More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.69

Awesome85.62%
Worth A Look: 6.16%
Average: 3.42%
Pretty Bad: 1.37%
Total Crap: 3.42%

8 reviews, 244 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Thing, The (1982)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"A classic, and I will not hear any dissent on this matter."
5 stars

The nation's critics were still floating in the warm bath of Steven Spielberg's "E.T.," with its reassurance that aliens were froggy, friendly folk who enjoyed Reese's Pieces, when John Carpenter farted at the hug-fest. The fart was called "The Thing," and it was treated -- by disinterested audiences as well as appalled critics -- very much like a room-clearing ass bomb:

"There are times when we seem to be sticking our heads right down into the bloody, stinking maw of the unknown... Basically just a geek show, a gross-out movie..." - Roger Ebert

"...It is so bloody and horrible that it is more disgusting and disgraceful than it is frightening..." - Rex Reed

"Thoroughly disgusting...Not for anyone, particularly children." - Lynn Minton, Movie Guide for Puzzled Parents

Now, I love E.T., but there's always room for its antithesis. And Carpenter's paranoid classic -- one of his best, easily up there with Halloween -- had to wait until video and cable, and finally a densely packed DVD, to get its full due. Those who compared it to Howard Hawks' colloquial 1952 version of John W. Campbell's novella missed the mark: Carpenter's Thing is more like what might've happened if John Ford had adapted Lovecraft. Carpenter and special-effects wizard Rob Bottin (only in his early twenties at the time) actually did what Lovecraft was always alluding to -- they visualized the unspeakable, imagined the unimaginable.

Kurt Russell, in the third of five movies with Carpenter, looks at first glance like a furrier variation on Snake Plissken, the grim and surly anti-hero of the Escape from... movies. "Cheating bitch," Russell's MacReady grunts as he dumps a glass of ice into a chess computer. But MacReady is probably the most conventional of Carpenter's heroes. In the context of Outpost #13, he's the level head, the regular guy, unimpressed but not unflappable. You know things are paranoid around the base when the men suspect MacReady of being the shape-shifting Thing (and, of course, there's been fan speculation that MacReady is the Thing -- its most successful manifestation, willing to freeze along with Childs at the end, knowing that someone will arrive and dig it up sooner or later).

The Thing begins with a sequence unmatched by anything else in Carpenter's work. Ominously bland shots of the Antarctic profile, then a beautiful white-gray husky pursued by manic Norwegians in a black helicopter. I like to view the one with the rifle -- who approaches the men, shouting words of warning they can't understand, and then opens fire on the dog, wounding one of the men -- as the unlucky Norwegian version of MacReady; I like to imagine this being the ironic end of a Thing prequel, wherein the heroes chase the Thing to an American military base after devastating losses at their own base, and then, as in Night of the Living Dead, get blown away for their troubles ... while the monster in its fuzzy, frisky new form snuggles up to its fresh banquet of victims. End credits. Now, that would be a killer Carpenter movie. (Many fans thirst for a sequel; personally, I'd prefer the prequel.)

Some critics have complained that the men at the outpost have no particular personalities, and therefore it doesn't make much difference when the Thing takes them over. It's an easy and tired shot to take. We are, after all, picking these men up during a long tour of duty at the ass end of Antarctica. They are generally bored and demoralized, playing cards or ping-pong, getting stoned while watching old tapes of game shows or porno. Until the Thing arrives, the men don't seem to have much to do except kill time and, presumably, count the days till they're out of there. It's supposed to be a military outpost, but except for the rigid Garry (Donald Moffat) this crew couldn't seem less military. They have more in common with the scruffy screw-ups in Carpenter's feature debut Dark Star than with the soldiers in the Hawks original.

And the men do have personalities; aside from the aforementioned MacReady and Garry, we have the deceptively dyspeptic Blair (Wilford Brimley), who loses his shit and trashes a communications room; the roller-skating Nauls (T.K. Carter), gliding around to the beat of Stevie Wonder and complaining that someone left their nasty underwear in his kitchen; Childs (Keith David), a skeptical bad-ass ("You believe this voodoo bullshit?") closer in temperament to MacReady than anyone else; Clark (Richard Masur), the big, bearded dog handler, who gets my favorite line ("I dunno, but it's weird and pissed off, whatever it is"); the affable Copper (Richard Dysart), who sports a tiny nose ring (an odd thing for a man his age to have in a 1982 movie); the soft and tentative Norris (Charles Hallahan), who's "not up to" taking charge; the stoner Palmer (David Clennon), who offers to take MacReady up in the chopper but immediately gets dismissed ("Hey, thanks for thinkin' about it, though"); the irritable Bennings (Peter Maloney), who secures his status as a Carpenter character by taking a chug of liquor while waiting for someone to tend to his shot-up leg; the haunted-looking Windows (Thomas G. Waites), seemingly driven around the bend because he's in charge of communications and can't find anyone out there; and the bookish Fuchs (Joel Polis), who suggests that the men start eating out of cans, raising an image of the Thing disguised as a turkey leg and waiting patiently to be ingested.

Maybe what the critics meant is that the men aren't likable, or at least not in the usual plastic Hollywood way. They're just guys doing a job. They're not heroes, and with the possible exception of Kurt Russell they're not fantasy material for teenage girls. No doubt about it, The Thing -- like Halloween -- couldn't be made the same way today. There isn't even a woman to provide romantic tension; the film is pared down to the essentials: The Men and The Thing. After a while, the movie takes on a clothesline structure -- one Thing sequence after another, until the apocalyptic finish. Carpenter, aided by cinematographer Dean Cundey and editor Todd Ramsay (to say nothing of creature-maker Bottin), stages each Thing encounter with a master's eye for shock building on shock.

The first sequence, after the eerily calm husky is led into the dog cages and left alone, is almost cruelly intense, emphasizing the terrified helplessness of the dogs (one of which is seen trying to chew its way through the cage). The centerpiece of the film -- two bookend nightmares, the unfortunate defibrillation attempt on Norris and the exquisitely drawn-out blood-test scene -- contains everything you could want to know about horror filmmaking. Bodies are torn apart and redesigned; men howl and scream to echo their attacker; flailing limbs smash a lightbulb situated far too high to be smashed by flailing limbs under normal circumstances -- the chaos is electrifying.

It all leads to a typically moody, ambiguous Carpenter ending; after MacReady has fed the beast a generous helping of TNT (with the priceless sentiment "Yeah, fuck you too"), he and Childs sit across from each other in the lethal cold while the outpost burns behind them. "If we have any surprises for each other," MacReady sighs, "I don't think we're in much shape to do anything about it." He's right. The survivors will almost certainly freeze and die, but the threat has passed -- unless, of course, particles from the burning Thing rise up with the thick smoke, combine with clouds, and release themselves as raindrops over a major city or three.

Even if that doesn't strike you as a reasonable possibility, "The Thing" doesn't leave you with much hope. Carpenter usually doesn't. He's famous, after all, for the chilling montage of houses at the end of "Halloween" -- places the killer has been and could be again, all over the neighborhood. Here, the neighborhood is Earth, with a lot more places -- and people -- to hide in.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2453&reviewer=416
originally posted: 09/20/06 10:11:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 ScreamFest L.A. Horror Festival. For more in the 2004 ScreamFest L.A. series, click here.
Horror Remakes: For more in the Horror Remakes series, click here.

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell nightmarish sci-fi horror awesome creature effects 5 stars
9/08/16 Bobby Dazzler A very suspenseful and gripping sci-fi horror movie that delivers the goods every time. 5 stars
4/27/16 Ken A sci-fi horror masterpiece by John Carpenter and starring Kurt Russell. 5 stars
4/21/16 Nick Awesome movie. I can't believe it was looked at negatively when first released. 5 stars
3/29/16 Aj wales Precinct 13 with an alien. 5 stars
6/19/14 Khlysty A nihilistic nightmare and a perfect film 5 stars
3/24/14 Justin R. Very amazing film! 5 stars
3/20/13 Daniel M. John Carpenter's best film 5 stars
3/05/13 Son of Celluloid The rarest of the rare...a good remake. 4 stars
11/05/12 Marty Fun sci-fi movie. Plenty of WTF gore moments. Suspenseful. 4 stars
9/29/12 roscoe Could've gotten to the great stuff faster, but still, great cast, effects, and suspense. 4 stars
1/18/12 Marc DC Too much gore, not enough suspense... 2 stars
10/13/11 The Betpet Just simply awesome! 5 stars
7/01/11 jmoore Amazing movie, you either love it or hate it. 5 stars
2/24/11 JonRandall A perfect film and the best of it's genre. Belongs on top 100 list 5 stars
2/20/11 Ark Kickass! the ending was especially powerful! 5 stars
5/22/10 dr.evil K.R. pouring his drink into his computer was needless silliness. Unlikeable characters all 3 stars
5/03/10 PAUL SHORTT POINTLESS REMAKE WITH REVOLTING SPECIAL EFFECTS 1 stars
1/06/10 art STICK TO THE 1951 verison INSTEAD! 1 stars
12/15/09 TravisN One of my 10 favorite films of all time (alien is too) 5 stars
11/02/09 art A DISGUSTING MOVIE! 1 stars
10/30/09 Omar John Carpenter's sci-fi/horror masterpiece. 5 stars
10/24/09 Sad52 He purposefully chose the "lightest" student in the classroom to carry out a task 4 stars
10/23/09 Merlin19 Hope for the future can trump the fear to risk reaching for it. , 5 stars
10/23/09 Stinky70 That's what I've gleaned from interviews thus far. , 5 stars
9/14/09 Erik Bauer Amazing movie...Carpenter's Masterpiece. 5 stars
8/19/09 Jon B Overrated splatter film that lacks the careful pacing or brilliance of greats like 'Alien' 3 stars
3/29/09 malcolm this classic holds up almost 30 years later 4 stars
11/10/08 Otis Classic about paranoia juiced up by great effects. 5 stars
10/07/08 blah blah simple don die cunt 5 stars
9/22/08 don Garbage. Inferior to Halloween in every way possible. 1 stars
6/17/08 Johnnyfaye With an amazing story and an unanswerable who is it plot? The horror is just a great desset 5 stars
4/26/08 Vinnie A Masterpiece, even after all these years 5 stars
4/19/08 renjith narayanan awesome movie...hard to believe it was made in the early 80s.. 5 stars
3/28/08 Robert Cant believe Ive just seen this for the first time, possibly the best horror movie ever 5 stars
1/26/08 Gene Nigra THE BEST OF THE BEST 5 stars
10/27/07 ahnold Be prepared for maybe too much gore, but EXCELLENT dialogue, character interaction & story. 5 stars
9/30/07 Chris This is the best horror movie Ive ever , not much more to add 5 stars
9/24/07 Pete1976 "The Thing" rock, will never tire of watching this flick, Carpenters best, without a doubt 5 stars
9/15/07 MP Bartley WATCH CLARK...and watch him close, y'hear me? 5 stars
7/17/07 Jamez Paranoia & Isolation-Childs was THE THING @ the end! 5 stars
7/08/07 Tom Servo A true cinematic anomaly, the perfect horror film-verdict= A+ 5 stars
6/02/07 al smith the best horror film without a shadow of doubt and one of the best films ever 5 stars
3/18/07 Hey Sweden Greatest film ever,bar none. 5 stars
2/14/07 Double M Eerie ambiguous PARANOID hell. 1 of the few movies that scared the *beep* out of me.Classic 5 stars
1/27/07 action movie fan exciting suspensful extremely gruesome though-the best film of 1982 5 stars
1/16/07 David Pollastrini very well done 4 stars
10/21/06 cody a cool movie with lot gore and freaky parts that hair stand up your arms 4 stars
10/15/06 Ron Newbold Close to the short story and absolutely excellent!! 5 stars
10/13/06 AJ Muller Greatest.Horror.Flick.EVER. And so much more than a mere remake. 5 stars
10/04/06 K.Sear The better of the 2 good Carpenter movies. 5 stars
10/01/06 michael better than what you would see on TV 4 stars
9/20/06 James Craig Brilliant! One of the best horror films ever made. 5 stars
9/02/06 ES best movie ever made 5 stars
8/01/06 DARREN GOODAL TIMELESS 5 stars
7/12/06 David Cohen Loud, gory and filled with unlikable characters, I walked out 1 stars
7/04/06 andrew bernard the best effects and monsters i've seen! 5 stars
6/19/06 Toney Burkhart One of the best ever SF Movies! 5 stars
6/12/06 William Goss An all-time horror favorite. Holds up terrifically; wouldn't mind an anniversary rerelease. 5 stars
4/22/06 floozy It is a classic. Screw CGI! Movies are better this way - Carpenter shows it 5 stars
2/25/06 Robert Wonderfully and genuinely suspenseful. A far better film than the 1951 original! 5 stars
12/03/05 cr a gory scfi flick with kurt russell, cool visual effects but slow with bad ending 3 stars
11/22/05 Kurtis J. Beard A classic. Carpenter at his best. 4 stars
11/18/05 John Dog Carpenter's Best. 5 stars
11/13/05 cypress great horror movie, keeps you guessing, suspenseful and full of action 5 stars
11/11/05 Mark Radburn A Must-see Monster Movie 5 stars
11/04/05 baseball-nut I've always liked this film but the "Thing's" costume was poor compared to todays standards 3 stars
11/01/05 Blutarsky The Thing rocks like nobody's bizness. 5 stars
10/25/05 ShadowFace5 One of my all time favorites. Along with The Fly remake. 5 stars
10/16/05 Johnny Most likely the best horror movie ever! 5 stars
10/14/05 ram1brn SHOULD NOT ALLOW REMAKES 1 stars
8/25/05 salamone I thought it was OK. 3 stars
8/17/05 Nick Not just horror, one of my favorite movies period 5 stars
8/15/05 Christine Hosie one of the best flicks of all time, Carpenter left the ending open and did the unthinkable 5 stars
8/12/05 ES clearly the best movie ever made, even viewers today are impressed with this triumph 5 stars
8/11/05 ALDO REAL effects, not George Lucas crap. Carpenter's score is cool. Kurt Russell has a beard 5 stars
7/16/05 TheViper Just plain awesome, great suspense and action. 5 stars
7/01/05 Vic Crap 1 stars
6/10/05 Speed Awesome claustraphobic film 5 stars
5/30/05 Burnt OK...but over over rated... 3 stars
4/17/05 Cary Gordon One of the best remakes ever! 5 stars
3/29/05 mwildeman Lots of bad things came out of the 80's, this is not one of them. 5 stars
3/26/05 JC Pierce Cool for it's time 4 stars
3/25/05 Regis Malone The best movie remake made in the 1980s. 5 stars
3/18/05 indrid cold Makes "Alien" look like Sesame Street. Why does nobody know about this movie? 5 stars
3/12/05 Mr. Slave "Yeah, fuck you, too!" Best horror movie ever! 5 stars
3/09/05 LarryV Fun Alien-clone with a clever twist. 4 stars
3/09/05 Los Daddy CLASSIC!!...Standard for SciFi/Horror..."you gotta be f@!kin kiddin me" 5 stars
1/13/05 Tom Benton One of the best sci-fi movies ever; Carpenter has made a frightening masterpiece; awesome. 5 stars
1/09/05 keithers.. it scared you so your never watching it again...did i read that right ? 5 stars
12/15/04 Vicious An excellent bit of lovecraft influenced sci fi horror, second only to alien. 5 stars
11/20/04 Mark This film scaried me to death The Thing sucks I'm not watching it again 1 stars
11/18/04 Jews for Hitler You gotta be fucking kidding me!!!! Loved when the head sprouted legs! 5 stars
11/06/04 Dunce The one time the remake is better than the original - best of Carpenters' career. 5 stars
11/05/04 wiss fuking-good like the head 5 stars
11/01/04 I don't care if... The Thing is imitating Oscar-winner Affleck & ripped The Fish a new face. hehe 5 stars
10/29/04 armo precedes resevoir dogs in its finale 5 stars
10/25/04 Tom Ciorciari Maybe not as smart as the original, but one of the scariest films of all time! 4 stars
10/24/04 Vince Carpenter's best. Russell perfect. Classic Horror. 5 stars
10/21/04 Shams Huque One of my all time favourite films. Incredible. 5 stars
10/15/04 Don Eckert The greatest horror movie ever made. Simply a masterpiece! 5 stars
9/20/04 Lord Durvok 2 Words can't describe the immensity of this film. 5 stars
9/18/04 Michael I never got the love for this movie. Not exciting or particularly well-done, just average 3 stars
9/16/04 ABRADOX The Thing - Best horror!!! 5 stars
8/28/04 Goggman The greatest horror movie I have ever seen. So original and frightening! 5 stars
8/25/04 K Man anybody who hates this movie obviously needs brain surgery. THIS MOVIE ROCKS! 5 stars
8/25/04 Gray good film but not a great film (i.e. Braveheart) 4 stars
8/20/04 ELI Original sucked compared to this one 5 stars
8/10/04 Monster W. Kung "Careful attention of original"!?! This is much closer to the original story, dumbass. 5 stars
7/14/04 DM Amazingly effective, despite the constant "Hey, let's split up" stupidities 5 stars
7/08/04 "Meth Lab" for Dummies. FUCK YOU 'Daveman'... God you're stupid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/04/04 Daveman The careful attention to tone n' genuine scares of the original are nowhere to be seen here 2 stars
7/03/04 American Slasher Goddess Great acting, atmosphere, direction, everything about this movie is perfect. 5 stars
6/29/04 Jon Best of its genre, EVER! 5 stars
6/20/04 Braveheart Scared shitless... See it at 3 in the morning alone in an empty drafty house. 5 stars
5/28/04 T-Shirt Guy Kurt Russel rules! 5 stars
5/24/04 Bob MacReady Best movie of the 1980s. 5 stars
5/16/04 MKM Hell Yeah! 5 stars
5/15/04 Gary intense and well filmed 5 stars
5/15/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it Saw this at a special screening in 1982 and IT BLEW ME AWAY! 5 stars
5/14/04 PAYNE Without a doubt, this deserves a sequeal, "The THING II" Coming 2004 5 stars
5/13/04  Shaun Rose What can I say? This movie is Awesome 5 stars
5/13/04 Me great acting, great effects, great movie 5 stars
5/09/04 Alex I don't think I've ever felt such animosity for ANY reviewer before, EVER, than darkofnight 5 stars
5/09/04 Movie Nerd The best horror movie of the '80s! 5 stars
5/05/04 J.Peckerfoot Personal film lesson #46 ignore bad reviews of The Thing-it rocks. 5 stars
4/30/04 Co McPhee Excellent film, very enjoyable - great performances all round 5 stars
4/25/04 Fate - (You should give people more to say if you want proper feedback Critics need:To know how to judge movies, Lose perverse mouth, A life besides raping movies 5 stars
4/17/04 BaztarD_101 The blood test scene rules!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/07/04 Sig WOW... uh, wow?... Oh, WOW! 5 stars
4/04/04 Prospector McGraw darkofnight is a goddamn idiot (and a long-winded one at that). Carpenter's best film. 5 stars
3/30/04 American Slasher Goddess A modern day classic,Carpenter's best,besides Halloween. 5 stars
3/29/04 Cheryl An incredible, terrifying ride. I envy those who haven't seen it. 5 stars
3/26/04 Alfred Guy Every movie has flaws & cont. errors. Bottom line this movie is awesome! 5 stars
3/23/04 KGB cool 5 stars
3/23/04 R.J God darkofnight stop being fat and start being cool shit this movie rocks! 5 stars
3/22/04 Keifer Sutherland_RULZ A instant classic without a dobut. Better than 'Body Snatchers' 5 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern Now why can't either Hollywood or even, John Carpenter make something like this???????????? 5 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. THIS SHOULD HAVE A SEQUEAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ Highly Entertaining and Frightening...!?!~! 5 stars
3/09/04 Sean McLean One of the most effective and terrifying claustrophic horror films ever made. 5 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge The bomb. The alien mutations are glorious and the plot is as tight as a clam's ass. 5 stars
2/16/04 Monster W. Kung A truly scary and horrific alien movie; I don't know what darkofnight was watching. 5 stars
2/16/04 the gourd Someone should seriously kill this retard, everything flies over your stupid head, go die. 5 stars
2/13/04 jdogg darkofnight is an idiot! he hates everything!! 5 stars
2/13/04 Jack Sommersby An atmospheric, eerie, nerve-jangling masterpiece. Stellar acting. 5 stars
1/16/04 T^im The best horror movie ever filmed. 5 stars
12/15/03 Falco This norwegian loved it. "Det der er ikke noen bikkje, det er en slags ting!" 5 stars
12/06/03 Agent Sands I don't like the dog deaths, but the FX are cool. 3 stars
11/27/03 John a tour de force from beginning to end 5 stars
11/21/03 Gray good shit 5 stars
11/08/03 Miguel Ángel Puerta Pérez La mejor película de terror, ciencia ficción y suspense que se ha creado jamás. 5 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess Beautifully done. Carpenter best film outside of Halloween. 5 stars
10/26/03 Samuel This movie could have a sequel, but i'd hate to see it ruines like every other.... 5 stars
10/11/03 Lawson H. Wright A sci-fi/horror masterpiece! Aside from "Alien", name one film out there that's scarier... 5 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant They don't get much better than this. Carpenter's 2nd best to Halloween. 5 stars
9/04/03 eddie greatness. quality from all involved, including fx god rob bottin. if you disagree, die. 5 stars
8/15/03 Sammy possibly one of the best horror movies ever 5 stars
8/05/03 Spud Reynolds One very scary shitkicker of a flick. 5 stars
7/30/03 Jake I can't stand gross out movies with goverment acting. 2 stars
7/17/03 MadMatt One of the best Sci-fi/Horror movies of all time!!! 5 stars
7/12/03 john roberts pitch-perfect performances; disturbingly realistic sense of dread and insidious paranoia. 5 stars
7/09/03 j lo you need to make another one 4 stars
7/08/03 WWE HHH-HATE CLUB WHO WAS THE INFECTED ONE IN END? 5 stars
7/04/03 Dave Hopman Exactly! 5 stars
7/01/03 AD johns best 5 stars
6/29/03 Dave Hopman John Carpenter at his best.... 5 stars
6/23/03 AD one of the most creepyest films ever great score as well 5 stars
6/20/03 Sammy creepy and it gets better every time you watch it 5 stars
6/05/03 Mike My 2nd favorite mmovie behind Evil Dead. 5 stars
4/11/03 dionwr loved it really its the best film ever made after the shawshank redemption 5 stars
4/10/03 Martin Blackler well ahead of its time. A timeless classic 5 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Carpenter's masterpiece. Wonderfully atmospheric and creepy. Acting is top-notch. 5 stars
3/11/03 beehotch See at all costs. Fuck you, whoever hated it. 5 stars
2/01/03 dionwr Great specifics with TERRIBLE everything else 2 stars
1/29/03 wintermute Do you beleive this Voodoo Bullshit? I LOVE this movie! 5 stars
1/28/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer Fan-f'ing-tastic stuff. Gruesome. 5 stars
1/13/03 Jason Awesome must see movie 5 stars
12/28/02 Ally Gator The only movie to ever make me physically ill. Well done for what it is. 3 stars
12/21/02 palaboy101 get ready to be very scared 5 stars
12/18/02 shawshank redemption watch it on my dvd - its great stuff!! 5 stars
12/17/02 The Talking Elbow Best horror film ever 5 stars
12/06/02 GIA a little bit of fear and nothing more 4 stars
11/01/02 Natas Luciferi Best Fucking movie ever!! 5 stars
10/31/02 Josh Scary as hell 5 stars
10/29/02 jordon The best film of all time 5 stars
10/12/02 Huddy Plot , Suspense , Gore , A True Horror Masterpiece, They dont make em like they used to! 5 stars
10/09/02 Charles Tatum One of Carpenter's best...John, what happened? 5 stars
9/24/02 Big Boot Windows really does get booted, brilliant film + game 5 stars
8/18/02 Larry O'Connor The greatest horror movie of all time 5 stars
8/18/02 Film Dude This is how horror is made. 5 stars
8/16/02 R.J. MacReady A Masterpiece. The film by which all other films are judged. outpost31.com 5 stars
8/09/02 Tyner probably the best sci-fi/horror movie ever fucking made. Highest recommendation! 5 stars
7/20/02 Film Guy Not really what i expected but still it was OK 3 stars
7/08/02 warren small this film changed my life in a way i look at movies today. i rate other films based on john 5 stars
6/10/02 emilobile No this film is not crap it ownz j00 5 stars
5/26/02 Robert Carter This movie is exactly what Scott Weinberg said! AWESOME! 5 stars
5/24/02 Kyle Holy shit... Carpenter is God. 5 stars
5/18/02 Phoenix Truly a well done horror. Carpenter's last great horror movie. 5 stars
5/14/02 you i love horer moie that have gore in them 5 stars
4/26/02 Charles Tatum Carpenter's best behind "Halloween" 5 stars
4/16/02 Smirnoff Just got around to seeing it. Monsters and gore galore! Right up my alley! Yeah!!! ;) 5 stars
4/16/02 DA MAN DA BEST! 5 stars
4/08/02 Film Dude Wow. 5 stars
4/05/02 Scott Sumner I hate horror flicks, and this one rocked... 5 stars
4/04/02 Ron Simply the best of its Kind 5 stars
4/02/02 Rockitman007 One of the Best Horror movies ever....... 5 stars
3/24/02 Katie paranoia... 5 stars
2/27/02 Alan Smithee Anyone who considers themselves a horran fan should own this DVD. A truly great film. 5 stars
1/25/02 murat what the hell is this ??? where is the real john work and childs ,nauls and the others 1 stars
12/21/01 Shams Huque Awesome. There's no other word for it. 5 stars
12/21/01 Andy Hall You don't watch the Thing- You exist in the Thing. An amazing film. 5 stars
12/02/01 J_man One of the best horror films ever made. A classic! 5 stars
12/01/01 Scottish Kilt A great original horror movie, much better than the crap out today. 4 stars
11/30/01 Rutt13 Incredible effects make CGI look piss-poor. A classic, intense 5 stars
9/29/01 Phoenix Why don't more people like this film. It's scarier than most horror films today. 4 stars
9/29/01 Palaboy VERY creepy and scary! 5 stars
8/31/01 Henry Ginsberg Theres only one thing that stickes in my mind about this film-the bass ostinato. 4 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Terrifyingly claustrophobic...this is an underrated Carpenter classic. 5 stars
8/06/01 Todd (Thing-Freak) #1 film of all time...perfect suspense/horror!! 5 stars
7/15/01 Mark Risko HANDS DOWN the best John Carpenter and Kurt Russell movie ever made! 5 stars
7/11/01 Matthew Bartley Faultless.And remember,watch Clark, you hear me... 5 stars
6/24/01 Alexander Wheill Carpenter's best, Cinematic History's Best 5 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung Now that's a scary horror movie. 5 stars
3/12/01 james "bite me" womack This is arguable the best, most fright inducing horror movie of all times. 5 stars
3/11/01 The Knowby Warrior This is not "a" movie. This is THE definitive movie. MacReady is my personal Jim Morrison. 5 stars
2/18/01 Talon An absolute gem of a film,mindnumbingly scary and sickeningly gory. 5 stars
2/17/01 jk this is not a scary film !!!! 1 stars
2/15/01 viking This'll scare you !!!! 5 stars
2/04/01 Gary Bradley The most interesting & surreal alien I've seen 5 stars
1/14/01 Tim Gee Utterly radical, atmospheric mind blowing! 5 stars
12/24/00 bub the actors!!!! the score!!! everybody inVOLVED!!! 5 stars
12/04/00 Cristopher Revilla an underrated classic, thanks to ET 5 stars
11/25/00 Andrew "The Thing" is a work of art. Destroys any CGI bullshit made today. 5 stars
9/19/00 homer simpson beats all modern horroh flicks 100percent 5 stars
6/30/00 Deckard Ranks right up there with 'Alien' as the best Sci-Fi/Horror movie ever. 5 stars
6/21/00 Doc Watch Clark. Watch him close.... 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Made "Kyle" here pull a major "Stan". This would be a good thing. 5 stars
12/23/99 the Grinch Absolutely flawless... 5 stars
12/18/99 bullit17 scary as hell 5 stars
12/14/99 Matthew Bartley Fantastic...still scary now 5 stars
12/13/99 JonnyAngel Gave me nightmares in '89 5 stars
12/08/99 Scary Joe this movie kicked ass ! and that music..."bump bump bump bump"....it rules! 5 stars
11/24/99 little jerry How this film bombed in '82 is beyond me.Still the benchmark for Sci/Fi horror effects. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-1982 (R)
  DVD: 26-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast