More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.51

Awesome75.56%
Worth A Look: 13.33%
Average: 2.22%
Pretty Bad: 4.44%
Total Crap: 4.44%

1 review, 39 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Harold and Maude
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"One of those films you just don't want to end."
5 stars

A modern day cult classic about a young boy with a morbid fascination of death and faking his own, who ultimately meets and falls in love with an ancient old woman full of moxie, living day to day as fullest as possible.

The film’s unusualness, it’s unpredictability, is a wonderful feeling; it is obvious that Harold and Maude — the movie and the title characters — walk on a different side of the street, and while the film wears that on its sleeve and is proud of that sensibility, it is never taken advantage of or elevated to an excessive level. If anything, it leaves the audience (or me at least) craving for more of the same, and maybe that is one of the reasons as to why it has gained a cult status. There is a certain dated tactility to the film, reminiscent of its Seventies milieu, but it is accompanied by a pleasant touch and taste, not so much in the ideal of vintage, but rather surefire maturity. Hal Ashby heeds much restraint in his direction, proving to be neither superfluous and lopsided or underwhelming and empty. The two lead performances are simply wonderful and immaculate; the disquieting uneasiness of young Bud Cort, unpolished yet still magnificently manifested. And Ruth Gordon, touching and eloquent, is fully vivacious and her calm quietude and approach makes her character flawless. Is it me, or doesn’t everyone want to hang out with this dyad? The true test to pass is if you are worried and unsure over the final glaik.

With Vivian Pickles, Cyril Cusack, Ellen Greer and Tom Skerritt.

[Masterpiece.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2275&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/20/03 17:41:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/09/15 mr.mike Repetitive and tiresome. 3 stars
2/25/15 stanley welles a model of weird bad taste with creepy unsympathetic main characters 2 stars
2/15/12 PAUL SHORTT HIPPY PROPAGANDA 1 stars
12/02/09 karamashi A Classic. Hilarious and Beautiful. 5 stars
4/15/09 <3 i have a mad crush on harold 5 stars
3/11/09 Anonymous. a great movie :D 5 stars
3/10/09 tom I never get tired of watching this movie. Cat Stevens' music is like icing on the cake 5 stars
12/04/08 Shaun Wallner Very Funny! 5 stars
12/03/07 Screwball One of my favorites. Five stars !!! 5 stars
8/27/07 Judy Life changing as a teen viewer in the 70's. Still one of my favorite movies of all time. 5 stars
1/18/07 Phil M. Aficionado Black comedy par excellence. Kind of in a classs by itself 35 years later. 5 stars
1/12/07 MP Bartley Very funny, and the kind of weird film that could only have been made in the 1970s. 4 stars
5/11/06 rabdalas My Favorite Movie. Period. Why I bought a VCR. Why I bought a DVD player. Timefor a SE. 5 stars
3/27/06 3wa Most certainly worth watching!! 4 stars
11/16/04 G. Howe Makes me feel good about life. 5 stars
6/11/04 T. Maj A great comedy AND a great love story 5 stars
2/09/04 Andres Rauchut This is a terrible movie, just because a film is weird or strange, it isnt good, you idiots 1 stars
1/19/04 MJR Exellent classic entirely unique within itself 5 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Very good character study with solid performances; overrated though. 4 stars
6/01/03 Rob Classic! Ruth Gordon is superb. You'll laugh, cry, and learn to live and love life. A+ 5 stars
3/27/03 Blubberbot This is in my top 10 of best films ever made 5 stars
1/26/03 elise exceellent! 5 stars
8/01/02 A. Wells The best film I've ever seen. Always brings tears to my eyes. 5 stars
7/30/02 Jake Powers Annoying. "Unique" but in a shitty, wannabe-clever way 2 stars
3/14/02 Sarah a strangly beautiful movie. harold is kool. 5 stars
1/23/02 Carly Lighthearted and strange. An eccentric, funny, and wonderful movie. 5 stars
1/21/02 Andrew Carden Excellent Movie. One Of The Best. Ruth Gordon Is My Sugar Momma. 5 stars
12/15/01 Monster W. Kung Fuck that, this deserves 'Fucking Awesome', not 'Worth A Look' 5 stars
9/26/01 ErinGirl This is the funniest movie... I recommend all lovers of dark comedy see this movie! 5 stars
7/26/01 H slats my favourite movie 5 stars
6/29/01 master.node I really like Maude. Harold is a proto-goth. I want his car. 4 stars
6/25/01 svetlana so very sweet...but not in your usual stupid way 4 stars
5/13/01 Monster W. Kung Anti-conformity in a funny, weird and bitter-sweet way. 4 stars
4/28/01 The Jedi Droid a true classic 5 stars
4/04/01 tawni burgess I have loved this movie for years, wonderful theme, story, music, characters 5 stars
3/04/01 doug one of the top 5 of all time 5 stars
1/02/01 Emily *wow* 5 stars
10/15/00 Josh Really makes you think about love. 5 stars
11/08/99 Mickey More See this film and keep an open mind. The weirdest feel-good film of all time. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Dec-1971 (PG)

UK
  N/A (18)

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Hal Ashby

Written by
  Colin Higgins

Cast
  Ruth Gordon
  Bud Cort
  Vivian Pickles
  Cyril Cusack



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast