More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.2

Awesome: 18%
Worth A Look38%
Average: 8%
Pretty Bad: 18%
Total Crap: 18%

2 reviews, 38 user ratings



Good Son, The (1993)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"A poor manipulation."
2 stars

Tacky, sloppy genre exercise about how when screws are loose, even children can be psychotic

***************************
The Good Son. Tacky, sloppy genre exercise about how when screws are loose, even children can be psychotic. After Elijah Wood’s character’s mother dies, his father must go away shortly on a business trip, leaving Elijah with his uncle’s family. Macaulay Culkin is the dangerous boy—and so he proves to Elijah on more than just one occasion—but naturally his parents think he is as innocent as they come…until it seems more and more plausible that he may have been responsible for his little brother’s death, and the attempted murder of his little sister (played by his real life sibling). As is a key element of teen movies—comedy or horror—parents/adults are nearly absent for the whole running-time (here a brief 82-minutes), making it that much easier for everyone to get into mischief. There are high demands placed on Wood and Culkin, and no matter how good they are, it’s practically impossible for them to play into the roles as the same characters would be ‘read’ in a novel or synopsis. Culkin is too diffident to be effective and too ‘written’ or scripted to be believable. Wood fills his shoes more functionally and often his fear seems so real, that it was taken out of another project. Young as he was, Wood has a plucky spirit that gives far more than this movie is worth. The Good Son is mostly stitched together from banal exterior shots, disembodying the camera to release it for awkward heights, and TV-style close-ups, constantly, of and for the two young boys. (Makes you wonder how much time the pair actually spent together during the actual filming and for the more dangerous scenes.) Like the Culkin character, it’s all a poor manipulation.

Directed by Joseph Ruben. With David Morse.

Final Verdict: D.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2176&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/10/01 10:33:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/29/09 Jeff Wilder Easily the most vile excuse for a movie I've ever seen. 1 stars
12/11/09 Dane Youssef Potentially great film ruined by miscasting and the dumbing down for the mainstream. 1 stars
7/08/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* A pretty good watch but its pretty much messed up 4 stars
5/04/07 David Cohen The role Culkin was born to play 4 stars
3/06/07 action movie fan bad seed was better-takes too long to develop 2 stars
6/06/06 Dave Webber Mixed Bag - I wuz kinda cheering the bad guy in this, even tho I love Lij. 3 stars
8/06/05 Brandy Harrington Terrible, don't waste your time here. 1 stars
1/16/05 Jeff Anderson PRETTY BAD! John Lindley's great cinematography and E. Wood's performance save this greatly 2 stars
10/13/04 Laura It's my favourite movie! Besides Elijah is soooo hott!!! 5 stars
9/27/04 Kristina Spiteri Excellent movie, Macaulay is spectacular 5 stars
9/20/04 Gray disturbing 4 stars
7/20/04 Danielle Macaulay Culkin and Elijah Wood do awesome in this movie! 5 stars
6/16/04 Staci Bickerstaff I thought it was really good it had the feeling of mark being scared for the family. 5 stars
6/07/04 sheenaleonardo very very good 5 stars
4/16/04 Chris Could've been great if Culkin han not been involved but as it is its bad 1 stars
3/03/04 me a good fim 4 stars
9/19/03 Samuel Justus quite an entertaining Movie!!! 3 stars
9/08/03 Kyle Pretty intese thriller. Culkin is actually very convincing- 4 stars
4/06/03 . Good movie! Macauly in another way! 4 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Dumb writing somewhat redeemed by Ruben's direction and Wood's perf. 2 stars
1/08/03 Monica GOOD 5 stars
8/12/02 blakers a good film 4 stars
6/28/02 LIAM JACKSON This film is brilliant. Mac is excellent as the psycho pre-teen terrorizing his cousin.*** 5 stars
6/13/02 The Vegetarian Cannibal Intense thriller in a painful sort of way. 4 stars
5/16/02 Craig Younkin Mac is like a combination of Dennis the Menace and Hannibal Lecter in this film. 4 stars
5/15/02 Blake Macaulay Culkin did awsome in this film, I think this film deserves all the good ratings. 5 stars
3/08/02 Mo Anand If only Culkin wasn't in this movie...elijah, though, is great. 3 stars
1/04/02 KMG Total typecasting: how about making Elijah EVIL and Mack GOOD?! 4 stars
12/16/01 Andrew Carden Very Creepy Movie That Overpowers It's Dull Script. 4 stars
11/20/00 The EVIL Penguin EEEEEEEWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/19/00 homer simpson it made me throw up, horrible shit 1 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski The only Macaulay flick, aside from "My Girl," I can actually stomach. 4 stars
12/31/99 Felicity This movie keeps you on the edge of your seat. 4 stars
11/30/99 Jeffrey McAdam-Reed My Favorite Movie Of All Time 5 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Poor Mac , where is a pair of stupid robbers when you nedd them ? 1 stars
9/17/99 strike Puh-leeze!! This is no underrated classic, it's stupid and distasteful crap! 1 stars
9/08/99 Bluntman I wash my hands on this movie 1 stars
8/26/99 LushZero average hollywood thriller with one sensational seilling point: kid as villian 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Sep-1993 (R)
  DVD: 03-Feb-2004

UK
  02-Feb-1994 (18)

Australia
  02-Feb-1994 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast