More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.56

Awesome32.11%
Worth A Look: 22.36%
Average: 24.8%
Pretty Bad: 10.57%
Total Crap: 10.16%

10 reviews, 186 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Gone Girl by Daniel Kelly

My Old Lady by Jay Seaver

Boxer's Omen, The by Jay Seaver

Come Drink with Me by Jay Seaver

Fearless Hyena, The by Jay Seaver

Treatment, The by Jay Seaver

Waste Land (2014) by Jay Seaver

I Am Trash by Jay Seaver

Equalizer, The by Brett Gallman

I Am Here (2014/II) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"My final fantasy would be to nail Aki Ross AND the girl who does her voice"
3 stars

While this movie was not the glorious spectacle of computer animation I was hoping for, it is by no means a colossal letdown either. And for once, someone managed to make a video-game based film that doesn't completely suck a donkey's kong. When graphics start looking this good in video games (and I mean actual in-game play, not cinematic cutscenes), it'll be worth buying a new console for. Of course, If I ever want to get that Playstation 5, I'll probably have to start a trust fund for it now.

The main problem with Final Fantasy is that excellent graphics and competent action scenes get dragged down by some bullshit Earth-mother spirit plot and some atrociously lame dialouge - but then, I never did like the games anyway. In fact, I never really played them and didn't know shit about the games' back-story that this movie came from. I just wanted to see some cool CGI. The film, at least, delivered that much.

After a meteorite crashes into the Earth, several kazillion monstrous, semi-invisible entities swarm out of it and trash the planet. The surviving humans are confined to "barrier cities", which are big cities with, you guessed it, barriers of energy around them to keep out the pests. Kind of like a great big bug zapper lamp.

Anyway, pixelated hottie Aki Ross (voiced by flesh and blood hottie Ming-Na who, despite her amazing good looks, is best known for her voice work. WTF???) is a scientist trying to save the earth from the "Phantoms" by tracking down eight "spirits". What they are, exactly, or why she only needs eight of them, are beyond me, but there you have it. She is protected by a team of tough-ass "Aliens"-esque Marines (voiced by Alec Baldwin, Ving Rhames, Steve Buscemi, and Peri Gilpen aka Roz from "Frasier"). And, naturally, she has a touch-and-go love interest with the Marine squad captain (Baldwin). Also joining the all star vocal cast are Donald Sutherland in the role of Ross's mentor/father-figure scientist, Dr. Sid, and James Woods as the not-so-much-evil-as-misguided General Hein.

I must say that the visuals are simply stunning. There's a reason they spent 138 million on a cartoon. A lot of painstaking work went into this, and the result is nearly flawless. I can't say that it's perfect, because every once in a while the way a character moves or speaks will remind you that it's not human. But for the most part, it is easy to forget that you are watching a simulation. The skin and hair textures are absolutely amazing. You can see freckles, pores, facial hair, wrinkles - simply amazing. And it's almost eerie how lifelike some of the facial expressions are. The voice work, while not perfect, is certainly not empty and soulless either. It's usually competent, and doesn't really detract from the film too much.

Where the film suffers is in the plot, such as it is. In a video game, you can get away with a silly story about The Earth having a spirit and alien invaders being ghosts from some kind of phantom Noah's ark. You can get by because people mostly care about the gaming, not the story. But in a full-length motion picture, you need something a little more substantial to back up the eye candy. Unfortunately, the main story becomes nearly incomprehensible after about half an hour, and the last ten minutes or so just feel like drudgery. Talk about an anti-climax. But hey, isn't that how most computer games seem to end these days? Every time I play a Resident Evil game, the ending cutscene gets suckier.

If you are a rabid fan of the games, or just love CGI-candy, then this will be sure to please. For the rest of us, it's not going to be extremely memorable, but it is worth checking out once for the awesome visuals, and to get a taste of what the future in film may hold. While I doubt that CGI characters will ever replace humans completely, they will certainly become more prominent on the screen as the technology continues to evolve, becoming more powerful and less expensive. And besides, CGI "actors" don't have agents or egos, and will work for a hell of a lot cheaper.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2141&reviewer=258
originally posted: 07/14/01 19:29:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/17/14 Exehzsdo USA 2 stars
4/12/14 Tuyusbdu USA 4 stars
4/11/14 yosksghf USA 5 stars
4/11/14 Zgjhcogt USA 3 stars
4/11/14 rtxhwaxqiq USA 5 stars
4/10/14 Tpvmrayb USA 2 stars
4/07/14 whmlbv USA 3 stars
2/17/14 Lybrqakf USA 4 stars
2/15/14 Sqhtwskw USA 5 stars
2/13/14 Qbhwqkgv USA 3 stars
2/06/14 Mivxouvg USA 4 stars
2/02/14 kemlkixqz USA 5 stars
2/02/14 Qcyjtwhw USA 3 stars
2/01/14 zcxsuvx USA 2 stars
1/29/14 Jglecsjf USA 5 stars
1/28/14 Abecshaw USA 3 stars
1/26/14 Rchkgbup USA 3 stars
1/21/14 Bgfsjpey USA 2 stars
2/20/11 Ark The phantoms were creepy and the chick was hot, even if she was just cg! 4 stars
10/26/09 JXL63 Otherwise, with respect to human well-being, it will continue to be outranked by these othe 4 stars
10/25/09 Ganry95 How could there be so many different opinions on what the truth of God really is? , <a href 5 stars
10/25/09 Alex86 Making Sure Your Surgery is Safe Check with your insurance company to find out if you may 5 stars
10/24/09 Ganry79 Food must be grown in with a short growing season, and all of the farm stuff that used to b 4 stars
10/24/09 Miss23 Again, a recurring question and a common one in most interview :can u pls send me some samp 3 stars
10/23/09 driver16 Are there rules about how I have to do my housecleaning? , 3 stars
10/23/09 GanjaBoy20 What are your Terms of Service? , 3 stars
8/06/09 The man with the van crappy story good graphics, enix should try making a movie like this but with a good story 3 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome storyline! 5 stars
5/16/08 PAUL SHORTT THE RESULT IS UGLY, CONFUSING AND BORING 1 stars
3/17/08 mr.adolescent FUCKING SHIT MOVIE. SO FUCKING SHIT, ID RATHER EAT MY OWN FUCKING SHIT THAN WATCH IT. 1 stars
12/28/07 mb Ridiculous and Deceptive 1 stars
6/16/07 al smith critics fuck off this movie is stunning 5 stars
5/11/07 Dude Stunning 5 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK Another slice of Jappy-crap. Wasnt worth the 20p I spent on it. 1 stars
3/21/07 man brilliant 5 stars
9/29/06 phiuk yiu Wait a minute, this was supposed to be FInal Fantasy. This film sucks everyone's dick 1 stars
8/30/06 Joe Great animation, but I had no idea what was going on. Still love the games, though. 2 stars
1/21/06 Rob Winsor Should've been titled "Spirits Within" as it has nothing to do with FF. 5 stars
12/05/05 Zigga As a FF fan if it wernt for the special FX this would have been worse. 3 stars
12/02/05 Ronin This one is so so. I am saying it as a Final Fantasy game series fan. 3 stars
10/09/05 Anus You guys are joking, right? This movie is shit! Shit dialogue and acting. 1 stars
10/01/05 Craig swift best film ever 5 stars
8/11/05 ES Should have been so much more. . . 2 stars
6/02/05 Chris Great special effects! 4 stars
2/19/05 clinger26 no, no , no, noooo- the horror! 1 stars
10/02/04 whatevr Just another crappy movie based on a video game 2 stars
8/23/04 Andrew Lythall Great film, great special FX, superb soundtrack and Aki Ross is beautiful!! 5 stars
8/17/04 Herolder Way toop esoteric 4 stars
7/21/04 The Talking Elbow The plot is confusing, but its brave enough to enter new grounds with sci fi. 5 stars
6/14/04 Jack Bourbon Made absolutely no fucking sense 2 stars
5/13/04 RevoHead Forget the name FF, This is 3dcg Science Fiction and nothing more. 4 stars
5/01/04 MetallicA This shows how superior the best movies are to squares games. 1 stars
3/31/04 bob excellent 5 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser Good! Good! Good! 5 stars
3/04/04 aeryn sun aki ross is just a great woman like me 5 stars
1/09/04 tatum Anyone else just rather have flesh and blood actors in this? 3 stars
12/09/03 Rob If only this horrible movie put Squaresoft out of business PERMANENTLY!!! 1 stars
11/28/03 Joseph The videogame series sucks, and THIS is one of the worst movies of 2001. Fuck Squaresoft. 1 stars
8/17/03 Lord Chu In my mind, THE MOST underrated film of ALL TIME. 5 stars
5/24/03 Tommy Awesome animated movie!! 5 stars
5/21/03 Jon Lyrik (sarcastically) Ooooooh...ahhhh... 1 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon That this movie is liked by many is evidence of national crack problem of epidemic prop's 2 stars
4/08/03 silvercheetah14 Great Animation and Action/Bad story 5 stars
3/17/03 mans0n are people commenting on the animation? or the film? the film just sucks! badly! 1 stars
2/20/03 Dave Underrated movie, but I'm into all things Japanese, so that's just me. 4 stars
2/13/03 Loyd OK this movie owns. The ending sux. The characters are weird...Now SquareMovies is dead :'( 5 stars
2/11/03 Ubu the Ripper This is why the Japanese shouldn't make sci-fi movies. Worst ending ever. 4 stars
11/08/02 Phantom8425 Underated, people didn't expect such an unusual story (I expected another Starship Troopers 5 stars
11/05/02 Michael Buehler What amazing potential, utterly unrealized. 2 stars
9/30/02 Zefram Mann If this were a live-action movie it would have made Hiroshima look like a lit fart. 3 stars
9/27/02 John McNew Shows great imagination through AMAZING visuals but stints on story despite its potential 4 stars
9/21/02 syrius what the hell was this shit?u people r just amazed by all the money wasted on the animation 1 stars
9/20/02 Agglepraxis Ten minutes of technobabble followed by a moving and captivating film. 5 stars
9/03/02 P.Rodriguez The Animation was phenomenal, but thestory was a bit thin. Still good first try. 4 stars
6/02/02 Dark Barøn Story not faithful from the series, none of the elements are there. Poor Square Pictures. 2 stars
5/29/02 Butterbean A visually stunning "Aliens" with romance and without the edge-of-your-seat thrills 3 stars
5/15/02 Blake The animation in this film was great! 5 stars
4/06/02 Junshi it wasn't emotionally successful, but somewhat satisfying 4 stars
4/01/02 Joe Schulz You know what sucks about being a Baldwin, Nothing 4 stars
3/18/02 mn i felt asleep halfway through the movie. my brother-in-law's taste of entertainment stinks 2 stars
2/27/02 Alan Smithee The plot is really weak, but the visuals almost make up for it. Worth a rental. 4 stars
2/21/02 FADEUR Fabrice Marvellous animation film 2 stars
2/21/02 Alexander Sila Sorry plot but visually fucking awesome!!!!! 5 stars
2/17/02 Mark Lloyd Loved the animation, but unfortunatley the storyline was blah 3 stars
1/11/02 max zhang seven fifty -- for this? They should've made another Final Fantasy game. 1 stars
12/21/01 Mister Char i copy andrew carden, "Video Games Should Never Be Made Into Movies." 1 stars
12/02/01 The Bomb 69 graphics amazing, storyline solid, good movie overall 4 stars
11/30/01 The $1.98 Pyramid This is a vast departure from the game series. Very disapointing. 2 stars
11/28/01 Andrew Carden Video Games Should Never Be Made Into Movies. 1 stars
11/12/01 Jed It may be flawed but personally it was way too un-mainstream for America. 4 stars
10/31/01 Sumixam Really fantastic movie, surprisingly great, the future looks bright 5 stars
10/13/01 Tracy Willams Disappointed .Lacked the epic plot and story found in the incredible game series. 3 stars
10/08/01 stephen its kewl 5 stars
9/27/01 Jeff Cordray Even though I thought it could have been better, this was my favorite movie of the summer. 5 stars
9/18/01 kelvyn so what if it looks real? Why bother with CG humans when actors will do. I don't get it. 2 stars
9/11/01 Ian Barr Screensaver: The Movie 2 stars
9/08/01 Ian Maloney Square sucks, Final Fantasy sucks, and they wasted their and my time with this movie. 1 stars
8/30/01 Slicer It's got a Squaresoft plot, but this movie owns anyway 5 stars
8/28/01 Justin Fowler Sweet Jesus the future is NOW! 5 stars
8/24/01 fernando gonasd i piss like a cat 5 stars
8/19/01 Matt Jackson Great underated sleeper. A treat for those without a boring mind. 5 stars
8/17/01 Matthew Bartley Feast for the eyes, shame the plot was incomprehendable 4 stars
8/12/01 Nathan The storyline was a bit suspect, but so was Episode I. 4 stars
8/08/01 Sealiah Intriguing dalliance w. Gaia theory; amazing CG 5 stars
8/07/01 ted v. EXCELLENT computer animation, BORING movie! I'd rather play the game than watch this again! 2 stars
8/07/01 Brett Williams Best film ever made 5 stars
8/06/01 Cl1mh4224rd Not just Playstation, you dolt. Breathtaking visuals. Decent story, but could be better. 4 stars
8/01/01 Poy-Poy Nice Graphics, Lame Story and the ending is really sux 4 stars
8/01/01 Elendil Pretty! Pity its plot, chars and style reminded me of a crappy 80s American action movie 2 stars
7/31/01 viking Great animation. All it needs a good story. 3 stars
7/30/01 Ro Sho Excellent editing and overall design. Aki is cute 100%! 5 stars
7/28/01 Dom Corleone Steve Buscemi got some of films worst lines 3 stars
7/28/01 Belinda Absolute rubbish 1 stars
7/28/01 Bill Clinton I like to pack lots of fudge with my friend Joe Stark. Oh the movie....the chick was hot 5 stars
7/28/01 e help! hollywood co-opted my favorite video game, and now it sucks! 2 stars
7/27/01 bront in a word: wow!................ 5 stars
7/27/01 tovah Great animation, characters lame. Save your money, buy the Playstation Game. 3 stars
7/26/01 Denz doesn't make sense 2 stars
7/23/01 nila great special effects 4 stars
7/23/01 Gracy Lionheart Wonderful graphics. A simple story for a short film. (Were you expecting Shakespear?) 5 stars
7/23/01 Eth'mae Look for what it is: Armstrongian step forward in animation. Film purists, get over it. 5 stars
7/21/01 Hawkeye I wanted to like it, but I just didn't care about the characters. Great animation, though. 3 stars
7/21/01 Luke It does the games graphics justice!! 5 stars
7/21/01 sdfk Are they going to let us download the meshes and plugins? 4 stars
7/21/01 Natalie Movie kicked! Great review ;) 4 stars
7/21/01 Ray Raspberry Story was lacking [comparative to the FF games]... Where Were The Swords?! Overall A- 4 stars
7/20/01 davebo great effects and characters less wooden than the Matrix 4 stars
7/20/01 Jeff Unbelievable.... And the trailer didnt just show the best parts! Awesome animation. GREAT! 5 stars
7/18/01 the scarecrow It just kind of abruptly ended, without expaining anything else plot wise. 3 stars
7/18/01 Chris Aki is so intoxicating, you'll break a leg on all the plot holes. 4 stars
7/17/01 ajay good graphics (duh), story wasn't as bad as I expected... 4 stars
7/17/01 Erin Alien:The crappy version 1 stars
7/17/01 Nicht Gefunden So real you forget it's animated - So lame you'll want to cry. 3 stars
7/17/01 Morgan Cranny Visually astonishing, story touchy feely but alright 4 stars
7/17/01 Danglia J. Zen Excellent CG - story got worse and worse 4 stars
7/16/01 ARCbird 99 Awesome visuals, decent story. Great for a video game flick. 4 stars
7/16/01 mo This is an event in the movie industry 5 stars
7/16/01 Shelley Great movie! Story is deep and engrossing. I plan to see it a third time, maybe a fourth. 5 stars
7/16/01 voyant awesome effects, with a good story. 5 stars
7/16/01 Erica Peterka neat-o! 5 stars
7/15/01 Third Ivan Thunderbirds 2001! The visuals are worth the price of admission. Plot isn't everything. 5 stars
7/15/01 Mike visually stunning, definitely the best videogame movie ever created 5 stars
7/15/01 Rampage nice CGI animation and story, proves better than the mediocre Tomb Raider movie 5 stars
7/15/01 strider3700 Bad jokes and shitty dialogue but the story wasn't bad and oh so pretty 4 stars
7/15/01 Mitch Outstanding in EVERY aspect, including story. 5 stars
7/15/01 Trevor beautiful movie, not bad story 5 stars
7/15/01 R Bretlin Hugely disappointing 1 stars
7/15/01 Brian very slow movie but the graphics are good enough to go to it for 3 stars
7/15/01 tommy who gives a shit bout ratings by ol' guys as long as u like it then its good 5 stars
7/15/01 KURT OWENS Clutch Cargo and Godzilla were more believable! 1 stars
7/15/01 RazorDog If you're not a fan of the games you won't get it. 5 stars
7/15/01 RazorDog If you're not a fan of the games you won't get it. 5 stars
7/15/01 MaG Great Movie. awesome computer visuals, and okay story 4 stars
7/15/01 MaG Great Movie. awesome computer visuals, and okay story 4 stars
7/15/01 MaG Great Movie. awesome computer visuals, and okay story 4 stars
7/15/01 MaG Great Movie. awesome computer visuals, and okay story 4 stars
7/14/01 final fantasy very slow movie so far so good. 4 stars
7/14/01 cybersquid Beautiful, fun story. Maybe worth seeing twice. 5 stars
7/14/01 Blood Saber Could have been worse. A great movie smeared by spastic dialogue 4 stars
7/14/01 Drixorial Visuals unlike anything ever seen before, plot pretty average 4 stars
7/14/01 raybass square blew pixar out of the water and beat them with an ugly stick 5 stars
7/14/01 prashant wu its pretty cool...not amazing 4 stars
7/14/01 Michael Dickerson Fans of the games will appreciate it the most! 4 stars
7/14/01 King0fAgarttha It has all the charm and realism of a Final Fantasy Game. In fact... it WAS one. 4 stars
7/13/01 Dr.Paradise Great, beautiful renderation, and a story as rich as all the games 5 stars
7/13/01 CableMage Great Visuals, Great Potential. Whoever wrote the dialogue, however, should be castrated. 4 stars
7/13/01 Dr Doom Thank god you didnt screw this movie up square. 4 stars
7/13/01 Kevlar Beast It's Final Fantasy VII with no interactivity, better graphics, and no likable characers. 4 stars
7/13/01 Human Shield The next standard for animation has your typical Japanimation plot. 5 stars
7/13/01 Nyartholep go see it on a digital projector. 4 stars
7/13/01 Tiroth Good story, amazing eye candy 5 stars
7/13/01 Rachel Unique, beautiful to look at, great story 5 stars
7/13/01 Darren Shea Gorgeous animation can't save this cliched and derivative videogame plot. 3 stars
7/13/01 frank pretty good story; stunning visuals 4 stars
7/13/01 HunterX Reminded me of FF7 near the end, but overall, another really good plotline from Sakaguchi. 5 stars
7/12/01 TheFirkin It's the story that REALLY makes this movie, the rest is just eye candy! 5 stars
7/12/01 guyguy this movie sucks and i hate the stupid hype surrounding it, i could care less about cgi 1 stars
7/12/01 Gentle Fury WONDERFUL!! I loved every frame every second every minute and hour!!!!! 5 stars
7/12/01 FRO! Pretty fucking cool. I was fooled about 1/3 of the time. 4 stars
7/12/01 mr. char What a piece of crap. I completely disagree with the majority on this one 1 stars
7/12/01 azzo! bitch! I like Venus Wars 5 stars
7/11/01 9th hate Why they didn't use radiosity? 1 stars
7/11/01 Travis J. Lehmann Beautiful cgi and compeling story what else do you people want 5 stars
7/11/01 Danny Stedler Looks amazing! Story was good, but it's the CG that makes this special. Top stuff! 5 stars
7/10/01 Neo Lan-ga Bad story 1 stars
7/10/01 John Chambers Amazing visuals. A strong female lead. A dark tone. A nice summer surprise! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Jul-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Jul-2001 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast