More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.24

Awesome32.35%
Worth A Look: 20.59%
Average: 11.76%
Pretty Bad: 8.82%
Total Crap: 26.47%

2 reviews, 56 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Mortal Kombat
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Charles Tatum

"I never played the game...and this movie doesn't sweeten the pot"
1 stars

Movies drawn from video games have a checkered history. While the bad examples are many (remember "Super Mario Bros."?), game fans are a testy bunch. Luckily, I never played the game Mortal Kombat, and have no clue about its back story or motivations. I can tell you that the 1995 film sucked.

Angry martial arts expert Liu Kang (the suave Robin Shou), angry spoiled Hollywood star Johnny Cage (the unmemorable Linden Ashby), and angry cop Sonya Blade (the pouty Bridgette Wilson) all travel to a mysterious island that looks a lot like Thailand to fight in a tournament being held by Shang Tsung (Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa). It seems this is not your ordinary tournament with "best spirit" trophies and smelly locker rooms, but a tournament that can decide the fate of mankind. Our world is just one of many dimensions, and if us humans lose this Mortal Kombat tournament (placing second or third is not an option), then we open up some portals to some bad things from other dimensions. Our only hope are our three boring heroes, who must compete in seemingly impossible fights against Shang Tsung, who collects the souls of the thousands of warriors he has killed, and creatures like the four armed Goro. Luckily, the heroes have the inspirational words of Lord Rayden (a wigged Christopher Lambert), the god of lightning, to guide them, as well as Princess Kitana (an embarrassed looking Talisa Soto).

Again, I never played the game, so for those who have, and have seen the film- is the game this incredibly lame? Are all the fights seemingly lifted from 1980's straight to video Cannon Group fodder? Do the cardboard sets and Tiki torches make the player wonder when the luau is going to start? Does the game have character names that sound like heart medications?- "I was taking 30mg of Kitana, but then my doctor said Goro was found to be more effective."

Paul W.S. Anderson overreaches in the special effects department, coming up with some insanely bad computer animated sequences. I only understood every third word Lambert mumbled, and aside from Shou and Tagawa, the cast is awful. Shou has charisma, and Tagawa is usually more reliable, but trapped in this mess, neither can get anything going.

This film was followed by another sequel, and is set for still another remake next year (according to imdb.com). This "Mortal Kombat," however, is komplete krap.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2345&reviewer=325
originally posted: 04/01/09 23:53:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/19/13 the truth Yes. paragraph 2 IS how the game itself feels. Loved it when i was 10. 3 stars
11/13/10 PAUL SHORTT MINDLESS, VIOLENT, WEAK AND THIN 1 stars
9/22/10 bored mom A bad copy of Enter the Dragon. Still beats the Street Fighter shitfuck, though. 2 stars
5/30/10 Jeff Wilder Better than most video game based movies (faint praise I know). 4 stars
4/02/09 Erix It is what it is... For what it is, it could have been a lot worse. 3 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner This movie has some great scenes in it. 5 stars
12/14/07 Jason Visually good but far too cliched. More a rental. 3 stars
7/09/07 Alex A good movie which has a great cast. 5 stars
7/01/07 Sugarfoot This is the best movie to be made about a video games. Which says very little indeed. 3 stars
6/22/07 David Cohen The best movie ever based on a video game, and it still sucks 2 stars
10/23/06 WTF nobody should bash this film. This is the only true-to-game movie ever. "Finish Him!" 5 stars
4/07/06 Aldo not bad...not to be taken seriously.. 4 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Plot from "Enter the Dragon:" Outdated effects. But fighting and costumes rule!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/22/06 Ronin I remember I was very surprised that it turned out to be pretty OK. Surprisingly good. 4 stars
1/14/06 JM Synth Best VG movie, well structured, lots of fun but they shoud have cast martial artists 5 stars
12/22/05 cody a good action flick that really pushes the envelope, great characters and fights scenes 4 stars
7/22/05 Jordan I love this movie sub zero should have never took his mask off and scorpions spear was bad 5 stars
7/18/05 Brandy Harrington Terrible film! 1 stars
6/10/05 Indrid Cold Terrible, although for a video game based movie, I suppose it's OK> 2 stars
9/04/04 jeff the blond chick is hot, music is good. movie is for kids though. 4 stars
8/05/04 Chris It's pretty good 4 stars
6/04/04 Daveman One does need a sense of humor to watch this. Othwerise, steer clear at all costs! 1 stars
4/24/04 dj menace it kick ass 5 stars
4/13/04 ANNAMARIA IT WAS A GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
2/23/04 Kyle The game had no plot, you expect a MOVIE to?! Awful, awful stuff. 1 stars
1/16/04 Samuel probably one of the best video game adaptations ever! 4 stars
12/09/03 john no story - TV style action - for kids that are not very demanding 2 stars
10/06/03 sanjay action ok. but it is a shit of a movie . actresses are beautiful and sexy . its more of a v 2 stars
7/25/03 3man Decent movie for a video game 4 stars
7/17/03 I Would In the tradition of Showgirls, the film is so bad, it's good. 2 stars
5/09/03 Godzillafan54 this movie kicked so much ass its not even funny 5 stars
4/09/03 JL This movie is not supposed to be taken too seriously, it's based on a video game after all. 4 stars
4/08/03 silvercheetah14 Great adaption of a video game 5 stars
2/28/03 May EricDSnider doesn't know what he is reviewing. Good movie overall! 5 stars
2/20/03 Dave A silly, carelessly directed,bad acted and poorly choreographed rip off of Enter The Dragon 1 stars
2/15/03 Mk Best MK movie hands down. Hope the third one doesn't blow 5 stars
10/28/02 Eddie Wilson FIght scenes and plot was fairly good. I'd give it 5 stars but some of the acting was sub- 4 stars
9/19/02 Terry Best video game movie come to life! 5 stars
9/02/02 Ken You people are fucking idiots. You were all probably 12 when you saw it. 1 stars
8/14/02 Tim Awesome movie that is way better than attack of the clones 5 stars
7/29/02 The Talking Elbow Great fun, nothing to think too hard about, finally christopher lambert in a role i liked 5 stars
7/12/02 .Choadushouse. How dare anyone insult this film! Amazing visuals and good characters. AWESOME fights. 5 stars
4/24/02 Julian Awesome. 5 stars
2/07/02 Zargo wicked movie, it's based on a bloody video game, why would the story line be complex!? 5 stars
11/30/01 The $1.98 Pyramid This really sticks to the game's story, altough the whole plot seems too simple. 3 stars
11/17/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the costums in this film are cheap junk, the effects are crappy & the fighting is the best! 4 stars
10/31/01 Sumixam If you like the games you will like this movie 5 stars
6/09/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker The heavy onslaught of action, special effects, and fighting sequences make this movie fun 4 stars
4/23/01 TigerDream This movie captured the story of Mortal Kombat- I thought it had great acting and effects 5 stars
1/21/01 Diego Romero This is an excellent film,the best game translation yet 5 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin Very good martial arts 4 stars
10/22/00 Jed I didn't really "hate" the game but this movie was better. 3 stars
4/28/00 Jed For what it is its actually not that bad.(Considering that I hated the game) 3 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers Totaly excelent. Not as good as Street Fighter, but great. 5 stars
2/07/00 Kyle Broflovski Good enough. True to the video game--but then agian, how hard can that be? 4 stars
10/25/99 focus not as bad as Street Fighter (which totally SUCKED!) 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Jul-1995 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast