroin and not a touchy-feely song appropriate for a romantic comedy. In all fairness, one character makes the most ridiculous out-of-place suicide attempt in the history of film by drinking a bottle of shampoo (pretty heavy stuff for what’s supposed to be a light romantic comedy), but I’m not willing to give the filmmaker’s that much credit.

Down to You is easily the worst of the resurgence of teen flicks over the past year and if this review was to be quoted in film ads and they actually printed bad reviews, mine would read “The race for the worst film of the year has begun.”

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2139&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/15/00 08:13:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/17/15 dr. lao The narration made me think I was watchng the worst episode ever of "The Wonder Years" 1 stars
11/16/11 Dane Youssef Even worse than I thought it would be. Little girls might like it. All else avoid! 1 stars
8/05/07 mb Weak movie, but the boy-girl attraction does pull you in. 3 stars
7/22/07 gr117 I'll second the "poo" critique. 1 stars
12/07/06 Steve Michaud Puerile, recycled rubbish 2 stars
9/18/05 tony it was poo but ok i guess 2 stars
3/10/04 Fullofshit This film stars the 2 worst actors of all time, congrats go to prinze and kutcher 5 stars
11/20/03 Pat Well yeah it´s the typical movie with the cheesy story, but it´s got some fine moments 3 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant Prinze Jr is calssically trained to blow goats. Keep up the good work, douche-bag. 1 stars
6/17/03 Erin ok...I really hated this movie. thought it would be good but it was weird and it angered me 1 stars
5/31/03 mee AWESOME 5 stars
3/21/03 May Q. Horney Herein Julia Stiles's downward spiral got worse than something shoved up your rectrum (sic) 2 stars
1/11/03 Barry Watched it on cable. Why does Freddie bother? He needs something shoved up his rectrum. 1 stars
1/11/03 sandi the movie was good! 4 stars
7/02/02 KMG Freddie! Wassssuuup? Why do you keep doing the SAME MOVIE?! 1 stars
3/14/02 Kirsten Abercrombie Freddie Prinze Jr. wasted, Julia Stiles fits such sub-medioctity to a T. 2 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress I can't decide whose worse, Prinze or Kutcher. Oh! Yes I can, this movie beats 'em both! 1 stars
2/24/02 Jenny Tullwartz Freddie Prinze Jr. is good, you doodooheads! It's Julia S. whose oars don't reach the top o 2 stars
12/24/01 Chris Julia can't even make this good. shoot prince 2 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Give me a blow torch and a crowbar and I'll tell Prinze Jr. what I think of him. 1 stars
7/14/01 Jessica I loved it! 5 stars
6/23/01 caitlin what a piece of shit movie 1 stars
6/13/01 Bada Bing Crosby Granted, its not "Dr. Zhivago" but not nearly as bad as some of you seem to think 4 stars
6/06/01 Vanessa Robles Its the best movie I've ever seen and all the people who didn't like it are fucking stupid! 5 stars
6/02/01 Thrillhouse goddam stupid movie, Freddie Prinze Jr's weakest of his career 1 stars
5/07/01 Kate horrible movie with no plot I cant believe Julia and Freddie wasted their talent 1 stars
4/25/01 Cloak Julia Stiles shines even in crap like this 1 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is a good movie. You guys just don't know what you're talking about!!! 5 stars
3/24/01 PIUOIAUdlkjs it's absoulutely awesome! i love it from the beginning till the end! 5 stars
2/11/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Why Why Why Why Why Why Why Why Why??? 1 stars
1/02/01 Down to you fan it was a great movie so fuck off everyone who thinks its not!!!! 5 stars
12/08/00 Girl 9 Soooo bad I had to apologize to my boyfriend for renting it! 1 stars
12/03/00 scott wahls Fonzi's "COOKS" take on "COPS" was funny, Ms. Blair is hot, rest blew goats 2 stars
10/05/00 Jacques Strap stupoid, immature and insulting movie to boot 1 stars
9/28/00 Ground Zero Let's hope Freddie Prinze Jr's career ends here. 1 stars
9/08/00 Stuntman god dang awful and pitiful execuse for a movie 1 stars
7/21/00 Kirsten Ridiculously bad; makes Deuce Bigelow look like Ben Hur 1 stars
7/18/00 Digitalus freakin' shit 1 stars
6/26/00 ane i thought it was brillliant 5 stars
6/26/00 ane tancev i thought it was brillliant 5 stars
6/18/00 Sir I like the way it was set out 5 stars
6/14/00 FREDDIE It was beyond a teen movie, i liked the style the movie was done in 5 stars
6/09/00 MR joel harwood Good 5 stars
6/03/00 MR joel harwood Beyond a teen film/ JULIA STILES is hot 5 stars
4/27/00 Pansy Like The King said, this movie sucks. The hell with Freddie Prinze Jr. and his mom! 1 stars
2/28/00 Kyle Broflovski King, dude, I forgive you...animal tranquilizers are much more fun than this piss. 1 stars
2/22/00 Mr. Kramitall I agree with Erik the Movieman. Boring as hell 1 stars
2/17/00 Andi C. I like the way it was done 4 stars
2/06/00 Reed Rothchild My farts act better than Freddie Prinze Jr. 1 stars
1/30/00 Lame-Oh Absolute stupidity 1 stars
1/29/00 Ryan Phillipe got hit by a car and it rules What up hoe bag King dude. Freddy Prinze Jr ate your mom's ass like fruit loops! Eat it! 5 stars
1/29/00 Lauren Finn It was the worst movie I've ever seen 1 stars
1/29/00 Chartsy Oh, no! What an unfortunate movie. 1 stars
1/26/00 Jeanne The movie had a very weak plot and the dialogue couldn't have been written worse. 1 stars
1/24/00 Randall It was so cute, great date movie 4 stars
1/22/00 VioLenT BoB Good FLick, Adult FUn, No Boobs, 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Jan-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Jun-2000 (M)


Directed by
  Kris Isacsson

Written by
  Kris Isacsson

Cast
  Freddie Prinze Jr.
  Selma Blair
  Shawn Hatosy
  Ashton Kutcher
  Zak Orth
  Julia Stiles



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast