More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.48

Awesome: 15.64%
Worth A Look: 15.27%
Average: 9.09%
Pretty Bad: 21.45%
Total Crap38.55%

6 reviews, 239 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

Amazing Spider-Man 2, The by Daniel Kelly

Hysteria by Jack Sommersby

Congress, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Independence Day
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"This has gotten no less stupid with age."
1 stars

If you've heard Orson Welles' brilliant radio hoax 'The War of the Worlds' -- which sparked a national panic -- you know it's scarier and more exciting (even in a visual sense) than the boring, demoralizing 'Independence Day.' The movie arrives wrapped in the biggest "event" hype yet. Forget government conspiracies about aliens -- what about the entertainment media's conspiracy to persuade America that this movie doesn't suck?

Independence Day is another retro hunk of cheese from director Roland Emmerich, who co-wrote it with producer Dean Devlin. These men, who also made the hit StarGate, have been credited with resuscitating the sci-fi genre. If empty movies like these are what sci-fi needs, it deserves to die. ID4 (as the ads call it) is abysmally written and indifferently directed, with long stretches of tedium. On opening night, I felt the anticipation of the audience rapidly turning to disappointment.

Like StarGate, ID4 swipes from blockbusters of recent decades. Despite the ostentatious three-chapter structure, there are really only two acts: (1) Aliens strike; (2) We strike back. Kaboom! Take that! The aliens, whose goal is simply to kill us, so closely resemble the critters in the Alien trilogy that H.R. Giger may have grounds for a lawsuit. Giger will have to stand in line behind Steven Spielberg and George Lucas, from whom Emmerich steals without shame. Suffice it to say that the big alien craft is a Mother Ship Death Star.

ID4 is never more pathetic than when it pretends there are human beings on the screen. Capable actors like Bill Pullman (as the can-do President), Jeff Goldblum (as a computer wonk), and Will Smith (as a gung-ho pilot) seem to be playing action-figure versions of themselves. Goldblum and Smith make an engaging team, but Goldblum recycles his dry inflections from Jurassic Park (he even reprises his line "Must go faster"), and Smith's rowdiness is marred by sentiment. Decent female roles? Not in this boys' club. Sigourney Weaver, where are you when we need you?

Does the movie deliver? There are perhaps ten minutes of slam-bang annihilation, spread out over a yawning two and a half hours. (Most of the movie is guys pacing and worrying.) Independence Day may own the holiday weekend, but I can't see it doing much repeat business. There's no magic in this kind of shallow, adrenalized commerce. Once you've seen the heat-death of an entire city, a jaded numbness sets in. ID4 goes all the way into video-game nihilism. There goes New York! There goes L.A.! Bang, bang, we're all dead! Isn't this fun?

Well, no. Even allowing for my usual crankiness towards these thunderdome movies, 'Independence Day' made me angry. Partly it's because it made the covers of 'Newsweek' and 'Time' the week before it opened, as if it were some zeitgeist spectacle ("America Is Hooked on the Paranormal") instead of 'The Day the Earth Stood Still' on steroids. Mostly it's because its purpose is to deliver a loud, crappy good time, and it fails -- it aims low and misses. A movie can commit no greater sin.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=217&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/28/07 02:40:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/19/14 trzarveikbv USA 5 stars
8/13/13 Fire With Fire 1) Will Smith's the big hero,2) Jeff Goldblum's usual,insufferable, unconvincing "acting" 2 stars
6/17/13 Steve G. Beyond stupid. Horrible acting, bad dialog, and plot holes you could drive a semi through. 1 stars
2/10/13 Jam one of the worst movies i`ve ever seen 1 stars
12/09/12 Simon so bad that it's so good. aka nostlagia for my generation. i'm not apologizing. 5 stars
2/16/11 I Smell Poop 'Poop-Pants' Connick Jr ruined the whole movie! 1 stars
1/08/11 Profpatsch A shame that even the critics have come down to rate only 1 or 4 stars. It was really fun! 4 stars
10/13/10 Total Crap Alright, the movie was cheesy. But, don't trust these reviewers. It was a good cheesy! 4 stars
9/24/10 Flathead King Great visual effects but the script is rubbish 2 stars
4/09/10 Krishna Movies are meant to be fun and this movie is fun. Fantasy is always enjoyable isn't it? 4 stars
2/28/10 Gary the Tech Guy The overblown music alone is reason enough to hate this movie 1 stars
1/17/10 PAUL SHORTT BIG, LOUD AND SHAMELESSLY CORNY 3 stars
11/13/09 RealityOfFilms Great film, great special effects, fantastic symbolism and forshadowing, etc. SEE IT! 5 stars
9/01/09 Jeff Wilder Not bad if you want a popcorn movie. Better than any shit Emmerich has made since. 4 stars
6/20/09 Mikey As far as summer popcorn movies go, this is as good as it gets 5 stars
6/07/09 Sol Goldstein Always the God Damn Hollywood Jewish agenda. 1 stars
5/06/09 Lyon Outrageous,flag waving,crappily written garbage. 1 stars
12/26/08 TYLER awsome movie once the aliens blow shit up 5 stars
12/01/08 Powerfull This movie is unforgivable for the fact that it actually looks good the first 20-30 minutes 1 stars
10/26/08 Steve Charb Goldblum and Smith make a great duo. Stirring moments make up for hollow filler scenes. 5 stars
10/20/08 Alex Thorne handy special effects, but overwhelmed by pretentious, flag waving american self promotion. 2 stars
10/08/08 Shaun Wallner Greatest alien movie ever made! 5 stars
7/05/08 AnnieG Average action flick, average sci-fi film, pretty bad drama. Scared my kid for years! 3 stars
6/17/08 Macca I just wasted two bucks on renting this DVD. This USA-saves-the-world drivel made me sick. 1 stars
3/03/08 Caleb367 Atrocious. Competes with Battlefield Earth for worst movie ever made. 1 stars
1/21/08 Denizen54 Ludicrous, pretentious garbage for morons. 1 stars
12/16/07 Jason Pulp sci-fi drivel, dreadful cliches, stereotyped but good SFX. 2 stars
12/06/07 Pamela White disaster levels out mankind to one survivors and the stupid 4 stars
10/27/07 Anthony Feor Think Twice about this one 3 stars
10/24/07 Ivana Mann Vomitous, brain-melting idiocy.The worst of Hollywood chiche laziness! 1 stars
10/03/07 Jon G all american generic garbage, the slow moving narrative is complemented by super bad acting 1 stars
9/26/07 Maria32 Ludicrous, absurd, painful, dumbed-down garbage. 1 stars
8/09/07 EZ $$ it blew my mind 5 stars
7/22/07 gr117 It's like swimming in a vat of melted Velveeta! 5 stars
7/08/07 Tom Servo I half expected Michael Bay to have pinched out this cinematic turd 1 stars
7/04/07 Wentago It's good because it's so cliche'. You guys take it too seriously. 5 stars
4/23/07 David Risser cool effects, reminded me of Star Wars. 4 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK About as deep as a paddling pool, but otherwise a great action movie that will entertain. 4 stars
4/05/07 Dave very entertaining 5 stars
3/31/07 KristianJL Awful. Pissed me off. Think they can put any crap on screen and we'll buy it. 1 stars
3/08/07 man awesome movie 5 stars
2/19/07 Nick Maday Pure fun and entertainment, but that's pretty much all. 4 stars
2/19/07 sook81 Blew 1 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega So much entertaining than expected. 4 stars
1/28/07 Ole Man Bourbon Made "Mars Attacks" all the funnier 1 stars
1/19/07 movieman fun 5 stars
12/28/06 Darth Vader Such mediocrity deserves zero star. Should be garbage collected 1 stars
12/13/06 Dude An underrated extravaganza. 5 stars
11/10/06 Austin Wertman AWESOME!!! MY FAVEORITE MOVIE OF 1996 5 stars
10/19/06 David Pollastrini great fx 5 stars
10/02/06 Jeremy Davies Not Bad, sort of entertaining 3 stars
9/25/06 Booksworm You are all IDIOTS!!You see, this is something called a mo-vie.Remember those? I guess not. 5 stars
9/05/06 Sepi53 this was great movie, funny, exciting great sp.effects.. 5 stars
8/31/06 Shadow Jacka; Interesting movie, but a little to 'all American 4 stars
7/13/06 poo it was GREAT 5 stars
6/18/06 elfranche One of the worst movies of all time 1 stars
6/11/06 Dave Webber Pure escapist tongue-in-cheek fun 5 stars
6/08/06 JM Synth I Like the idea of Summer Blockbusters, but so many of them suck. ID4, for example, sucks 1 stars
4/13/06 anthonyuk decent special effects but still crap 2 stars
4/06/06 poo Its good 4 stars
3/30/06 Dk hguttft 4 stars
3/29/06 Anthony Feor A Great Sci-Fi movie, Will Smith rules 4 stars
3/09/06 Dk Emmerich has made alot of silly movies but at least they were good 2 stars
2/14/06 the laughing man Don't you people know what a good summer flick is? 4 stars
2/13/06 John Smith 1 stars
2/07/06 Anthony Meh, just another alien conspirocy movie 3 stars
2/06/06 Michael Entertaining Rah Rah 4 stars
1/23/06 Ronin Awesome cinema trailer - huge disappointment later. Bad bad movie. A pity 1 stars
1/02/06 Wiseman I swear I could have remmembered this movie was really popular back in the day 5 stars
12/14/05 deadfishrman not a bad movie 4 stars
12/03/05 maoron this mivie is the best i dunno what yu gys are complabing aboyt 1 stars
11/29/05 Ming I still enjoy it every time I see it. Entertaining though flawed plot. 4 stars
11/18/05 Jabber MEGA-TURD 1 stars
10/23/05 Raul Valdez excellent 4 stars
10/16/05 Quigley this movie had some pretty insane CG destruction, and that suits me just fine. 5 stars
8/30/05 Tom Burns This movie was awesome. 5 stars
8/13/05 ES Yeah the USA is the best, let's give ourselves hand jobs yeah= terrible, pointless drivel 1 stars
6/21/05 tony Stop making the U.S.A look like they have order in the world!! 1 stars
4/18/05 captain craig Total ethnic promotion...Jews and Blacks save the world...the rest of us are usless! 2 stars
3/14/05 Ronin I was expecting a story based on the famous 'Ufo Enemy Unknown' videogame. Boy was I stupid 1 stars
2/11/05 Jeff Anderson The TV series V kicks this film's patriotic ass! The special effects were much better!!!!!! 2 stars
1/13/05 Tom Benton The first of the lifeless, weak Emmerich-Devlin collaborations. Hmmm. 3 stars
12/10/04 Kristina Williams the world got blown to bits, but THE DAMN DOG LIVED 1 stars
11/26/04 MP Bartley nowhere near as good as V 2 stars
11/24/04 Monster W. Kung Everybody I knew who liked this was an idiot. Gray here down the list is the last example. 1 stars
10/23/04 ODH Other than some really cool destruction sequences, there really isn't much there 2 stars
7/23/04 Blacky Lagoon Decent ideas were stolen from better Sci fi. 1 stars
7/19/04 assassin_chick Just a fun movie 4 stars
7/15/04 Steve G. This was one of the all-time worst blockbusters I've ever seen. 1 stars
6/26/04 Nobody I liked it for no apparent reason 3 stars
6/05/04 alien assassin Great fun if don't take it too seriously 4 stars
5/29/04 Gray good music+good build up, lacks reality, folks who hate it for being a little to pro US FU! 4 stars
5/23/04 M Hate, LOATHE Will Smith, Goldblum is great! fx great, story hrrmmm...ending? FUK OFF!!! 4 stars
5/20/04 Jeff S Great movie to see in a theater and DVD. Stupid, but loud and action packed. 4 stars
4/02/04 Top Dawg Bad Ass 5 stars
1/04/04 Ry lol, why did so many people go see this movie in the theater? 1 stars
12/20/03 Admiral Piett This movie is such a piece of shit, I don't know what else to say. 1 stars
12/13/03 Samuel A pretty decent movie, all in all 3 stars
12/13/03 John not a single original thought in this film - go see WAR OF THE WORLDS it's 100 times better 1 stars
12/13/03 Jacob Another shitty alien flick, what happened to classics like The Thing (1982) or Alien 2 stars
12/13/03 Monster W. Kung You dumb fat people, sitting there drunk, eating potato chips, watching this shit, FUCK OFF 1 stars
12/13/03 Sid Someone should shoot Will Smith, First MIB now this shit... 3 stars
12/13/03 Karie not very good!! 2 stars
12/12/03 The Killer The special fx are good, but nothing else!! 2 stars
12/12/03 Hatchet JAck not scary, and will smith sucks! 5 stars
12/12/03 KOMOHA Stupid! 1 stars
12/10/03 Moster W, Kung I licked my father's cock!! 1 stars
12/09/03 Samuel horror_blood, Fuck you...you bad mouth me on every movie I review, just shut the fuck up!! 5 stars
11/27/03 John not a single original thought in this film - go see WAR OF THE WORLDS it's 100 times better 1 stars
11/05/03 Monster W. Kung Samuel Justus is so stupid, he went back home when he saw a sign with "airport left" on it. 1 stars
10/01/03 Samuel Justus An Intelligent movie! Only ppl who clouldn't understand would say it sucked! 5 stars
8/05/03 I Would All the US patriotism was naueating but Goldblum is great and the battle scenes were fun. 3 stars
5/19/03 Erykk ID4 was the worst. MARS ATTACKS...now those were kick ass aliens! 1 stars
4/01/03 Mr. Do a shitload of crap, and.. erm.. crappy. 1 stars
3/17/03 G-man great effects, stars and...................even a greater film 5 stars
3/03/03 John what happened to sucks all ass? 1 stars
11/16/02 CVJ typical patriotic crap 1 stars
10/18/02 ID For ID4 Screw all that supposed "human interest" bung feed, only the airfighting scenes were good. 2 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Everyone who paid to see this should get their money back 1 stars
10/09/02 Linda Binda Knew it'd be crap back in '96; fell asleep through it. Thank god for IFC and Mars Attacks 1 stars
10/08/02 3man It was an okay remake of War of the Worlds 3 stars
9/27/02 Tim This is a good movie. Jeff Goldblum without a driver's license aiding in the battle. 5 stars
9/11/02 Magnum Craphole Hey Movie guy, you should be called Movie idiot with tastes like those. 1 stars
9/09/02 Movie guy A GREAT FILM 5 stars
8/19/02 Nevz shallow, shallow 2 stars
8/18/02 Craig An Elvis movie--without Elvis. Hated it beyond words. 1 stars
8/15/02 I Can't Swim Will saves the world, so his ego can keep on annoying everyone 2 stars
8/05/02 Del A bit of new world order crap in here, but otherwise entertaining 4 stars
6/05/02 gunter The crappier the acting, the better we all remember 5 stars
5/22/02 Tiffany Thunderhurst Superb disaster flick, although no real Tiffany is as dumb as the one in the movie! 5 stars
4/13/02 Movie Expert It is the best no brainer summer popcorn movie ever. 4 stars
3/29/02 Steve Mackey Thank heaven for Margaret Colin (yum)! 1st time in theatre - bad. 2nd on video - better. 2 stars
3/27/02 Dave MacDougall Tedious, brainless, atrocious, boring...they dont get any worse than this!! 1 stars
3/25/02 Fartboy Hollywood Quite unwatchable tripe mostly because it was TOO DUMBED DOWN, even for morons. 1 stars
2/20/02 Xaver I was rooting for the aliens. I thought it was dumb, but fun. 4 stars
1/19/02 Magnum Craphole Unwatchable, derivative, ridiculous, sloppy, dumbed-down garbage with patriotic nonsense. 1 stars
1/06/02 Jake The dog jumps out of the way of....flying cars! the dumbest movie on a serious topic. 1 stars
12/31/01 HM3 One of the most over the top movies I've ever seen, it's pretty entertaining. 4 stars
12/30/01 Cracked head. Probably the dumbest movie ever made. Crappy one-liners and inane plot a go-go. 1 stars
11/22/01 Cookie Cutter Worst blockbuster ever. Pure cinematic shame. 1 stars
11/02/01 Andrew Carden Never Gets Anywhere, and Has A Weak Plot With Horrible Acting. 1 stars
10/31/01 Sumixam As much as I hate the Americans save the world theme yet again, it's still a great movie 5 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith Too many improbable events perfectly timed! Won't happen like that! 3 stars
9/09/01 Gary Could've been Altman with aliens, but it's the usual crappy affair with shallow characters. 1 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean A nice action packed flick. 4 stars
8/31/01 TLsmooth I'd rather jack-off with broken glass than watch this shit-pie again. 1 stars
8/30/01 Slicer We DO rule the world, idiot 5 stars
8/16/01 IP_Freely One word describes this movie, "AWFUL" 1 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk I liked it...don't hit me. 4 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat My friend Darryl & I used to watch this movie all the time. It's great. 5 stars
8/02/01 KC Au Bill Pullman as the President?! So many plot holes in this...this is beyond fiction!! 1 stars
7/30/01 Bob jones too much hype, not enough movie, felt like a PR film for the USA 3 stars
7/28/01 bdf20 good entertainment on a slow night 4 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg So dumb it's funny . 2 stars
7/27/01 Crisis Management Awful, awful, awful. Emmerich sucks balls. 1 stars
7/23/01 anusface independance gay 1 stars
7/08/01 Gracy Lionheart Good for one sitting, then it's like rotting leftovers. 2 stars
7/08/01 Caligula ROLAND FUCKING EMMERICH SHOULD BURN ON A STAKE IN HELL! 1 stars
6/16/01 Rampage Have you purchased your Independence Day Happy Meal yet? 1 stars
6/15/01 Tod Ok, those ships are bigger than cities; when they crashed they'd kill all the survivors! 3 stars
6/14/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe All glitter, nothing underneath. You will want most of the cast to DIE 2 stars
6/09/01 Genghizkhan66 I had fun watching.But mainly US propaganda. I'll go for "Alien" series anytime. 3 stars
5/23/01 Dean I HATE this movie. The epitome of what has been wrong with Hollywood: big money, no brain. 1 stars
4/11/01 Monster W. Kung Everyone I knew who liked this movie was an idiot. Kyle*BrOfLoVsKi is the latest example. 1 stars
3/20/01 TNT-6 A portrait of idiocy in big budget cinema. Computer viruses that infect unknown OS's. Blah. 1 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi I personally love this movie...I'll admit it freely...so dig it or fuck off!! 5 stars
2/13/01 Jake One of the most painful films I have ever had to sit through. 1 stars
1/20/01 Ground Zero And I thought Battlefield: Earth was crap! This was even crappier! (damn you Will Smith) 2 stars
1/14/01 Invader The one thing that ruined this movie was that loud mouthed smith,what a wanker. 2 stars
12/27/00 Turtle Will Smith and Jeff Goldblum steal the show, even out-ranking the aliens. 4 stars
12/27/00 fifu come on INDEPENDENCE DAY come on will freaking smith !!!!!!!!! 1 stars
12/06/00 Cristopher Revilla would've been better if the other countries did something great, but not! 2 stars
11/24/00 The Evil Penguin I liked the action scenes and the music, but the rest stunk. 3 stars
11/05/00 Mitja Podgajski president saved the world, huh.. 3 stars
10/14/00 Jed Worse movie my butt! There are worse films kiddies much worse. 3 stars
9/16/00 Bruce Not in the same league as Terminator 2, but it is fun, campy Sci FI 4 stars
9/14/00 Ground Zero Best movie?!! Yeah, right... but Battlefield Earth was worse than that drivel! 2 stars
8/04/00 DREDD All the hipe, and it's the "worst" film i've seen.. 1 stars
8/01/00 AA A brilliant triumph of marketing substance. This is an absolute bomb!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/23/00 Tyler Peterson This shit makes some stupid '50's sci-fi movie look brilliant by comparison. 1 stars
7/18/00 Digitalus bad movie 2 stars
7/12/00 Terrie Smith Typical American bull: I was hoping the aliens would win. 3 stars
7/11/00 pancreas science fiction for retards 1 stars
6/27/00 Purple Monster "Top Gun" meets "War of the Worlds" 3 stars
6/25/00 Naushad Khanji About as exciting as watching snails on a collision course 1 stars
6/13/00 DAVID This movie was to predictable!!!! 3 stars
5/12/00 Steve Layne Entertaining, but thelast 30 minutes lost me. 4 stars
5/09/00 Pansy Really, really, really stupid movie. At least the FX and aliens rule. 2 stars
5/06/00 P.Rodriguez Teaches people(and aliens) everywhere - DONT FUCK WITH THE US!!-- bloody Yankee Egos 1 stars
3/29/00 malcolm Star Wars for the 2G's. better than every Star Trek movie except 2. 4 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers It was good and realistic but lacking. 4 stars because Godzilla rules! 4 stars
2/22/00 Mr. Kramitall Oh, grow up, it was cheap and TRASHY! 2 stars
2/08/00 Robin Terry I thought it was really good. 4 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski A summer flick that lived up to the hype. Oh, fuck off, it was EXCELLENT!!!! 5 stars
12/02/99 Bozo The bombs hitting were good; I'd rather die than have Will Smith in charge of anything 2 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster How did this shit make so much money , at least Harry Connic Jr died early . 1 stars
10/12/99 Buttman I've seen better on Star Wars 2 stars
10/11/99 Eran (erancoo7@hotmail.com) beBest "aliens upon us" film I've ever seen. 5 stars
10/10/99 Viral Messiah Star Trek: First Contact was better 2 stars
10/04/99 Suckit Great FXs, but where's the script? Even most of the movie sucked! 2 stars
10/03/99 Joe Schmoe Right on with the review, Oz 2 stars
8/23/99 Physh Un-Original, too predicable, and Will Smith. It had potential, and Judd Hirsch. 2 stars
8/18/99 Rodney Duke Walked Out Of The Movie. Horrible. Good For 5 Yr Olds 1 stars
7/31/99 Blue sky It was very funny and cool. 5 stars
7/20/99 Imagoner FXs are not bad, even though it sucked 3 stars
7/11/99 Daria Crappy script, but a lot of fun nevertheless. 4 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ** (out of ****) Category: "Average" 3 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg I truly can't stand this fuckin' movie. Screw the FX, where's the script?! Hype City. 1 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Thoughtless, Plotless and utterly fucking idiotic. Absolutely brilliant! 5 stars
5/25/99 Ah Dooey Nice FX and ship shots, Will kicking ass, and this movie was just blah-blahs. 2 stars
5/24/99 Mrs. Moviegoer This was a really good movie with awesome special effects. 5 stars
3/27/99 El Dorko Was there a good movie here? All I saw was a bunch of cheesy jokes and FX! 2 stars
3/10/99 Oggy Less fun than Star Trek, Star Wars and Babylon 5 2 stars
3/05/99 little jerry Much more fun than the genuinely mediocre Star Wars. 4 stars
2/25/99 Viral Messiah No way, this sucked ass big time! 2 stars
2/19/99 Piz Gaping plot holes but a lot of fun in the theatre 4 stars
2/15/99 Stephen Reinken One of the best movies of the '90's. Perfect combination of comedy and seriousness. 5 stars
2/02/99 Matthew Bartley Good on the screen, shite in your own home 2 stars
1/28/99 donkey_dew Lame as it may sound, I thought this movie was awesome!!! Special effects kicked ass. duh 5 stars
1/03/99 Dasha Good silly summer fun. 4 stars
12/04/98 Shadow Raider Lemme summon the Beast Planet and all of the War Planets against this shit. 2 stars
11/28/98 Mr.Pink Overhyped to the max, but not all that bad. 3 stars
11/25/98 Callie Really Liked it...Jeff & Will really made the movie 4 stars
11/24/98 Fred Well, there goes science fiction for another 20 years. Someone give me an Uzi. 1 stars
11/12/98 Jules Cliche, stupid, naive, Bill Pullman, do you need any more proof? 1 stars
10/31/98 Bad Kosh YAAAAAAH! There's a reason why the movie sucks ass. 2 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob I saw this twice, because I thought I MUST have missed something the 1st time. AAAAAAAARGH! 1 stars
9/29/98 katherine funny at times, but a little boring. 3 stars
9/12/98 kanatcha my mom cried watching that movie. all 8 times. 2 stars
9/10/98 Bruce Willis' mama. Great trailer. Awful film. 2 stars
9/06/98 Helle Marie It`s too commercial, but it`s great fun! Soot me, man - I loved it! 4 stars
9/05/98 Badass FUCK YOU DEVLIN AND EMMERICH!!!!!!!!! 2 stars
8/30/98 Matt the laughing skull computer virus was a nice touch. yeah, right 2 stars
8/25/98 Mister Whoopee Balls. Effects driven crap. 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Take away the big alien ship shots and you have a Three Stooges film. 2 stars
8/21/98 Pete When I used to have braces, someone punched me in the mouth. I enjoyed that more. 1 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet You've seen the trailer? Okay, well it all goes down from there. 2 stars
8/17/98 J-Guy (The MFC) saw it on drugs, it was good then. later on it SUCKED. good speach by the pres, tho. 2 stars
8/16/98 Johny Not GODZILLA bad, just lame as hell 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Jul-1996 (PG-13)
  DVD: 11-May-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast