More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.22

Awesome: 20.51%
Worth A Look: 10.26%
Average: 2.56%
Pretty Bad: 3.85%
Total Crap62.82%

4 reviews, 54 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Doom Generation, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Justin Helmer

"I want to kick everyone involved in this movie right in the balls."
1 stars

There are only two things that really stick out to be about The Doom Generation: (Well three I suppose if you count the amazing amount of ugliness that you can cram into a relatively short movie.) the first line, and the last fifteen minutes. The first line of spoken dialogue that we hear is Rose McGowan quite matter-of-factly saying Ďfuck.í Indeed she is, as are we, as are the careers of all involved. We are all well and truly fucked before the film is over.

Nothing happens in this movie. Sometimes that works really well to tell a sprawling slice of life story (Altmanís Short Cuts) often it works when the writing is clever and witty, (Clerks) but this demented little indie picture does not have either of those things going for it. Take your favorite road movie, rub it down with a mixture of hardcore German porno and the visual flair of a retarded four year old and youíll hit pretty close to the mark. So oppressive was the tone here that I was unable to even enjoy the sex scenes.


Here is as much of a plot summary as I can give youÖtwo kids (James Duvall, and Rose McGowan) pick up a wounded stranger (Jonathon Schaech) and proceed to drive around and kill things. We never do get any context for these characters; never get so much as a clue as to who they are. The only thing we do know for sure is that every time the car stopsÖ

A) Something will add up to $6.66.
B) Someone will die.

Great, you got yourself a gimmick. But these two things do not a quality movie make. Címon guys if you had spent half the time worrying about the dialogue that you spent trying to come up with cool visual tricks, you could have let the story tell itself and not worried so much about hitting us over the head with ham-handed symbolism.

On moment, I can think of one that works in the whole of the movie. The trio hit a dog with their car. They all get out and stand in a circle and look down at the dead animal, and they are crying. Itís the director oh so subtle way of shaking his finger at us for not being more horrified by the tremendous shit-storm he seems to believe weíre all in. Itís a good authentic moment, and Iím sure it rings even more true when itís balanced against the shitefulness of the rest of the movie. Taken in context though it seems somewhat disingenuous. This film has no business whatever decrying mindless violence, or the desensitization of modern America.

Oh, and the endÖlest we fucking forget the payoff we the audience get for sitting through this monumental mistake. I can put up with a lot of ugliness in a film, if and only IF I donít feel like Iím being cheated. Some of the movies Iíve found the most profoundly effective over the years, are the ones that feel as much like an ordeal as anything else. The Exorcist comes to mind, as does A Clockwork Orange, Blue Velvet, and Last Exit to Brooklyn. All solid works of art in their own rights, each and every one of them profoundly disturbed and or disgusted me at one point or another.

What the Doom generation has in place of meaning is just plain old mean and nowhere is that more mordantly evident than in the climax of the movie. I donít believe in spoilers so you wonít catch me giving anything away. But please, for the sweet love of god, donít interpret that as me saying go out and see it for yourself. Avoid this flick, avoid it the way you would a diamond-studded concrete butt plug.

Looking back over this, I begin to realize that itís possible that I may have seemed to miss the point. That being, (I thinkÖ) life is at itís very core meaning-less there is no reason, and ultimately nothing matters. Even if that is the case, and emptiness is exactly the point, Camus did it better.

Shortly after this dismal little filmís release I read in an article the Gregg Araki was supposed to be the nihilistic voice of the new generation. Good and God, I hope thatís not the case. I mean, I know, we all have reason to be feeling a little angst-filled just now. But come on. Itís really not that bad out there is it?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2230&reviewer=315
originally posted: 10/08/02 16:31:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/10/15 dg-hater this movie will become cult??? fuck off. I shut it down when that winner snowballed itself 1 stars
1/22/13 GAZ The film is a vehicle to look into the minds of the kids involved in school shooting. 4 stars
12/25/10 g my first time to watch a film this grotesque and I loved it! :) 5 stars
9/26/10 MK Hated it. It was a complete waste of time, and the ending was horrible. 0/5 1 stars
5/25/10 art a great film about PUNK"S! 3 stars
3/19/10 TravisN You want to watch a good movie? Then stay far, far away from this pos. 1 stars
4/06/08 mr.mike Certainly has its charms (chiefly McGowan) , but runs out of steam towards the end. 4 stars
12/06/06 Tony BRILLIANT! 4 stars
4/08/06 Sugarfoot One of the worst movies ever made. Seriously. (0/5) 1 stars
8/07/05 Sib highly interesting! 5 stars
3/09/05 Zog a break from your typical "love" movies 4 stars
5/29/04 Monster W. Kung Stupid, idiotic, pretentious and retarded. The bottom of the barrel of wannabe 'shock-hip'. 1 stars
5/24/04 Proteus Purposefully crap, the Val & Keanu impressions rawk! pretentious fun. 4 stars
2/19/04 SPENCER MY BF LOVES THIS MOVIE AND LET ME TELL YOU I HAVE SEEN IT AND YES IT REALLY SUCKS 1 stars
8/23/03 green eyez I really liked this movie alot...had alot of true thoughts about the world we live in'''' 4 stars
6/06/03 Michael Movie will become a cult classic .... Greg Araki is a genius who is misunderstood 5 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Awesome and totally original. A work of genius by a chance-taking auteur. 5 stars
3/20/03 Dave the Cynic Unfunny, unclever, and FUCKING AWFUL. Gregg Araki sucks ass. 1 stars
12/14/02 boobs lord of the rings fucking sucks, this rocks 5 stars
10/09/02 Asssucka Utterly meaningless, just a masturbatory nihilistic fantasy full of shitty acting & writing 1 stars
10/08/02 Charles Tatum Gregg Araki, Andy Warhol called...your 15 minutes are up. 1 stars
8/23/02 huh? to be honest, if Araki intended this movie to be slighty ironic or kitsch, ok. BAD 2 stars
7/21/02 Gompers most pretentious movie in the history of film 1 stars
7/16/02 patricia can the acting be anymore bad? its liek they got horrible actors on purpose! 1 stars
7/09/02 fi0na this movie is the shit, yes it is fucked up but it's cool in a kinky twisted way 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee A complete turd that is redeemed slightly by Ms. McGowan's nude scenes (great tits!) 1 stars
12/03/01 Chris Halkides The theme of this film is the subversiveness of sexuality other than vanilla-hetero. 5 stars
11/24/01 Melody I have seen some of his other films, I guess you could say he grew as a writer director 3 stars
9/16/01 andrew a very funny movie, and the fact that it pisses off so many people makes it funnier 5 stars
8/06/01 daniel utter and complete shit, and the fact that it's self-consciously so doesn't help. 1 stars
7/13/01 Caligula I am Gregg Araki, and my film is like FUCK, you know, smart like that... 1 stars
6/26/01 Natasha Fox A sickening piece of film,devoid of any meaning which escalates into stomach turning trash. 1 stars
6/02/01 perverted pixie Come on people now - Araki is knarley punkster! 'Doom' is bisexual midnight feast. 5 stars
5/29/01 sull18 This is one of the sickest,grusomest,weird films i have ever seen and i totally loved it it 5 stars
5/04/01 joe The movie sucked but the soundtrack is excellent. 2 stars
4/29/01 Basil I hate to say it but I liked it 5 stars
4/22/01 TNT-6 For teenage idiots wearing a "kill God" shirt while their parents drive them to the mall. 1 stars
3/30/01 Monster W. Kung Disgusting, superficial trash with no social meaning whatsoever. 1 stars
3/16/01 Rodney Dinkler HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy To take Araki for what he's worth, it's excellent. 5 stars
9/01/00 Toobey Prisonmaker Fuck, I hated this. Nothing else to say. I just hated it 1 stars
7/13/00 Tom Very dark film. Interesting set design. 4 stars
3/10/00 nootch To quote a GOOD movie, SLC Punk, "What was the point? Final summation: NONE." 1 stars
2/14/00 toneely I really liked this movie.yes it's nasty, but funny....the ending was a little too much 5 stars
1/02/00 Anthony B. I can truley say this is the worst film I've seen, it was the worst piece of trite!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/19/99 the Grinch And that being?...I love this "you just didn't get it","Get what", "it." pretensious c*nt! 1 stars
11/17/99 A.H. This film, if you get it, is a wonderful joke on the poor fools who miss its point. 5 stars
11/11/99 Chef ADogg Funny like anal rape is funny. 1 stars
11/11/99 robert streit The other reviewers are smoking crack. Gregg Araki rules! 4 stars
10/22/99 bullit17 Putrid. Disgusting. Nonsensical. An abomination. And those are the finer qualities. 1 stars
10/21/99 Annah Point? None. Talent? None. An insult to anyones intelligence 1 stars
10/21/99 The Velvet Edge Yeah, but it had a Wolfgang Press song in it. We need more of that. Oh, and MC 900FT Jesus, 2 stars
10/09/99 Meepos You have got to be kidding. This movie was the biggest crock of shit I have ever witnessed. 1 stars
10/07/99 strike This is one hell of a film! Watch out for cameos by Heidi Fleiss and Julie from Love Boat. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Oct-1995 (R)

UK
  18-Sep-1998 (18)

Australia
  01-Jan-1996 (R)


Directed by
  Gregg Araki

Written by
  Gregg Araki

Cast
  James Duval
  Rose McGowan
  Johnathon Schaech
  Cress Williams



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast