More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.04

Awesome: 23.08%
Worth A Look25.64%
Average: 5.13%
Pretty Bad: 24.36%
Total Crap: 21.79%

3 reviews, 60 user ratings



Maximum Overdrive
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Paulapalooza

"Minimum effort from everyone involved"
1 stars

There are those who might argue that Stepen King's highly publicized run-in with an out-of-control van is an appropriate stanza of poetic justice for directing this particularly fetid chunk of bowl biscuit about machinery gone amok.

I'm not one of them, because, man, the guy has written some stories I wholly enjoy. However, nothing short of burning the master print of this thing and issuing an apology to each and every person who paid any sort of hard-earned wage to see it could redeem the master of terror for unleashing this limp exercise in how NOT to make a movie. Hell, King should grovel before the people who snuck in to see it.

Does anyone remember the ad campaign for "Maximum Underwrite"? It consisted of King glowering at the camera, sneering and muttering vapidities about how he's WRITTEN a bunch of stuff, but never directed something for the screen, intercut with rapid-fire snippets from the damn movie. Then at the end, King sneers, 'I'm gonna scare the hell out of you." The dull, leaden ad is both more menacing and more personality-laden than the movie which it shills.

Cutting to the criticism of the film itself, this ass-treacle is based on a short story of King's own writing titled "Trucks," appearing in a collection of short stories called "Night Shift." It was also later re-made as a TV movie also titled "Trucks" Re-made for TV and reportedly an improvement? Yikes.

Emilio Estevez and Pat Hingle are but a couple of the actors who needed to make a house payment and find themselves cornered in a restaurant/truck stop type area surrounded by angry, intelligent big rigs, one of which has a big plastic Green Goblin face stuck on the cab and is therefore the "leader." The cast is unceremoniously bumped off in a variety of uninteresting, derivative ways, usually screaming something like "You can't do this! We MADE you!" while AC/DC music plays. Yep, those dissonant strains and wailings aren't audience members, they're the compositions of the aging Aussie metal kings whose act was growing ancient even back in the halcyon days of 1986.

There is nothing to redeem this. No knowing winks at the audience. No good "bad" performance. No thought-worthy soliloquy from the doomed. The actors run around spewing dialogue you can barely understand. Perhaps worst of all, trucks circling endlessly and endlessly just…aren't scary.

To be fair, King has admitted both that he was trying to make a cheap, funny horror film, and that the studio unleashed him on the set without any real knowledge of how to make a movie. I can't say if either of these statements are true, but if I were Stephen I'd be looking for any damage control I could muster.

Yes, this is the rarest of creatures. A crap movie that wouldn't even be passable while watching under heavy medication and a bong the size of an eighteen wheeler's exhaust pipe. It sucks and sucks and when there's no blood left, it goes for stomach acid and seepage

We conquered polio years ago, and the only remaining samples exist in laboratories while the scientific community debates whether it would be wise to exterminate the last remnants of this dangerous life-form. If the argument were about "Maximum Overdrive," there would be no debate----grease the fucker.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2337&reviewer=21
originally posted: 11/01/99 10:59:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/13/17 morris campbell maximum crap king should be ashamed 1 stars
5/02/14 Gary Chalmers Wow those bazooka missiles sure move fast!! ?!! 1 stars
11/14/13 Dane Youssef Only good to laugh at. King only comedy well when he's not trying. A massive clunker-wreck. 1 stars
4/05/13 PAUL SHORTT EGREGIOUS HORROR DESPITE SOME WELL STAGED SEQUENCES 1 stars
11/01/10 tom Its like marite you either love it or hate it... and i loved it!!! It was so funny! 5 stars
6/29/10 action movie fan silly movie with little to offer 2 stars
2/20/10 murray Id rather watch paint dry 1 stars
12/25/09 Mark Wilson So bad you just have to laugh! 4 stars
7/08/09 HolyJ@lapeno Has been one of my favorites for such a long time. LOVE IT CHERISH IT!!!!!! 5 stars
7/20/08 Shaun Wallner Best Stephen King movie ever! 5 stars
7/17/07 David Cohen So bad its, wait, never mind, its just bad 1 stars
3/05/07 Eric Hell How do you let a push mower run you over? The drink machine part was funny also.WE MADE YOU 4 stars
12/03/06 David Pollastrini great action with a few comedy bits 3 stars
10/23/06 joel something about the atmosphere of the deserted stops makes this good 4 stars
3/03/06 alexS Kicks ASS!! <3 It. best movie ever. I liked the weird srieking noise too. CHA CHA CHA... 5 stars
1/26/06 JM Synth It's not meant to be taken seriously. That doesn't make it any good though 2 stars
8/13/05 ES ok so cars come to life- fine, but how does the machine gun on the mobile platform fire? 2 stars
2/23/05 Brandon Graf This movie isnt meant to be serious/stephen king is no dummy/rethink his books after this 5 stars
2/23/05 Jeff Anderson Not scary, just shrill & annoying. The AC/DC music & the opening scene are great, HOWEVER!! 2 stars
12/30/04 kakkoii_amerikajin "The horror...the horror." 4 stars
11/14/04 Ryan Ku I, think Maximum Overdrive is rocking! 5 stars
9/08/04 JeffK I watched the entire movie, just to see how bad it could get. Very BAD. 1 stars
5/08/04 Jake This is either on King's Worst movie or his FUNNIEST!!! 4 stars
5/04/04 Nevz Hilarious! 4 stars
4/12/04 Jessica it was a great movie i liked the trucks 5 stars
3/17/04 Ryan This movie displays the worse writting I've ever seen by Stephen King 2 stars
1/26/04 Eric Loved the soundtrack ,descent story,good cast 3 stars
1/24/04 Dario best movie ever made 5 stars
1/03/04 J King should made the truck more aggresive and chasing people. ** 1/2 4 stars
11/05/03 American Slasher Goddess King should never be allowed to direct again. 1 stars
10/30/03 Moparman Loved this movie. The soundtrack makes it. Sure it's a hokey movie, but it's fun to watch 4 stars
9/26/03 steven north i love maximum overdrive i wished i had a visa to buy it but i don,t makes me mad 5 stars
6/23/03 Colin May not be the best movie ever made but the music is great 5 stars
6/18/03 Geo78665 Funny, wild. Just plain a guilty pleasure. 4 stars
12/15/02 Kyle Underrated guilty pleasure. 4 stars
10/20/02 Charles Tatum King proves he can make the worst film based on his own stuff 1 stars
9/22/02 the Grinch Fuck You McKay, M.O. rocks like AC/DC! Ok, I'm joking, but this movie is a guity pleasure 4 stars
6/24/02 Stacey Love it! 5 stars
3/20/02 Aborted Gently As a kid.. I watched this movie any chance I got. Even now I put it in to have a good laugh 4 stars
12/21/01 Travis Legler best fucking movie of our time! Stephen king is a Ginus! 5 stars
7/07/01 King Jackass Not as bad as people say it is... 4 stars
7/05/01 Dean Gimme a fuckin' break. This movie is so bad it's hilarious. Good music, though. 1 stars
6/30/01 DEF Good break from reality 4 stars
5/28/01 Ro It was the funniest movie i've ever seen 5 stars
4/18/01 Frank Awesome Movie & Idea - still my fav. movie! 5 stars
4/15/01 peter krug not the thinking man's movie, but still a blast on a mindless level 4 stars
4/12/01 Andrew Carden Surprisingly scary movie, Estevez is a nerd, but can act. 4 stars
3/24/01 Monster W. Kung Oh... why, why did such a great band like AC/DC agree to use their music for this flop? 2 stars
2/21/01 Jake Christine is much better. 2 stars
2/16/01 BigCock Moronic film about trucks. AC/DC music is cool though. 3 stars
12/17/00 tommy MAXIMUM OVERDRIVE IS SO GOOD THAT I GOT TEARS IN MY EYES WHEN I WENT TO BUY IT & IT WAS ALL 5 stars
11/23/00 Travis Legler this is the best fuckin film ever! With AC/DC for music, and emilo, you cant go wrong 5 stars
10/12/00 Phil Corny=YES , Awful=NO 4 stars
8/04/00 Bender This machine just called me an asshole. Very amusing, campy "Horror" flick. 4 stars
5/05/00 tony yeah but you get to listen to AC/DC for a hour and a half!!! 5 stars
3/04/00 Steve Layne A lot o fun. and there are some very funny scenes in it. Don't take it seriously. 4 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski Oh, piss. I'm a lousy movie critic. 3 stars
1/24/00 Mike Hermesh take it at face value,great camp 5 stars
11/02/99 Meepos The goblin truck was funny lookin'. But not scary. 1 stars
10/27/99 lucas jackson it is not that good,but it is an interesting consept 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Nov-1986 (R)
  DVD: 07-Sep-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Stephen King

Written by
  Stephen King

Cast
  Emilio Estevez
  Pat Hingle
  Yeardley Smith
  Laura Harrington
  John Short
  J.C. Quinn



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast