More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.22

Awesome: 20.51%
Worth A Look: 10.26%
Average: 2.56%
Pretty Bad: 3.85%
Total Crap62.82%

4 reviews, 54 user ratings



Doom Generation, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by the Grinch

"A frontal lobotomy in celluloid form..."
1 stars

9 outta 10 reviewers can't be wrong! More like DEgeneration. This is the biggest pile of shit ever committed to film. Greg Araki and videostores who dare carry this crap should be held liable for pain and suffering induced from watching. If this goofus can get financial backing for this atrocity, then expect my full length feature 'Molested by an Angel' to premiere this summer!

What, did they write (and I use the term loosely) this as they filmed it? "Okay, um...this guy's gonna be a psycho who thinks Rose is someone else, and he gets killed, and there's lots of blood, and then they all have sex in a hotel room! Print it, it's perfect!" Rinse, wash, repeat, rinse, wash, repeat. I wanted to rinse and wash after seeing this reel-o-poop. I feel so dirty.

OOH, see? Everytime some flashpanned or drugged up celebrity playing a convenience store clerk rings something up, it comes to $6.66! Wow, what a brilliant commentary on consumerism!

OOOH, LOOK! They got Margaret Chow and Heidi Fleiss in one movie! That Greg Araki, what a mover'n'shaker!

HEYY, Check out the symbolism with the shameless product placement for Doritos...jeezus, the Doritos people should do us all a favor and sue Araki into bankruptcy so he can never taint the world with his smeg again. As if Chevy Chase wasn't bad ENOUGH for their P.R., along comes this!

Why this guy is allowed to make movies is one of the great injustices of the world. You know how they say talent is 5% inspiration, 95% perspiration? Well, in Araki's case, make that 5% constipation, 95% urination. I'm suprised he couldn't get Gary Coleman to do a cameo, but I guess even Gary has standards. And playing a convenience store clerk would probably bring back bad memories of nacho'n'autograph hungry customers. Now, if they could've gotten Gary Coleman to play a clerk and Todd Bridges to play one of the leads, then maybe this film wouldn't be as pointless as masturbating with a handful of thumb tacks.

And what was with the guy playing Rose's dopey (dopier) boyfriend? Geezus, that guy isn't even the POOR man's Keanu Reeves!

If there was a section at the viddy store called 'Crimes Against Humanity', this would be the employee pick of the year. I think my I.Q. actually dropped as a direct result of viewing. Such utterly horrid scat that I had to watch it in halves 'les I bathe myself in bile....Is it pretty evident now that I hate this film, and that me an' POPE are going to go on a turkey shoot with Greg Araki...preferably far, far out in the woods?

I hope Greg Araki dies and goes to hell, whereupon Beelzebub and his minions will take turns anally raping him with a large pufferfish for all eternity. Hallelujah.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2230&reviewer=156
originally posted: 11/09/99 19:06:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/10/15 dg-hater this movie will become cult??? fuck off. I shut it down when that winner snowballed itself 1 stars
1/22/13 GAZ The film is a vehicle to look into the minds of the kids involved in school shooting. 4 stars
12/25/10 g my first time to watch a film this grotesque and I loved it! :) 5 stars
9/26/10 MK Hated it. It was a complete waste of time, and the ending was horrible. 0/5 1 stars
5/25/10 art a great film about PUNK"S! 3 stars
3/19/10 TravisN You want to watch a good movie? Then stay far, far away from this pos. 1 stars
4/06/08 mr.mike Certainly has its charms (chiefly McGowan) , but runs out of steam towards the end. 4 stars
12/06/06 Tony BRILLIANT! 4 stars
4/08/06 Sugarfoot One of the worst movies ever made. Seriously. (0/5) 1 stars
8/07/05 Sib highly interesting! 5 stars
3/09/05 Zog a break from your typical "love" movies 4 stars
5/29/04 Monster W. Kung Stupid, idiotic, pretentious and retarded. The bottom of the barrel of wannabe 'shock-hip'. 1 stars
5/24/04 Proteus Purposefully crap, the Val & Keanu impressions rawk! pretentious fun. 4 stars
2/19/04 SPENCER MY BF LOVES THIS MOVIE AND LET ME TELL YOU I HAVE SEEN IT AND YES IT REALLY SUCKS 1 stars
8/23/03 green eyez I really liked this movie alot...had alot of true thoughts about the world we live in'''' 4 stars
6/06/03 Michael Movie will become a cult classic .... Greg Araki is a genius who is misunderstood 5 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Awesome and totally original. A work of genius by a chance-taking auteur. 5 stars
3/20/03 Dave the Cynic Unfunny, unclever, and FUCKING AWFUL. Gregg Araki sucks ass. 1 stars
12/14/02 boobs lord of the rings fucking sucks, this rocks 5 stars
10/09/02 Asssucka Utterly meaningless, just a masturbatory nihilistic fantasy full of shitty acting & writing 1 stars
10/08/02 Charles Tatum Gregg Araki, Andy Warhol called...your 15 minutes are up. 1 stars
8/23/02 huh? to be honest, if Araki intended this movie to be slighty ironic or kitsch, ok. BAD 2 stars
7/21/02 Gompers most pretentious movie in the history of film 1 stars
7/16/02 patricia can the acting be anymore bad? its liek they got horrible actors on purpose! 1 stars
7/09/02 fi0na this movie is the shit, yes it is fucked up but it's cool in a kinky twisted way 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee A complete turd that is redeemed slightly by Ms. McGowan's nude scenes (great tits!) 1 stars
12/03/01 Chris Halkides The theme of this film is the subversiveness of sexuality other than vanilla-hetero. 5 stars
11/24/01 Melody I have seen some of his other films, I guess you could say he grew as a writer director 3 stars
9/16/01 andrew a very funny movie, and the fact that it pisses off so many people makes it funnier 5 stars
8/06/01 daniel utter and complete shit, and the fact that it's self-consciously so doesn't help. 1 stars
7/13/01 Caligula I am Gregg Araki, and my film is like FUCK, you know, smart like that... 1 stars
6/26/01 Natasha Fox A sickening piece of film,devoid of any meaning which escalates into stomach turning trash. 1 stars
6/02/01 perverted pixie Come on people now - Araki is knarley punkster! 'Doom' is bisexual midnight feast. 5 stars
5/29/01 sull18 This is one of the sickest,grusomest,weird films i have ever seen and i totally loved it it 5 stars
5/04/01 joe The movie sucked but the soundtrack is excellent. 2 stars
4/29/01 Basil I hate to say it but I liked it 5 stars
4/22/01 TNT-6 For teenage idiots wearing a "kill God" shirt while their parents drive them to the mall. 1 stars
3/30/01 Monster W. Kung Disgusting, superficial trash with no social meaning whatsoever. 1 stars
3/16/01 Rodney Dinkler HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy To take Araki for what he's worth, it's excellent. 5 stars
9/01/00 Toobey Prisonmaker Fuck, I hated this. Nothing else to say. I just hated it 1 stars
7/13/00 Tom Very dark film. Interesting set design. 4 stars
3/10/00 nootch To quote a GOOD movie, SLC Punk, "What was the point? Final summation: NONE." 1 stars
2/14/00 toneely I really liked this movie.yes it's nasty, but funny....the ending was a little too much 5 stars
1/02/00 Anthony B. I can truley say this is the worst film I've seen, it was the worst piece of trite!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/19/99 the Grinch And that being?...I love this "you just didn't get it","Get what", "it." pretensious c*nt! 1 stars
11/17/99 A.H. This film, if you get it, is a wonderful joke on the poor fools who miss its point. 5 stars
11/11/99 Chef ADogg Funny like anal rape is funny. 1 stars
11/11/99 robert streit The other reviewers are smoking crack. Gregg Araki rules! 4 stars
10/22/99 bullit17 Putrid. Disgusting. Nonsensical. An abomination. And those are the finer qualities. 1 stars
10/21/99 Annah Point? None. Talent? None. An insult to anyones intelligence 1 stars
10/21/99 The Velvet Edge Yeah, but it had a Wolfgang Press song in it. We need more of that. Oh, and MC 900FT Jesus, 2 stars
10/09/99 Meepos You have got to be kidding. This movie was the biggest crock of shit I have ever witnessed. 1 stars
10/07/99 strike This is one hell of a film! Watch out for cameos by Heidi Fleiss and Julie from Love Boat. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Oct-1995 (R)

UK
  18-Sep-1998 (18)

Australia
  01-Jan-1996 (R)


Directed by
  Gregg Araki

Written by
  Gregg Araki

Cast
  James Duval
  Rose McGowan
  Johnathon Schaech
  Cress Williams



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast