More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.43

Awesome61.7%
Worth A Look: 25.53%
Average: 8.51%
Pretty Bad: 2.13%
Total Crap: 2.13%

1 review, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

Judge, The by Peter Sobczynski

Over Your Dead Body by Jay Seaver

Breakup Buddies by Jay Seaver

Dracula Untold by Daniel Kelly

subscribe to this feed


League of Their Own, A
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"Small towns, big lives"
4 stars

Women's baseball during the war gave a new definition to Farm League. People born during the vietnam era will never understand people living during world war 2. Cornfields and innocence were the rule rather than the exception. Relatively few people lived in cities and women were the second sex. Except during the war.

Big sister/little sister rivalry and a hearty dose of nostalgia drive this film about women's baseball during the war years of the 40's.

Directed by Penny Marshall, this pro-woman film shows a bit of women's history during the war outside of Rosie the Riveter. Entertainment was just as important then as now and baseball, America's supposed national pasttime, was picked up by the women as well as being the workhorse for the war machine. Ironic, to me, that women built the guns that got the the men killed. If they had also been generals, maybe today we'd be living in Sapphoica. Men would be kept around as breeding stock for a nation of genetically engineerd amazon women.

But this isn't a lesbian film. Nope. lots of healthy, corn fed red blooded heterosexuality. Except for Rosie O'Donnel who just screams DYKE in this movie. She's the girl who tried out for all the teams, played with the boys in the summer and beat up (and then off) your brother.

But they did cast Lori Petty. Who played a "tomboy". pretty sneaky.

and gracious! madonna can act. She's the chick with a fire in her loins and oil in her hip joints. She scandalizes the team on the road by flirting with and getting the hottest man in the honkey-tonk.


Tom Hanks and that "liar" guy from saturday night live ("with my wife... morgan fairchild, yah, thats it) are in this well crafted film that features Amazon queen Geena Davis as the hard hitting big sister.

a teary, joyful, nostalgic sister movie in the literal and metaphorical sense of the word. Penny Marshall creates a dignified portrayal of women in America through the story of women's baseball during World War Two.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2310&reviewer=67
originally posted: 11/23/99 09:12:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/08/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING COMEDY WITH A GOOD STAR PERFORMANCE 3 stars
10/17/07 robert verry good 5 stars
5/09/07 Keirston Sanchez omg that film was the greatest i mean he was like you look like a penis with a hate on rofl 5 stars
3/20/07 David Cohen Yes folks, there is a movie with Madonna in it that doesn't suck 4 stars
4/23/06 Iris Rodriguez A league of their own isvery good and captuerd the things that reaily happened 5 stars
1/03/06 cody a very good flick about women's baseball, with great perf by tom hanks and geena davis 4 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor Such a great movie. Underrated by most people. One of the best sports movies out there. 5 stars
10/04/05 Jeri Ann I think this movie is great! Its one of my all-time favorites! Both funny and emotional! A+ 5 stars
9/25/05 D Buckley "Getonna bus!" 5 stars
8/04/04 Katie this movie is great! It shows that girls can play, too! Go girl power!!! 5 stars
6/15/04 T. Maj Lots of fun; Tom Hanks at his most charming 5 stars
6/13/04 John never boring - good story and great sense of humor 5 stars
5/09/03 mr. Pink Sentimental and syrupy, but very entertaining. 4 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby It admittedly does its job. 3 stars
12/12/02 cassandra h. i wish i was dottie hinson....she was tight as hell 5 stars
10/18/02 Charles Tatum Attention Cable TV stations: stop playing this damn thing every day 1 stars
10/15/02 jessie ingle this is the best movie i have ever seen!!! i love it!!! its kick ass!!! 5 stars
8/05/02 KMG OKAY 3 stars
7/27/02 I Can't Swim Penny deserves 12 Oscars for getting a halfway decent perf from Madonna 5 stars
7/04/02 R.W. Welch Generally entertaining nostalgia trip; some sharply written dialogue. 4 stars
5/20/02 Jaimie It was a true classic 5 stars
5/18/02 Stephanie Throckmorton I might be moody but I'm not a tyrannical sadist. No one should have to watch this! 2 stars
5/15/02 Christina Moody I thought this was a really good movie....everyone should have to watch this 5 stars
4/13/02 Meredith The best movie of all time!!! 5 stars
1/17/02 Nunya It makes women feel proud. 5 stars
11/30/01 Shams Huque A fine film. Very entertaining. 5 stars
8/29/01 aesoftball22 my favorite movie..finally a sports movie with girls playing and they don't end victorious 5 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Tom Hanks, Jon Lovitz, and Geena Davis are great performers. 5 stars
4/05/01 Hawkeye One of my favorite movies ever, and one of the few sports flicks I can stomach. 5 stars
3/21/01 Frances I love this film it is one of my favorite 5 stars
3/05/01 Angus Is Fat Heavyweights Ruled!!!POOPY!!!!i saw angus crap. 5 stars
2/19/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) A sports movie without cliches?? I've died and gone to heaven. 5 stars
2/14/01 Elvisfan Tom Hanks ruins everything he was ever in after "Splash" 3 stars
12/27/00 Turtle There's only one thing to say: A great movie! 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla great film, eventhough i had my doubts on madonna, but what the hell! Still a great movie!! 5 stars
11/27/00 hk best movie of the year { or any year } 5 stars
11/18/00 brittanybabe A League Of Their Own is so much fun. It is one of those movies I rent again and again! 5 stars
11/15/00 Ashley Santibanez IT WAS AN AWESOME FILM I ENJOYED IT 4 stars
4/18/00 tyler it's a good-feelin' movie 4 stars
3/07/00 ILoveCowsMore "A must see film that will captivate you - if you experienced sibling rivalry" 5 stars
12/18/99 Kim Really funny & moving. Madonna 6 Hanks are stand-outs!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1992 (PG)
  DVD: 20-Apr-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast