More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.2

Awesome59.11%
Worth A Look: 20.44%
Average: 8%
Pretty Bad: 6.67%
Total Crap: 5.78%

8 reviews, 177 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Yesterday by Peter Sobczynski

Toy Story 4 by Peter Sobczynski

Canary (2018) by Jay Seaver

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Chasing Amy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by iF Magazine

"A wonderful blend of killer comedy and raw drama."
5 stars

As a professional cartoonist (in my other career), I can testify that whenever Hollywood has tried to portray the life of a cartoonist on screen, they rarely even get close to getting it right. By turns chortling with smug glee and cringing in abject embarrassment, I’ve viewed what our lives are supposed to be like in the eyes of the "straight" world.

In ALIEN SPACE AVENGER, comics are drawn, published, and on the streets overnight, giving the hero a chance to trap the aliens. On that Bob Newhart sitcom a few years ago, they were shown coloring pages (with markers) right on the original art.


In most -- with the notable exception of THE HAND -- the artwork is horrible. Some just use the profession as a way to add some interest to a character’s backstory, and the rest of the film has little to do with comics. Way too many (COOL WORLD, EVIL TOONS) use the old "creations come to life" idea.


Well, let's face it -- the mechanics of the job are pretty dull viewing. Sit at a table and draw, draw, draw for hours and hours. So naturally they've tried to liven up their scripts by ignoring the actual work and making up a bunch of other crap about what our lives are like. For example in HOW TO MURDER YOUR WIFE (a film I credit with great influence on my decision to become a cartoonist), Jack Lemmon actually acts out and photographs all the adventures of his comic strip hero. I've never tried this myself, and I doubt if any other cartoonist ever has, but it makes the movie a lot more fun and is actually important to the plot.


The plot of CHASING AMY has little to do with comic books specifically, but uses the profession as a backdrop to the action very effectively -- and very accurately. For this alone, I have to give it my applause. It also creates a situation where characters are already part of their own misunderstood little world, only to be forced into facing their prejudices about other kinds of minorities.


Holden (Ben Affleck) and Banky (Jason Lee) are the creators of the hit comic 'Bluntman and Chronic' (artwork provided by MADMAN‘s Mike Allred). Like Smith, the pair has followed cult success with more mainstream exposure, and is at the point in their careers where they are being courted to ‘sell out’.


At a convention, they meet self-publishing cartoonist Alyssa Jones (excellently played by Joey Lauren Adams), and Holden is instantly smitten. But, as he soon discovers, Alyssa is a "devout" lesbian -- which leads to all sorts of comic and dramatic situations that I don't want to give away here. View Askew fans can have fun looking back at how Smith references continuity from his other pictures, and how early he had the details of DOGMA set in his mind.


Kevin Smith has followed up his cult hits CLERKS and MALLRATS with a film in which he grows up significantly, and gained greater respect and notoriety because of it. While his actors often have to struggle with his overwritten, relentlessly (but unrealistically) witty dialogue, the conversation is so often refreshingly bright and hilariously funny, and the characters and situations are so genuine and heartfelt, that I soon forgave Smith for presenting it all in a fantasy world in which everyone speaks like a Dennis Miller rant. Though a distant relative to the weak THREESOME, CHASING AMY is a wonderful blend of killer comedy and raw drama that's in a class by itself.


And it doesn’t hurt that the artwork is good, too.


This Criterion DVD reproduces the fine transfer and extras included in their laserdisc release of the film, all wrapped up with wonderful video menus. My copy of the disc had a very serious flaw and nearly exploded every time it hit the layer change, during the climactic "rain confession scene". Here’s hoping it’s just a glitch and your copy (and my replacement) will play fine.


The CHASING AMY laserdisc was released just as DVD was being introduced, and many film/LD buffs were still wary of the new format, especially considering the Divix brouhaha that thankfully went away. Smith reflects this by spouting off during the commentary track with a few epithets. The DVD contains a special video introduction in which Smith somewhat sheepishly apologizes and declares his love for DVD.


With a crowd assembled, it’s a raucous commentrak, with Smith, Scott Mosier (producer), Affleck, Jon Gordon (of Miramax), Vince Pereira (another View Askew director), Jason Mewes, Robert Hawk (associate producer) -- reproduced (like most of the extras) from the laserdisc.


Recorded before GOOD WILL HUNTING was released to Oscar glory, Affleck is subject to much ribbing and abuse, but is given credit for playing hooky from ARMAGEDDON to participate. There’s plenty of good japes and points of interest from all involved, amid the noisy snacks. There’s also a first (I think): a clip of the assembled commentrak company taped after the recording. I’ve often wondered what kind of atmosphere these things are recorded in.

Ten deleted scenes show quite a bit, including a scene with the fanboys from MALLRATS, Illeana Douglas’ cut scene as Alyssa’s hilariously hostile roommate, and much more. There are also fun outtakes of the cast cracking up and stuff. This crew takes full advantage of the DVD format, even having some fun with the color bars.-- Brian Thomas

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=214&reviewer=119
originally posted: 02/24/01 17:37:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell good funny flick 4 stars
7/06/12 Blair nonstop crappy dialogue made the movie feel like a marathon of awefuleness 1 stars
9/21/10 PAUL SHORTT ENJOYABLE, WITTY LOW-BUDGET FILM 4 stars
1/01/10 Dane Youssef One of the grandest romantic comedies ever made. Stellar acting & screenplay. 5 stars
4/14/09 FrankNFurter Deeply offensive, homophobic "I can turn a lesbian straight" bullshit;Smith & Affleck wish! 1 stars
12/13/08 brian c. This story is my love life in a nutshell. Hilarious and touching. 5 stars
4/13/07 mb She was emotionally right, but movie was redemtively empty. 3 stars
3/27/07 fools♫gold Though Dogma comes close, we'd never see another Clerks masterpiece from Kevin Smith again. 3 stars
8/12/06 nicolecrom2678 Great movie! Funny. a must see 5 stars
2/27/06 Steven Lewis I like the very smart dialogue but Affleck just isn't ..an..actor. 4 stars
6/11/05 matt i luv this movie. givs me that feelin i rarely get wen watching 1. my no. 1!!must c 4 any1! 5 stars
3/20/05 magaafi original & gr8! 5 stars
12/15/04 Tom Benton Smith's best film: profane yet sweet, as well as hilarious; a touching move up from Clerks. 5 stars
9/20/04 Daveman Amateurishly directed but intelligently written, a memorable romantic comedy. 4 stars
7/08/04 Denise very funny 4 stars
6/28/04 Peter Williams A very frank movie about an issue thats a non-issue today 5 stars
5/17/04 DM Smarter and more honest than all those trite Hollywood romances 5 stars
4/14/04 slayathon One of my absolute favorites. The whole speech scene makes me cry!!! 5 stars
4/09/04 kevin watts one of my fave kevin smith movies 4 stars
3/27/04 Melissa Gaugert Classic Kevin Smith - good stuff 4 stars
3/26/04 Vikki Fox you gotta love kevin smiths films - the best 5 stars
3/26/04 rojo Still holds up after multi viewings 5 stars
3/26/04 bruce miller saw it a few months ago, and don't remember much about it 3 stars
3/24/04 Margie so awesome... my favorite Smith movie 5 stars
3/24/04 Leslie Lato Entertaining movie. 4 stars
3/22/04 Daveman Jason Lee, irritating whiney twat, the perfect role for him. Good film though. 4 stars
3/22/04 Desperado Great fucking grown up movie from Smith, and one of the best endings ever 5 stars
2/03/04 biggerprom A bit dodgy but ulitimately entertaining 4 stars
1/24/04 Ming Chen Kevin Smith sucks 1 stars
1/14/04 Suresh In my top five -- you could learn a lot 5 stars
12/25/03 Samuel not nearly enough comedy for a Kevin Smith film, but still a great film 4 stars
8/22/03 R.W. Welch Oops, sorry, must have nodded off. First half was too talky with an amateurish aura to it. 2 stars
5/13/03 joker-smoker-toker verry little jay & silent bob. jason lee turned into a wuss. and ben asscrack! was in it 2 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby A very lively, perceptive comedy/drama. Adams, though, presses too hard. 4 stars
2/06/03 thejames Great fucking movie and true as hell. 5 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano Great date flick (even if you're not bisexual)! 4 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 I named my goldfish Banky after I saw Jason Lee's performance. It's just an awesome movie. 5 stars
9/29/02 Fuze44 If only I could have seen this movie first. 5 stars
9/04/02 Joe Zappa Call me an ass--kisser, but Kevin Smith has made one of the greatest movies ever made. 5 stars
8/26/02 Martin YAY LESBIANS AND BEN AFFLECK! 5 stars
7/30/02 Mac Smiths Greatest, I can really relate to this film-well not the comics or the lesbian gf 5 stars
7/23/02 Roy Smith Smith's most intelligent, mature, and impressive work. Excellent! 5 stars
7/13/02 Anarchy Azmi what the fuck???? 1 stars
5/19/02 Peter vanHaaften More incest 4 stars
4/30/02 Phoenix Kevin Smith's best movie. Well written and acted. 5 stars
4/06/02 NWO4LIFE Good, but talky and a somewhat poor ending. 4 stars
3/04/02 Andrew Carden Overrated White Trash Movie. Dumb Plot, and Corny One-Liners. 2 stars
2/03/02 Cameron Ovo Not his best 3 stars
1/03/02 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was OK but, it proved that there is nothing wrong with gays or Lezos!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
12/06/01 Bada Bing Crosby Not a total success but says more than a ton of other movies about people 5 stars
11/09/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) This movie kicks ass! It's AWESOME! 5 stars
10/08/01 Hogwash The best View Askew picture by far... 5 stars
9/06/01 Gary Meandering, low on plot development & sporadically funny. Affleck & Lee are good though. 2 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Ben had a homo hairstyle, and the film had too much talk in it. But it was good. 4 stars
8/19/01 Edwin Menguin Smith is overrated, unfunny tedious and stilted. Daft CUNTS! 1 stars
8/13/01 artpaws quit after 40 minutes; pacing is tedious unless these are life & death issues for you 1 stars
7/27/01 mn A bit too talky at times, but good. 4 stars
7/06/01 mjm103171 Between an awesome story and Ben Affleck....It kicked ASS! 5 stars
6/21/01 Colonel Stitchface Engrossing dialogue w/ some inventive storytelling tricks. The best of Smith's canon so far 5 stars
6/14/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe Get up here and sing, bitch! 5 stars
6/07/01 King Jackass I love you... not in a friendly way 5 stars
5/31/01 BrainPan Jason Lee is dope. Ben Hackfest is actually decent. Her whoreness leaves me uncomfortable 4 stars
5/20/01 kingjackass222 good and funny, but too dramatic and long 4 stars
5/09/01 Stephen Woods Who the fuck is Andrew Burt and Warren Lewis? Damn good movie 5 stars
5/04/01 Gracy Lionheart A good film if you like a lot of dialogue like I do. 4 stars
4/28/01 The Jedi Droid Jason Lee is the best part of the film..."What's a Noobian?" 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Raunchy and irrisitable. 5 stars
2/14/01 Jake Very deep message makes up for nastiness throughout. got quite an edge 4 stars
12/20/00 denise By far one of the best from the view askew crew 5 stars
12/17/00 Trina A little borning at times 3 stars
8/08/00 lily percy The best and most honest romantic comedy of all time... 5 stars
7/14/00 humbert some really good things in this film but she BUGS me! 3 stars
7/13/00 Carth a wicked view askew 5 stars
6/15/00 Zippo XxX Of all the Great Works of Kevin Smith, i found my self wondering what i have just seen... 3 stars
6/12/00 Micah S. nasty little movie that stupid people think has a great female performance from adams. Crap 1 stars
5/19/00 Elvisfan aside from too many temper tantrums/screaming fits by Joey, its a great GREATmovie 5 stars
5/12/00 Girl9 If you like watching films about the dynamics of relationships, this is a MUST see. 4 stars
5/04/00 Ken an instant classic! 5 stars
4/27/00 The Bomb 69 well written, acted, and directed 5 stars
4/03/00 JoAnna Rohrbaugh great movie! frank and revealing take on sexuality and male - female relationships. 5 stars
3/16/00 Chloe Sesta Jacobs I LUV BEN AFFLECK 5 stars
2/29/00 Aidan Fucking great film, most emotionally demading film of the 90's. Except the first 1/2 hour 5 stars
1/10/00 Will not bad at all 4 stars
12/01/99 Dr. Acula Very good flick up until the end, 3 some thing seems a tad unbelievable 3 stars
11/08/99 [KingMob] Finally a love story with a bit of reality in it. 5 stars
10/27/99 Glitter Berry The quintessential "love that could not be" flick. Smith is a genious. 5 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan The 'Star Wars' scene was great, but the rest of the movie was stupid. Overrated. 2 stars
10/25/99 will what more can i say. kevin smith rules, this is just further proof. 5 stars
10/12/99 Jared snoogans 5 stars
9/19/99 vickie one of the few original stories out there. SEE this film! 5 stars
8/26/99 LushZero the best kevin smith film 5 stars
8/26/99 Steven Great film. Realistic dialogue. Great non-hollywood ending! 5 stars
8/26/99 Steven Great film. Realistic dialogue. Great non-hollywood ending! 5 stars
8/26/99 Steven Great film. Realistic dialogue. Great non-hollywood ending! 5 stars
8/26/99 Steven Great film. Realistic dialogue. Great non-hollywood ending! 5 stars
8/26/99 Steven Great film. Realistic dialogue. Great non-hollywood ending! 5 stars
8/21/99 Olivia Neutron-Bomb Someone please yank out Joey's vocal cords..and yank the sentimental tripe out of this film 1 stars
7/19/99 Duck Brilliant! Everyone must see this film! 5 stars
7/08/99 The Bomb 69 Jason Lee carried this film 5 stars
7/07/99 Dax Kevin Smith shows he can do more than just a vulgar comedy. 5 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Great film but OVERLY dramatic. Didn't laugh much either. 4 stars
5/28/99 Lisa Worth a 2nd look if you caught it the first time around. Ben's best role yet. 4 stars
5/02/99 PJ Muff diving injury comparison. Need I say more? 5 stars
4/20/99 Lovebug Very funny! Before I became an Affleck-devotee I thought he was terrific in this story. 4 stars
4/14/99 Ami the Wonderbread What can I say It was amazing and funny and frank and fantastic and thoughtful 5 stars
4/12/99 disgusted Ben must have been really hard up for cash to do this piece of shit. 2 stars
4/12/99 Alonzo (alc311@hotmail.com) Joey Lauren Adams and Dwight Ewell stole the show, excellent movie 5 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn This is the Ben we know and love.. Kevin is brilliant,.. simply brilliant.. go Ben go.. 5 stars
4/09/99 Randall Best of 97, one of my all favorites, one of only three films to make me cry 5 stars
4/08/99 Daun Harner Only mindless insipid people do not like this film. Clever writing and acting! 5 stars
4/08/99 Dave See Albert's response- Right on the fuckin' money! 1 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm Kick ass! Affleck & Lee are god 5 stars
4/04/99 Albert Woof, totally overrated. JLA cannot act her way out of a producer's bed. 1 stars
3/29/99 Michael not bad not good 2 stars
3/29/99 Jefferson This sucked my dick 1 stars
3/29/99 Ebert's twin Somone needs to bitchslap Affleck for being in this shitty movie 1 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug Kevin is AMAZING! Keep it up Jersy man 5 stars
3/28/99 TJwills Kevin Smith? GOD! Affleck's a pretty damn good actor too. Not to mention Jason Lee. 5 stars
3/18/99 Madcap not the best of the three...almost too trendy and hip for its own good 3 stars
3/13/99 Paste I loved this so much that I actually bought a copy of the video. 5 stars
3/08/99 BabbaBooey Touching, funny, it spoke to the way most men have relationships in the 90's--OOhh, Yanni!! 5 stars
3/02/99 Rachel Fran Drescher's voice is more annoying than Joey's. Great flick, tho. Kevin Smith is a GOD! 5 stars
3/01/99 Blythe Its the film I own multiple copies of. 5 stars
3/01/99 Ken This movie was so damn funny! The only down side was that there wasn't enough Silent Bob! 5 stars
2/24/99 trussell@contactdallas.com This is, by far, the best "smith flick" yet. Nothing but the best from Kevin!!!!! 5 stars
2/24/99 Scott To qoute the good folks @ Disney "See it again" 5 stars
2/19/99 Nibby7 The best of Smiths NJ trilogy, but not the funniest. 5 stars
2/05/99 De Lacey Words can't describe it 5 stars
2/01/99 Vick Di Brecci On a par with Annie Hall, underrated acting, deserving of all its praise. 4 1/2 to 5 stars 5 stars
1/25/99 YellerDog Can't Wait For Dogma! 5 stars
1/20/99 Worthy Great movie. 5 stars
1/13/99 Melissa Simply brilliant 5 stars
1/12/99 Vincent Kevin is my friend! 5 stars
1/12/99 TNT This is so fucking gay. Jay and Silent Bob were pretty cool as was Jason Lee. 2 stars
1/11/99 Shane Brandon Great Movie - I loved it in the theater and i love it on tape 5 stars
1/08/99 demon_shredder Aside from being pretty funny, this movie sucked all ass 1 stars
1/02/99 randy F i love it 5 stars
12/23/98 PirateGirl Interesting. Funny at times. 4 stars
12/07/98 Slupet Very funny. kicked ass. 5 stars
12/04/98 Mike F this movie rocks ass. LESBIANS! what more could you ask for? 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Very funny and Smith's most mature film to date. 4 stars
11/26/98 Jack Aster what's a nubian? 5 stars
11/25/98 katharina ooh, yanni! some of the best dialogue, although explicit. and you gotta love ben and kev. 5 stars
11/25/98 Fred This movie only pales to Clerks. Jay and Silent Bob could save a Sandra Bullock movie. 5 stars
11/25/98 Linda Please see this movie...some of Kevin and Ben's best work ever...pre Dogma! 5 stars
11/18/98 MinxxDaShorty I cant belive this movie came from clerks and mallrats fame!!!! Very disapionting 2 stars
11/17/98 Gamma Fuck you K-Dog! This movie is terrific. Great story and dialogue. Kevin does it again! 5 stars
11/07/98 grunter everygeek's delusional wet dream brought to the silverscreen, directorial masturbation 3 stars
11/02/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! if it wasnt an indie film it would of won OSCAR!,great story,FRESH & original... 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Who the hell writes this shit? noonch! 5 stars
10/24/98 Timmy C Brilliant even compared to Clerks. 5 stars
10/23/98 Snooch Snickety Snooch 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Fight the fanboys. Direction was weak. Script was funny. Sentiment awry. 3 stars
10/17/98 Bryan Incredible. Kevin Smith jumps from very good to GREAT with this film 5 stars
10/15/98 tom good film jason lee is funny as hell 5 stars
10/13/98 tom great film---kevin smith taking direction to the next level as always 5 stars
10/03/98 wind one of the best. ben rules. joey's hot! kevin's a genious. 5 stars
9/29/98 Marty in St.Louis Walt Flanagan is truly an actor to be noticed, I see big things in this acting dynamo. 5 stars
9/25/98 Armageddon Great movie.. Not as good as funny as first two, but also not supposed to be. 4 stars
9/23/98 Johny Kevin Smith's best yet 5 stars
9/21/98 Maegs A heartbreaking look at modern relationships, its a fair look from both sides of the fence 5 stars
9/17/98 cheryl_ann i cried at the end when banky said bye. it made me sad. 5 stars
9/17/98 Bbanks2908 Funny as shit just as good as Clerks if not better> 5 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor The new spin to romantic comedies. Its the best romance yet. Lesbos.Lesbos.Lesbos! 5 stars
9/05/98 Kid Pee-Pee I agree with K-Dog. WE all wanted this to be good, but it just wasn't great. Awful framing. 3 stars
9/04/98 Badass I saw this three times at the theaters within a week. Astonishing! 5 stars
9/04/98 Scott Taylor Not the amazing "work of art" it's devotees claim it is, but a good film. 4 stars
9/01/98 kooky sal The chick singin was too much. 4 stars
8/28/98 Chuck-D It makes me cry evey time I see it. I guess that's what sex with lesbians gets you. 5 stars
8/26/98 Pete Great film. Affleck becomes a star. Adams may have been acting over her head. 5 stars
8/25/98 Zach Hyatt If you're not close minded, this movie will blow you away. 5 stars
8/23/98 Superfly Better than Clerks and Mallrats, just not as funny. 5 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee No midgets, no monkeys. 4 stars
8/17/98 Mike F Great flick. 5 stars
8/16/98 Johny More than just funny 5 stars
8/16/98 J-Guy Good flick. Adams needs to get a less irritating voice. 5 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} A good film but something was missing. Dialogue is the star o'the show 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Apr-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Jul-1997 (MA)


Directed by
  Kevin Smith

Written by
  Kevin Smith

Cast
  Andrew Burt
  Joey Lauren Adams
  Jason Lee
  Warren Lewis
  Jason Mewes
  Kevin Smith



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast