More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.15

Awesome: 15.22%
Worth A Look: 5.43%
Average: 2.17%
Pretty Bad: 33.7%
Total Crap43.48%

6 reviews, 56 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Down to You
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Freddie: You suck."
2 stars

Call me old-fashioned, but I still think movies should have plots. I mean, if you're going to go to the trouble of hiring actors and buying film to put in the cameras, you might as well have something happen, right?

"Down to You" is a bland, witless romantic comedy that takes great care to avoid introducing conflict into the lives of the protagonists. They meet, they date, they fall in love, all without hindrances. Even when they break up -- 15 minutes before the film ends -- it's for a generic reason, and it's quickly overcome after only a few moments of fretting.

Our heroes are Al (Freddie Prinze Jr.) and Imogen (Julia Stiles), students at an unnamed New York City university. He's the son of a TV chef (Henry Winkler, who actually looks like he could be Freddie Prinze Jr.'s dad -- odd, considering he looks nothing like the actual Freddie Prinze Sr.); she's the daughter of somebody we never meet.

Potential conflicts abound. Al's dad embarrasses her on his TV show. Al has friends involved in the porno-movie industry, and he has to go be an extra one night, due to a stupid bet he lost regarding which wine represents love and which one represents illusion (just one of many puzzling moments in the film). He's two years older than her. She thinks she might be pregnant. Everywhere you look, there are seeds of a plot -- seeds of SOMETHING happening -- but they never grow. Instead, we see a cutesy relationship blossom and flourish, but without the benefit of chemistry or actual romance. Only in the last few minutes of the movie do we feel any kind of connection to them -- like maybe we actually like them -- but by then, it's too little, too late.

Both main characters narrate the film, which at least makes it somewhat different, if not entertaining. Prinze, who has some genuine charisma in real life, here is muted and watered down, grinning his "aw-shucks" grin all the time so as to appeal to the 14-year-old girls this film is aimed at (an audience that is probably content to just look at Freddie Prinze Jr. for 90 minutes, plot or no plot). Stiles is pretty, too, and her character is more than just a living toothpaste ad, but not much more.

One thing this film has going for it is the fact that if you see it, the next day you'll have forgotten it ever existed. It's a terrible movie, but a skimpy, innocuous one. At the end of 2000, it won't make anyone's "Worst of the Year" lists, not because it doesn't belong there, but because everyone will have forgotten it ever existed.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2139&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/03/03 17:45:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/17/15 dr. lao The narration made me think I was watchng the worst episode ever of "The Wonder Years" 1 stars
11/16/11 Dane Youssef Even worse than I thought it would be. Little girls might like it. All else avoid! 1 stars
8/05/07 mb Weak movie, but the boy-girl attraction does pull you in. 3 stars
7/22/07 gr117 I'll second the "poo" critique. 1 stars
12/07/06 Steve Michaud Puerile, recycled rubbish 2 stars
9/18/05 tony it was poo but ok i guess 2 stars
3/10/04 Fullofshit This film stars the 2 worst actors of all time, congrats go to prinze and kutcher 5 stars
11/20/03 Pat Well yeah itīs the typical movie with the cheesy story, but itīs got some fine moments 3 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant Prinze Jr is calssically trained to blow goats. Keep up the good work, douche-bag. 1 stars
6/17/03 Erin ok...I really hated this movie. thought it would be good but it was weird and it angered me 1 stars
5/31/03 mee AWESOME 5 stars
3/21/03 May Q. Horney Herein Julia Stiles's downward spiral got worse than something shoved up your rectrum (sic) 2 stars
1/11/03 Barry Watched it on cable. Why does Freddie bother? He needs something shoved up his rectrum. 1 stars
1/11/03 sandi the movie was good! 4 stars
7/02/02 KMG Freddie! Wassssuuup? Why do you keep doing the SAME MOVIE?! 1 stars
3/14/02 Kirsten Abercrombie Freddie Prinze Jr. wasted, Julia Stiles fits such sub-medioctity to a T. 2 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx aka The Raven-Haired Temptress I can't decide whose worse, Prinze or Kutcher. Oh! Yes I can, this movie beats 'em both! 1 stars
2/24/02 Jenny Tullwartz Freddie Prinze Jr. is good, you doodooheads! It's Julia S. whose oars don't reach the top o 2 stars
12/24/01 Chris Julia can't even make this good. shoot prince 2 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Give me a blow torch and a crowbar and I'll tell Prinze Jr. what I think of him. 1 stars
7/14/01 Jessica I loved it! 5 stars
6/23/01 caitlin what a piece of shit movie 1 stars
6/13/01 Bada Bing Crosby Granted, its not "Dr. Zhivago" but not nearly as bad as some of you seem to think 4 stars
6/06/01 Vanessa Robles Its the best movie I've ever seen and all the people who didn't like it are fucking stupid! 5 stars
6/02/01 Thrillhouse goddam stupid movie, Freddie Prinze Jr's weakest of his career 1 stars
5/07/01 Kate horrible movie with no plot I cant believe Julia and Freddie wasted their talent 1 stars
4/25/01 Cloak Julia Stiles shines even in crap like this 1 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is a good movie. You guys just don't know what you're talking about!!! 5 stars
3/24/01 PIUOIAUdlkjs it's absoulutely awesome! i love it from the beginning till the end! 5 stars
2/11/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Why Why Why Why Why Why Why Why Why??? 1 stars
1/02/01 Down to you fan it was a great movie so fuck off everyone who thinks its not!!!! 5 stars
12/08/00 Girl 9 Soooo bad I had to apologize to my boyfriend for renting it! 1 stars
12/03/00 scott wahls Fonzi's "COOKS" take on "COPS" was funny, Ms. Blair is hot, rest blew goats 2 stars
10/05/00 Jacques Strap stupoid, immature and insulting movie to boot 1 stars
9/28/00 Ground Zero Let's hope Freddie Prinze Jr's career ends here. 1 stars
9/08/00 Stuntman god dang awful and pitiful execuse for a movie 1 stars
7/21/00 Kirsten Ridiculously bad; makes Deuce Bigelow look like Ben Hur 1 stars
7/18/00 Digitalus freakin' shit 1 stars
6/26/00 ane i thought it was brillliant 5 stars
6/26/00 ane tancev i thought it was brillliant 5 stars
6/18/00 Sir I like the way it was set out 5 stars
6/14/00 FREDDIE It was beyond a teen movie, i liked the style the movie was done in 5 stars
6/09/00 MR joel harwood Good 5 stars
6/03/00 MR joel harwood Beyond a teen film/ JULIA STILES is hot 5 stars
4/27/00 Pansy Like The King said, this movie sucks. The hell with Freddie Prinze Jr. and his mom! 1 stars
2/28/00 Kyle Broflovski King, dude, I forgive you...animal tranquilizers are much more fun than this piss. 1 stars
2/22/00 Mr. Kramitall I agree with Erik the Movieman. Boring as hell 1 stars
2/17/00 Andi C. I like the way it was done 4 stars
2/06/00 Reed Rothchild My farts act better than Freddie Prinze Jr. 1 stars
1/30/00 Lame-Oh Absolute stupidity 1 stars
1/29/00 Ryan Phillipe got hit by a car and it rules What up hoe bag King dude. Freddy Prinze Jr ate your mom's ass like fruit loops! Eat it! 5 stars
1/29/00 Lauren Finn It was the worst movie I've ever seen 1 stars
1/29/00 Chartsy Oh, no! What an unfortunate movie. 1 stars
1/26/00 Jeanne The movie had a very weak plot and the dialogue couldn't have been written worse. 1 stars
1/24/00 Randall It was so cute, great date movie 4 stars
1/22/00 VioLenT BoB Good FLick, Adult FUn, No Boobs, 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Jan-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Jun-2000 (M)


Directed by
  Kris Isacsson

Written by
  Kris Isacsson

Cast
  Freddie Prinze Jr.
  Selma Blair
  Shawn Hatosy
  Ashton Kutcher
  Zak Orth
  Julia Stiles



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast