More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.63

Awesome32.97%
Worth A Look: 28.57%
Average: 19.78%
Pretty Bad: 5.49%
Total Crap: 13.19%

2 reviews, 79 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Men in Black
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Go rent this film, stock up on popcorn and have a fun night."
4 stars

A lot of people were disappointed at this film and I know why. They expected a serious, action-oriented alien film. Well, that's their problem. This film was always meant to be and succeeds in being... a comedy.

An effects driven comedy, sure. An effects driven comedy with action, okay. An effects driven comedy with action and Tommy Lee Jones and Will Smith.. starting to sound a litte iffy. Well it's not. If you're prepared to sit down and enjoy yourself on something that bares no resemblance to reality for a few hours, then this is your movie.

The Men In Black are secret agent types who go about covering up the existence of alien life on Earth. Senor Smith is a street-sassy cop who has been drafted in to the service. The opening shot of the film is something else, in fact all the effects are really good, and though the film would be a flop without them, it's not the same standard effects driven crap that Joe Hollywood serves up with monotonous regularity.

Forget the crappy music video, forget the Raybans commercial tie-ins, forget all the crappy hype that the studio felt compelled to spew forth, just go rent this film, stock up on popcorn and have a fun night.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=222&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/19/98 23:30:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell a delight way better than that crap called independance day 4 stars
4/06/12 SEAN DUTRA great leads but mediocre everywhere else 4 stars
8/29/11 Jeff Wilder Smith and Jones work well together. Quite funny and better than say Mars Attacks. 4 stars
11/16/09 Reality Of Films This film is very funny! 5 stars
10/13/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Cast!! 5 stars
8/17/08 John Millheim Special Effects were great, Funny, Aliens everywhere 5 stars
7/02/08 jointz "Hire a decorator to come in here quick cuz...damn!" A hilarious sci-fi classic. 5 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT THIS FILM IS A LOT OF FUN, EXCEPT IT HAS A LITTLE TOO MUCH SLIME 3 stars
12/19/07 Pamela White classic funny movie cute aliens good FX 5 stars
8/26/07 Kevin Great movie 5 stars
5/05/07 R.W.Welch Tongue-in-cheek sci-fi. Imaginative and often funny. 4 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Will Smith and Tommy lee Jones are the 'Lethal Weapon' duo of the universe. 4 stars
1/31/07 Matt Tommy's pokerface is an hilarious contrast to the nonsense around him. Huge fun 4 stars
1/18/07 David Pollastrini very funny 5 stars
1/13/07 Sepi53 not my cup of tea! 1 stars
10/09/06 Booksworm I'm with the masses this time.How anyone can like this and not like ID4,I'll never know. 5 stars
2/07/06 Anthony Perfect for everyone 4 stars
1/03/06 cody visual effects were cool, ,makeup, and will and tommy lee give soild perf., but still ? 3 stars
10/27/05 chris a good film 4 stars
10/16/05 Quigley one of will smith's funnier sci-fi movies. tommy lee jones was awesome, as was the CG. 5 stars
9/13/05 Total Crap Cool, watchable flick, anybody can enjoy this movie. 4 stars
9/02/05 ES terrible movie, lame FX, badly done characters, story is poor, just a rancid hollywood film 1 stars
7/09/05 ALDO enjoyable film 4 stars
3/14/05 Jeff Anderson TOMMY LEE JONES & DANNY ELFMAN'S TERRIFIC SCORE SAVES THIS AMAZINGLY DULL FILM, THAT'S IT!! 2 stars
9/02/04 Conor Crockford cool 5 stars
7/20/04 bob i think that this is a discraceful film! i hate it! it was boring and same old same old!!!! 1 stars
5/02/04 J Smart and Funny! Great Alien/Gov. Movie *** 1/2 out of 4 5 stars
2/23/04 Kyle Fresh, well-wrought sci-fi comedy. 4 stars
10/01/03 Samuel Justus The best Will Smith movie Ever! 5 stars
7/22/03 I Would It was okay 3 stars
6/21/03 John Aster Habig the only comic book action film worth 5 stars 5 stars
4/01/03 Mr. Do This movie made me hope that the aliens crushed those suckers. crap. 1 stars
2/04/03 Turtle The best alien flick ever! Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones are unexpectedly great together! 5 stars
1/23/03 Pinkline Jones More American Dreck for Illiterate Burger Heads 1 stars
8/16/02 KMG It's not bad 4 stars
7/08/02 henry ginsberg i like lions LIONS RULE AND I SUCK EM 5 stars
7/05/02 Shodan Yet another for the brainless masses 2 stars
5/18/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Appealing idea comes off too tedious: in no-man's-land 'tween comedy&action. 3 stars
11/02/01 Andrew Carden Has A Few Very Funny Chuckles, but The Movie Gets Dull Quickly. 3 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Cool! I'm just waiting for Will Smith to dump Jada and come to me 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Not enough of whatever they were trying to achieve. A let-down. 2 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Who couldn't like this movie at least a little bit....except for that asshole Halliwell. 4 stars
8/04/01 sarah I wanted to fall asleep & almost did 1 stars
6/14/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe Most likely the only time I will see a Will Smith movie more than once 5 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Orignal, hilarious, fast-paced, visually stunning...a classic summer blockbuster! 5 stars
12/27/00 Turtle A comedy/horror/sci-fi/drama combo, which makes for a great movie! 5 stars
12/13/00 Destruction Worker We all live inside marbles!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin entertaining. LLLLOOOOOOVVVVEEEE the music. 4 stars
11/29/00 Cristopher Revilla cool flick, and good effects too 5 stars
10/18/00 Dan Has it's moments but could've done with being less flashy and a better script.Good fun, tho 3 stars
8/01/00 AA Very entertaining. A fresh approach of content over action. Only ruined by the low-key end. 4 stars
5/12/00 Steve Layne Entertaining, but uneven. 4 stars
3/16/00 Richard Wright An amusing comedy, but an over-reliance on special effects and the abrupt ending mar it. 3 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers T L Jones is on a role! First Batman Forever, then Volcano, now this! 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski More a roller-coaster ride than a movie. Quite original. 5 stars
1/10/00 John Markham A feeble excuse to showcase some special effects.SHITE! 1 stars
12/02/99 Bozo Would rate it higher except Will Smiths' oversized ego prevents me; liked TLJ as usual, tho 3 stars
10/25/99 focus Great arsenal and aliens, move over, Punisher! Tommy Lee Jones and Will were great! 4 stars
7/31/99 Blue sky coool 5 stars
5/29/99 Tim A good all around movie with the usual stuff from Will Smith 4 stars
4/25/99 JDC not as funny or satirical as it should have been. Pretty standard event movie. 3 stars
4/19/99 blake Will Smith is a no talent asshole. Who told him he could act???????????????????????? 1 stars
2/19/99 Piz better the second time, overhyped, could have been better and funnier 3 stars
1/25/99 Chloe Marie Elestenogoph (clatter@hotmail.com) So overrated. It was crap! 2 stars
1/16/99 Dasha Pure escapist fun 5 stars
12/29/98 Schizofrenic FBI with big guns and wacky aliens. That's your problem if you hate it, okay? 5 stars
11/24/98 Fred Should have been over in 5 minutes. Will Smith could have made Star Wars suck. 1 stars
10/24/98 grunter Will Smith=must-NOT see film; proof that the masses deserve contempt; unbelievably bad 1 stars
10/01/98 katherine funny, but couldda been better. 3 stars
9/26/98 Pat Flanagan I absoltely loved it both times I saw it(in a matter of two days). 4 stars
9/25/98 ShadowStar Kewl flick! Will Smith was hillarious! 5 stars
9/23/98 Rob Forey ahh, it was alright. Waaaay too short. 3 stars
9/20/98 MR HOLLYWOOD This really,really,really,BORED ME!!!!!! 1 stars
9/12/98 kanatcha that was so.. excuse me... fucking lame. 1 stars
9/08/98 Young Einstein Dug it totally. Busted out of formula in a summer when everyone else was stuck in formula. 5 stars
9/06/98 Badass Very funy. Jones and Smith are perfect for each other. (not in that way you sicko!) 4 stars
8/25/98 Mister Whoopee Really enjoyed this film. Great entertainment, but didn't treat us like idiots. 5 stars
8/16/98 Johny First Half = OK, Second Half = Crap 2 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} The best film of summer 97. No doubt. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1997 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast