More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.2

Awesome: 14.63%
Worth A Look31.71%
Average: 25.61%
Pretty Bad: 14.63%
Total Crap: 13.41%

1 review, 76 user ratings


Latest Reviews

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

Judge, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Jaws 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"Passable sequel"
3 stars

A somewhat entertaining yet ultimately disappointing sequel to the mighty Steven Spielberg film, this flick is carried under the strength of Roy Scheider… and little else.

4 years after the devastating killing of a shark, Amity Police Chief Martin Brody (Scheider) suddenly believes that theres another shark in the water after two scuba divers are killed in an expedition and later a skiing girl also appears missing while her mother blows up her boat, and finally a killer whale (!) ends up stranded on the beach with a big bite. Major Vaughn (Murray Hamilton) wants to hear none of this again since he’s trying to rid Amity Island from its shark-tarnished image. Brody’s sons as well as Vaughn’s son embark with friends on a raft trip only fall prey of the shark, and it’s up to Brody to rescue them.

So what happened here? Well to start off, it’s evidently clear that the film was just a cash-in to once again scare a couple of bucks into the box office. Why do I say it? Because it’s just simply not about the shark anymore; in the original Jaws, the shark dominated the film not because it went out and ate people, but because how all the cinematic elements preluded his attack. We didn’t know what the fuck was out there, we only saw the camera’s view of the shark and thanks to this we felt his carnivorous personality and his relentless sense of kill. Here, it’s just handled as a mere plot device out to only devour some people and show some blood and guts. There’s a fair share of suspense but only because we’re waiting for the evident “shark victim.” The plot is by-the-numbers, the majority of the kids are total assholes and deserve to be eaten by the shark, and the shark looks fierce but ultimately more animalistic and more dumb than its predecessor.

The only reason to watch this film is Roy Scheider since he gives quite an intense performance as you can see the guy’s paranoia shows on his face. But other than that is just your now-average shark movie, and nothing else. 2.5-5

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2299&reviewer=235
originally posted: 11/13/04 08:01:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/01/13 Kcaj this one was pasable. The other 2 movies were botched abortions 4 stars
12/11/12 Jamie A good sequel, enough said. 4 stars
9/25/12 roscoe 1st hour can be boring and features little shark. Schneider is great, so is 2nd half. 4 stars
7/10/11 Jennifer Barr good sequel 4 stars
6/21/10 Alison Kramer Another thing that carries this film is John Williams classic new score. 5 stars
12/29/08 Nick The only good sequel to the first one. A little boring at the beginning but still great! 4 stars
2/18/08 Pamela White sequal almost equal except those who rode the jaws ride at UA park 3 stars
12/01/07 JJ Very good sequel. The original was great, this was good!! A lot better than 3. 5 stars
9/04/07 giggles i liked this better than the first i just wished he ate more people 5 stars
6/01/07 Sugarfoot Let's just say, only watch the Jaws movies with Roy Scheider and leave it at that. 4 stars
4/24/07 David Risser Kids get stranded out at sea w/a killer shark, cool! 5 stars
3/07/07 David Pollastrini Not as good as Jaws but better than Jaws 3-d 4 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega It'll keep you out of the water again, but not like the original. 3 stars
8/17/06 JM Synth Pretty Good, if totally unneccesary "Popcorn" movie 4 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Not as good as the first, but still classic!!!! 4 stars
6/29/06 George Who wrote the plot for this boring movie? 1 stars
6/28/06 joe koski list of jaws movies 1- rock, 3- ok, 2- BOOOOOOOOO 1 stars
5/07/06 Fruit-Loop The Plot has absouloutely no focus. 1 stars
4/22/06 Jack The first one is Awesome. This one? Bomb! 1 stars
3/10/06 Dk Not worth anyones time or money 2 stars
2/13/06 Anthony Feor Ummmm no 2 stars
1/17/06 hunt My favorite part in this movie is when shark gets electrcuted, fun flick 5 stars
12/21/05 miss patience 5 Im 11 and l say you suck for saying this movie is crappy, it is the bomb!!!!!!! 4 stars
11/24/05 cr a teen bopper meets jaws, they show the shark to much not as scary, but fun 3 stars
9/02/05 Zack sucks sucks suck sucks! an insult to the first one 1 stars
9/02/05 Eden Its not the greatness of the original. But its not a bad film, enjoyable 3 stars
8/20/05 Ed This was kinda lame, I wish Jaws ate the bitch who kept screaming at the top of her lungs. 2 stars
8/16/05 ES The realism of the original can definately be felt here, Mr. Scheider as always; awesome 4 stars
8/14/05 Steve Bence I just watched it on television. I was barely good enough to keep me from changing channel 4 stars
8/11/05 Brandy Harrington Nowhere near as bad as the next two sequels, but still an unnessecary sequel. 3 stars
8/02/05 Ric Good thriller with exciting shark attacks and a great performance from Roy Scheider. 4 stars
6/27/05 Cheif I think it's an underrated sequel. A lot of fun. 4 stars
6/17/05 Quigley pretty decent sequel, but it can never match the awesomness of the first. NEVER. 3 stars
6/16/05 Jeff Anderson Nowhere near as great as the 1st, but Scheider is terrific & the shark scenes deliver. 3 stars
6/09/05 me Mediocre at best. 3 stars
5/28/05 tony No need for a sequel but alright i guess 2 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK The ugliest cast in recent memory. Directed by the ass who brought us Supergirl the movie. 3 stars
3/31/05 Richard Box You can find the exact point when the frachise gets stupid, by attacking a helicopter. 4 stars
11/14/04 X $ % & ! Without Robert Shaw, it is nothing. 2 stars
11/13/04 Jack Sommersby The shark scenes are very fine, but, man this sucker drags when there's talk. 2 stars
7/03/04 American Slasher Goddess A worthy followup to the classic original, much better then the next two installments. 4 stars
7/02/04 Sean Scanlan Too much talk 2 stars
6/03/04 Movie Guy Dude! 4 stars
5/19/04 Sean Scanlan Boring, overated, except for the last scene 2 stars
5/13/04 B. Kenton Better than the two Jaws films after it for sure! And yes some suspense! 4 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern Not as bad as part 3-D!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
2/06/04 c.r a good sequel to the smash hit jaws, cool and suspenseful scenes! 3 stars
1/27/04 CrowEater this was kinda lame, I wished the obnoxious teenagers were all eaten 2 stars
12/10/03 richard robertson decent movie, not as good as part 1 4 stars
11/28/03 john considering it's the sequel to JAWS it's pretty solid 4 stars
11/28/03 alien assassin Adequate follow up to a classic 4 stars
10/18/03 Samuel Justus actually a good sequel! 5 stars
9/29/03 Kyle More of the teenagers should've been eaten. 2 stars
8/29/03 DARREN NOT AS GOOD AS THE ORIGINAL BUT STILL RAISES A FEW GOOSE PIMPLES 3 stars
8/15/03 Double G eeekayy 2 stars
3/20/03 Jack Sommersby Passable. 3 stars
10/23/02 Anastasia Beaverhausen Shark loses its bite 3 stars
9/07/02 STEVE JAWS=MASTERPIECE JAWS 2=*****/5 JAWS 3=***1/2/5 JAWS THE REVENGE=0*/5 5 stars
8/31/02 Robbie Banfitch if it wasn't compared so much to the original, maybe people would see that its not so bad 5 stars
8/16/02 Scott Jaws+Campy feel+dumbass teens= Jaws 2 4 stars
8/16/02 Shaun compared to 3 and 4, a worthy follow up 4 stars
12/06/01 travis same level as the first.also love the 3rd 5 stars
12/03/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Better than the fist one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) My favorite death is the one of the ugly kid w/ the fucked up afro. 4 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk What did ya expect from a guy who went on to direct Supergirl? Not bad... 3 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg shit 1 stars
6/22/01 Dave they definitely should have stopped at 2 3 stars
5/20/01 Frody If you like killer sharks, you'll like this. It's no Spielbergian adventure, but still good 4 stars
12/08/00 Cristopher Revilla Dave, Steve, go fuck some sharks, this movie's fucking stupid!!!! 1 stars
11/25/00 The Evil Penguin David Rogers and Steve Layne are total IIIIIIDDDDIIIIIIOOOOOOTTTTTTTTTTSSSSSSS!!!!!!! 2 stars
5/12/00 Steve Layne Can me crazy I like this better than the original. It has loads of thrills & entertainment. 5 stars
5/02/00 Gus Van Sant ahhhh!it is shite! 1 stars
5/01/00 Ummm..... absolutely attrocious! 1 stars
4/30/00 Non absolutely wonderful shite! 1 stars
4/30/00 Yo Momma piece of shit!Fuck you david rogers 1 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers Better than the first. Even more people killed. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Jun-1978 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Jeannot Szwarc

Written by
  Carl Gottlieb
  Howard Sackler

Cast
  Roy Scheider
  Lorraine Gary
  Murray Hamilton



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast