More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.24

Awesome53.97%
Worth A Look: 23.81%
Average: 17.46%
Pretty Bad: 1.59%
Total Crap: 3.17%

2 reviews, 51 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Aladdin
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Robin Williams makes any movie cool... except Popeye."
3 stars

Disney! My *favorite* (note extreme sarcasm).

But this is an exception. have this on tape, which is the best way to watch this movie, because you really want to fast forward through the first 50 minutes (after the opening scene) because that's when the genie comes in.

After that the movie really becomes worthwhile. Robin williams is wonderful, of course, but more than that, his character gives the other characters interesting things to do. A little magic goes a long way in this movie.

The animation is not to my particular liking; I think the simplified colors don't do what the animators intended and it comes off looking more childish than child-oriented. The songs are really frickin annoying, but they are not so overpowering that you can't enjoy the movie for its wonderful humor and fun.

All in all I give it 3 sporks. This is one of the few Disney movies (The Little Mermaid is really the only other one) that is any fun for grown-ups.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=230&reviewer=6
originally posted: 08/27/98 02:35:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/02/13 Neil easily one of the most entertaining disney films! Still love watching it to this day 5 stars
1/21/10 PAUL SHORTT HIGHLY ENTERTAINING, WITH GOOD SONGS AND GREAT CHARACTERS 5 stars
3/19/09 Bethany Cox Robin Williams stole the show in a beautifully-constructed film. 5 stars
1/19/08 Pamela White Williams makes a great genie a little dark for the wee ones 5 stars
4/25/07 Charles Tatum Cute and funny, one of the last times I laughed at Williams 4 stars
3/07/07 johnnyfog Even better than Lion King, so I guess it's the best 5 stars
8/18/06 Joe Robin Williams's spirited performance helps raise Aladdin to the top tier of Disney films. 5 stars
6/08/06 Jennifer Aladdin is an AMAZING movie..but i'm scared of Jafar..I rate it 9 out of 10! 5 stars
4/22/06 Jack A classic movie. Genie is hilarious 5 stars
9/02/05 Tom Burns A true disney classic. Loved it. Very funny! Robin Williams is great! 5 stars
8/25/05 Eden Like a how-to lesson in making an animated film. Disney's best 5 stars
8/01/05 Belinda really gud and is very funny 5 stars
4/23/05 Quigley a drop-dead darned good movie! Robin Williams rocks as Genie! though dark, it's great! 5 stars
5/11/04 J.Peckerfoot love it! always have. always will. 5 stars
5/11/04 Sean Scanlan So funny 5 stars
3/31/04 Ray Disney has a fantastic repertory of classics 5 stars
9/04/03 Gray 1 of best modern disney movies 5 stars
8/12/03 Double G luv original disney movies, NOT SEQUALS!!! (well most of them) 5 stars
8/07/03 Curious George fav from childhood 5 stars
7/21/03 Udoka My favorite 5 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper Great Disney flick. 5 stars
12/31/02 John Aster Habig one of literally a few great postDisney Disney films 5 stars
10/17/02 Ali Probably one of the last great Disney movies of all time. 5 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Robin Williams is very hilarious & outrageous. 5 stars
7/29/01 Henry Ginsberg It was ok .A bit to sopy . 4 stars
6/12/01 cinkcool I cant choose my fav. Disney Film: Aladdin or Lion King. 5 stars
5/19/01 daniel ????????? 1 stars
4/09/01 Gary Great Disney movie. It sold the most merchandise, and it deserves top status for Disney! 5 stars
3/22/01 Goran Dolencic Great songs, brilliant animation, outstanding characters 5 stars
2/25/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Scheherazade herself would approve... 5 stars
2/25/01 skye pure americana. bravo mr disney bravo mr williams 5 stars
1/15/01 Stewart Ball The last of the great Disney movies, in my opinion. The Genie steals the show. 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin an ok film 3 stars
11/04/00 viking Nowhere near as good as The Lion King, but still great fun 4 stars
11/01/00 Jon Denissen Hilarious acting Awesome songs what more could you ask for 5 stars
3/19/00 David Rogers I didn't want to see it then, but I had to see it at my older sisters birthday. It was OK. 3 stars
2/07/00 Richard Wright Funny and entertaining from start to finish. Not one of the all time classics though. 4 stars
12/10/99 Paul An exceptional Disney movie. One of there best 5 stars
10/01/99 Hugh G. Rection needs more T & A !!!! 4 stars
2/19/99 nun uf yur businness good movie. Robin Williams is awesome. 4 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob The modern Disney highwater mark. (Not counting Toy Story, which is a different animal) 5 stars
10/24/98 grunter beginning of Disney's long slow toon decline; formulaic and self-referential, AVOID 1 stars
10/14/98 Chi-Fan Hu I loved this movie. One of my favorite disney movies. 5 stars
8/31/98 MikeF it was ok. oz summed it up. 3 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball For a movie that sucked, a lot of people saw it. 2 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Robin Williams saves the show. Again. 3 stars
8/21/98 rotten f. milk I liked the film. Slow beginning, but waiting for Williams was worth it. 4 stars
8/19/98 f*r*o*s*t*y Genie? Magic lamp? Cute monkey? Woo! 5 stars
8/17/98 Ryan_A My favorite of the modern Disney animated projects. 4 stars
8/17/98 J-Guy (The MFC) animation is top quality in this 'toon. 4 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} It's a cartoon. It's Disney. You know the gig. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Nov-1992 (G)
  DVD: 05-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1993 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast