More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.69

Awesome85.62%
Worth A Look: 6.16%
Average: 3.42%
Pretty Bad: 1.37%
Total Crap: 3.42%

8 reviews, 244 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Thing, The (1982)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by MP Bartley

"You've got to be fucking kidding..."
5 stars

...for me, is one of the greatest quotes in film history. To find out why, you'll just have to watch John Carpenters take on the 1950's drive-in classic, and along with 'Halloween' and 'The Fog' one of his undisputed classics.

Yes, 'The Thing' was released when a John Carpenter film was something to be actually excited about and not dreaded like a dose of scabies.

The first version, adapted from a short story called 'Who Goes There', was made in the early 50's and is set in an Antarctic base staffed by a small crew of men who find themselves besieged by a hostile alien. However for all it's reds-under-the-bed metaphors of an enemy within, much of the impact is lessened when the alien is revealed as a man in some dodgy make-up.

Carpenter's version takes the setting from the original and that's it. Thankfully he sticks more to the book, which has the alien hide itself in various members of the crew, and revels in the gore drenched detail. It's a set-up ripe for tension. The crw of the base are generally bored and lazily bickering amongst themselves against the hostile back drop of outdoors, totally unaware of how hostile they're going to become to themselves...

Make no mistake, any wannabe film-maker wanting a lesson in how to rack tension up to the level of forcing audiences to the edges of their seats can do no better than watching this. In a time when most films ruin any tension by idiotic comic relief (case in point, I Still Know What You Did Last Summer. When his friends are being hacked to pieces all around him one character remarks how he's hunted and horny. Yeah right. If I was being stalked by a hook wielding madman, the last thing on my mind would be if I was going to get my rocks off) or by characters doing stupid things for no reason than a lazy plot device, 'The Thing' has virtually no laughs. Any that do come are in the early scenes. Once the massacre starts, there's no jokes. It gets so intense at one point, a member burns himself to death rather than face up to the thing that's stalking them around the corridors. And that kinda sets the tone for the film really.

And you get to see something you rarely see in any period of film: characters debating the sensible thing to do. One of the best scenes is where they have to decide whether to let one of their crewmembers back into the base after locking the door: he could be the thing. Alternatively they could be letting a friend freeze to death. It's a scene that's played right on the edge of fear and desperation and the cast get it spot on.
'Unbearable tension' is a phrase much over-used but there's one scene that comes as close to this phrase as anything else. It's the blood drawing scene and I'll say no more, except it requires some nerves to watch it without hiding behind your hands. This is a film where you really don't know 'who it is' or 'who dunnit'.

'The Thing' wants its cake and also gets to eat it. It pulls of the remarkable trick of having hugely effective scenes of sweaty, tension-racked men shouting at each other and scenes of slaughter as they quickly get whittled down in a red haze of dismembered limbs. Gore is rarely scary, but it's never been as effective as it has here. I've never seen a film that creates equal fear by both hiding the monster and showing it in it's full glory. Usually one or the other, but never both and it's great to see here. One of the best scenes comes in the first half hour, when MacReady comes back with the remains of a Norweigan from a base previously attacked. It's a mess of innards and broken limbs, while the face is twisted and melted into two. If this the aftereffect of the thing, what the hell does it look in action? That's the question the base ask themselves, echoing the audiences sentiments. Carpenter said we wouldn't see anything like 'The Thing' for a very long time, and we still haven't. CGI may have come off age but the effects used here still stand up as some of the very best

Carpenter knows how to use this limited location to its full advantage, contrasting the wide open ominous landscape with the cramped ominous research base. And as with every Carpenter movie, the music is superb. He doesn't write it himself for a change, but instead gets Ennio Morricone to do the job. And man, it's foreboding. Simple roaming shots of empty corridors are rendered intense by the score alone.


The cast are on the money here as well. Kurt Russell is the reluctant hero here: an unshaven, permanently bad-tempered drunk, Russell rises above a potentially cliched character by giving him a rough hewn intelligence combined with an instinct for survival. This is a man who will quite happily shoot everyone else if he even suspects they're alien. And he's the one they look to for leadership. Keith David is equally strong as Childs, looking every inch like the action star he never became. The rest are generally obscure (hey! Didn't that guy play
the president in Clear And Present Danger?) but fill their parts as alien fodder with aplomb, and that thing you don't often get: sincerity. There's no real character development, but from their few actions we get to learn a lot about them and group dynamic. Most of them are bums and not conventional heroes. But then, there are no heroes in 'The Thing': just survivors...

God knows what Carpenter was doing on the shoot, but the whole cast seem genuinely terrified for the most part. And he keeps the horror cranked right up to the end. It's a coldly scary ending as the dark night settles in on the shattered remnants of the base...

When it was released in 1982, 'The Thing' was overlooked both critically and commercially by another, more people-friendly alien visiting Earth, E.T. As Spielberg's cuddly creation gets a 20th anniversary outing, it seems right to re-evaluate Carpenters alien as well. It's a primal, lethal machine of a movie that once it hooks itself into your brain doesn't let go. Oh yeah,this one's scary as hell...

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2453&reviewer=293
originally posted: 04/02/02 01:57:23
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 ScreamFest L.A. Horror Festival. For more in the 2004 ScreamFest L.A. series, click here.
Horror Remakes: For more in the Horror Remakes series, click here.

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell nightmarish sci-fi horror awesome creature effects 5 stars
9/08/16 Bobby Dazzler A very suspenseful and gripping sci-fi horror movie that delivers the goods every time. 5 stars
4/27/16 Ken A sci-fi horror masterpiece by John Carpenter and starring Kurt Russell. 5 stars
4/21/16 Nick Awesome movie. I can't believe it was looked at negatively when first released. 5 stars
3/29/16 Aj wales Precinct 13 with an alien. 5 stars
6/19/14 Khlysty A nihilistic nightmare and a perfect film 5 stars
3/24/14 Justin R. Very amazing film! 5 stars
3/20/13 Daniel M. John Carpenter's best film 5 stars
3/05/13 Son of Celluloid The rarest of the rare...a good remake. 4 stars
11/05/12 Marty Fun sci-fi movie. Plenty of WTF gore moments. Suspenseful. 4 stars
9/29/12 roscoe Could've gotten to the great stuff faster, but still, great cast, effects, and suspense. 4 stars
1/18/12 Marc DC Too much gore, not enough suspense... 2 stars
10/13/11 The Betpet Just simply awesome! 5 stars
7/01/11 jmoore Amazing movie, you either love it or hate it. 5 stars
2/24/11 JonRandall A perfect film and the best of it's genre. Belongs on top 100 list 5 stars
2/20/11 Ark Kickass! the ending was especially powerful! 5 stars
5/22/10 dr.evil K.R. pouring his drink into his computer was needless silliness. Unlikeable characters all 3 stars
5/03/10 PAUL SHORTT POINTLESS REMAKE WITH REVOLTING SPECIAL EFFECTS 1 stars
1/06/10 art STICK TO THE 1951 verison INSTEAD! 1 stars
12/15/09 TravisN One of my 10 favorite films of all time (alien is too) 5 stars
11/02/09 art A DISGUSTING MOVIE! 1 stars
10/30/09 Omar John Carpenter's sci-fi/horror masterpiece. 5 stars
10/24/09 Sad52 He purposefully chose the "lightest" student in the classroom to carry out a task 4 stars
10/23/09 Merlin19 Hope for the future can trump the fear to risk reaching for it. , 5 stars
10/23/09 Stinky70 That's what I've gleaned from interviews thus far. , 5 stars
9/14/09 Erik Bauer Amazing movie...Carpenter's Masterpiece. 5 stars
8/19/09 Jon B Overrated splatter film that lacks the careful pacing or brilliance of greats like 'Alien' 3 stars
3/29/09 malcolm this classic holds up almost 30 years later 4 stars
11/10/08 Otis Classic about paranoia juiced up by great effects. 5 stars
10/07/08 blah blah simple don die cunt 5 stars
9/22/08 don Garbage. Inferior to Halloween in every way possible. 1 stars
6/17/08 Johnnyfaye With an amazing story and an unanswerable who is it plot? The horror is just a great desset 5 stars
4/26/08 Vinnie A Masterpiece, even after all these years 5 stars
4/19/08 renjith narayanan awesome movie...hard to believe it was made in the early 80s.. 5 stars
3/28/08 Robert Cant believe Ive just seen this for the first time, possibly the best horror movie ever 5 stars
1/26/08 Gene Nigra THE BEST OF THE BEST 5 stars
10/27/07 ahnold Be prepared for maybe too much gore, but EXCELLENT dialogue, character interaction & story. 5 stars
9/30/07 Chris This is the best horror movie Ive ever , not much more to add 5 stars
9/24/07 Pete1976 "The Thing" rock, will never tire of watching this flick, Carpenters best, without a doubt 5 stars
9/15/07 MP Bartley WATCH CLARK...and watch him close, y'hear me? 5 stars
7/17/07 Jamez Paranoia & Isolation-Childs was THE THING @ the end! 5 stars
7/08/07 Tom Servo A true cinematic anomaly, the perfect horror film-verdict= A+ 5 stars
6/02/07 al smith the best horror film without a shadow of doubt and one of the best films ever 5 stars
3/18/07 Hey Sweden Greatest film ever,bar none. 5 stars
2/14/07 Double M Eerie ambiguous PARANOID hell. 1 of the few movies that scared the *beep* out of me.Classic 5 stars
1/27/07 action movie fan exciting suspensful extremely gruesome though-the best film of 1982 5 stars
1/16/07 David Pollastrini very well done 4 stars
10/21/06 cody a cool movie with lot gore and freaky parts that hair stand up your arms 4 stars
10/15/06 Ron Newbold Close to the short story and absolutely excellent!! 5 stars
10/13/06 AJ Muller Greatest.Horror.Flick.EVER. And so much more than a mere remake. 5 stars
10/04/06 K.Sear The better of the 2 good Carpenter movies. 5 stars
10/01/06 michael better than what you would see on TV 4 stars
9/20/06 James Craig Brilliant! One of the best horror films ever made. 5 stars
9/02/06 ES best movie ever made 5 stars
8/01/06 DARREN GOODAL TIMELESS 5 stars
7/12/06 David Cohen Loud, gory and filled with unlikable characters, I walked out 1 stars
7/04/06 andrew bernard the best effects and monsters i've seen! 5 stars
6/19/06 Toney Burkhart One of the best ever SF Movies! 5 stars
6/12/06 William Goss An all-time horror favorite. Holds up terrifically; wouldn't mind an anniversary rerelease. 5 stars
4/22/06 floozy It is a classic. Screw CGI! Movies are better this way - Carpenter shows it 5 stars
2/25/06 Robert Wonderfully and genuinely suspenseful. A far better film than the 1951 original! 5 stars
12/03/05 cr a gory scfi flick with kurt russell, cool visual effects but slow with bad ending 3 stars
11/22/05 Kurtis J. Beard A classic. Carpenter at his best. 4 stars
11/18/05 John Dog Carpenter's Best. 5 stars
11/13/05 cypress great horror movie, keeps you guessing, suspenseful and full of action 5 stars
11/11/05 Mark Radburn A Must-see Monster Movie 5 stars
11/04/05 baseball-nut I've always liked this film but the "Thing's" costume was poor compared to todays standards 3 stars
11/01/05 Blutarsky The Thing rocks like nobody's bizness. 5 stars
10/25/05 ShadowFace5 One of my all time favorites. Along with The Fly remake. 5 stars
10/16/05 Johnny Most likely the best horror movie ever! 5 stars
10/14/05 ram1brn SHOULD NOT ALLOW REMAKES 1 stars
8/25/05 salamone I thought it was OK. 3 stars
8/17/05 Nick Not just horror, one of my favorite movies period 5 stars
8/15/05 Christine Hosie one of the best flicks of all time, Carpenter left the ending open and did the unthinkable 5 stars
8/12/05 ES clearly the best movie ever made, even viewers today are impressed with this triumph 5 stars
8/11/05 ALDO REAL effects, not George Lucas crap. Carpenter's score is cool. Kurt Russell has a beard 5 stars
7/16/05 TheViper Just plain awesome, great suspense and action. 5 stars
7/01/05 Vic Crap 1 stars
6/10/05 Speed Awesome claustraphobic film 5 stars
5/30/05 Burnt OK...but over over rated... 3 stars
4/17/05 Cary Gordon One of the best remakes ever! 5 stars
3/29/05 mwildeman Lots of bad things came out of the 80's, this is not one of them. 5 stars
3/26/05 JC Pierce Cool for it's time 4 stars
3/25/05 Regis Malone The best movie remake made in the 1980s. 5 stars
3/18/05 indrid cold Makes "Alien" look like Sesame Street. Why does nobody know about this movie? 5 stars
3/12/05 Mr. Slave "Yeah, fuck you, too!" Best horror movie ever! 5 stars
3/09/05 LarryV Fun Alien-clone with a clever twist. 4 stars
3/09/05 Los Daddy CLASSIC!!...Standard for SciFi/Horror..."you gotta be f@!kin kiddin me" 5 stars
1/13/05 Tom Benton One of the best sci-fi movies ever; Carpenter has made a frightening masterpiece; awesome. 5 stars
1/09/05 keithers.. it scared you so your never watching it again...did i read that right ? 5 stars
12/15/04 Vicious An excellent bit of lovecraft influenced sci fi horror, second only to alien. 5 stars
11/20/04 Mark This film scaried me to death The Thing sucks I'm not watching it again 1 stars
11/18/04 Jews for Hitler You gotta be fucking kidding me!!!! Loved when the head sprouted legs! 5 stars
11/06/04 Dunce The one time the remake is better than the original - best of Carpenters' career. 5 stars
11/05/04 wiss fuking-good like the head 5 stars
11/01/04 I don't care if... The Thing is imitating Oscar-winner Affleck & ripped The Fish a new face. hehe 5 stars
10/29/04 armo precedes resevoir dogs in its finale 5 stars
10/25/04 Tom Ciorciari Maybe not as smart as the original, but one of the scariest films of all time! 4 stars
10/24/04 Vince Carpenter's best. Russell perfect. Classic Horror. 5 stars
10/21/04 Shams Huque One of my all time favourite films. Incredible. 5 stars
10/15/04 Don Eckert The greatest horror movie ever made. Simply a masterpiece! 5 stars
9/20/04 Lord Durvok 2 Words can't describe the immensity of this film. 5 stars
9/18/04 Michael I never got the love for this movie. Not exciting or particularly well-done, just average 3 stars
9/16/04 ABRADOX The Thing - Best horror!!! 5 stars
8/28/04 Goggman The greatest horror movie I have ever seen. So original and frightening! 5 stars
8/25/04 K Man anybody who hates this movie obviously needs brain surgery. THIS MOVIE ROCKS! 5 stars
8/25/04 Gray good film but not a great film (i.e. Braveheart) 4 stars
8/20/04 ELI Original sucked compared to this one 5 stars
8/10/04 Monster W. Kung "Careful attention of original"!?! This is much closer to the original story, dumbass. 5 stars
7/14/04 DM Amazingly effective, despite the constant "Hey, let's split up" stupidities 5 stars
7/08/04 "Meth Lab" for Dummies. FUCK YOU 'Daveman'... God you're stupid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/04/04 Daveman The careful attention to tone n' genuine scares of the original are nowhere to be seen here 2 stars
7/03/04 American Slasher Goddess Great acting, atmosphere, direction, everything about this movie is perfect. 5 stars
6/29/04 Jon Best of its genre, EVER! 5 stars
6/20/04 Braveheart Scared shitless... See it at 3 in the morning alone in an empty drafty house. 5 stars
5/28/04 T-Shirt Guy Kurt Russel rules! 5 stars
5/24/04 Bob MacReady Best movie of the 1980s. 5 stars
5/16/04 MKM Hell Yeah! 5 stars
5/15/04 Gary intense and well filmed 5 stars
5/15/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it Saw this at a special screening in 1982 and IT BLEW ME AWAY! 5 stars
5/14/04 PAYNE Without a doubt, this deserves a sequeal, "The THING II" Coming 2004 5 stars
5/13/04  Shaun Rose What can I say? This movie is Awesome 5 stars
5/13/04 Me great acting, great effects, great movie 5 stars
5/09/04 Alex I don't think I've ever felt such animosity for ANY reviewer before, EVER, than darkofnight 5 stars
5/09/04 Movie Nerd The best horror movie of the '80s! 5 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot Personal film lesson #46 ignore bad reviews of The Thing-it rocks. 5 stars
4/30/04 Co McPhee Excellent film, very enjoyable - great performances all round 5 stars
4/25/04 Fate - (You should give people more to say if you want proper feedback Critics need:To know how to judge movies, Lose perverse mouth, A life besides raping movies 5 stars
4/17/04 BaztarD_101 The blood test scene rules!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/07/04 Sig WOW... uh, wow?... Oh, WOW! 5 stars
4/04/04 Prospector McGraw darkofnight is a goddamn idiot (and a long-winded one at that). Carpenter's best film. 5 stars
3/30/04 American Slasher Goddess A modern day classic,Carpenter's best,besides Halloween. 5 stars
3/29/04 Cheryl An incredible, terrifying ride. I envy those who haven't seen it. 5 stars
3/26/04 Alfred Guy Every movie has flaws & cont. errors. Bottom line this movie is awesome! 5 stars
3/23/04 KGB cool 5 stars
3/23/04 R.J God darkofnight stop being fat and start being cool shit this movie rocks! 5 stars
3/22/04 Keifer Sutherland_RULZ A instant classic without a dobut. Better than 'Body Snatchers' 5 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern Now why can't either Hollywood or even, John Carpenter make something like this???????????? 5 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. THIS SHOULD HAVE A SEQUEAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ Highly Entertaining and Frightening...!?!~! 5 stars
3/09/04 Sean McLean One of the most effective and terrifying claustrophic horror films ever made. 5 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge The bomb. The alien mutations are glorious and the plot is as tight as a clam's ass. 5 stars
2/16/04 Monster W. Kung A truly scary and horrific alien movie; I don't know what darkofnight was watching. 5 stars
2/16/04 the gourd Someone should seriously kill this retard, everything flies over your stupid head, go die. 5 stars
2/13/04 jdogg darkofnight is an idiot! he hates everything!! 5 stars
2/13/04 Jack Sommersby An atmospheric, eerie, nerve-jangling masterpiece. Stellar acting. 5 stars
1/16/04 T^im The best horror movie ever filmed. 5 stars
12/15/03 Falco This norwegian loved it. "Det der er ikke noen bikkje, det er en slags ting!" 5 stars
12/06/03 Agent Sands I don't like the dog deaths, but the FX are cool. 3 stars
11/27/03 John a tour de force from beginning to end 5 stars
11/21/03 Gray good shit 5 stars
11/08/03 Miguel Ángel Puerta Pérez La mejor película de terror, ciencia ficción y suspense que se ha creado jamás. 5 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess Beautifully done. Carpenter best film outside of Halloween. 5 stars
10/26/03 Samuel This movie could have a sequel, but i'd hate to see it ruines like every other.... 5 stars
10/11/03 Lawson H. Wright A sci-fi/horror masterpiece! Aside from "Alien", name one film out there that's scarier... 5 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant They don't get much better than this. Carpenter's 2nd best to Halloween. 5 stars
9/04/03 eddie greatness. quality from all involved, including fx god rob bottin. if you disagree, die. 5 stars
8/15/03 Sammy possibly one of the best horror movies ever 5 stars
8/05/03 Spud Reynolds One very scary shitkicker of a flick. 5 stars
7/30/03 Jake I can't stand gross out movies with goverment acting. 2 stars
7/17/03 MadMatt One of the best Sci-fi/Horror movies of all time!!! 5 stars
7/12/03 john roberts pitch-perfect performances; disturbingly realistic sense of dread and insidious paranoia. 5 stars
7/09/03 j lo you need to make another one 4 stars
7/08/03 WWE HHH-HATE CLUB WHO WAS THE INFECTED ONE IN END? 5 stars
7/04/03 Dave Hopman Exactly! 5 stars
7/01/03 AD johns best 5 stars
6/29/03 Dave Hopman John Carpenter at his best.... 5 stars
6/23/03 AD one of the most creepyest films ever great score as well 5 stars
6/20/03 Sammy creepy and it gets better every time you watch it 5 stars
6/05/03 Mike My 2nd favorite mmovie behind Evil Dead. 5 stars
4/11/03 dionwr loved it really its the best film ever made after the shawshank redemption 5 stars
4/10/03 Martin Blackler well ahead of its time. A timeless classic 5 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Carpenter's masterpiece. Wonderfully atmospheric and creepy. Acting is top-notch. 5 stars
3/11/03 beehotch See at all costs. Fuck you, whoever hated it. 5 stars
2/01/03 dionwr Great specifics with TERRIBLE everything else 2 stars
1/29/03 wintermute Do you beleive this Voodoo Bullshit? I LOVE this movie! 5 stars
1/28/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer Fan-f'ing-tastic stuff. Gruesome. 5 stars
1/13/03 Jason Awesome must see movie 5 stars
12/28/02 Ally Gator The only movie to ever make me physically ill. Well done for what it is. 3 stars
12/21/02 palaboy101 get ready to be very scared 5 stars
12/18/02 shawshank redemption watch it on my dvd - its great stuff!! 5 stars
12/17/02 The Talking Elbow Best horror film ever 5 stars
12/06/02 GIA a little bit of fear and nothing more 4 stars
11/01/02 Natas Luciferi Best Fucking movie ever!! 5 stars
10/31/02 Josh Scary as hell 5 stars
10/29/02 jordon The best film of all time 5 stars
10/12/02 Huddy Plot , Suspense , Gore , A True Horror Masterpiece, They dont make em like they used to! 5 stars
10/09/02 Charles Tatum One of Carpenter's best...John, what happened? 5 stars
9/24/02 Big Boot Windows really does get booted, brilliant film + game 5 stars
8/18/02 Larry O'Connor The greatest horror movie of all time 5 stars
8/18/02 Film Dude This is how horror is made. 5 stars
8/16/02 R.J. MacReady A Masterpiece. The film by which all other films are judged. outpost31.com 5 stars
8/09/02 Tyner probably the best sci-fi/horror movie ever fucking made. Highest recommendation! 5 stars
7/20/02 Film Guy Not really what i expected but still it was OK 3 stars
7/08/02 warren small this film changed my life in a way i look at movies today. i rate other films based on john 5 stars
6/10/02 emilobile No this film is not crap it ownz j00 5 stars
5/26/02 Robert Carter This movie is exactly what Scott Weinberg said! AWESOME! 5 stars
5/24/02 Kyle Holy shit... Carpenter is God. 5 stars
5/18/02 Phoenix Truly a well done horror. Carpenter's last great horror movie. 5 stars
5/14/02 you i love horer moie that have gore in them 5 stars
4/26/02 Charles Tatum Carpenter's best behind "Halloween" 5 stars
4/16/02 Smirnoff Just got around to seeing it. Monsters and gore galore! Right up my alley! Yeah!!! ;) 5 stars
4/16/02 DA MAN DA BEST! 5 stars
4/08/02 Film Dude Wow. 5 stars
4/05/02 Scott Sumner I hate horror flicks, and this one rocked... 5 stars
4/04/02 Ron Simply the best of its Kind 5 stars
4/02/02 Rockitman007 One of the Best Horror movies ever....... 5 stars
3/24/02 Katie paranoia... 5 stars
2/27/02 Alan Smithee Anyone who considers themselves a horran fan should own this DVD. A truly great film. 5 stars
1/25/02 murat what the hell is this ??? where is the real john work and childs ,nauls and the others 1 stars
12/21/01 Shams Huque Awesome. There's no other word for it. 5 stars
12/21/01 Andy Hall You don't watch the Thing- You exist in the Thing. An amazing film. 5 stars
12/02/01 J_man One of the best horror films ever made. A classic! 5 stars
12/01/01 Scottish Kilt A great original horror movie, much better than the crap out today. 4 stars
11/30/01 Rutt13 Incredible effects make CGI look piss-poor. A classic, intense 5 stars
9/29/01 Phoenix Why don't more people like this film. It's scarier than most horror films today. 4 stars
9/29/01 Palaboy VERY creepy and scary! 5 stars
8/31/01 Henry Ginsberg Theres only one thing that stickes in my mind about this film-the bass ostinato. 4 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Terrifyingly claustrophobic...this is an underrated Carpenter classic. 5 stars
8/06/01 Todd (Thing-Freak) #1 film of all time...perfect suspense/horror!! 5 stars
7/15/01 Mark Risko HANDS DOWN the best John Carpenter and Kurt Russell movie ever made! 5 stars
7/11/01 Matthew Bartley Faultless.And remember,watch Clark, you hear me... 5 stars
6/24/01 Alexander Wheill Carpenter's best, Cinematic History's Best 5 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung Now that's a scary horror movie. 5 stars
3/12/01 james "bite me" womack This is arguable the best, most fright inducing horror movie of all times. 5 stars
3/11/01 The Knowby Warrior This is not "a" movie. This is THE definitive movie. MacReady is my personal Jim Morrison. 5 stars
2/18/01 Talon An absolute gem of a film,mindnumbingly scary and sickeningly gory. 5 stars
2/17/01 jk this is not a scary film !!!! 1 stars
2/15/01 viking This'll scare you !!!! 5 stars
2/04/01 Gary Bradley The most interesting & surreal alien I've seen 5 stars
1/14/01 Tim Gee Utterly radical, atmospheric mind blowing! 5 stars
12/24/00 bub the actors!!!! the score!!! everybody inVOLVED!!! 5 stars
12/04/00 Cristopher Revilla an underrated classic, thanks to ET 5 stars
11/25/00 Andrew "The Thing" is a work of art. Destroys any CGI bullshit made today. 5 stars
9/19/00 homer simpson beats all modern horroh flicks 100percent 5 stars
6/30/00 Deckard Ranks right up there with 'Alien' as the best Sci-Fi/Horror movie ever. 5 stars
6/21/00 Doc Watch Clark. Watch him close.... 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Made "Kyle" here pull a major "Stan". This would be a good thing. 5 stars
12/23/99 the Grinch Absolutely flawless... 5 stars
12/18/99 bullit17 scary as hell 5 stars
12/14/99 Matthew Bartley Fantastic...still scary now 5 stars
12/13/99 JonnyAngel Gave me nightmares in '89 5 stars
12/08/99 Scary Joe this movie kicked ass ! and that music..."bump bump bump bump"....it rules! 5 stars
11/24/99 little jerry How this film bombed in '82 is beyond me.Still the benchmark for Sci/Fi horror effects. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1982 (R)
  DVD: 26-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast