More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.22

Awesome: 20.51%
Worth A Look: 10.26%
Average: 2.56%
Pretty Bad: 3.85%
Total Crap62.82%

4 reviews, 54 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Doom Generation, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Pointless and only one of the worst pieces of crap ever filmed"
1 stars

If you're a fan of things like plot, interesting characters, or anything coming close to a well-made movie, stomp on this box if you see it at the video store. It's equal parts bile, phlegm, mucous, vomit, liquid feces, and hot burning urine. I hesitate to even review it, as it may cause some people to check it out due to curiousity. If you do, consider yourself the worst form of idiot.

Characters named Red, White and Blue (AGGHHHH! Clever!) go on a road trip, complete with pathetic and unintentionally funny dialogue, references to things that will prove meaningless after 1998, pointless and amateurish-looking violence, and an oh-so-smug attitude that makes you wish the video had balls so you could kick them.

To attempt a plot synopsis would be an undue compliment to the screenwriter, so instead here are a list of adjectives that describe how you'll feel while watching this filthy poop:

1. Stunned (at how something that looks like a child with Tourette's Syndrome created it ever made it out for public consumption)

2. Nauseous (at the supposedly over-the-top shock scenes which try for a new low in cinema, yet would make even the toughest moviegoer shake their head in shame.)

3. Confusion (at WHAT THE HELL is supposed to be going on.)

4. Pain (as you try to gnaw your own lips off after realizing that sitting bloody in an emergency ward would be more enjoyable and less disgusting than watching this movie.)

5. Anger (that you waited for something interestingto happen, but instead you're offered some forced and really nasty rape, and a nice little castration to balance it out.)

If director Gregg Araki (The Living End, Nowhere) represents where Hollywood is going, I need to forget about movies and take up Bingo.

How else can I say it? Heaven protect you if you try to watch it. If you actually liked it, I have a filthy toilet you'd probably love to watch for two hours also. Watch any movie you've already seen than this one once.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2230&reviewer=128
originally posted: 10/19/99 14:47:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/10/15 dg-hater this movie will become cult??? fuck off. I shut it down when that winner snowballed itself 1 stars
1/22/13 GAZ The film is a vehicle to look into the minds of the kids involved in school shooting. 4 stars
12/25/10 g my first time to watch a film this grotesque and I loved it! :) 5 stars
9/26/10 MK Hated it. It was a complete waste of time, and the ending was horrible. 0/5 1 stars
5/25/10 art a great film about PUNK"S! 3 stars
3/19/10 TravisN You want to watch a good movie? Then stay far, far away from this pos. 1 stars
4/06/08 mr.mike Certainly has its charms (chiefly McGowan) , but runs out of steam towards the end. 4 stars
12/06/06 Tony BRILLIANT! 4 stars
4/08/06 Sugarfoot One of the worst movies ever made. Seriously. (0/5) 1 stars
8/07/05 Sib highly interesting! 5 stars
3/09/05 Zog a break from your typical "love" movies 4 stars
5/29/04 Monster W. Kung Stupid, idiotic, pretentious and retarded. The bottom of the barrel of wannabe 'shock-hip'. 1 stars
5/24/04 Proteus Purposefully crap, the Val & Keanu impressions rawk! pretentious fun. 4 stars
2/19/04 SPENCER MY BF LOVES THIS MOVIE AND LET ME TELL YOU I HAVE SEEN IT AND YES IT REALLY SUCKS 1 stars
8/23/03 green eyez I really liked this movie alot...had alot of true thoughts about the world we live in'''' 4 stars
6/06/03 Michael Movie will become a cult classic .... Greg Araki is a genius who is misunderstood 5 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Awesome and totally original. A work of genius by a chance-taking auteur. 5 stars
3/20/03 Dave the Cynic Unfunny, unclever, and FUCKING AWFUL. Gregg Araki sucks ass. 1 stars
12/14/02 boobs lord of the rings fucking sucks, this rocks 5 stars
10/09/02 Asssucka Utterly meaningless, just a masturbatory nihilistic fantasy full of shitty acting & writing 1 stars
10/08/02 Charles Tatum Gregg Araki, Andy Warhol called...your 15 minutes are up. 1 stars
8/23/02 huh? to be honest, if Araki intended this movie to be slighty ironic or kitsch, ok. BAD 2 stars
7/21/02 Gompers most pretentious movie in the history of film 1 stars
7/16/02 patricia can the acting be anymore bad? its liek they got horrible actors on purpose! 1 stars
7/09/02 fi0na this movie is the shit, yes it is fucked up but it's cool in a kinky twisted way 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee A complete turd that is redeemed slightly by Ms. McGowan's nude scenes (great tits!) 1 stars
12/03/01 Chris Halkides The theme of this film is the subversiveness of sexuality other than vanilla-hetero. 5 stars
11/24/01 Melody I have seen some of his other films, I guess you could say he grew as a writer director 3 stars
9/16/01 andrew a very funny movie, and the fact that it pisses off so many people makes it funnier 5 stars
8/06/01 daniel utter and complete shit, and the fact that it's self-consciously so doesn't help. 1 stars
7/13/01 Caligula I am Gregg Araki, and my film is like FUCK, you know, smart like that... 1 stars
6/26/01 Natasha Fox A sickening piece of film,devoid of any meaning which escalates into stomach turning trash. 1 stars
6/02/01 perverted pixie Come on people now - Araki is knarley punkster! 'Doom' is bisexual midnight feast. 5 stars
5/29/01 sull18 This is one of the sickest,grusomest,weird films i have ever seen and i totally loved it it 5 stars
5/04/01 joe The movie sucked but the soundtrack is excellent. 2 stars
4/29/01 Basil I hate to say it but I liked it 5 stars
4/22/01 TNT-6 For teenage idiots wearing a "kill God" shirt while their parents drive them to the mall. 1 stars
3/30/01 Monster W. Kung Disgusting, superficial trash with no social meaning whatsoever. 1 stars
3/16/01 Rodney Dinkler HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy To take Araki for what he's worth, it's excellent. 5 stars
9/01/00 Toobey Prisonmaker Fuck, I hated this. Nothing else to say. I just hated it 1 stars
7/13/00 Tom Very dark film. Interesting set design. 4 stars
3/10/00 nootch To quote a GOOD movie, SLC Punk, "What was the point? Final summation: NONE." 1 stars
2/14/00 toneely I really liked this movie.yes it's nasty, but funny....the ending was a little too much 5 stars
1/02/00 Anthony B. I can truley say this is the worst film I've seen, it was the worst piece of trite!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/19/99 the Grinch And that being?...I love this "you just didn't get it","Get what", "it." pretensious c*nt! 1 stars
11/17/99 A.H. This film, if you get it, is a wonderful joke on the poor fools who miss its point. 5 stars
11/11/99 Chef ADogg Funny like anal rape is funny. 1 stars
11/11/99 robert streit The other reviewers are smoking crack. Gregg Araki rules! 4 stars
10/22/99 bullit17 Putrid. Disgusting. Nonsensical. An abomination. And those are the finer qualities. 1 stars
10/21/99 Annah Point? None. Talent? None. An insult to anyones intelligence 1 stars
10/21/99 The Velvet Edge Yeah, but it had a Wolfgang Press song in it. We need more of that. Oh, and MC 900FT Jesus, 2 stars
10/09/99 Meepos You have got to be kidding. This movie was the biggest crock of shit I have ever witnessed. 1 stars
10/07/99 strike This is one hell of a film! Watch out for cameos by Heidi Fleiss and Julie from Love Boat. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Oct-1995 (R)

UK
  18-Sep-1998 (18)

Australia
  01-Jan-1996 (R)


Directed by
  Gregg Araki

Written by
  Gregg Araki

Cast
  James Duval
  Rose McGowan
  Johnathon Schaech
  Cress Williams



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast