More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.91

Awesome: 13.25%
Worth A Look29.14%
Average: 17.88%
Pretty Bad: 14.57%
Total Crap: 25.17%

6 reviews, 115 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Lost World: Jurassic Park, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"Lost the flavor of the original"
3 stars

Jurassic Park was a great movie, and one of the biggest hits of 1993, and in my point of view, the film was an open-shut deal, nothing else to talk about. Then The Lost World came out, so I thought to myself, what is there else to discuss? Then, later I bought the film, along with Jurassic Park, and watched it. Sure, it shows you more dinosaurs and shit (or at least it tries to), but what’s the story? I left the TV screen wondering why all the mess, and questioning the plot. I just don’t understand.

Lets see, four years after the disaster of Jurassic Park in Isla Nublar, Dr. Ian Malcolm (Jeff Goldblum) is called by John Hammond (Richard Attenborough), who has lost his control over his company InGen, to tell him about the existence of Isla Sorna, another island called “Site B” where they “raise” the newly born dinosaurs, until they’re old enough to be sent to the other island. So Hammond asks Ian to join an expedition team which consist of Nick Van Owen (Vince Vaughn), Eddie Carr (Richard Shiff), and finally a paleontologist, Dr. Sarah Harding (Julianne Moore) –who went to the island before the other three–, and happens to be Ian’s girlfriend, so he decides to go too, but to rescue her. So they go, and accidentally they take also Ian’s daughter Kelly (Vanessa Lee Chester) for the ride. But soon after they arrive, another team from InGen arrives but with a different agenda, because this team, headed by Peter Ludlow (Arliss Howard), and bounty hunter Roland Tembo (Pete Postlethwaite), is taking the dinosaurs out of their habitat to take them to San Diego, to a new Jurassic Park. This is the reason of why Hammond sent the research team, because he wanted to catalog the entire dinosaur wildlife of the island, so this would be prevented and let the animals be in their own world. So that’s where the adventure begins, as both teams try to survive The Lost World.

The plot sounds familiar, like taking endangered animals to a zoo. There’s nothing wrong about that, but what is wrong about the film is that it tries to bring you suspense with stuff that you’ve already seen in the first one, so it’s not that surprising the second time around. The effects were not as good as the other one, I mean you could easily tell that most of the dinosaurs were fake, so that even takes off more of the fun, and even more the film kind of drags along through the action scenes, and the supposedly many dinosaurs it shows are only shown a few times, but the film only shows what we’ve seen in the other one, the T-rex and the velociraptor. C’mon that’s boring, can they come up with some other carnivores? Like the Allosaurus or other dinosaurs? Sure there’s those little ones but even those are hardly surprising. Because one really gets tired with the action scenes between the T-rex and the Velociraptor, since they get boring after a while, don’t you think? On a side note, one interesting thing that I noticed though, is that the Golden Raspberries nominated the scene when the T-rex begins to rumble through the city, in what we can call, “Jurassic Park meets Godzilla,” for an award for “Worst Reckless Disregard for human life and public property.” In my opinion that was the worst and most ridiculous award that I’ve ever heard, because think for a minute, what would happen if a T-rex were on the loose in the city? For me that scene made perfect sense in the movie and in simulation of "real life" situations, and I thought personally that the Golden Raspberries really got themselves off with that bullshit.

The performances are okay this time, though I wish that they added more stuff for the character of Ian Malcolm, and that Jeff Goldblum would make a little more effort to act better, since his performance was a little above average. The rest of the cast performed also okay.

In the end, I must say that if you want to rent this movie, go ahead. Sure it will bring lots of action but it has lost the flavor of the original, it’s not the same thing, and in most cases you’ll end up disappointed like me. But if you’re just a real fanatic of dinosaurs, well, I guess this movie’s for you, along with the first Jurassic Park.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=226&reviewer=235
originally posted: 04/22/01 13:44:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell good if familiar 4 stars
2/08/13 Kcaj its time to retire mr spielberg 1 stars
6/22/12 bob amazingly entertaining. 4 stars
10/29/10 Rolly Hyatt Did we really need a sequel with overconfident Jeff-friggin'-Goldblum? I think not. 2 stars
12/07/09 Dwight Piece of Shit. 1 stars
10/08/09 PAUL SHORTT A CHEERLESS, HEARTLESS MONSTROSITY 1 stars
9/02/09 wenjon the nigger ruined it! 1 stars
8/05/09 the dork knight Overlong and not very suspensful. Fell asleep by the time the T-rex took San Diego. 2 stars
10/24/08 action movie fan not as good as the first but still very good 4 stars
8/14/07 MaDmAN Chrichton should be pissed! If you've read the book of this, the movie sucks! 2 stars
6/02/07 Bob loves to lick nob Good movie. And it should be rated M. Get your 5 year old to see it and I'll prove it 4 stars
4/05/07 Dave better than you think 5 stars
4/02/07 Stanley Thai A decent sequel with no returning main characters... 3 stars
3/08/07 man not as good as the first, but still good 5 stars
2/19/07 Nick Maday Great sequel, and I'm glad Julianne Moore was there to deflect attention from Jeff Goldblum 4 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega It's no Chrichton, but it is Spielberg! 4 stars
1/22/07 Sepi53 good 4 stars
1/19/07 movieman fun 5 stars
12/29/06 Smacko wacko It was good. One of the few movie sequals that is not just a rip off of the first 4 stars
12/06/06 Dude Seriously Underrated 5 stars
11/10/06 Austin Wertman EVEN BETTER THAN THE FIRST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist A decent sequel 4 stars
7/18/06 David Cohen Typical modern Spielberg, "The PC will prosper, all others must be eaten" 1 stars
7/15/06 MP Bartley Two exquisite Spielberg touches (glass and grass) but the rest is 2nd unit filler. 3 stars
6/28/06 joe koski BOO!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/22/06 Jack A Good sequal that deserves better Ratings 4 stars
3/09/06 Dk Not as good as the first but highly entertaining 4 stars
2/11/06 Anthony A sequel to remember 4 stars
12/22/05 cody a ok sequel with more dinos and action, but lack in characters and ploat 2 stars
9/02/05 Zack I thought it was less then half as good as the origial 2 stars
6/10/05 Bee this is a way good film 5 stars
5/27/05 Quigley a very well-done sequel by the master of movies. the first was still better though 5 stars
5/27/05 tony exellent sequel to the would-be oscar winning film. some parts a bit slow,but still good! 4 stars
5/19/05 Luke BlackAdder People are dickheads if they don't like this film, Go go Jurassic Park movies 5 stars
4/26/05 E-FUNK The best film to date about annoying, child-gymnasts ever. Way to go, Spielbergo. FUCK!!!! 1 stars
2/03/05 Aaron Smith Not good. I like Goldblum, but the plot wasn't good at all. 3 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams why does Malcom have a black kid? And where's Dr. Grant? 2 stars
11/20/04 Mark Jurassic Park the lost World is better than the original The Lost World. 5 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G ate shit 1 stars
8/03/04 Kitina Blues wasnt that great but its worth watching for vince vaughn... he's adorable!!! 3 stars
7/03/04 Monster W. Kung God-awful shit. 1 stars
6/14/04 Craig Great acting, a few dumb one-liners and plot holes, but still an entertaining experience. 4 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot could have been awesome if they stayed on the island, as it goes it is still great film. 4 stars
4/10/04 American Slasher Goddess Passable stuff and entertaining enough. 3 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. Better than #1 and frankly whoever says 'Total Crap'... Well, GROW UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/17/04 The Dude This movie sucked so bad I had to shit my pants and throw it at the screen. 1 stars
11/27/03 John the lost Spielberg 1 stars
11/14/03 R.W. Welch They're loose again, and eating people. Contrived stuff with good FX. 3 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant Whoops...looks like the King tried to have some fun and ended uplooking like a retard. CRAP 1 stars
7/23/03 Double G dino jump out boat and make me pee in panties, hahahahwawawawahahahahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
5/31/03 leon %%0qwe WHAT ATE PEOPLE ON BOAT?DID T REX DO IT AND THEN GOT BACK INTO CARGO HOLD?MAYBE WAS RAPTORS 1 stars
3/12/03 GMan Dinosaurs...and...lots of empty....stares....and...cgi...out..the...ass.......MST3K!!! 3 stars
2/19/03 Matthew Jones Not as good as #1, but a worthy follow-up... 4 stars
2/07/03 Turtle Lost World hacks Crichton's book into little pieces and comes as an insult to JP fans. 3 stars
1/04/03 Paul Its okay. At least its way better than Jurassic Park 3. 3 stars
12/19/02 C.reeves A okay movie and great visual effects 3 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Makes the original seem down right entertaining 2 stars
10/08/02 3man If I had paid to see this, I'd be pissed 1 stars
9/29/02 CVJ Good but not great 4 stars
8/19/02 jurassiraptor Excellent followup to the original masterpiece. Movie desciption in one word: "FUN" 5 stars
8/16/02 Shaun hey, it could have been a hell of a lot worse 4 stars
5/15/02 Stud OKAY!! 3 stars
3/02/02 Unagiboy Better than the first film; much funnier. Don't take it too seriously. 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Better than the first film. 4 stars
1/03/02 Turtle Phenomenal special effects, but weak story and decent acting. Read the book. 3 stars
12/31/01 Terrible Tore Approach it as a COMEDY and don't take the bad science too seriously 3 stars
12/08/01 Waylon Roundtree Decent sequel is weak, but entertaining. You can safely skip most of the dialogue scenes. 3 stars
9/25/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This one was better then the 1st but, Something has survived and its pissed!!!!! 5 stars
9/06/01 Gary Terrible. Had potential to improve upon the thin original, but is really much much worse. 1 stars
8/21/01 Monster W. Kung Absolutely unnecessary and lame. What the fuck was the point? 1 stars
8/21/01 I love movies solid sequel, recommend it over the new one! 4 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) A lot different than the first one! 4 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk There aren't words to describe the hate I feel for this movie and its director. 1 stars
8/04/01 viking Even the book was better 3 stars
7/29/01 Henry Ginsberg Stupid but fun 4 stars
6/28/01 Geebo The book was better, the movie was still good though, to say the least. 5 stars
5/03/01 Gracy Lionheart The book was more entertaining. The movie was boring. 2 stars
3/29/01 Jun Stupid story! Let the hypocrite heroine chewed up instead! 1 stars
2/15/01 Destruction Worker Not as good as JP, but sooper entertaining. 4 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Not as bad as the critics have you believe. Gorier than the first. 4 stars
12/27/00 Turtle Some kinda cheap gimmick to get you to waste your money. Dissapointing. 3 stars
12/14/00 David Marriott Not as good as the book, and the plot isn't to good, but still pretty exciting! 3 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin Effects were good. But I have to agree with K-Dog. K-Dog killer can fry up in the desert 2 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla It lost the flavor of the first one, please no more sequels because its going to suck shit 2 stars
10/18/00 dan i came out thinking: "this is the best movie i have ever seen!" 5 stars
9/11/00 K-Dog Killer K-Dog is a wanker. Another bad review of a good film. He is a boil on the bum of humanity. 4 stars
7/11/00 J. Andrew Hefner I'd rather endure a glass enema than watch this again 1 stars
5/30/00 danilo better than the first; better effects, better action and faster pacing 5 stars
5/12/00 Steve Layne This movie just didn't click that much for me. The original was a little better. 3 stars
5/05/00 matt SUUUUUUUCCCCCCCCKKKKKKKED 5 stars
5/02/00 lucas jackson this makes godzilla look respectable, both shitty 2 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers Better than first, but Speilburg had the nerve to call Godzilla a ripoff. Suffering! 4 stars
2/27/00 Jed Good SFX and humor but the original was better 2 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Gorier than the first. Goldblum, Moore, and Vaughn work wonders with average dialogue. 4 stars
1/18/00 Jedi15 Great movie, but not as good as the first. The last twenty minutes or so suck! 4 stars
8/19/99 Matthew Bartley Preferred it to the first.More action, more dinosaurs,the glass and the grass kick ass 5 stars
6/17/99 Sidney What the HELL was Speilberg thinking? 1 stars
4/04/99 Albert This one is better than the first! Darker, cooler. Ignore the gymnastics. 5 stars
1/25/99 Chloe Marie Elestenogoph (clatter@hotmail.com) What a lame sequal. Jurassic Park rules, this sucks. 2 stars
1/17/99 Dionysus Better than the first, but still nothing great. 3 stars
12/31/98 Todd The novel should be crying "RAPE! RAPE" 1 stars
12/05/98 Scion of Sailor Jupiter why, why, whywhywhywhy WHY!? 1 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink Two or three great sequences save it from "sucks it all"rating.. 2 stars
11/26/98 little jerry Full on action safari film.If you think this doesn't deliver why were you in the cinema? 4 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob I guess Steven didn't care for the better parts of the book that he and Michael concocted. 2 stars
10/24/98 grunter Top-notch FX; improved plot from book; SPEILBERG for fuck's sake and still you complain? 5 stars
10/18/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls Jumanji was worse than this shit. 1 stars
10/11/98 Bluntman All visuals without a hint of magic. But those visuals... 3 stars
9/17/98 MR HOLLYWOOD ! EXCELLENT Directing, shame about the pace and Music= dull as ever !!,but still a good romp! 4 stars
9/07/98 NICK SPIELBERG WHAT HAPPENED? THE BOOK WAS GREAT THE MOVIE AS SHITTY AS THEY COME!! 1 stars
9/07/98 Damien Ahhhh,come on, this movie was fun, lighten up people 4 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Goldblum shits me. Smug self-important bastard 3 stars
8/17/98 J-Guy (The MFC) pretty lame. but, lots more death. still a shitty sequel. 1 stars
8/16/98 Johny The film is pretty much overkill 2 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} It's a sequel and you know what that means. Scene with the cracking glass is awesome. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-May-1997 (PG-13)
  DVD: 29-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast