More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.63

Awesome72.22%
Worth A Look: 22.22%
Average: 3.7%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 1.85%

2 reviews, 42 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Mad Max 2: The Road Warrior
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by DarkHorse

"A flawed, but damned good, sequel..."
4 stars

There is something a bit too formula lurking beneath this films surface. The whole skewed Electra-Glide in Blue thing is missing and we are left with a very cool, very influental movie that is somehow dated.

When I say dated, I don't mean in the sense that "Logan's Run" is dated. This movie is dated from a formulaic aspect. A "Been There/Done That" kind of thing. Mad Max was a keen flick about a futuristic cop in a post-war wasteland. The internal struggles of Max were laid bare and, despite an arguably abrubt ending, the flow of the movie was deliberate... but appropriate.

"The Road Warrior", on the other hand, smells like Hollywood. It has predictable characters. They show up at predictably appropriate times...

and...

Well it works. At least well enough for most folks to say "damn!" at least 10 times during the course of the movie. Especially, if they are watching it for the FIRST time. Yeah yeah... It has oooohs and ahhhhs a plenty.

There is a wicked cool villian in a "spank-me mask" (see Bondage) and this guy with a wild mohawk who deftly leaps from one moving vehicle to the other. There is an obligatory panic scene in which this wild kid scrurries to get shotgun shells from the hood of a roaring diesal. People get shot in the ass by crossbows...

Anwyay...

It suceeds as being one hell of an action flick and having some of the coolest cyber-punk violence to date. It also boasts some very cool villians. Max has become the drifter Eastwood has frequently played in movies like "Pale Rider" and "The Good The Bad and The Ugly", but something is missing.

Did I mention the diesal was going like 90mph?

It is all to... ahem... excuse me... scripted.

The lines are obvious. The action is too on cue and the outcome is way too predictable. I used to love this movie. Now, I get irritated when I see the little wild-boy winding the guts of a music-box.

Maybe it is personal issue. Perhaps I have sand lodged in my vagina...

...but I think this one is way overrated.

I would give this movie five stars for those who haven't seen it. It is a solid flick and an absolute must for fans of Gibson and/or the genre. Thus, I give this film the "dh Backhanded Bitchslap (4 Stars)"... I like it. I recognize it's importance. I own it on DVD. I just don't like it that much anymore. There, I've said it. Does that make me gay?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2404&reviewer=167
originally posted: 06/19/02 15:59:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Brisbane Film Festival. For more in the 2005 Brisbane Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

5/28/17 Danny Has a raw, dirty quality to it that Hollywood action films lack. Great stuff. 5 stars
10/15/15 Billy34 Still the best Mad Max movie and one of the best action movies ever 5 stars
5/14/15 PAUL SHORTT SPECTACULAR, SUPERIOR SEQUEL WITH BRILLIANT STUNTS 4 stars
5/04/12 Liz Greate chase sequences, Mel at his hansomness, love it 5 stars
7/09/09 haza baza the best movie of all time! 5 stars
3/28/08 backstreets a masterpiece opf epic proportion. Pray that max is still out there, somewhere!! 5 stars
3/16/08 Pamela White Mel is fantastic 5 stars
8/19/07 Scuzio One of the best 5 films ever made. 5 stars
3/25/07 David Cohen Not as thought provoking as the original, but that's not bad 4 stars
3/23/07 David Pollastrini NEVER THOUGHT MUCH OF IT 3 stars
12/19/06 Indrid Cold A few short car chases and then a really long one = masterpiece? Not in my book. 3 stars
8/27/05 ES My fav from the series 4 stars
7/27/05 John An all time favorite movie! 5 stars
7/05/05 Eddie A frigin' boomarang in the head COOL 5 stars
6/08/04 PAYNE Great 5 stars
1/26/04 I Would The first Mad Max was merely a prelude to this masterpiece. Absolutely unforgettable. 5 stars
12/06/03 john sequel to Mad Max (its real titel is actually Mad Max 2) one of the best action films ever 5 stars
7/17/03 MadMatt Perhaps the best movie ever made! The best in the trilogy (MM3 was an embarrassment). 5 stars
5/18/03 alien assassin the best action movie to come from Down Under !!!! 5 stars
3/12/03 Butterball Cenobite thoroughly entertaining; one of the best action films ever made 5 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby A simplistic but kinetic action extravaganza. Gibson is majestically photogenic. 4 stars
2/14/03 Paul Coleman First class action and entertainment from beginning to end. Highly recommended!! 5 stars
1/13/03 Jason LOVE THIS MOVIE 5 stars
1/07/03 Cypher Vayne When you think of how the world would look when the shit hits the fan... this may be it. 5 stars
6/22/02 Kever Kiss my ass this movie is the FFFFFFFucking king of movies!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/20/02 Charles Tatum C'mon, George and Mel, make more! 5 stars
6/20/02 the Grinch Thunderdome is the pinnacle, but this one's so kinetic..only series where sequels improve.. 5 stars
4/01/02 Joe Schulz Wait the boob was in this one 5 stars
3/19/02 Aborted Gently The post-Apocalyptic movie. A must own for fans of the genre. 5 stars
12/09/01 Mad Max Fuckin' beautiful 5 stars
11/25/01 Mathias Österman One of the really good post-apokalyptic film ever made, has all the works... 5 stars
9/06/01 spaceworm Liked this one a lot more when I was one of the few people who knew about it 5 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Better than the original "Mad Max" movie. Mel Gibson gives a better performance. 4 stars
7/28/01 MissMac Phenominal Movie 5 stars
7/23/01 me me 5 stars
6/04/01 Lady Katyana The best chase sequence I've ever seen on screen. 5 stars
4/30/01 junky Smells like cat puke 1 stars
4/27/01 Ed Roberts Quite possibly one of the greatest movies ever 5 stars
3/23/01 Eric Mel Gibson's 2nd best film (behind Braveheart), final chase is best ever in film history. 5 stars
2/15/01 viking A thousand times better than "The Patriot" !!!! 5 stars
12/27/00 fifu i liked the creative plot and a neat movie. 4 stars
12/01/99 Dr. Acula awsome view of the future, Action is Non-stop 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-May-1982 (R)

UK
  19-Jan-1982 (15)

Australia
  24-Dec-1981 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast