More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.64

Awesome84.27%
Worth A Look: 6.74%
Average: 3.37%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 5.62%

2 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Toy Story
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chef ADogg

"Leave your cynicism at the door, Tough Guy."
5 stars

And replace it with wide eyed wonder, bitch. Don’t think you’re above some great animation; I’m probably more biased against the art form than you, and I list “Toy Story” as one of my top twenty movies of all time with an utter absence of shame. It’s not just a cartoon—it’s a movie. There’s a big difference, and director John Lasseter fortunately understands what elevates animation to art.

“Toy Story” employs a smart, simple premise that should appeal to a) children and b) anyone who was ever a kid and played with toys. Since you’re alive and able to read this review, I assume you fall into one category or the other; as is such, I personally guarantee satisfaction with this product.

The plot revolves around a group of toys that come to life and get in adventures whenever their master, Andy, leaves the room. If that doesn’t get your inner child all antsy and ready to spill his bladder, I pity you. Honestly. I always fantasized about my playthings’ double lives when I was a kid, and I bet you did, too. All who claim they never entertained such a notion can raise their hands now and then smack themselves for being such blatant liars.

The plot rocks, and so does the animation. This was the first full length feature generated entirely by computers, and if you think that sounds like nothing more than a cheap and lazy gimmick, you should stop being a dreary pessimist and start realizing just how well the visuals work for the story—we’re supposed to be filled with childlike wonder, and how better to achieve that than through state of the art, mind bending animation?

The good surface is backed by two things, both equally important if this movie is to be considered great. First, the script—witty, warm, and touching, it’s probably the best screenplay ever written for an animated feature. The dialogue reminds me of old movies like “Casablanca” and “Citizen Kane,” and I can honestly say I’m not overstating anything by saying that. The characters always have the right lines for the right situation—the kind of lines that strike you as extremely funny while advancing the story so subtly you don’t even realize everything is moving.

The other key ingredient is the cast—Lasseter and company have stocked “Toy Story” with the kind of talent it takes to make a cartoon really come alive. The performers really get into it, and that’s a big part of the magic—you forget that the people you’re listening to have famous faces and big names; they become the characters and serve the film extremely well.

In short: “Toy Story” is, hands down, the best animated film of all time. It’s charming, spritely, and beautifully made. Anybody who doesn’t like it can go sit in the corner for awhile. And then, after you’ve made up your mind to be a normal person, you can come chill with the rest of us in front of the TV and peep what a true classic is.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2472&reviewer=123
originally posted: 11/28/99 16:58:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

2/19/15 yulfiana stupid film 1 stars
1/06/15 brandon very childish movie 1 stars
1/05/15 gtox i asleep when i watch this movie 1 stars
8/25/13 Dr Devil One of the best CGI films ever. Budget films won't ever top this. 5 stars
10/19/11 Magic Widely known to be Pixar's masterpiece. And for good reason. 5 stars
1/09/11 Pamela White well done story with all my childhood favorite toys 5 stars
11/29/09 Aaron Commareri Awesome! 5 stars
8/30/09 Samantha Pruitt awesome movie, definitely not jsut for kids, a for sure classic! 5 stars
9/22/08 don Pixar's best 5 stars
5/28/08 PAUL SHORTT ONE OF THE FUNNIEST, EXCITING AND GENUINELY MOVING STORIES EVER COMMITED TO FILM 5 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White darling movie brought up childhood memories 5 stars
1/16/07 David Pollastrini great fx 4 stars
9/22/06 ProSneakyD The king of CG, funny & lightyears ahead for kids & adults, a classic to infinity & beyond 5 stars
8/17/06 David Cohen Brilliant, a rare example of a "family" film the whole family can enjoy 5 stars
6/11/06 Chris Hate to go with the majority but this is defintly on my top 20 list. Offers only the best. 5 stars
5/17/06 Ouchy wouchy bang bang No matter what, it's better than all the Pixar films 5 stars
4/03/06 JRE watch it. it's sooooo good 5 stars
4/02/06 chris f very good 5 stars
3/03/06 Anthony Feor Words can't describe 5 stars
12/31/05 Ronin Great, really really great :) highly recommended 5 stars
11/16/05 Mark Radburn An Absolute MasterPiece 5 stars
11/16/05 Adrian Introduces you to its world, then...you don't want to leave. 5 stars
7/22/05 Quigley a movie you will never stop loving. see it, see it, see it 5 stars
6/22/05 darick Worth watching many times over (1995, 1999, 2001, etc.) 5 stars
4/11/05 Paul A classic, one of my favorites and I recommend seeing it. 5 stars
2/06/05 clinger26 yes!!!!!! 5 stars
12/29/04 t-1000 this is the funniest pixar movie; the sequel has more action, though 5 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams made me a Disney believer again 5 stars
11/17/04 Gooey HELP! 1 stars
7/10/04 EricDSnider Brilliant, funny, nearly a perfect movie. 5 stars
6/03/04 Daveman Not as good as the second film, but still brilliant. 5 stars
6/02/04 876 To infinity and beyond!!! 4 stars
5/17/04 DM I loved it when I was 6 and I still do 5 stars
5/15/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it Pixar's first film...He shoots, he scores! 5 stars
5/07/04 gray charming 5 stars
2/29/04 Littlepurch The 2nd was better but, hey, it would never have been made if not for this!!! 4 stars
12/10/03 Ray This one is a classic 5 stars
12/08/03 john brilliant concept! 5 stars
11/13/03 jimmy d toy story was awonderful movie full of laughs until i was shot in the theater............. 5 stars
9/25/03 jimmy d the movie was very good, but i had to beat my child for screaming at the theater 5 stars
8/31/03 Double G Best one of series, didn't really like 2nd 5 stars
6/14/03 Alice Top !! YOU'R A TOY !!!! 5 stars
6/12/03 Kyle Kicks ass. 5 stars
6/11/03 Jon Lyrik I've LOVED this movie for years. 5 stars
12/08/02 Jay The best computer-animated movie. 5 stars
10/18/02 Charles Tatum Freakin' hilarious 5 stars
7/27/02 I Can't Swim Why does this site allow 6 year olds to post comments? See below! 5 stars
7/10/02 Henry Ginsberg HAG I love sex toy story 'BBBBBBBBBBBBBUUUUUUUUUUUUZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ' 5 stars
6/16/02 Justin The best fucking animated movie ever! Whoever doesn't like it is a faggot! 5 stars
6/14/02 erick HILARIOUS! 5 stars
4/13/02 oldgoatmon very cute and pretty witty. 4 stars
10/28/01 Andrew Carden Why Couldn't They Just Have A Movie About The Pig??? 3 stars
8/08/01 Amy Tippett wow 5 stars
8/07/01 Ted Villavicencio good plot, funny and groundbreaking animation 5 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa One of the best animated movies in the history of anything. So was "Toy Story 2." 5 stars
5/07/01 Desert Eagle good, for a disney 4 stars
4/10/01 Gary This was a hilarious movie. 5 stars
3/21/01 M.C.A Easily the best movie of 1995 5 stars
3/12/01 james "bite me" womack why cant all animated movies be paced this well? i, as a parent, would appreciate more 5 stars
2/16/01 Richard Wright One the most perfect films I've seen. Better than the sequel, no question. 5 stars
2/04/01 Avenger Girl Totally Awesome, a great picture for kids and big kids at heart 5 stars
12/27/00 Turtle A wonderfully crafted movie! Disney at its best! 4 stars
11/02/00 buzz still the best Pixar film yet! 5 stars
11/02/00 viking a land mark movie !!! 5 stars
8/09/00 Carsten Sux! 1 stars
6/26/00 Guy Nameless Wallace Shawn and Jim Varney kick ass 5 stars
5/27/00 master.node Good looking, but ultimately little more than fluff. 3 stars
5/26/00 LoonyGoon True entertainment for children and adults alike. A masterpiece. 5 stars
5/07/00 Klute. An animation landmark and a tale that will still be fresh in twenty years. 5 stars
4/11/00 Elvisfan Of course it was great. I'm not a corpse, for Christs sake 5 stars
3/19/00 Skye Chapman fun and amazing 5 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers Very, very, very, (it just goes on like this) very fast. Makes you dizzy. 3 stars
3/01/00 Heather I love this movie! 5 stars
3/01/00 Mic Thoroughly entertaining and enlightening, what more could you ask? 5 stars
2/27/00 Jed One of disney's best modern animated movies 5 stars
2/13/00 Richard Wright Even better than the sequel, which was brilliant in itself. An animated masterpiece. 5 stars
11/01/99 Ann 'This is ludicrous'-nope, just a modern classic 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Nov-1995 (G)
  DVD: 23-Mar-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  John Lasseter

Written by
  Joss Whedon
  Andrew Stanton
  Joel Cohen
  Alec Sokolow

Cast
  Tom Hanks
  Tim Allen
  Don Rickles
  Wallace Shawn
  Annie Potts
  Jim Varney



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast