More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.71

Awesome85%
Worth A Look: 7.5%
Average: 3.33%
Pretty Bad: 1.67%
Total Crap: 2.5%

4 reviews, 216 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Gone Girl by Daniel Kelly

My Old Lady by Jay Seaver

Boxer's Omen, The by Jay Seaver

Come Drink with Me by Jay Seaver

Fearless Hyena, The by Jay Seaver

Treatment, The by Jay Seaver

Waste Land (2014) by Jay Seaver

I Am Trash by Jay Seaver

Equalizer, The by Brett Gallman

I Am Here (2014/II) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Jaws
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Simply brilliant."
5 stars

Spielberg's classic about a man-eating shark terrorizing a New York beach community. Jaws is a movie that excels at so many levels, it may be close to the perfect movie. Rarely does one movie so deeply ingrain itself into popular culture. Remember that this movie made millions of people afraid of WATER!

What more needs to be said? I feel like I'm trying to sell aspirin to the AMA. If, for some surreal reason, you've never actually SEEN Jaws, I wonder if you even know what a movie is. The only people who won't get shit from me for not seeing this classic are those under 6 years old.


You know the scene in the very beginning, where the skinny-dipping girl gets devoured? When she first gets bitten, listen carefully to these gaspy noises she makes. I just bet that sound effect was a contribution from Spielberg. It's really creepy. Aside from the terrifying shark scenes, the movie contains several smaller scenes that are just as memorable. (Our three heroes comparing scars or Quint's terrible story of his history with sharks.)

Anyway, if you've never seen Jaws, here's a short list of things to do:

1. Get TBS, since they run Jaws about every 33 hours.
2. Move to a larger rock.
3. Spend less time online and more time in your video store.

Jaws is simply one of the most original, entertaining and well-made movies of the last 50 years. It's been dissected, analyzed, copied, ripped off, parodied and emualted. It strikes a dark chord of primal fear into people, because deep down we're all just cavemen trying to stay uneaten.

Roy Scheider gives a strong performance as Brody, Chief of Police in Amity Island, NY. When a nasty series of shark attacks threaten the local waters, he enlists a clever icthyologist (Richard Dreyfus) and a salty sea captain (Robert Shaw) to help kill the beast. Of course, there is the slimy politician (Murray Hamilton) who insists the beaches stay open. It's tourist season after all. Just a wonderful movie.

As a matter of fact, if you've never seen Jaws, I have the ultimate punishment:

You have to watch all the sequels.

If you took this review and Xeroxed it one million times, THIS ONE would still be the ORIGINAL. Get it?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=220&reviewer=128
originally posted: 07/18/99 04:39:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

12/24/13 Michelle O 1st "horror" movie I ever saw & which I have since compared all others to 5 stars
2/02/13 Kcaj fuck yeah 5 stars
12/11/12 Jamie Classic movie, anyone who doesn't like it is an idiot who likes crap movies. 5 stars
8/15/12 Kevin McDonough Flathead King is an apt name for him. Jaws is the greatest movie ever made. Case closed! 5 stars
10/06/11 Richard Roy Scheider, underrated leading performance ever 5 stars
7/10/11 Jennifer Barr always love watching this again! 5 stars
6/08/11 Lyndon King Greatest movie ever made. Perfection on screen 5 stars
4/16/11 art ALL THESe flick's about SEA"-SERPENT"S are ALLIKE!__ 1 stars
10/22/10 Nick Tomiko The monster shark... Quint's U.S.S. Indianapolis speech.. simply an amazing movie 5 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King A good film but the ending is disappointing and the story itself is based on ignorance. 4 stars
6/01/10 User Name Thanks to budget cuts, Jaws is a classic; the audience responds more to the shark not seen. 4 stars
3/31/10 James Best movie EVER!!! 5 stars
12/28/09 art THE 1980 FILM ALLIGATOR WAS better THAN THIS OVERRATED PIECE OF JUNK! 2 stars
11/26/09 art A SILLY MOVIE! 1 stars
8/29/09 Julian Don't bother with the sequels this one can never be matched!!! 5 stars
7/13/09 Kevin McDonough 124 minutes of cinematic perfection 5 stars
6/05/09 art A REALLY BIG FISH STORY! 3 stars
12/29/08 Nick this is my favorite movie of all time...i cant stop watching it! 5 stars
9/10/08 PAUL SHORTT ONE OF THE FINEST PRIMAL SCARE-THRILLERS EVER TO COME OUT OF HOLLYWOOD 4 stars
6/23/08 Killer If you don't like this classic then you don't like movies. 5 stars
5/26/08 Susan Hey, David Cohen ! This movie was are first date! 4 stars
2/02/08 Chris Arguably the most perfect film regardless of genre ever made 5 stars
1/28/08 Charnear this movie ROCKS 5 stars
1/24/08 Jack Sommersby Remains Spielberg's finest film. A qualified masterpiece. 5 stars
12/06/07 Pamela White Ultimate suspense made me afraid of the ocean 5 stars
11/01/07 Total Crap That first scene.. the scariest fucking thing ever. Dun Dun...Dun Dun... 5 stars
6/11/07 al smith wow what an amazing and tense film they sure don't make em like this anymore 5 stars
6/06/07 Geo Metro I really liked all the Jaws movies Go see Deep Blue Sea 5 stars
6/01/07 Sugarfoot Let's just say, only watch the Jaws movies with Roy Scheider and leave it at that. 5 stars
4/24/07 David Risser Now this is a shark movie! 5 stars
3/19/07 Nick Scheider, Dreyfuss and Shaw give great performances in one of the greatest movies ever 5 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega One of the greatest of classic films. 5 stars
1/13/07 saad muhammud jaws kick ass killing everybody 5 stars
1/11/07 Jake If you didn't enjoy this, your an idiot... 5 stars
1/08/07 action movie fan a true classic a true gem from speilberg--thourougly engrossing and effective 5 stars
12/29/06 David Pollastrini brilliant, frightening 5 stars
10/02/06 Jeremy Davies Suspensful,great characters, The shark is a bit cheesy 4 stars
9/07/06 MP Bartley You just wouldn't think a film about a shark would be this damn good. 5 stars
9/05/06 The Maz Excellent. The best film of the 1970's. 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Yet another cult classic I grew up with, very slightly campy, but well made for its time!!! 5 stars
7/26/06 Quigley This movie proves Spielberg is a genius. Hands down one of the greatest films of all time 5 stars
7/24/06 Quazar dude. good. 5 stars
7/15/06 David Cohen Before he became our self-appointed moral guardian, Speilberg was quite a director 5 stars
7/14/06 EZ K-Dog finally got something right 5 stars
7/08/06 Anthony Feor This movie will never be forgotten 5 stars
6/28/06 joe koski a good Classie film next to jurassic park 5 stars
6/23/06 The X the best movie ever made 5 stars
6/22/06 Nick Never close to boring, one of the best movies ever, thats all that needs to be said 5 stars
5/20/06 chienne The ultimate in creepy and scary. I was always a landlubber. committed now. 5 stars
5/07/06 Fruit-Loop Now this has an absoulutly focused plot 5 stars
4/22/06 Jack This is an unmissable classic 5 stars
4/03/06 JRE i don't know what everyones so hyped up about it really wasn't that good. 3 stars
3/11/06 Quigley it is absolutely one of the greatest films of all time; the acting was superb 5 stars
3/10/06 Dk The scariest movie ever 5 stars
2/13/06 Anthony Feor This movie will never be forgotten 5 stars
1/28/06 JM Synth A Classic that is not only a great film, but also an awesome movie 5 stars
12/22/05 tommasson76 breathtaking movie 5 stars
12/18/05 Dana L Goudreault The classic BIG FISH tale that turned Steven Spielberg into STEVEN SPIELBERG! 5 stars
11/25/05 cr a classic movie with great acting,story,and cool music score 5 stars
10/31/05 Wisamane Lmao i never laughed so much, its entertaining still But to look back at it HAHAHAHA!!!!!!! 3 stars
10/16/05 Moctezuma Not truly frightening, but it does have its scary moments 4 stars
9/02/05 Zack I liked it but normaly not a horrer fan 4 stars
8/23/05 Eden What's left to say? Amazing in every way 5 stars
8/12/05 D Buckley Robert Shaw. 5 stars
7/23/05 Quigley that shark will scare the crap out of you. one of the greatest films i've ever seen. see it 5 stars
7/19/05 Brandy Harrington Brilliant, Spielbergs greatest work, and the best movie ever made. 5 stars
7/03/05 jimmy this is the greatest film in the history of cinema. 5 stars
6/22/05 Manu Ginobli Holy Shit! Just like...whoa! This movie rules in every way!!! 5 stars
6/16/05 Jeff Anderson Steven Spielberg's MASTERPIECE! Tension, great acting & an awesome John Williams score. 5 stars
6/08/05 me best of movie made by Speilberg, best movie of the 70's, best movie EVER. 5 stars
6/06/05 Dave Fantastic film which to this day still makes me weary about swimming in the ocean. 5 stars
5/28/05 tony Has to be the best shark movie in the world! 5 stars
5/17/05 what? robert harrison is a fag, this movies rules all kinds of shit. 5 stars
5/13/05 dogs Best movie ever. 5 stars
5/10/05 Indrid Cold Somehow makes longs stretches where nothing happens extremely entertaining. Brilliant. 5 stars
4/30/05 Rick The only movie that i watch every time it's on TV. It will never get old 5 stars
4/23/05 Quigley one of the most classic films made. the shark looks totally demonic! gotta see this movie! 5 stars
4/03/05 fhf the best movie ever made, fuck the shawshank redemption 5 stars
3/31/05 Richard Box Look in the Oxford Dictionary for the word Classic, it will say JAWS. 5 stars
3/17/05 robert harrison it was ok but not very good 1 stars
1/28/05 New Jersey Rules One of the greatest film ever to be made. A MASTERPIECE! 5 stars
1/22/05 Tjalda L. Schiel Scared me away from beaches for years. 5 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams havent set foot in the ocean since watching this. NO LIE 5 stars
12/05/04 Sam This movie is REALLY good. Easily the best movie of the 1970's. 5 stars
12/02/04 paul anton can,t swim cos of jaws 5 stars
12/02/04 Al Guy A true classic. It will always be relevant. 5 stars
11/17/04 Gooey So good in so many ways. 5 stars
11/14/04 X $ % & ! Watched it again last night, it's still my favorite film of all time. 5 stars
11/13/04 Jack Sommersby Still remains Spielberg's finest. A phenomenal filmmaking accomplishment. 5 stars
11/08/04 Naka Hands down the finest American horror film ever made. Beats out Psycho by a mile. 5 stars
10/05/04 Ben Harrison Great movie 4 stars
8/26/04 Anthony G not the best, but fucking great, CLASSIC 5 stars
7/26/04 Samuel A truly outstanding horror film. 5 stars
7/26/04 Katie This movie is a pure classic. A great movie that will go down in history forever!!! 5 stars
7/20/04 CORPSEGRINDER NICE FILM, NOT ENOUGH GORE BLOOD GUTS, AND CANNIBALISM 5 stars
7/19/04 Benjamin Petrofsky Makes me think twice swimming 5 stars
7/03/04 American Slasher Goddess Just spectacular, it doesn't get any better then this 5 stars
6/20/04 Jim We're gonna need a bigger boat. 5 stars
6/11/04 Sean Scanlan Wow! 5 stars
5/19/04 Sean Scanlan Better than the sequels 5 stars
3/23/04 belinda this film is awesome! anyone who hasnt watched it is the biggest fool! 5 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern The shark was way better in this one. 5 stars
2/19/04 Rob Flat out, the greatest movie af all time? 5 stars
2/10/04 king of cool one of the best from speilberg--engrossing and scary 5 stars
2/10/04 c.r a great movie! the greatest shark picture of all time. 5 stars
1/26/04 Eric This movie made me think twice about swiming in the ocean. 4 stars
1/11/04 Siamese Toga Princess Hooper must die!!! Quint must live!!! "MR. HOOPER??!!" Go Robert Shaw!!!!!! 5 stars
11/28/03 john scary - exiting - adventerous and great charchters it's as good as it gets 5 stars
11/28/03 alien assassin Classicthriller. Pity it spawned endless rip offs !!!!! 5 stars
11/22/03 ross hendrick without a doubt spielberg's best 5 stars
10/23/03 Lord Durvok II "You're gonna need a bigger review..." 5 stars
10/19/03 Alan Would it have been better if Quint had lived and Hooper died? Maybe. Awsome, nevertheless. 5 stars
10/18/03 Samuel Justus One of the Greatest horror films of all time! 5 stars
10/09/03 JimmyC Awesome movie, only flaw.. Hooper survived...Quint didn't 5 stars
9/28/03 Redpajammas a good film 5 stars
9/22/03 Darryl Attack on the swimmer is the most horrifying movie sequence of all time. Classic film. 5 stars
9/06/03 Dimitri Aubert A good movie, but not a cult movie, cos I won't watch it again and again. 4 stars
9/02/03 Aaron you sunava bitch 5 stars
8/31/03 DMan The strongest aspect of this movie is the character interaction. Oh, and a bigy scary shark 5 stars
8/29/03 DARREN A TERRIFYINGLY REALISTIC PORTRAIT OF SOMETHING THAT COULD HAPPEN 5 stars
8/15/03 Double G THiS wAs NoT ScARy!!! 5 stars
8/03/03 Putski A great deal of dumb fun 3 stars
6/14/03 Alice I was about 9 when I saw it the first time at the cinema, it scared the hell out of me. 5 stars
4/16/03 JL This is the greatest movie!! 5 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby By far, Spielberg's finest achievement (yet editor Verna Fields is the real one to thank). 5 stars
3/12/03 GMan IT'S ABOUT LIKE A SHARK THAT LIKE EATS PEOPLE WITH LIKE ROY SCHEIDER AND STUFF... 5 stars
2/06/03 luisfe excellent 5 stars
1/26/03 Hi there The best shark movie ever created. 5 stars
12/18/02 C.reeves A great film,very scary 5 stars
12/17/02 rotten s. milk One of the best movies ever. 5 stars
11/20/02 Nevz A true classic. 5 stars
11/07/02 Jay An excellent movie with a great DVD! 5 stars
11/07/02 Justin What can I say? One of the best movies ever made. 5 stars
10/23/02 Anastasia Beaverhausen Jessica, you numbskull 5 stars
9/17/02 Jessica Where's the "thrill" in Thriller? 2 stars
8/24/02 Bruce Fantastic movie - I'm not kidding, this is one of cinema's finest 5 stars
8/24/02 Jim Eleven hundred men go into the water ... a lot fewer come out! 5 stars
8/21/02 Jamison My favorite film of all time 5 stars
8/16/02 Scott Greatest movie. Ever. 'Nuff said. 5 stars
8/16/02 Shaun Best movie of all time? oh yeah! 5 stars
7/31/02 Dean What can I say, it's the most well known classic monster movie 5 stars
7/11/02 sdfr just saw it again on tv. it's a classic. 5 stars
7/04/02 gary vidmar Robert Shaw delivers perhaps the best acting performance I have EVER seen! 5 stars
5/12/02 Laura Bicocchi they most amazing film of all time, better than any other speilberg is a god. 5 stars
5/01/02 stoolie-bird so good it's sick....one of the best of the 70's.....nah, one of the best all time. 5 stars
4/06/02 Justin The best Steven Speilberg film ever! It's one of my favorites! 5 stars
2/21/02 txdevil Robert Shaw is sexy and awesome and this movie kicks ass! 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver I thought the book was better. 3 stars
2/19/02 April Excellent, classic flick. I'm still afraid of the ocean! 5 stars
2/14/02 Emma Ging I had an orgasm after watching it! I had to change my underwear I was so wet! 5 stars
1/17/02 Anna Jaws is the classic best film ever!e-mail me sapphire_angel00@yahoo.com 5 stars
12/03/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Speilbergs BIGGEST HIT... EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/02/01 travis bada big crosby like you aked is the food good i dont know do you likeit 5 stars
12/01/01 Scottish Kilt Timeless master piece, one of the greatest movies ever. 5 stars
10/16/01 Andrew Carden Never Really Gets Going, Pretty Slow, The Sequels Are Alot Better. 2 stars
10/07/01 jawsboy Close to being excellent, near perfection. Superb acting, script, photography and suspense 5 stars
9/24/01 earlybird3 Jaws and Aliens: the best monster movies ever!! 5 stars
9/06/01 Gary Successfully blends shocks & suspense with a great script & strong characters. Captivating. 5 stars
8/27/01 spaceworm If I put this one in th machine and hit play, that's it for me for the next two hours. 5 stars
8/23/01 Bada Bing Crosby hey AWESOME voters..hows the food at the insane asylum? 1 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk I think I just keep denying thta this is the greatest movie ever made...fucking beautiful. 5 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg classic 5 stars
6/23/01 erik the movieman Anyone who rates this film less than AWESOME is an idiot! 5 stars
6/21/01 Dave Just superb, one of my all time favourites and still scary to this day 5 stars
6/15/01 zombie awesome movie 5 stars
5/24/01 Erik North Still a masterpiece after all the years of inferior sequels and imitations 5 stars
3/29/01 Stewart Ball Steven Spielberg's first blockbuster and one of his best. The music is still priceless. 5 stars
3/18/01 Beetlejuice Robert Shaw shouldn't have died! You monsters!!! 3 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Triumphant, period. Avoid the sequels as you would a bad case of the clap. 5 stars
1/14/01 Invader This movie is reasonable level of terror first time, a joke the second time. 4 stars
12/05/00 Judith Latha, A CLASSIC! Still scares the hell out of me. The sequels are an insult to the original. 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla this movie rocks and roars, i still can get that tune off my head: dum dum dum dum dum dum 5 stars
11/25/00 The Evil Penguin The Truth: It's actually NOT a classic. But still good. 4 stars
11/03/00 Jed Overrated & sorry to say but it is not the classic people say it is. But it is enjoyable. 4 stars
10/19/00 Ground Zero If you hate the movie, you're a dickhead! This movie is 10 times better than Anaconda! 5 stars
10/06/00 Reed Rothchild People who don't like this movie are fucking idiots!!!! 5 stars
9/30/00 Octane® Bite Me!! 5 stars
7/31/00 Matthew Bartley Ever seen a pg film where an 8 year old gets ripped apart? If not watch this. 5 stars
5/07/00 Steve Layne A little overlong, slightly overrated, but still entertaining and thrilling. 4 stars
4/30/00 Non ahhh....shite! 1 stars
4/30/00 Yo Momma bad shit! 1 stars
4/05/00 Olivia It wasn't as good as everyone says it is 2 stars
4/01/00 Ramsey Gordon Good movie 4 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers Killing a woman is something most movies won't do. You want equal rights, here watch this. 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Duh-dum duh-dum duh-dum... A true masterpiece posing as a B-movie. SWEEET!!!! 5 stars
11/30/99 Jedi15 AWESOME! This is the only good Jaws movie! The others suck big time! 5 stars
11/19/99 msf6 Incredible all the way through with kick ass ending-if you didnt like it, go fuck yourself 5 stars
11/09/99 Ralf Behet Sensationelly scary, but also literate. One of Spielberg's best films. 5 stars
10/24/99 Lame-Oh a instant classic 5 stars
10/10/99 SJKelley How the shark knows who, when and where to attack is ridiculous -- and huge entertainment. 5 stars
10/02/99 JED Great film although it got people to be afraid of sharks accidental but it happened anyways 4 stars
9/15/99 Dennis Forcier Hasn't aged well. Too obviously manipulative. 3 stars
8/26/99 Azimat I never been so afraid of the sea...even the bathtub!!!! 5 stars
8/25/99 Michael Grimm OK 3 stars
7/20/99 Imagoner a masterpiece 5 stars
6/30/99 P.S.O.K You can't call youself a movie lover if you don't like this movie. 5 stars
6/21/99 Angie incredible movie!! 5 stars
6/17/99 matchbox20 Get's your heat goin' let's you know you're alive 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan What could i possibly say about this seminal, timeless classic that hasnt already been said 5 stars
6/03/99 Matthew Bartley Is there anything Spielberg can't do right? 5 stars
5/28/99 Ah Dooey Better than Anaconda, deserved a better audience 5 stars
4/04/99 Albert Simple brilliance. 5 stars
3/02/99 Brad Brown So damn good. That shark ain't shit compared to Quint. 5 stars
2/02/99 Vick Di Brecci Boring and sitcomy first half of the way through. Once they get on the boat, excellent. 4 stars
11/25/98 little jerry Which Spielberg do you prefer?The GRITTY or the PRETTY?JAWS or E.T? 'NUFF SAID. 5 stars
11/24/98 Fred The only good dangerous animal flik. If you don't like this, FUCK YOU! 5 stars
11/16/98 Jules Great story (simple but so what?), script, acting... No shit, this is one of the best. 5 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob See the talent that Speilberg truly has, the talent to materlize the spirit of adventure. 5 stars
10/15/98 Jumbles A Classic! Great characters, not just chum. 5 stars
9/09/98 Bruce Willis' mama. Speilberg found the formula. Lucky, but awesome. 5 stars
9/07/98 NICK OKAY WHAT CAN I SAY FUCKING AWESOME! MADE IN THE 70'S BUT STILL BRINGS CHILLS EVERYTIME!! 5 stars
9/04/98 Badass One of the very best entertainments ever made. 5 stars
9/03/98 pooky the bald The shark looked pretty fake. 4 stars
8/29/98 Miss Stress I still wanted the shark to win! 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball For a 70's film, this is sweeeeeet. 5 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} A classic. I like the proposed John Hughes version. Jaws 3 People Nil. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Jun-1975 (PG)
  DVD: 14-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast