More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.68

Awesome85.07%
Worth A Look: 6.25%
Average: 3.82%
Pretty Bad: 1.39%
Total Crap: 3.47%

8 reviews, 240 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Birdman by Peter Sobczynski

John Wick by Peter Sobczynski

Blue Room, The by Jay Seaver

Cat and the Canary, The (1927) by Jay Seaver

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Thing, The (1982)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"A deep, dark creepy experience. A modern classic of horror."
5 stars

Once in a while, the creators of a horor movie will just nail it. Everything in John Carpenter's The Thing works: the performances, the music, the monster(s), and especially the direction. This movie will be remembered fondly as one of the most underrated horror movies of the 80s. It's certainly one of the most enjoyably gross.

Let's check our handy checklist to see exactly what components are used to make The Thing one of the most grisly, intense and just plain effective horror movies of the past 25 years:

A-John Carpenter. Yeah, Halloween is his masterpiece. Then he did The Fog and Escape from New York. (Two more damn fine movies as well.) He hit his stride perfectly in The Thing. There is almost NO comic relief here. A sense of dread and uncertainty begins to envelop the viewer, since the monster can imitate humans perfectly. Where the creature hides is always unknown. It could easily be any of the characters. He shows an increasingly steady hand directing actors. That's the tricky part here, as we basically have 12 actors on a single set; a director's nightmare. Usually, John Carpenter does his own music. This time, he hired Ennio Morricone to do the score and the result could not fit the film better. (If you're a Carpenter expert, you may suspect that he had something to do with the music, because it sounds similar to his other scores. That's a compliment.)

B-Bill Lancaster's screenplay-Although most people think it's a remake of 1951's The Thing (from Another World), it isn't. It's actually a quite faithful adaptation of Joseph Campbell's short story "Who Goes There". (The original film claims the same, but the remake is easily more faithful to the source material.) He slowly sets up the relationships between these men, who are all employed in an arctic weather station. We begin to get a sense of the loneliness and desolation prevalent here. We get a good sense of their group dynamic and pecking order before we get into the good sci-fi stuff.

C-Rob Bottin's makeup and creature effects-In a word, staggering. The Thing could be released today and people would still be blown away by the gooey, slimy, shocking creature effects. Every detail of a severed head or open chest cavity is lovingly depicted. The explicitness of the gore is so matter-of-fact, and that strengthens the movie even more. Human heads twist off and grow spider-like legs, a dog's head splits open like a banana, and a lot more good slime and blood, and we haven't even seen the creature in all its glory yet. Simply put, the special effects on display here are nothing short of awesome.

D-The cast-Kurt Russell employs a soft-spoken reluctance here, as his MacReady is not really sure he is the one to be in charge. He eschews his normal bravado and the character seems all the more real. Other notable performances come from Wilford Brimley (before he became a cliché), Richard Dysart and Keith David. The ensemble of character actors (also including Richard Masur and T.K. Carter) is strong from top to bottom. Each actor brings a normal authenticity to his character, which helps the audience believe the story all the more.

E-Sincerity-It's obvious that all involved here were interested in making a shocking and claustrophobic horror movie. It may seem a little reminiscient of Alien (1979) in its themes of isolation, infection and fear of the unknown. These are primal fears, and when exposed effectively, the result can be a real jolt. Vague inferences that the creature itself acts as an AIDS metaphor seem obvious, yet they're not spelled out: As an attempt to discern who may be the creature in disguise, the men are tied down while they are forced to give blood tests. The scenes of the men awaiting the test results are simply intense, and the subtext is pretty clear. The script's ideas of trust and paranoia simply heighten the intensity of the climax.

The Thing was criminally underappreciated upon its release in 1982. Perhaps it had something to do with a more benevolent alien (E.T.) hitting the screens two weeks earlier. Or perhaps a dark and intense horror film with such graphic violence was a turn-off to large audiences. Regardless of its original critical and box-office mediocrity, The Thing has found a loyal and rabid fanbase thanks to video.

This one is a true classic. I've argued with people for hours on its merits. Underrated, underappreciated and unjustifiably dismissed. I challenge people to see it and not have a good scare. It may well be one of the best pure horror movies ever made.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2453&reviewer=128
originally posted: 12/13/99 08:31:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 ScreamFest L.A. Horror Festival. For more in the 2004 ScreamFest L.A. series, click here.
Horror Remakes: For more in the Horror Remakes series, click here.

User Comments

7/24/14 grqpnv USA 3 stars
6/19/14 Khlysty A nihilistic nightmare and a perfect film 5 stars
3/24/14 Justin R. Very amazing film! 5 stars
3/20/13 Daniel M. John Carpenter's best film 5 stars
3/05/13 Son of Celluloid The rarest of the rare...a good remake. 4 stars
11/05/12 Marty Fun sci-fi movie. Plenty of WTF gore moments. Suspenseful. 4 stars
9/29/12 roscoe Could've gotten to the great stuff faster, but still, great cast, effects, and suspense. 4 stars
1/18/12 Marc DC Too much gore, not enough suspense... 2 stars
10/13/11 The Betpet Just simply awesome! 5 stars
7/01/11 jmoore Amazing movie, you either love it or hate it. 5 stars
2/24/11 JonRandall A perfect film and the best of it's genre. Belongs on top 100 list 5 stars
2/20/11 Ark Kickass! the ending was especially powerful! 5 stars
5/22/10 dr.evil K.R. pouring his drink into his computer was needless silliness. Unlikeable characters all 3 stars
5/03/10 PAUL SHORTT POINTLESS REMAKE WITH REVOLTING SPECIAL EFFECTS 1 stars
1/06/10 art STICK TO THE 1951 verison INSTEAD! 1 stars
12/15/09 TravisN One of my 10 favorite films of all time (alien is too) 5 stars
11/02/09 art A DISGUSTING MOVIE! 1 stars
10/30/09 Omar John Carpenter's sci-fi/horror masterpiece. 5 stars
10/24/09 Sad52 He purposefully chose the "lightest" student in the classroom to carry out a task 4 stars
10/23/09 Merlin19 Hope for the future can trump the fear to risk reaching for it. , 5 stars
10/23/09 Stinky70 That's what I've gleaned from interviews thus far. , 5 stars
9/14/09 Erik Bauer Amazing movie...Carpenter's Masterpiece. 5 stars
8/19/09 Jon B Overrated splatter film that lacks the careful pacing or brilliance of greats like 'Alien' 3 stars
3/29/09 malcolm this classic holds up almost 30 years later 4 stars
11/10/08 Otis Classic about paranoia juiced up by great effects. 5 stars
10/07/08 blah blah simple don die cunt 5 stars
9/22/08 don Garbage. Inferior to Halloween in every way possible. 1 stars
6/17/08 Johnnyfaye With an amazing story and an unanswerable who is it plot? The horror is just a great desset 5 stars
4/26/08 Vinnie A Masterpiece, even after all these years 5 stars
4/19/08 renjith narayanan awesome movie...hard to believe it was made in the early 80s.. 5 stars
3/28/08 Robert Cant believe Ive just seen this for the first time, possibly the best horror movie ever 5 stars
1/26/08 Gene Nigra THE BEST OF THE BEST 5 stars
10/27/07 ahnold Be prepared for maybe too much gore, but EXCELLENT dialogue, character interaction & story. 5 stars
9/30/07 Chris This is the best horror movie Ive ever , not much more to add 5 stars
9/24/07 Pete1976 "The Thing" rock, will never tire of watching this flick, Carpenters best, without a doubt 5 stars
9/15/07 MP Bartley WATCH CLARK...and watch him close, y'hear me? 5 stars
7/17/07 Jamez Paranoia & Isolation-Childs was THE THING @ the end! 5 stars
7/08/07 Tom Servo A true cinematic anomaly, the perfect horror film-verdict= A+ 5 stars
6/02/07 al smith the best horror film without a shadow of doubt and one of the best films ever 5 stars
3/18/07 Hey Sweden Greatest film ever,bar none. 5 stars
2/14/07 Double M Eerie ambiguous PARANOID hell. 1 of the few movies that scared the *beep* out of me.Classic 5 stars
1/27/07 action movie fan exciting suspensful extremely gruesome though-the best film of 1982 5 stars
1/16/07 David Pollastrini very well done 4 stars
10/21/06 cody a cool movie with lot gore and freaky parts that hair stand up your arms 4 stars
10/15/06 Ron Newbold Close to the short story and absolutely excellent!! 5 stars
10/13/06 AJ Muller Greatest.Horror.Flick.EVER. And so much more than a mere remake. 5 stars
10/04/06 K.Sear The better of the 2 good Carpenter movies. 5 stars
10/01/06 michael better than what you would see on TV 4 stars
9/20/06 James Craig Brilliant! One of the best horror films ever made. 5 stars
9/02/06 ES best movie ever made 5 stars
8/01/06 DARREN GOODAL TIMELESS 5 stars
7/12/06 David Cohen Loud, gory and filled with unlikable characters, I walked out 1 stars
7/04/06 andrew bernard the best effects and monsters i've seen! 5 stars
6/19/06 Toney Burkhart One of the best ever SF Movies! 5 stars
6/12/06 William Goss An all-time horror favorite. Holds up terrifically; wouldn't mind an anniversary rerelease. 5 stars
4/22/06 floozy It is a classic. Screw CGI! Movies are better this way - Carpenter shows it 5 stars
2/25/06 Robert Wonderfully and genuinely suspenseful. A far better film than the 1951 original! 5 stars
12/03/05 cr a gory scfi flick with kurt russell, cool visual effects but slow with bad ending 3 stars
11/22/05 Kurtis J. Beard A classic. Carpenter at his best. 4 stars
11/18/05 John Dog Carpenter's Best. 5 stars
11/13/05 cypress great horror movie, keeps you guessing, suspenseful and full of action 5 stars
11/11/05 Mark Radburn A Must-see Monster Movie 5 stars
11/04/05 baseball-nut I've always liked this film but the "Thing's" costume was poor compared to todays standards 3 stars
11/01/05 Blutarsky The Thing rocks like nobody's bizness. 5 stars
10/25/05 ShadowFace5 One of my all time favorites. Along with The Fly remake. 5 stars
10/16/05 Johnny Most likely the best horror movie ever! 5 stars
10/14/05 ram1brn SHOULD NOT ALLOW REMAKES 1 stars
8/25/05 salamone I thought it was OK. 3 stars
8/17/05 Nick Not just horror, one of my favorite movies period 5 stars
8/15/05 Christine Hosie one of the best flicks of all time, Carpenter left the ending open and did the unthinkable 5 stars
8/12/05 ES clearly the best movie ever made, even viewers today are impressed with this triumph 5 stars
8/11/05 ALDO REAL effects, not George Lucas crap. Carpenter's score is cool. Kurt Russell has a beard 5 stars
7/16/05 TheViper Just plain awesome, great suspense and action. 5 stars
7/01/05 Vic Crap 1 stars
6/10/05 Speed Awesome claustraphobic film 5 stars
5/30/05 Burnt OK...but over over rated... 3 stars
4/17/05 Cary Gordon One of the best remakes ever! 5 stars
3/29/05 mwildeman Lots of bad things came out of the 80's, this is not one of them. 5 stars
3/26/05 JC Pierce Cool for it's time 4 stars
3/25/05 Regis Malone The best movie remake made in the 1980s. 5 stars
3/18/05 indrid cold Makes "Alien" look like Sesame Street. Why does nobody know about this movie? 5 stars
3/12/05 Mr. Slave "Yeah, fuck you, too!" Best horror movie ever! 5 stars
3/09/05 LarryV Fun Alien-clone with a clever twist. 4 stars
3/09/05 Los Daddy CLASSIC!!...Standard for SciFi/Horror..."you gotta be f@!kin kiddin me" 5 stars
1/13/05 Tom Benton One of the best sci-fi movies ever; Carpenter has made a frightening masterpiece; awesome. 5 stars
1/09/05 keithers.. it scared you so your never watching it again...did i read that right ? 5 stars
12/15/04 Vicious An excellent bit of lovecraft influenced sci fi horror, second only to alien. 5 stars
11/20/04 Mark This film scaried me to death The Thing sucks I'm not watching it again 1 stars
11/18/04 Jews for Hitler You gotta be fucking kidding me!!!! Loved when the head sprouted legs! 5 stars
11/06/04 Dunce The one time the remake is better than the original - best of Carpenters' career. 5 stars
11/05/04 wiss fuking-good like the head 5 stars
11/01/04 I don't care if... The Thing is imitating Oscar-winner Affleck & ripped The Fish a new face. hehe 5 stars
10/29/04 armo precedes resevoir dogs in its finale 5 stars
10/25/04 Tom Ciorciari Maybe not as smart as the original, but one of the scariest films of all time! 4 stars
10/24/04 Vince Carpenter's best. Russell perfect. Classic Horror. 5 stars
10/21/04 Shams Huque One of my all time favourite films. Incredible. 5 stars
10/15/04 Don Eckert The greatest horror movie ever made. Simply a masterpiece! 5 stars
9/20/04 Lord Durvok 2 Words can't describe the immensity of this film. 5 stars
9/18/04 Michael I never got the love for this movie. Not exciting or particularly well-done, just average 3 stars
9/16/04 ABRADOX The Thing - Best horror!!! 5 stars
8/28/04 Goggman The greatest horror movie I have ever seen. So original and frightening! 5 stars
8/25/04 K Man anybody who hates this movie obviously needs brain surgery. THIS MOVIE ROCKS! 5 stars
8/25/04 Gray good film but not a great film (i.e. Braveheart) 4 stars
8/20/04 ELI Original sucked compared to this one 5 stars
8/10/04 Monster W. Kung "Careful attention of original"!?! This is much closer to the original story, dumbass. 5 stars
7/14/04 DM Amazingly effective, despite the constant "Hey, let's split up" stupidities 5 stars
7/08/04 "Meth Lab" for Dummies. FUCK YOU 'Daveman'... God you're stupid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/04/04 Daveman The careful attention to tone n' genuine scares of the original are nowhere to be seen here 2 stars
7/03/04 American Slasher Goddess Great acting, atmosphere, direction, everything about this movie is perfect. 5 stars
6/29/04 Jon Best of its genre, EVER! 5 stars
6/20/04 Braveheart Scared shitless... See it at 3 in the morning alone in an empty drafty house. 5 stars
5/28/04 T-Shirt Guy Kurt Russel rules! 5 stars
5/24/04 Bob MacReady Best movie of the 1980s. 5 stars
5/16/04 MKM Hell Yeah! 5 stars
5/15/04 Gary intense and well filmed 5 stars
5/15/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it Saw this at a special screening in 1982 and IT BLEW ME AWAY! 5 stars
5/14/04 PAYNE Without a doubt, this deserves a sequeal, "The THING II" Coming 2004 5 stars
5/13/04  Shaun Rose What can I say? This movie is Awesome 5 stars
5/13/04 Me great acting, great effects, great movie 5 stars
5/09/04 Alex I don't think I've ever felt such animosity for ANY reviewer before, EVER, than darkofnight 5 stars
5/09/04 Movie Nerd The best horror movie of the '80s! 5 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot Personal film lesson #46 ignore bad reviews of The Thing-it rocks. 5 stars
4/30/04 Co McPhee Excellent film, very enjoyable - great performances all round 5 stars
4/25/04 Fate - (You should give people more to say if you want proper feedback Critics need:To know how to judge movies, Lose perverse mouth, A life besides raping movies 5 stars
4/17/04 BaztarD_101 The blood test scene rules!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/07/04 Sig WOW... uh, wow?... Oh, WOW! 5 stars
4/04/04 Prospector McGraw darkofnight is a goddamn idiot (and a long-winded one at that). Carpenter's best film. 5 stars
3/30/04 American Slasher Goddess A modern day classic,Carpenter's best,besides Halloween. 5 stars
3/29/04 Cheryl An incredible, terrifying ride. I envy those who haven't seen it. 5 stars
3/26/04 Alfred Guy Every movie has flaws & cont. errors. Bottom line this movie is awesome! 5 stars
3/23/04 KGB cool 5 stars
3/23/04 R.J God darkofnight stop being fat and start being cool shit this movie rocks! 5 stars
3/22/04 Keifer Sutherland_RULZ A instant classic without a dobut. Better than 'Body Snatchers' 5 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern Now why can't either Hollywood or even, John Carpenter make something like this???????????? 5 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. THIS SHOULD HAVE A SEQUEAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ Highly Entertaining and Frightening...!?!~! 5 stars
3/09/04 Sean McLean One of the most effective and terrifying claustrophic horror films ever made. 5 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge The bomb. The alien mutations are glorious and the plot is as tight as a clam's ass. 5 stars
2/16/04 Monster W. Kung A truly scary and horrific alien movie; I don't know what darkofnight was watching. 5 stars
2/16/04 the gourd Someone should seriously kill this retard, everything flies over your stupid head, go die. 5 stars
2/13/04 jdogg darkofnight is an idiot! he hates everything!! 5 stars
2/13/04 Jack Sommersby An atmospheric, eerie, nerve-jangling masterpiece. Stellar acting. 5 stars
1/16/04 T^im The best horror movie ever filmed. 5 stars
12/15/03 Falco This norwegian loved it. "Det der er ikke noen bikkje, det er en slags ting!" 5 stars
12/06/03 Agent Sands I don't like the dog deaths, but the FX are cool. 3 stars
11/27/03 John a tour de force from beginning to end 5 stars
11/21/03 Gray good shit 5 stars
11/08/03 Miguel Ángel Puerta Pérez La mejor película de terror, ciencia ficción y suspense que se ha creado jamás. 5 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess Beautifully done. Carpenter best film outside of Halloween. 5 stars
10/26/03 Samuel This movie could have a sequel, but i'd hate to see it ruines like every other.... 5 stars
10/11/03 Lawson H. Wright A sci-fi/horror masterpiece! Aside from "Alien", name one film out there that's scarier... 5 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant They don't get much better than this. Carpenter's 2nd best to Halloween. 5 stars
9/04/03 eddie greatness. quality from all involved, including fx god rob bottin. if you disagree, die. 5 stars
8/15/03 Sammy possibly one of the best horror movies ever 5 stars
8/05/03 Spud Reynolds One very scary shitkicker of a flick. 5 stars
7/30/03 Jake I can't stand gross out movies with goverment acting. 2 stars
7/17/03 MadMatt One of the best Sci-fi/Horror movies of all time!!! 5 stars
7/12/03 john roberts pitch-perfect performances; disturbingly realistic sense of dread and insidious paranoia. 5 stars
7/09/03 j lo you need to make another one 4 stars
7/08/03 WWE HHH-HATE CLUB WHO WAS THE INFECTED ONE IN END? 5 stars
7/04/03 Dave Hopman Exactly! 5 stars
7/01/03 AD johns best 5 stars
6/29/03 Dave Hopman John Carpenter at his best.... 5 stars
6/23/03 AD one of the most creepyest films ever great score as well 5 stars
6/20/03 Sammy creepy and it gets better every time you watch it 5 stars
6/05/03 Mike My 2nd favorite mmovie behind Evil Dead. 5 stars
4/11/03 dionwr loved it really its the best film ever made after the shawshank redemption 5 stars
4/10/03 Martin Blackler well ahead of its time. A timeless classic 5 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Carpenter's masterpiece. Wonderfully atmospheric and creepy. Acting is top-notch. 5 stars
3/11/03 beehotch See at all costs. Fuck you, whoever hated it. 5 stars
2/01/03 dionwr Great specifics with TERRIBLE everything else 2 stars
1/29/03 wintermute Do you beleive this Voodoo Bullshit? I LOVE this movie! 5 stars
1/28/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer Fan-f'ing-tastic stuff. Gruesome. 5 stars
1/13/03 Jason Awesome must see movie 5 stars
12/28/02 Ally Gator The only movie to ever make me physically ill. Well done for what it is. 3 stars
12/21/02 palaboy101 get ready to be very scared 5 stars
12/18/02 shawshank redemption watch it on my dvd - its great stuff!! 5 stars
12/17/02 The Talking Elbow Best horror film ever 5 stars
12/06/02 GIA a little bit of fear and nothing more 4 stars
11/01/02 Natas Luciferi Best Fucking movie ever!! 5 stars
10/31/02 Josh Scary as hell 5 stars
10/29/02 jordon The best film of all time 5 stars
10/12/02 Huddy Plot , Suspense , Gore , A True Horror Masterpiece, They dont make em like they used to! 5 stars
10/09/02 Charles Tatum One of Carpenter's best...John, what happened? 5 stars
9/24/02 Big Boot Windows really does get booted, brilliant film + game 5 stars
8/18/02 Larry O'Connor The greatest horror movie of all time 5 stars
8/18/02 Film Dude This is how horror is made. 5 stars
8/16/02 R.J. MacReady A Masterpiece. The film by which all other films are judged. outpost31.com 5 stars
8/09/02 Tyner probably the best sci-fi/horror movie ever fucking made. Highest recommendation! 5 stars
7/20/02 Film Guy Not really what i expected but still it was OK 3 stars
7/08/02 warren small this film changed my life in a way i look at movies today. i rate other films based on john 5 stars
6/10/02 emilobile No this film is not crap it ownz j00 5 stars
5/26/02 Robert Carter This movie is exactly what Scott Weinberg said! AWESOME! 5 stars
5/24/02 Kyle Holy shit... Carpenter is God. 5 stars
5/18/02 Phoenix Truly a well done horror. Carpenter's last great horror movie. 5 stars
5/14/02 you i love horer moie that have gore in them 5 stars
4/26/02 Charles Tatum Carpenter's best behind "Halloween" 5 stars
4/16/02 Smirnoff Just got around to seeing it. Monsters and gore galore! Right up my alley! Yeah!!! ;) 5 stars
4/16/02 DA MAN DA BEST! 5 stars
4/08/02 Film Dude Wow. 5 stars
4/05/02 Scott Sumner I hate horror flicks, and this one rocked... 5 stars
4/04/02 Ron Simply the best of its Kind 5 stars
4/02/02 Rockitman007 One of the Best Horror movies ever....... 5 stars
3/24/02 Katie paranoia... 5 stars
2/27/02 Alan Smithee Anyone who considers themselves a horran fan should own this DVD. A truly great film. 5 stars
1/25/02 murat what the hell is this ??? where is the real john work and childs ,nauls and the others 1 stars
12/21/01 Shams Huque Awesome. There's no other word for it. 5 stars
12/21/01 Andy Hall You don't watch the Thing- You exist in the Thing. An amazing film. 5 stars
12/02/01 J_man One of the best horror films ever made. A classic! 5 stars
12/01/01 Scottish Kilt A great original horror movie, much better than the crap out today. 4 stars
11/30/01 Rutt13 Incredible effects make CGI look piss-poor. A classic, intense 5 stars
9/29/01 Phoenix Why don't more people like this film. It's scarier than most horror films today. 4 stars
9/29/01 Palaboy VERY creepy and scary! 5 stars
8/31/01 Henry Ginsberg Theres only one thing that stickes in my mind about this film-the bass ostinato. 4 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Terrifyingly claustrophobic...this is an underrated Carpenter classic. 5 stars
8/06/01 Todd (Thing-Freak) #1 film of all time...perfect suspense/horror!! 5 stars
7/15/01 Mark Risko HANDS DOWN the best John Carpenter and Kurt Russell movie ever made! 5 stars
7/11/01 Matthew Bartley Faultless.And remember,watch Clark, you hear me... 5 stars
6/24/01 Alexander Wheill Carpenter's best, Cinematic History's Best 5 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung Now that's a scary horror movie. 5 stars
3/12/01 james "bite me" womack This is arguable the best, most fright inducing horror movie of all times. 5 stars
3/11/01 The Knowby Warrior This is not "a" movie. This is THE definitive movie. MacReady is my personal Jim Morrison. 5 stars
2/18/01 Talon An absolute gem of a film,mindnumbingly scary and sickeningly gory. 5 stars
2/17/01 jk this is not a scary film !!!! 1 stars
2/15/01 viking This'll scare you !!!! 5 stars
2/04/01 Gary Bradley The most interesting & surreal alien I've seen 5 stars
1/14/01 Tim Gee Utterly radical, atmospheric mind blowing! 5 stars
12/24/00 bub the actors!!!! the score!!! everybody inVOLVED!!! 5 stars
12/04/00 Cristopher Revilla an underrated classic, thanks to ET 5 stars
11/25/00 Andrew "The Thing" is a work of art. Destroys any CGI bullshit made today. 5 stars
9/19/00 homer simpson beats all modern horroh flicks 100percent 5 stars
6/30/00 Deckard Ranks right up there with 'Alien' as the best Sci-Fi/Horror movie ever. 5 stars
6/21/00 Doc Watch Clark. Watch him close.... 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Made "Kyle" here pull a major "Stan". This would be a good thing. 5 stars
12/23/99 the Grinch Absolutely flawless... 5 stars
12/18/99 bullit17 scary as hell 5 stars
12/14/99 Matthew Bartley Fantastic...still scary now 5 stars
12/13/99 JonnyAngel Gave me nightmares in '89 5 stars
12/08/99 Scary Joe this movie kicked ass ! and that music..."bump bump bump bump"....it rules! 5 stars
11/24/99 little jerry How this film bombed in '82 is beyond me.Still the benchmark for Sci/Fi horror effects. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1982 (R)
  DVD: 26-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast