More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.35

Awesome30%
Worth A Look: 21.18%
Average: 19.41%
Pretty Bad: 12.94%
Total Crap: 16.47%

7 reviews, 128 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Friday the 13th (1980)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"OK, let me explain myself and the 5 stars."
5 stars

For most movie addicts, there are several movies they can pinpoint as milestones; movies they saw when they were young, movies they saw when they weren't allowed to see them, and especially movies in which an assembly line of cardboard characters are systematically and brutally murdered. The Friday the 13th movies were as integral to my youth as Mad Magazine, baseball cards and peanut butter, and I'm not ashamed to admit it.

OK. You've bought all this so far, so I'll take it a step further: Although the F13 movies are almost universally loathed, I consider some of them rather good movies. See, I don't judge slasher-horror movies on the same scale as say, Amadeus. I judge a movie on ONE criteria: Does it accomplish what it set out to do? Well, I believe that Friday the 13th does that actually quite well. The sequels? Most of them are guilty pleasures, examples of a tired formula that I still get a kick out of. Are they art? Probably not. Will they entertain fans of gore and nasty killings and breasts and bad acting? Oh, yes.

So here we go: The original. Although Friday the 13th may not be as 'influential' as certain fans may think, it certainly can be considered a benchmark in the horror genre. (After all, F13 was just copying Halloween, only with less suspense and more blood.) We start out with a young hitchhiker who is on her way to Camp Crystal Lake. Through a short series of encounters with the locals, we learn that there have been numerous tragedies at the local camp. Oh, well. Off she goes. She doesn't make it to the camp and gets her throat slit instead.

Up at the camp, all the counselors are preparing for the summer, only they are often interrupted by things like knifes through the chest or a spear through the back. To be honest, most of the movie shows very little imagination outside of the creative killings. But that's like complaining about the potatoes when you're given a huge steak. Most of the fun comes from wondering who will get it next, and how. Call me sick, but I like watching fictional people get slaughtered. If I wanted to watch real people get brutally killed, I'd watch the news. I prefer my murders fake.

I mean--Who hasn't seen a Friday the 13th movie and been shocked by a certain nasty killing? Can you honestly say you've NEVER made that chh-chhh--cha-chaaa sound from the music? Tell me you aren't secretly thrilled when those two nubile idiots, both better looking than you, get done humping and then get their skulls crushed. The formula of the F13 movies has probably been ripped off more than 500 times, but the first few in the series still did it the best.

It would probably take 50 pages (and a better reviewer) to explain exactly why people get off on such nasty and brutal stuff. Perhaps it's a tension release. Maybe through these types of movies we can reconfirm our own mortality and confront our fears of death. Me, I like the gore. I'm no psychologist, but I know what I like. For me, it's pretty simple: I like to see things in movies that I could never see in real life. I certainly hope I never have to see 8 teens brutally butchered in real life, but when Friday the 13th Part 10: Jason on Medicare comes out, count me in.

I proudly display my 5-star rating for Friday the 13th, because I love the movie. Is it well made? Not really. Is the screenplay or direction particularly impressive? Nah. Does it deliver what it promises? Yes, and it's a bloody good time.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2168&reviewer=128
originally posted: 02/29/00 08:41:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

10/02/16 morris campbell all the friday the 13th movies are crap 1 stars
12/29/11 David Hollingsworth One of the best gore films of the 80s. 5 stars
6/28/11 art let's not forget APRIL Fool's Day,and my Bloody Valentine!, 1 stars
10/08/10 Jeff Moore Great Review! Made me chortle, completely agree with the points you made. 2 stars
10/03/10 art for the RECORD,the ORIGINAL FRIDAY THE 13TH is the best SLASHER FLICK! 5 stars
9/28/10 PAUL SHORTT SILLY, GORY AND CAMPY 1 stars
9/06/10 art I WAS JOKING when i said i was a fan of friday the 13th! 1 stars
8/24/10 Joseph A bad movie, but for some reason watchable 2 stars
12/27/09 art THIS IS MY ALL TIME FAVORITE FILM!,and so is PART"S TWO AND THREE 5 stars
10/02/09 art FRIDAY THE 13TH IS MY FAVORITE SLASHER MOVIE!,HALLOWEEN IS FOR THE BIRD"S! 5 stars
6/01/09 art BAR NONE THIS IS THE BEST SLASHER MOVIE EVER MADE! 5 stars
10/05/08 blarginbadigalnohif meh 4 stars
4/16/08 art I TAKE IT BACK IT"S FOR THE BIRD"S 1 stars
11/01/07 Total Crap Not the greastest slasher in the genre, but defined many aspects of it. 4 stars
10/25/07 art this is the best slasher movie of all time 5 stars
10/22/07 Jacob Marzzarella that was an ausome movie 5 stars
9/17/07 art this is the best slasher movie of all time 5 stars
8/18/07 Ian scary film, tense foreshadowing +music. Well done. 3 stars
2/06/07 action movie fan just okay horror-way overappreciated though 3 stars
12/03/06 David Pollastrini brilliant, frightening 5 stars
11/22/06 Charles Brailey A very good movie, but not as good as the sequels. This movie sets the stage very well 4 stars
10/20/06 MP Bartley Still carries an impact and unexpectedly creative at times. 4 stars
10/20/06 William Goss It is what it is. 3 stars
10/03/06 Jeremy Davies Not bad, but not great 3 stars
8/09/06 Doreen My fav is Halloween but this comes in 2nd! 4 stars
8/01/06 Jake Seeing an old woman killing teenangers is scarier then Halloween?! Think of the mask alone. 2 stars
7/25/06 David Cohen The least bad of the "Friday the 13th" series 3 stars
4/18/06 Dave So So film which started a brash of sequels that for the most part were worse. 3 stars
1/17/06 Anthony Feor This is terrible 2 stars
11/24/05 cr one my favorite horror movies great kills and gore, a knockout ending 4 stars
10/14/05 Darren O Well directed, scored, and the effects are top notch. Grandaddy of all slaughter flicks 5 stars
9/13/05 Total Crap This movie survives as being scarier than Halloween, plus more blood. Has to be seen. 4 stars
8/23/05 Sugarfoot One of those "Why on earth was this popular" movies. Still it has it's moments. 2 stars
8/23/05 Eden Don't know how it made so many sequels. Watch Halloween instead 1 stars
7/14/05 Brandy Harrington Scary, but for all the wrong reasons. 1 stars
7/01/05 Eddie The original slasher 80's movie 5 stars
6/28/05 R "indrid" and "what?," couldn't have said it better. (although that's 3 words, 'what.') 1 stars
5/27/05 tony A keeper in horror movie wall of fame 5 stars
5/17/05 what? 2 words: Halloween rip-off. 1 stars
4/18/05 Indrid Cold Its influence far outweighs its quality. 2 stars
4/12/05 Phoenix One of the classic horror movies. Often immitated but never duplicated. 5 stars
2/01/05 Jeff Anderson Stood the test of time back then, now EXTREMELY DATED & MOLDY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
10/29/04 Vince The landmark of slasher movies 5 stars
10/12/04 kevin watts VERY GOOD,SCARY 4 stars
8/15/04 Anthony G this movie sucks black salty balls all night long! 1 stars
7/23/04 American Slasher Goddess The next review I find changed, that's mine, I'm reporting them to the Site Admin. 5 stars
7/19/04 Benjamin Petrofsky The best Slasher Film anyone can see! Better that "Halloween" or "Nightmare on Elm St." 5 stars
7/04/04 Samuel i thought mrs. voorhees was a great killer, she did an especially good with kevin bacon 5 stars
6/07/04 Ryan Clark Not as effective as it used to be, and a little slow... but it's very atmospheric and fun. 4 stars
5/16/04 John fairly effective slaher film 3 stars
4/15/04 J Common Jason's mommie sucks at KILLING! 1 stars
4/11/04 valerie hart the first one is not as good as the others coz it lacks interest 3 stars
4/08/04 phoenix The best of all the friday films. Terrific! 5 stars
3/30/04 American Slasher Goddess One of the great slasher movies of the 80's. 5 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ WHAT A SHAME... THIS SHOULD BE REMADE WITH THE NEW JASON (from Freddy VS. Jason)!!!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
2/17/04 Ramey Corny- terrible deaths. Jason was better than his Mommy! 3 stars
2/06/04 c.r Is one of scariest movies in the 1980's and it's gory fun! 4 stars
2/04/04 Chad Foster Awesome 5 stars
1/26/04 Eric Original.A great start to a series that should have stopped 4 movies ago. 4 stars
12/12/03 Captain Spaulding One of my favorite horror movies of all time!! 5 stars
12/12/03 Charlie and the Chocalte FActory Jason's mom was a much better killer!!! 5 stars
11/25/03 homer J. Simpson this was a gruesome good time, but a little slow at times 3 stars
11/09/03 Phoenix Not bad, but very overrated. Why so many sequels????? 3 stars
11/02/03 J This movie really sucks!!!!!! 1 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess Set the standard for slasher movies. 5 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee Boring at times, but thank God it was made because I am a huge Jason Voorhees fan! 3 stars
10/16/03 Erik Van Sant Groundbreaking teen-slash flick. Loved it and some of the many sequels that followed. 5 stars
10/08/03 Double G good movie since this started it all its worth ***** 5 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus Good movie, but should have left it at this one! 4 stars
8/31/03 I Would Absolutely saturated with cliches, which I suppose adds to its camp value. 2 stars
8/29/03 darren GANDADDY OF ALL SLAUGHTER FLICKS 5 stars
7/22/03 Double G It wasn't scary,good, or bad. A Camp Classic 3 stars
7/07/03 Chainsaw Slasher The pioneer of the 80's slasher trend. Long lives Jason 5 stars
6/14/03 Jalophoavbokilova This movie is happening right now. "Kill Her Mommy!" June 13th. 11:57pm. 2 stars
6/14/03 Alice 1 of the first camp horrors ever! Yall should be ashamed to call this crap! 5 stars
6/04/03 Mike Plays the way crap smells after 20 years! 1 stars
5/22/03 Andrew Carden Betsy Palmer Deserved An Oscar Nod. Fun, Original and Scary. 4 stars
4/27/03 Jack Stern It was not scary, and didn't fase me in the slightest. 5 stars
3/30/03 Sugarfoot A Camp Classic:Had me laughing at all the wrong moments!! 2 stars
1/25/03 M.C. Michael Myers taking a shit would be more entertaining than the Jason series 2 stars
1/02/03 Chowie mmmmmmm... 4 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Kevin Bacon & Jeannine Taylor's sex scene is Hot!!! 3 stars
11/28/02 Kyle Suspensful & scary. And much better than the sequals. 4 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Undistinguished slasher film that got out of hand 3 stars
9/30/02 Michael Carruthers Funniest movie I've ever seen! Aye, its not a comedy? It's meant to horror? Funnier!!! Ahaa 1 stars
8/17/02 Scott Talk about gore. Sweeet beheading. Scary as hell also. 4 stars
8/16/02 Shaun scary 3 stars
8/11/02 Michael Carruthers What a horrible film. 1 stars
8/08/02 Venthor One of the better parts. 5 stars
7/14/02 Graham McDonald Sucks big time , stay the hell away from this piece of crap! 1 stars
6/27/02 Joseph Morgan Haunting 4 stars
6/22/02 Jake You gotta love Besty Palmer in this! "Kill her mommy!" "Kill her" "Kill her....ahhhh!" 2 stars
6/18/02 Brandon A Classic!! This movie will last forever 5 stars
6/02/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi yes, nice weather we're having.... 1 stars
4/25/02 maximal01 This old bitch can shove a poke through a bed and clean through a man from UNDER IT? Nooo.. 2 stars
4/03/02 Film Guy If I was being stalked by a old lady I would beat her ass 1 stars
3/31/02 Film Dude They didn't know the old lady was a killer, she walked up to them asking for hel. 5 stars
3/23/02 masin wolliams the first one is kinda wooden, #s 2-6 kick all kinds of ass, 6 should have been the end. 4 stars
3/09/02 Chowie the start of a revolution..................... 2 stars
1/16/02 David A. The best of the slasher movies. Adrienne King is very effective in the head-chopping scene. 4 stars
12/17/01 Jake Betsy gets under Kevin Bacon. Strip Monopoly playing teens bite the dust. BILL!! BILL?? 2 stars
11/30/01 Rutt13 not neccesarily a "good" film, but a classic of the genre 4 stars
11/30/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) EricDSnider's a smart dude. The movie's a classic, but it's a classic for being so stupid. 1 stars
10/26/01 Sthenno This film was this gay then,but now it's funny as hell! Crappy directing. 2 stars
9/29/01 Phoenix It was allright the first time, but why did they make eight sequels. 3 stars
9/25/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was good, just fine but... Why did it have to be Jason's mother? 3 stars
9/07/01 darrin perrone the first,the best and the greatest scariest horror of all time 5 stars
8/31/01 The Beyond This movie is one of the greatest.See it uncut if you can! it's great! 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Classic...not great, but demands respect. Does somebody smell Bacon? 5 stars
8/03/01 Chris K. This ripped-off Mario Bava's equaly brilliant TWITCH OF THE DEATH NERVE (1971) 1 stars
4/22/01 Sar This film barely managed to hold my attention, although it did hold one or two surprises! 4 stars
4/13/01 LiL I've said it before and I'll say it again. Here's a nice piece of shit 2 stars
11/05/00 ???????????? Even though I'm giving this an awesome rating,i still think that it's otal dog shit 5 stars
9/04/00 TIGGER I liked this movie a lot, but I do disagree with Justin, it was just as good as Psycho. 4 stars
8/12/00 Justin The brilliant original. The best slasher movie of all time! Makes Psycho look like SHIT! 5 stars
7/29/00 Alan Excellent. A terrifying horror film that I will never get tired of watching. 5 stars
7/19/00 Terrie Smith First in the series which is not saying much for the ones that followed. So-so. 3 stars
5/01/00 Bender Not the best in the series, but still pretty scary. 4 stars
5/01/00 Gus Van Sant ahh,wonderful shite! 1 stars
4/29/00 Ehh... Don't watch this,OR scream,because they both bit the big one!Watch HALLOWEEN! 1 stars
4/13/00 SwatchDog Standard horror flick, at least Parts 2+3 had colorful characters and better scares 4 stars
4/05/00 Gary Durso im giving it avergae becuase it was a starting point for other horror films 3 stars
4/03/00 Tom Robinson Jason is Awesome 5 stars
3/24/00 David Rogers I heard so much about Jason in these movie that I was disappointed not to see him. 2 stars
3/02/00 Kyle Broflovski THIS is a landmark in horror history??? Ummm...Whyyyyyyyyyyy??? 2 stars
1/18/00 Jedi15 Bad acting, dialogue, & effects. Only good point is Betsy Palmer. Watch SCREAM instead. 2 stars
1/02/00 Dan Bentn Worth a look if only for historical reasons 3 stars
10/05/99 rob Pretty boring and badly acted until the ending. The second one was better. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-May-1980 (R)
  DVD: 05-Oct-2004

UK
  02-Jul-1980 (18)

Australia
  02-Jul-1980 (R)


Directed by
  Sean S. Cunningham

Written by
  Victor Miller

Cast
  Betsy Palmer
  Jeannine Taylor
  Robbi Morgan
  Kevin Bacon
  Harry Crosby



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast