More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.91

Awesome43.4%
Worth A Look: 30.19%
Average: 11.32%
Pretty Bad: 3.77%
Total Crap: 11.32%

2 reviews, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Thelma & Louise
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Fulsome, but still good, especially for performances."
4 stars

Liberating women's film, taken from a women's book (Callie Khouri --who also scripted), but directed by a man (Ridley Scott). The results are not bad, but I could have thought of better candidates. The direction is not the focus on this movie, because what Scott choses as his mise-en-scène becomes nothing more than an exercise in distracting shadows, smoke and fog. "Thelma & Louise" isn't about style, although the wide-eyed exterior photography is gorgeous, it's about the characters.

Thelma (Geena Davis), an unappreciated housewife (married to the trailor-trashish Christopher McDonald) and Louise (Susan Sarandon), a waitress, hit the road for a vacation weekend. They murder an attempted rapist and all their plans crumble from there. On the lamb, cruising in a convertible T-Bird, eluding the law.

It's a pretty basic anti-hero (or heroine) story, a testosteroned chick-flick, and ultimately an anti-guy movie. (Though Harvey Keitel's sensible, instinctual cop is on "our" side.) The movie isn't about fairness --if anything it's unfair, because if this would have been a guy road movie, the law never would have caught them.

Sarandon and Davis are both good in their roles, and though they fluctuate back and forth between which one you like more, the performances are enjoyable. There is a character evolution between those two, while Keitel is plainly humane and McDonald is a stock stereotype.

The drawls are thickly applied (Davis just had to exclaim, "Geez, Louise!") and the final act brings on Scott's actionering/adventurous trademarks (blowing up a gasoline tanker, sticking a cop in his trunk, etc.) and that's when the drama stops being a drama and becomes overwrought and abysmal. Luckily, the bad taste is extinguishable.

There was a strong scene where Sarandon and her hubby reminese about their first meeting and her eye color. ("What did you say to me?"/ "That you had the most beautiful eyes."/ "And I closed my eyes and asked wat color they were. What did you say?"/ "That I didn't know."/ (She closes her eyes) "What color are they?"/ "Blue.") It was the realest thing "Thelma & Louise" had to offer.

With Brad Pitt.

Final Verdict: B.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2450&reviewer=172
originally posted: 10/16/00 07:05:05
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Brisbane Film Festival. For more in the 2005 Brisbane Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell good girl power flick 4 stars
5/31/16 Randy Knorr Film was good, I was drunk and like guys 3 stars
3/19/16 ed shandis I wish it were 2 men, I like men 3 stars
4/20/10 PAUL SHORTT OFF-BEAT FEMINIST ROAD FILM WITH SOME GOOD PERFORMANCES 3 stars
1/05/10 Jeff Wilder Quite good 90s female empowerment answer to Bonnie and Clyde 4 stars
3/07/08 Quigley Possibly Scott's best film. Sarandon and Davis are excellent. One of the best endings ever 5 stars
10/24/07 Ivana Mann Awesome movie!One of the saddest & most powerful endings ever. 5 stars
6/10/07 fools♫gold I had doubts on Ridley Scott films; this is a hell of a way to convert me otherwise! 5 stars
2/08/07 David Pollastrini all the women in this film are hot! 4 stars
12/22/05 cody a very good movie with great directing by ridley and great perf by susan and geena , gold 4 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor One of the top 5 films of 1991. Sarandon and Davis are partner gold. Classic ending. 5 stars
6/12/05 TheOthersFan OK, the scriptwriter works herself into a corner and opts for sending the car off a cliff?? 4 stars
2/17/05 kathleen4691 One of the best endings ever made 5 stars
3/05/04 Monster W. Kung Ridiculous, retarded trash. 1 stars
6/26/03 cochese Someone shoot Sarandon please 1 stars
5/09/03 mr. Pink Perfect! Sarandon and Davis give their best perfs here. One of Ridley's best. 5 stars
3/08/03 Andrew Carden Occasionally Hilarious Chick Flick. A Bit Overlong. 4 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Yes, yes, men are pigs, women are perfect, now fetch me a beer 3 stars
6/27/02 R.W. Welch Butch and Sundance in drag; has an air of artifice about it. 3 stars
4/24/02 Brianna Hoskins entertaining, cute 4 stars
3/15/02 Butterbean I wanted to like this movie, it seemed silly to me. 2 stars
3/04/02 Aileen Wuornos and Lorena Bobbit Our heros kick ass. Most relevant film since REEFER MADNESS! 1 stars
10/05/01 Miranda Pauley BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!WATCH IT!!! 5 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith "Gena...will you marry me?" 4 stars
9/02/01 svetlana fucking fucked up society 4 stars
8/21/01 Donald Cockram Not worth commenting about. 1 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Great support acting .Gets a bit baoring in the middle . 5 stars
7/09/01 Caligula FUCKING PATHETIC!!!!! 1 stars
6/14/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) This is, hands down, the best girl-power flick EVER; anyone who disagrees can kiss my ass! 5 stars
6/07/01 Dean Again, Scott makes the lead characters the voice of freedom, anybody else a corrupt idiot. 2 stars
5/28/01 Edward Shandis Are they available for a threesome? 4 stars
5/18/01 Kate parker i thought it was fantastic movie very powerful characters so strong in there actions. 5 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L as a movie here's how i would rate it... 1 stars
3/08/01 master.node If this wasn't a feminist anthem, how would you rate it? 3 stars
2/21/01 Jake Humor and Angst 5 stars
1/18/01 Jess Prouse Good film with many indepth elements to discuss. 5 stars
1/09/01 Elizabeth Clarke I think it was an adventurous and very interesting film. 5 stars
12/19/00 Marnie Johnson Best film I´ve seen 5 stars
10/22/00 Alayna Medine This is such a good movie for all women 5 stars
10/18/00 Odeta Raelly beautifull 5 stars
5/13/00 Rosa Hoffman very suspenseful 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1991 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast