More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.91

Awesome: 5.41%
Worth A Look: 6.31%
Average: 14.41%
Pretty Bad: 21.62%
Total Crap52.25%

9 reviews, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Double Jeopardy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"The 3-minute version I saw 8 times was better."
1 stars

Desperately steering clear of anything resembling an original idea, this one mushes together stuff that worked considerably better in The Fugitive or any middle-aged woman wish-fulfillment movie produced by Lifetime. Just TRY to find a plot twist that is not directly given in the publicity.

The Double Jeopardy rules of the universe are as follows:


If you see a bloody knife sitting in a pile of blood, immediately bend over and pick it up.

Some women's prisons are warm and cozy, with plenty of helpful new friends and former attorneys around to talk to.

If you're going to frame your wife for murder, you should always choose her best friend as your new lover to run away with.

By simply pretending to buy a car, a salesman will give you anyone's address in the world.

It's easy to attain an entire new wardrboe, simply by stealing from hotel lobbies.

It's easy to travel from Washington DC to Colorado to Louisiana without one interesting thing happening.

When trying to track down a fugitive, pure coincidence is by far the best method of capture.

New Orleans is comprised of four square blocks, thereby making it possible to track someone down simply by standing around.

The villain will always be smug and oozing with evil, which makes him completely stupid.

Tommy Lee Jones' role in this movie was completely comprised of outtakes from The Fugitive. (OK, maybe it just looked that way.)

A menu of tired clichés, telegraphed performances and insipid plot machinations. Double Jeopardy gladly grabs on to ANY familiar cliche and milks it for all it's worth. The fact that this one made over $120 million is disturbing as hell, since every single sequence is directly stolen from better movies. Is this REALLY what people want to see in movies? Ouch.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2226&reviewer=128
originally posted: 10/12/99 16:28:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell average 3 stars
3/13/10 PAUL SHORTT SLICK AND MODERATELY ENTERTAINING 3 stars
7/24/08 Shaun Wallner Tommy Lee Jones is Awesome! 5 stars
4/19/08 R.W. Welch Sets up fine; gets steadily less credible as it goes along. 3 stars
9/19/07 Sugarfoot How Ashley Judd became a star will always remain a mystery unsolved. 1 stars
12/29/06 David Pollastrini somebody should have consulted a lawyer. 1 stars
11/10/05 Ashley i thought it was a pretty good movie 4 stars
11/03/04 krystle walker I loved this movie 5 stars
6/18/03 Trivetta Reese I loved this movie 5 stars
5/17/03 Bruce Abbott Guilty pleasure! Guilty because I for once actually enjoyed watching "Ballbuster"! 3 stars
3/30/03 Marcia Lartz Ashley Judd's best movie but she still never lets you forget her "ballbuster" persona. 4 stars
3/26/03 Jack Sommersby Catered to soccer moms: empty-headed and pretentious. Jones looks embarrassed as hell. 1 stars
9/02/02 movie guy THIS FILM WAS GREAT 5 stars
7/22/02 Kyle Andrew. YOU are the one with terrible taste. You like European Vacation, and tons of crap. 1 stars
5/28/02 Phuong "Andre" "Me-Me-Me" Nguyen Ashley Judd is a flaming git and should go back to her hole. SHE CAN'T ACT TO SAVE HERSELF! 1 stars
3/25/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) I'd give my left arm to see Jones or Judd NOT play the same role. Just ONCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/06/02 Ashley Corpening Surprising watchable for its leads - FUGITIVE role clone and unabashed "Ballbuster" 4 stars
1/08/02 Andrew Carden WOW! All Of You Have Horrible Tastes In Movies, Because This Was Excellent. 5 stars
9/18/01 Butterbean Cliched and predictable with a typecasted TL Jones. But it has it's moments. 3 stars
8/29/01 Gary Contrived, cliched, predictable and very badly acted. 1 stars
7/17/01 Josh Tybur I'm glad that the masses agree: this movie blows 1 stars
6/16/01 Rampage This movie sucked. The epitome of what has been wrong with Hollywood: big money, anti-logic 1 stars
6/14/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe No big deal, no surprises, no originality..poor TLJ, does he owe back taxes? 2 stars
4/08/01 FGM2Night Founded on a dopey premise, but ya can't deny Ashley Judd's stunning beauty. Wow! 3 stars
2/24/01 The Bomb 69 pretty cliched, a lawyer happens to be in jail with her, why couldn't she see her kid? 2 stars
10/05/00 Stuntman If you want suspense and action, go buy the Potter books. Hollywood has lost all faith 1 stars
9/28/00 Ground Zero You guys are weird, this movie is at its stupidity. What a crock of shit! 1 stars
9/09/00 Jed Good movie though flawed script it is certainly better than what most folks say. 3 stars
8/04/00 Bender Not too bad. Plus Ashley Judd is sexy as hell. 3 stars
7/09/00 Jed It wasn't that bad people laughable it is but not bad. 3 stars
6/27/00 Terrie Smith I expected a lot more. Script to blame for this one. 3 stars
4/17/00 bpelcher I liked this movie. I think you guys suck 4 stars
4/10/00 Doug {{{OZ}}}; ever read Huck Finn? 1 stars
3/19/00 Kris Reilly Pretty lame plot, because its A SEPARATE CRIME! But I like Ashley Judd. 2 stars
3/17/00 arnold total shit 1 stars
3/01/00 Booyah! Are you people nuts? This was cookie cutter filmmaking at it's total worst. What crap! 1 stars
2/29/00 JussMatt It's obvious Ashley has all the tallent in the family, but movie wasn't close to believable 3 stars
2/15/00 Neil Austin I paid £4 to see this pile of shite, I want my money back. 1 stars
2/02/00 Art Garfunkle's 12" dildo? A tie with all the rest of Tommy Lee Jones' movies for his best performance yet. 5 stars
1/15/00 strike Great comedy, lousy fucking thriller though... 3 stars
12/12/99 Obi Wan This flick is better suited for HBO not theatres! 3 stars
12/07/99 Demure33 I saw it for Ashley & that's all I got. Worth it for that but nothing else. 2 stars
11/25/99 Kevin Cho, movie-buff This movie wasn't THAT bad - It was pretty okay. No complaints. 4 stars
11/21/99 Mr. Invincible Dude. What the hell are you gawking at that crap for! 1 stars
11/09/99 Todd God that fucking sucked!! Can I sue to get back the two hours of my life I just wasted? 1 stars
11/08/99 focus The ad says it's the best movie of the year... yeah, right. Gimme a break here please! 1 stars
11/08/99 Jackie Martin Oh my God! 1 stars
10/29/99 rocketdoc At least Ashley was easy on the eyes. 2 stars
10/28/99 H'Woodbigshot This is Bimzi. Bimzi is two week old Gradule. Gradule comes out your ass. 1 stars
10/27/99 Mr Showbiz Utter and total horseshite. Why do people go to crap like this? 1 stars
10/27/99 pipeman Not great, but better than I had anticipated. 3 stars
10/26/99 DAVE BROKAW Ashley Judd is made for the part- 100% bitch 4 stars
10/25/99 voyant Not fantastic, not bad... just right. 3 stars
10/12/99 Cheryl It really wasn't all that bad. 3 stars
10/11/99 Ben Ryan A dry script, jumping from too many time frames, horrible acting, sleep thru it! 1 stars
10/10/99 Malbert I thought this was pretty good, ashley judd was great 4 stars
10/06/99 sophia962 Tommy Lee -- STOP making The Fugitive. It's over, learn to move on!! 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Sep-1999 (R)

UK
  05-Nov-1999 (15)

Australia
  20-Jan-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast