More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.67

Awesome: 22.86%
Worth A Look: 15%
Average: 7.14%
Pretty Bad: 16.43%
Total Crap38.57%

5 reviews, 110 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Twister (1996)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"Will Twist Your Insides Out"
1 stars

I hated this film back then when it was released without even seeing it, since I was a big fan of ID4 (though I hadn’t seen that one on theater yet) –though not for long–, and of course, when it came the time that I saw it, I wasn’t disappointed. A friend of mine had it and we watched it last night, and I felt ripped off anyways. Should’ve told him to watch Forrest Gump instead.

The plot, if you can call that “plot,” is this: Bill Harding (Bill Paxton) wants to divorce wife, Dr. Jo Anne Thornton-Harding (Helen Hunt), so he can go on with his new girlfriend/fuck buddy Dr. Melissa Reeves (Jami Gertz), but hey, both are tornado buffs (Though Bill got pissed and wants to divorce Jo because of it, huh?), and since at the moment Jo is chasing tornados, Bill just nods and tags along for the ride and help Jo out. Hey, I thought these two hated each other. Well, for whatever reason, he also tags along because his long time rival Dr. Jonas Miller (Cary Ewles) is also there, competing with his wife on who gets their revolutionary tornado sensor (or some shit like that), into the heart of these tornados, so they can study them better and help predict future storms with tornadoes.

And the story just goes and goes and goes, until it gets all ripped up and overblown by mediocrity and utter stupidity. After the opening scenes we start entering formula territory, starting with bad guy Jonas, who has to be the most ridiculously formulaic villain ever made, why? He’s funded by the Government, has a crassly accent, and he and his schlock drive around in black SUVs, while our “heroes” are nothing but a bunch of rag-tags, are under budgeted, their equipment is strictly 100% Do It Yourself, and drive old vehicles. Of course, the good guys have to be poor and the bad guys are rich, yep, an already overused metaphor of “overcoming the odds” doesn’t get so irritating. So we know who the bad guys are, though shouldn’t a film concentrate depicting the tornados as the real villains? Why the need of this wasteful character? Simple, just to kill time, so there is some distraction and a few slaps around each other so we don’t kill ourselves watching this overblown and inexcusably boring sack of shit. The story is barebones, and full with holes big enough for one of those fucking tornadoes to pass through. The chemistry between the three leads is like mixing cooking oil and water and putting them on the stove, waiting for the hot oil to splash everywhere. The supposed subplot between these three is so stupid, and tries to shove into your throat how our two estranged characters will be drawn back to love because the tornadoes and their love for them want to. Give me a fucking break!!! So whatever shit there was between them its all going to be forgiven just because the fucking tornadoes (or Mother Nature for that matter) want it that way? Ok, I must admit that a similar case came up in Reds (which happens to me a favorite of mine), but that one had a much different approach and a more believable outcome. This turd doesn’t, and when the predictable comes at the end, you just want to groan and start throwing things at the screen. And what the hell was Jami Gertz doing in the movie? She’s a fucking waste of human existence, since she’s just there to give the occasional screams and hysterics. And oddly enough, due to the stupid predictability between Bill and Jo, you’ll be glad when she walks out. (BTW, that’s no spoiler; you know she’s going to anyhow anyway).

I have to give a little bit of credit to the FX department, since many of the FX they use to create the Twisters was pretty awesome (can’t say the same about the script), but the rest was the stuff for laughs, many of the actions of the tornadoes are so inaccurate its just stupid, and I was laughing at times at the incoherence and the stupidity how our heroes could outrun a BIGASS tornado with their car and ON FOOT!!! But there are two outstanding things that pretty much fuck up this film altogether: 1) that tornado chase in which our heroes manage to avoid, EVERY flying thing out there. A gas trailer, wheels off a tractor, tractors, mowers, roofs, cows. And the truck doesn’t get a SINGLE scratch, only a cracked windshield due to a 45MPH flying tractor tire. See how stupid that was? 2) The big fucker, the ending, which was a fucking groaner. Read any account of people whom have had direct encounters with tornadoes, then, with that in mind think the incredible, the impossible, and the ultimate suspension of disbelief. That’s your ending.

With such fucking stupidity you’d think that this film deserved to have sunk without a trace. Well it should’ve had, but it didn’t. Why you say, well, because of 30 million thickheaded assholes that went to see this film since they believed in the hype. Ooh, tornadoes ripping shit up, that’s so awesome. You’re better off watching any tornado programs in the Discovery Channel, at least that’s more realistic. This piece of shit is not. And the worst of it, thanks to these 30 million thickheaded assholes, they made Jan De Bont think that he was the greatest, that he went on and made Speed 2, and later The Haunting WITH THE MONEY THAT YOU IMBECILES SPENT ON WATCHING THIS SHITPILE!!!!

In the end, this film sucked and sucked big. I still remember 1996 as a great year since my favorite Formula 1 driver Damon Hill went on to win the World Championship, but also I remember 1996 as the year where shit films were given the big treatment and were blasted to become the biggest commercial blockbusters ever (or should I say the biggest money-grabbing scams ever made). This film along with the equally stupid ID4 should’ve vanished without a trace, but thanks to the thickheaded sheep-like masses, they bought EVERYTHING they told them, and went on to see it anyways. Shame on you for wasting your money and 2 hours of your life on this crap, and on ID4. And no, I’m not a fan of ID4 anymore. (0.5-5)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=224&reviewer=235
originally posted: 08/26/02 11:23:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/16/17 morris campbell good effects thats it 1 stars
9/18/13 Jeff Wilder Fantastic FX. Bleh characterization and story. 3 stars
10/13/11 bob I think its a great movie. 5 stars
6/03/10 User Name About as entertaining as a weather report. 1 stars
3/04/10 PAUL SHORTT EFFECTS ASIDE ITS PREDICTABLE, CLICHED, SLOPPILY WRITTEN AND POORLY PERFORMED 2 stars
11/13/09 RealityOfFilms This is a GREAT movie! And it has its funny moments too, which makes it even better! 5 stars
10/21/09 baby doll this movie suck along wit the review 1 stars
1/20/09 Antonina It was so interesting for me. Those tornadoes are terrible things! 5 stars
9/30/08 Jerome C. This will be the last comment. THAT FLICK WAS GREAT! now stop watching it. 4 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner The storyline is well made! 5 stars
8/05/08 Braniff Don't waste your time with this bullcrap! 1 stars
5/26/08 loser stop swearing this movie was hektic!!!!! 5 stars
4/24/08 donkey this movie can suck a dick 1 stars
12/04/07 christina holsinger it was fucking cool 5 stars
6/18/07 Greyson Best movie, seen it a million times and never gets old, who cares if its realistic or not 5 stars
5/21/07 Keith Saw it for like the 23rd time this weekend. Never gets old. Some slow parts in the middle. 5 stars
5/07/07 Lloyd Fucking stupid ass movie 1 stars
4/26/07 David Risser Good movie about tornadoes/one of my favorite disaster movies 4 stars
4/02/07 Travis Hoffman totally gret, I watch it every day.helen hunt is fuckin hot. twister is great 5 stars
2/23/07 Weblynx Great special effects, really good movie 5 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday Good fun. I like it mostly for Jami Gertz's character. 3 stars
2/06/07 Matt Flying cow, the fx are great! The story's silly, but this isn't about intelligent scripts. 4 stars
12/10/06 Danielle my alltime fav. movie 5 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini great fx 5 stars
10/15/06 JM Synth Not very good, but if you liked ID4 in 96, you're no better than anyone Slyder. 2 stars
9/16/06 jcp loved it 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Best f#%*ing film ever made, I distinctly remember exiting the theater revved up&awed 5 stars
6/18/06 chienne Is Helen Hunt only capable of playing Bitch Supreme in every movie she's in? 3 stars
5/27/06 Sheena Love it. Action, adventure, death and love. 5 stars
5/12/06 Fruit-Loop Good but lacks X Factor 6.6/10 4 stars
2/13/06 Anthony One of the Greatest movies of 1996 4 stars
1/03/06 cody I give this visual effect mind blowing movie, with decent story , good perf. helen***1/2 4 stars
11/15/05 Kayla I absolutely love this movie. It makes me want to seriously be a tornado chaser. Im only 16 5 stars
10/19/05 Quigley this is the best and only good natural disaster movie. awesome visuals and great sound! 5 stars
9/30/05 lilly this movie totally kicked Ass!! I swear they NEED to make another one!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/11/05 ES Ugh, check your editing there de Bont, is the windshield on the truck smashed or not? 2 stars
6/30/05 darick God! I f****ing hated this movie as a 7-yr old, and still do f****ing hate it 1 stars
5/26/05 tony Once again another one hit wonder by Jan De Bont. This movie was great! 4 stars
4/25/05 sunny it was a pretty not so eye catching movie untill the cow flew across the T.V screen. 4 stars
3/06/05 Nate Awesome movie 5 stars
8/14/04 G-man great weather movie 5 stars
8/02/04 jade farrell twister is the worlds best moviue i have seen 5 stars
6/02/04 M. Arnold I liked the movie. It made me want to study more about tornados. 4 stars
5/31/04 Zierra Langham I think it sucked it can be a little more cooler and moveable. 2 stars
5/11/04 cat i liked it 5 stars
3/15/04 Heather I LOVE IT VERY MUCH I DONT' KNOW WHAT U GUYS ARE SAYING U MUST BE CRAZY CAUSE IT IS AWSOME! 5 stars
2/24/04 Anna an extremely boring pathetic film the special effects are good though 2 stars
1/29/04 Marlyn Jones i can't belive peple say it's bad! there is more to this movie than most than you think! 4 stars
1/05/04 Lyz total crap, not many actual facts, they need to learn how to act 1 stars
12/07/03 john no story whatsoever - bad acting - laughable villains and effects that don't hold up 1 stars
9/25/03 jimmy d while i was at the theater a tornado hit and killed my father! 1 stars
6/15/03 Jack Sommersby No characters nor story -- just butt-fucking f/x. Who cares? 1 stars
4/04/03 Jack Bourbon Maybe if we drive INTO the tornado, we can get a better look! 1 stars
3/20/03 May Q. Horney Helen Hunt's character just too contentious in this one. 3 stars
3/02/03 Jamie Meola What are you people talking about?! This is a great movie!! 5 stars
1/31/03 jeremy Bad when excluding Helen Hunt, totally atrocious when including her. 1 stars
1/05/03 R.W. Welch Cardboard characters, but lots of good flying debris. 2 stars
11/17/02 Nevz pants. 1 stars
11/13/02 COLLEEN GREAT PLOT 5 stars
10/31/02 Linley I liked it, I love everyting about tornadoes, so i had to check it out! 5 stars
10/29/02 STEVE BOY IS IT BAD. 2 stars
10/29/02 José this film is not a masterpiece ... but I enjoy it very much 5 stars
9/30/02 Charles Tatum Oh, c'mon, don't take it so seriously 4 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Total wank 1 stars
9/25/02 movie guy great 5 stars
8/31/02 Ken Great special effects, everything else sucked donkey dick. C'mon - an EVIL METEOROLOGIST?? 1 stars
8/26/02 Z This is shit. The characters are paper thin and peeling at the edges. IT SUCKS....hard 1 stars
7/05/02 Ken Come on - an EVIL METEOROLOGIST? Even Disney villians have one dimension. 1 stars
6/07/02 stud NEAT 3 stars
4/10/02 NWO4LIFE Fun, but repetitive 3 stars
4/03/02 Butterbean Awesome effects and great story. This movie deserves it's $241million profit. 5 stars
1/24/02 Andrew Carden Milking Cows Is Better Then Watching This. 1 stars
11/30/01 The $1.98 Pyramid The tornadoes are worth a look, the characters are laughable. 4 stars
11/13/01 Tam Forgettable SFX-laden flick with no plot/performances to speak of. 2 stars
11/03/01 Chris Batchelor Better than other people's opinino, esp. within the meteorological standpoint! 5 stars
8/10/01 Mr. Hat I didn't think it was too bad. 3 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Cool effetcs, but the rest is pure goat spunk. 1 stars
7/31/01 Henry Ginsberg Boring 2 stars
12/20/00 The Evil Penguin HEY!!! 4 stars
11/26/00 Cristopher Revilla Good visual effects, not so good of a story, and a very fucked up ending 2 stars
10/15/00 Ant Brilliant special effects. BUT, the acting and script are among the worst in movie history 2 stars
7/12/00 Terrie Smith Great special effects; boring personal story line. 3 stars
4/16/00 Thrill seeker Home theater or big screen only for viewing. Ignore the plot, ride from twister to twister. 5 stars
3/24/00 David Rogers I seen the script the writer for this movie had for Godzilla, and it was crappy as this. 1 stars
2/17/00 Bozo A decent effect or two but illogical and hunt would ruin a perfectly good blowjob 2 stars
2/16/00 Kyle Broflovski Substance-free squared. But I still saw it 3 times. I'm a ducking fumbass, I guess... 2 stars
1/10/00 Will hey, look, a movie about wind 1 stars
7/24/99 Hagbard Celine Would've been okay if Bill Paxton had been struck and killed by a flying cow. 1 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg This is probably the stupidest film ever. But also the FUNNEST. 4 stars
6/04/99 Ah Dooey Simply said: Awful. Truly awful. 1 stars
5/04/99 Big Dog Bill Paxton is horrible, How can he get acting roles? Bill Paxton you suck! 1 stars
4/28/99 WindSuck This movie SUCKED and BLEW! 1 stars
4/21/99 lucas jackson it is one fucking piece of shit,it makes Titanic look good,fuck twister 1 stars
3/18/99 Max Bernstein Damn you Bill Paxton. Damn you straight to Hell. 1 stars
12/31/98 Todd As bad as Lost World 1 stars
12/04/98 Shadow Raider God awful. Sappy FX and plot, shit story.ID4 sucked even more. 1 stars
11/24/98 Fred Uppa yo ass, movie!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/10/98 Hugh Jass Wind? Twist? Wind? Choo-choo-choose me and... Goddamit! 1 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob Loved the flying cows, but WHERE THE HELL WAS THE PLOT! 3 stars
10/18/98 katherine nice effects, but a little boring at times. 4 stars
10/13/98 tw not bad 5 stars
10/10/98 KrazNutz You can't tell me that Hollywood doesn't know 90% of the audience are idiots. This is proof 2 stars
8/31/98 Matt it was like one great big truck commercial 2 stars
8/30/98 Mister Whoopee This movie blew. Get it? BLEW! WIND! BLEW! Haha. It says choo-choo-choose me and... bah. 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Same director did Speed 2. Kill him before he breeds. 2 stars
8/23/98 Superfly Terrible, terrible movie. 1 stars
8/21/98 Mike F this movie was ok. only cause I like crappy movies. 3 stars
8/17/98 Johny Taught me a lot about Tornado saftey 1 stars
8/17/98 J-Guy (The MFC) I needed this movie as bad as a stale glass of water and kick in the head. 1 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} "Quick! Tie your belt to a pipe and the twister won't hurt us!" - Fuck off. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-May-1996 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1996 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast