More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.67

Awesome: 12.12%
Worth A Look: 21.21%
Average: 15.15%
Pretty Bad: 24.24%
Total Crap27.27%

1 review, 27 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Transcendence by Peter Sobczynski

Other Woman, The (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Starry Eyes by Jay Seaver

American Jesus by Jay Seaver

Coastlines by Jack Sommersby

Joe by Jay Seaver

Raid 2, The by Brett Gallman

Crimes Against Humanity by Jay Seaver

Murder at 1600 by Charles Tatum

Mr. Bean's Holiday by Charles Tatum

subscribe to this feed


Problem Child
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Teen Movie Critic

"'Problem Child' is not the best comedy ever, but it is entertaining dumb fun."
2 stars

Junior is a 'problem child'.

He drives the nuns at the orphanage crazy. He is a pen pal with a jailed convict. And two unsuspecting idiots adopt him. That would be John (John Ritter) and Florence. John really wants to be a dad. Florence really wants to be invited to kids' birthday parties and become popular with all the other parents in their neighborhood. At first she is against adoption - as she puts it, 'I don't wear second hand clothes, and I don't want a second-hand kid' - but John talks her into it. And so they adopt Junior, the child from hell. John takes Junior camping with some friends. Junior baits a live bear to the campfire, just when John's friend is dressing up in a bear suit to scare everyone. Guess what happens. Junior is invited to a little girl's birthday party, which he promptly wrecks. And then, just when you think nothing else can go wrong - his convict friend shows up! Junior's new parents are almost as amusing as he is. John is almost pathetically nice - and a bit naive, at least at first. Florence is so self centered that she really deserves what the little brat dishes out. And John's crooked politician father is a big joke himself.

'Problem Child' is not the best comedy ever, but it is entertaining dumb fun.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2379&reviewer=48
originally posted: 12/18/99 16:32:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/07/10 PAUL SHORTT PREDICTABLE AND BADLY ACTED 1 stars
7/30/09 John Ritters Balls I've seen worse. 4 stars
7/08/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* I always watched this around thanksgiving. It is a descent movie. Some good laughs in there 3 stars
1/10/09 Eddie Gackson Ithink the look a fist is the funniest thing ive seen in a long time 4 stars
6/14/07 Vincent Ebriega The worst thing about it is that it's advertised as acomedy, but it isn't funny. 1/5. 1 stars
9/02/05 ES I physically hated both of these movies, Junior is the most annoying creature on earth 1 stars
7/22/05 tony Kinda funny. It taught me to be a hell raiser 3 stars
2/15/05 Jeff Anderson A good premise goes downhill in this mean-spirited, hateful JUNK! RITTER DESERVED BETTER!!! 1 stars
12/26/04 Louie Bathroom humor at its finest. 4 stars
2/17/04 Daveman Vapid, soulless, unbearable shite. 1 stars
11/22/03 ross hendrick should never have been made 2 stars
9/27/03 Chlo Rest in peace John 4 stars
9/17/03 SuperBarbie2003 Hilarious! Great family fun!! Definately worth a look. R.I.P. John... 5 stars
9/15/03 Sylvie Alice Borden We love you, John. R.I.P. 4 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby The film is as unbearable as the title character. 1 stars
9/01/02 George Graham Has its moments; DEFINITELY better than the sequel, ugh! 3 stars
5/18/02 ╠═Dark═Barøn═╣ Michael Richards before Seinfeld. "Look, a fist!" 1 stars
4/16/02 David Griener One of the better comedies of the 90s! 5 stars
10/31/01 Casey I love John Ritter, i can't say anything bad about this movie! 5 stars
9/18/01 Butterbean Poor Ritter. He deserves better than this 2 stars
5/26/01 Connoisseur the only thing that rocks in this world is me & my dick 1 stars
4/01/01 Andrew Carden I thought that John Ritter was fairly amusing. 3 stars
10/11/00 P. Rodriguez Listen some people don't accept this film for whats it's worth memorable toilet humor 4 stars
4/19/00 Justin Elledge it is the best movie ever!! 5 stars
3/11/00 brentley This movie was one of the worst movies I have ever seen. 1 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers It lacked a lot. Not very funny. 3 stars
11/08/99 focus it was funny 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1990 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast