More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.91

Awesome: 5.41%
Worth A Look: 6.31%
Average: 14.41%
Pretty Bad: 21.62%
Total Crap52.25%

9 reviews, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Double Jeopardy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Did Anyone Do Their Research?"
1 stars

Double Jeopardy (* Ĺ) Ė Double Jeopardy contains all the elements for a good movie. Wait. Iím sorry. I meant TV movie. Because thatís what this thing feels like. Even its 105-minute running length is the average elapse of a made-for-TV minus commercials. Movie of the week is usually a term reserved for films about diseases and dying family members. Lately they should be reverted to cheesy hokum thrillers. Witness last weekís NBC Yasmine Bleeth opus Road Rage if you doubt me.

Double Jeopardy has to go in the history book for revealing every single plot twist, surprise, and action/suspense sequence in the trailer. In fact the only thing that surprised me about Double Jeopardy is that it turns out to be one of the stupidest movies Iíve seen all year. There are actions taken by characters in this movie that actually make the ending of The Sixth Sense seem logical. First of all, the premise may be intriguing but legally inaccurate. The screenwriter is even stupid enough to have two of its characters (one a former lawyer, the other a former law professor) agree with it. The legal premise of Double Jeopardy states that a person cannot be re-tried or re-convicted for the same crime. The same crime. Just because Ashley Judd didnít kill her husband the first time doesnít mean she can just do when she gets out of prison. To make a long story short, O.J. Simpson cannot be put through another trial for the murders of Nicole and Ron Goldman. Thatís Double Jeopardy. Second of all Ė it seems that Ashley Judd commits crime after crime after crime after getting paroled. There must be easier ways to get social security numbers, which is what starts her crime spree and subsequent ďFugitiveĒ-style chasing by Tommy Lee Jones. I thought, once upon a time, that this would have been a better idea for the Fugitive sequel, since Jones is essentially playing a cross between Sam Girard and Robert Forsterís Max Cherry from Jackie Brown, but was I dead wrong. Other things that bothered me were (1) one of the worst courtroom scenes Iíve ever seen, with the judge overruling objections any other judge would most likely sustain. (2) the nicest womanís prison Iíve ever seen, complete with Christmas trees and guards that let Ashley Judd run laps in the rain like she was Rocky Balboa. (3) Time flies so fast in this movie, itís hard to get a grasp on how bad Juddís turmoil is in prison. I could also never figure out how old her kid was. It appears that Judd spends like six years inside. The kid seems about four or five already before she goes in. Next thing heís finally learning the ABC song. Slow-learner. Next thing we know itís his eighth birthday. By the time she gets out, heís in a private school in Georgia. I just didnít care. I was just hoping that the film wasnít going to pussy out on the ending like I thought it was going to. I wonít reveal what happens, but thinking over the whole movie, I was disappointed.

This film is a dead zone at the screenplay level and inconsiderate at the marketing level. I laughed hard when Jones tells Judd late in the picture that heíll ďarrest her for stupidity.Ē Thatís good advice. If youíre looking for a great TV movie full of action and suspense, then stay clear of Double Jeopardy. Go to the video store and rent Steven Spielbergís Duel.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2226&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/15/00 14:18:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell average 3 stars
3/13/10 PAUL SHORTT SLICK AND MODERATELY ENTERTAINING 3 stars
7/24/08 Shaun Wallner Tommy Lee Jones is Awesome! 5 stars
4/19/08 R.W. Welch Sets up fine; gets steadily less credible as it goes along. 3 stars
9/19/07 Sugarfoot How Ashley Judd became a star will always remain a mystery unsolved. 1 stars
12/29/06 David Pollastrini somebody should have consulted a lawyer. 1 stars
11/10/05 Ashley i thought it was a pretty good movie 4 stars
11/03/04 krystle walker I loved this movie 5 stars
6/18/03 Trivetta Reese I loved this movie 5 stars
5/17/03 Bruce Abbott Guilty pleasure! Guilty because I for once actually enjoyed watching "Ballbuster"! 3 stars
3/30/03 Marcia Lartz Ashley Judd's best movie but she still never lets you forget her "ballbuster" persona. 4 stars
3/26/03 Jack Sommersby Catered to soccer moms: empty-headed and pretentious. Jones looks embarrassed as hell. 1 stars
9/02/02 movie guy THIS FILM WAS GREAT 5 stars
7/22/02 Kyle Andrew. YOU are the one with terrible taste. You like European Vacation, and tons of crap. 1 stars
5/28/02 Phuong "Andre" "Me-Me-Me" Nguyen Ashley Judd is a flaming git and should go back to her hole. SHE CAN'T ACT TO SAVE HERSELF! 1 stars
3/25/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) I'd give my left arm to see Jones or Judd NOT play the same role. Just ONCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
3/06/02 Ashley Corpening Surprising watchable for its leads - FUGITIVE role clone and unabashed "Ballbuster" 4 stars
1/08/02 Andrew Carden WOW! All Of You Have Horrible Tastes In Movies, Because This Was Excellent. 5 stars
9/18/01 Butterbean Cliched and predictable with a typecasted TL Jones. But it has it's moments. 3 stars
8/29/01 Gary Contrived, cliched, predictable and very badly acted. 1 stars
7/17/01 Josh Tybur I'm glad that the masses agree: this movie blows 1 stars
6/16/01 Rampage This movie sucked. The epitome of what has been wrong with Hollywood: big money, anti-logic 1 stars
6/14/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe No big deal, no surprises, no originality..poor TLJ, does he owe back taxes? 2 stars
4/08/01 FGM2Night Founded on a dopey premise, but ya can't deny Ashley Judd's stunning beauty. Wow! 3 stars
2/24/01 The Bomb 69 pretty cliched, a lawyer happens to be in jail with her, why couldn't she see her kid? 2 stars
10/05/00 Stuntman If you want suspense and action, go buy the Potter books. Hollywood has lost all faith 1 stars
9/28/00 Ground Zero You guys are weird, this movie is at its stupidity. What a crock of shit! 1 stars
9/09/00 Jed Good movie though flawed script it is certainly better than what most folks say. 3 stars
8/04/00 Bender Not too bad. Plus Ashley Judd is sexy as hell. 3 stars
7/09/00 Jed It wasn't that bad people laughable it is but not bad. 3 stars
6/27/00 Terrie Smith I expected a lot more. Script to blame for this one. 3 stars
4/17/00 bpelcher I liked this movie. I think you guys suck 4 stars
4/10/00 Doug {{{OZ}}}; ever read Huck Finn? 1 stars
3/19/00 Kris Reilly Pretty lame plot, because its A SEPARATE CRIME! But I like Ashley Judd. 2 stars
3/17/00 arnold total shit 1 stars
3/01/00 Booyah! Are you people nuts? This was cookie cutter filmmaking at it's total worst. What crap! 1 stars
2/29/00 JussMatt It's obvious Ashley has all the tallent in the family, but movie wasn't close to believable 3 stars
2/15/00 Neil Austin I paid £4 to see this pile of shite, I want my money back. 1 stars
2/02/00 Art Garfunkle's 12" dildo? A tie with all the rest of Tommy Lee Jones' movies for his best performance yet. 5 stars
1/15/00 strike Great comedy, lousy fucking thriller though... 3 stars
12/12/99 Obi Wan This flick is better suited for HBO not theatres! 3 stars
12/07/99 Demure33 I saw it for Ashley & that's all I got. Worth it for that but nothing else. 2 stars
11/25/99 Kevin Cho, movie-buff This movie wasn't THAT bad - It was pretty okay. No complaints. 4 stars
11/21/99 Mr. Invincible Dude. What the hell are you gawking at that crap for! 1 stars
11/09/99 Todd God that fucking sucked!! Can I sue to get back the two hours of my life I just wasted? 1 stars
11/08/99 focus The ad says it's the best movie of the year... yeah, right. Gimme a break here please! 1 stars
11/08/99 Jackie Martin Oh my God! 1 stars
10/29/99 rocketdoc At least Ashley was easy on the eyes. 2 stars
10/28/99 H'Woodbigshot This is Bimzi. Bimzi is two week old Gradule. Gradule comes out your ass. 1 stars
10/27/99 Mr Showbiz Utter and total horseshite. Why do people go to crap like this? 1 stars
10/27/99 pipeman Not great, but better than I had anticipated. 3 stars
10/26/99 DAVE BROKAW Ashley Judd is made for the part- 100% bitch 4 stars
10/25/99 voyant Not fantastic, not bad... just right. 3 stars
10/12/99 Cheryl It really wasn't all that bad. 3 stars
10/11/99 Ben Ryan A dry script, jumping from too many time frames, horrible acting, sleep thru it! 1 stars
10/10/99 Malbert I thought this was pretty good, ashley judd was great 4 stars
10/06/99 sophia962 Tommy Lee -- STOP making The Fugitive. It's over, learn to move on!! 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Sep-1999 (R)

UK
  05-Nov-1999 (15)

Australia
  20-Jan-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast