More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.38

Awesome71.21%
Worth A Look: 16.67%
Average: 0%
Pretty Bad: 3.03%
Total Crap: 9.09%

1 review, 60 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Friday
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by CaptNish

"Call the MPAA.... I think this movie caused me to smoke pot"
4 stars

If there was any film that added to my experimentation with the narcotic that they call marijuana, or "reefer," this was it.

Friday is a "growin' up in the hood" comedy that follows a day in the life of Craig (Ice Cube) after he has been fired from his job. Through the "peer presure" of his weed-peddling friend Smokey (Chris Tucker), he gets high for the first time and hijinx ensue.

Look, this film's strong point isn't its plot, or I should say lack of plot. It's power lies in its characters. With John Witherspoon as Craig's father, and Anthony Johnson as the neighbor hood crack head, the movie exudes hilarity. But the main drawing point of this film is Chris Tucker, who, without a doubt, steals the show here. Left to pretty much just be "Chris Tucker," he slams out an incredible performance that left me in stitches.

With a supporting cast of Anna Maria Horsford (Amen), Regina King (227), and Tom "Tiny" Lister (No Holds Barred), Friday is a film that isn't to be missed.

Time to go spark up a phat chronic blunt.....

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2167&reviewer=43
originally posted: 09/03/99 03:04:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

1/18/12 Marc DC You know it's good when you can recite every word. CLASSIC FUNNY! 5 stars
11/07/11 Jeff Wilder Lots of fun. Far better than the Harold and Kumar movies. 4 stars
6/25/10 PAUL SHORTT PLOTLESS, CRUDELY MADE AND SEXIST 1 stars
10/22/08 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 5 stars
4/08/08 Quentin Congress A SURE-FIRE HIT! A FOREVER CULT CLASSIC! 5 stars
9/12/07 Reyna This makes me want to smoke a blunt. 5 stars
4/18/07 Jordan The best one out of all the 'friday' films 5 stars
2/28/07 Keystra Williams Chris Tucker's only funny role 5 stars
4/01/06 Tanya wonderful movie 5 stars
12/23/05 ALDO first time i watched it i liked it. but now its just all blah blah blah 2 stars
2/22/05 CHARLIE FANTASTICALLY FUNNY 5 stars
2/09/05 Jeff Anderson BEST OF THE ENTIRE SERIES! Cube & Tucker are a riot, but Witherspoon is a NONSTOP SCREAM!!! 5 stars
2/08/05 Maemill Nelson This is a great movie. Whenever I'm down and out, it always puts a smile on my face. 4 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams SMOKEY! 5 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G bling bling 5 stars
5/06/04 AUSTIN POWERS SHAGADELLIC BABY!!! 5 stars
1/17/04 J Hilariously funny!! 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel The only one in the trilogy worth watching!! 5 stars
9/24/03 Erika It's the best of all the Friday movies.. 5 stars
8/27/03 Ant Mcgazz A brill movie 5 stars
8/03/03 Double G best of series 5 stars
6/22/03 cochese Tucker's ONLY good movie. This one is great, MAAN. 5 stars
6/18/03 lil t da maddest pot smokin movie eva 5 stars
5/23/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back, Mo'Fos!) Barely a plot, barely even, & barely very funny. 2 stars
4/27/03 Shawna hilarious 5 stars
4/08/03 brentley Pretty funny. Too bad Chris Tucker didn't reprise his role in the sequels. 4 stars
2/07/03 justyn cole very funny 5 stars
1/08/03 Gemma this film is mint ! smokey is kool ! 5 stars
1/01/03 Jack Sommersby A rollicking good time. Less toilet jokes next time, though, please. 4 stars
12/30/02 Femme_Fataleaa Every time I come on line, there a white guy talking shit! I like black people!!!! 5 stars
9/21/02 Frank White I real comidic classic 5 stars
8/08/02 Obi Wan Still funny after my 30th viewing!!!! 5 stars
3/06/02 David Baldwin This movie kicks so much fuckin' ass! 5 stars
2/03/02 Andrew Carden Regina King Is My Sugar Mama. 5 stars
11/15/01 siera this is the funniestmovie ever made and most critics hate on it cause they can't relate toi 5 stars
11/14/01 Anthony this movie is the shit 5 stars
9/25/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yo' Wuzz up! this movie kicks ass... BAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Punk!!!! 5 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean A down to earth, hearty good time! 5 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Stupid. Nothing is funny. Just doin' da black thang isn't funny by itself! 1 stars
8/06/01 Niggerachi BLOW ME... THIS MOVIE IS FOR CUNTS 1 stars
6/01/01 J-Dog Smoke weed everyday 5 stars
5/22/01 Eric my favorite movie 5 stars
3/20/01 Alex Gonzalez I think that this is a good movie. 5 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin It'll even give you the burnup of your lungs...when you're laughing! 4 stars
11/28/00 E. Clark Whoever don't think this movie is funny doesn't know shit about comedy. 5 stars
11/01/00 Buffalo I STILL think it's the funniest movie I've ever seen. 5 stars
10/16/00 TIM THIS MOVIE GAVE OFF A HUGH GAY VIBE... 1 stars
7/28/00 QUENTIN CONGRESS DOUBLE GREENLIGHT! THIS MOVIE IS A GHETTO CLASSIC! 5 stars
4/24/00 Ryan Wow... TOTAL CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/28/00 Chetburns excellent 5 stars
2/17/00 Erik It was the bomb!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/07/00 Kyle Broflovski The critics suck. Don't they know real comedy when it kicks them across the room? 5 stars
1/28/00 osirus wanna laugh your ass off? get high and watch this movie 5 stars
1/26/00 Jericho dumb 1 stars
12/11/99 kyle orvis i like boys 5 stars
12/03/99 PimpC Light up a fatty for this Pimp Daddy 5 stars
9/21/99 taariq All "neg" reviews can "kiss" my ass, this was one of the funniest comedies ever. 5 stars
9/18/99 cb smoke a phatty before hand 5 stars
9/03/99 Myra Friday is one of those movies that you can watch over and over and still laugh yer ass off. 5 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan Funny As Fuck...My favorite comedy...seen it about 15 times..WATCH IT!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Apr-1995 (R)

UK
  30-Jun-1995 (15)

Australia
  02-Jul-1995 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast