More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.32

Awesome65.96%
Worth A Look: 21.28%
Average: 0%
Pretty Bad: 4.26%
Total Crap: 8.51%

1 review, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Russian Doll (2016) by Rob Gonsalves

Avengers: Infinity War by Peter Sobczynski

Top Knot Detective by Jay Seaver

Beirut by Jay Seaver

Phantom Thread by Rob Gonsalves

Vazante by Rob Gonsalves

Big Fish & Begonia by Jay Seaver

Claire's Camera by Jay Seaver

Let the Corpses Tan by Jay Seaver

Queen of Hollywood Blvd, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bagdad Cafe
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"Just wonderful."
4 stars

Shakespeare, who knew everything, would begin his comedies by removing the main characters to a remote and unfamiliar site. The break in the patterns would allow for everything to get fucked up so it could come back together again in a new improved way. That is why they are comedies and not tragedies. Imagine getting stuck in that remote location and calling it your home instead of reassimilating back into the social structure you came from.

Bagdad Cafe is that place. Everyone is from someplace else. Some have been there long than others. They all have a story but for some reason, this time around, the characters engage each other and the chaotic systems of life repattern themselves into their collective story.

The movie is a beautiful portrait in the middle of a desert where flowers bloom. Flowers blooming in the desert is the overall theme of this film, literally and metaphorically. The particular alchemy of coincidence causes a chemical reaction that forges something new out of the seperate elements that maintained their inertia. Everyone gets what's missing in their life and their affect on each other challenges each other and makes them grow into more well-rounded people. The Motel where this all takes place is like a hospital where nobody knew they were sick until wellness begins to spread.

The characters are so off-beat, you'd expect this to be an Australian film.

You'll see some familar faces in this film in some unfamiliar roles. But a regular gig on ER certainly pays more than an obscure independant film produced in another country, yet filmed in English.

A wonderful film about making friends, crossing boundaries and discovering how much of our life is other people.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2191&reviewer=67
originally posted: 03/17/00 08:31:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/01/15 PAUL SHORTT CHARMING, WITTY AND WELL EDITED 4 stars
1/10/15 brian Having watched over 10,000 films in my life, this remains in my top 3. 5 stars
7/22/11 Peggy Karp a wonderful movie about love and redemption which never mentions those words 5 stars
1/06/09 FrankNFurter The best art film of all time.Whimsical, funny and moving.A true masterpiece! 5 stars
2/15/07 Andy Recommended 5 stars
2/13/07 fishcatdogbird Awesome, great thinking movie! 5 stars
1/31/07 Jo-Anne Loved this film would watch it again and again would like to find soundtrack 5 stars
11/11/06 Su I love this film. Anyone who thinks, it has racist undertones, did not unterstand it. 5 stars
10/23/06 Lilly Lame movie, felt bad for the german woman dealing with that racist manager 1 stars
7/23/06 Jerry Bates Excellant 5 stars
5/27/06 Mel Steeden Everytime I feel down I watch the movie again - wonderful - in 2006 I had lunch there 5 stars
5/15/06 millersxing It ain't over 'til the fat lady gets Brenda's blessing. (We all know who runs the show.) 5 stars
4/22/06 sam mystical 5 stars
8/19/05 Pete G Very Disappointing + underlying tones of racism. German saves ethnic indolents who run cafe 2 stars
7/06/05 Pinkline Jones Forced eccentricity=waste of beer money 1 stars
5/11/05 Carol Webb I have used this film in my high school English classes for several years now. 5 stars
2/14/05 Trelkovsky Judy if you like this u are RETARDED 1 stars
11/24/04 Dr. Laurence Marriott I have just watched this movie yet again. It is superb. 5 stars
10/09/04 chris I just loved that movie 5 stars
8/16/04 Rusty Klichowicz A Mary Poppins for Grown ups 5 stars
7/01/04 mary unterbrink loved this fascinating movie 5 stars
1/21/04 Memed Bengul Wonderful movie, sympathetic characters, great sound and camerawork. Touching story. 5 stars
6/27/03 Louise This little movie is addictive! 5 stars
6/02/03 judy bre and pinkline are stupid 5 stars
4/22/03 eternalvenus road less travelled...finding oneself and the freedom that comes with it. Great movie 5 stars
2/16/03 Colleen Slaymaker This is one of my favorites. Haunting, offbeat, funny, thoughprovoking 5 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones Garbage. Telegraphed and Forced Eccentricity. Bad Bad 2 stars
1/04/03 Drew Dixon I find myself feeling good and glad I watched it no matter how many times I see it again. 5 stars
11/07/02 Bre This movie sticks it really has no plot and is a good substitute for porn 1 stars
3/29/02 Colleen Slaymaker This is a terrific film, so much to think about. It is a jewel. 5 stars
3/24/02 chuck loomis great moving film, deeply touched 5 stars
2/03/02 Andrew Carden Excellent Movie...See The Tv Series If You Have A Chance Also. 5 stars
11/27/01 owu goddess a great film where women take traditional roles to exert independence and sexuality 4 stars
8/24/01 Mindy one of my favorites 5 stars
7/30/01 Harry Pearson It's all about the transforming power of magic in everyday life. Shows you this is so 5 stars
5/03/01 Bada Bing Crosby "I'll talk it over with Brenda" 5 stars
3/14/01 Phil M. Afficianado Haunting; memorable; fun; meaningful. Soundtrack in my car. That's all. 5 stars
3/11/01 Carolyn This movie is as haunting as the theme music - you can't get it out of your head! 5 stars
10/07/00 susan quirky, provocative, funny, touching 4 stars
2/05/00 louise unusual and divine 5 stars
10/07/99 sophia962 Subtle, funny, cool. Jack deserved an Oscar nod for this. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Sep-1988 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1989 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast