More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.47

Awesome66.04%
Worth A Look: 22.64%
Average: 5.66%
Pretty Bad: 3.77%
Total Crap: 1.89%

1 review, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

White Storm, The by Jay Seaver

Giovanni's Island by Jay Seaver

Let's Be Cops by Daniel Kelly

Frank by Jay Seaver

Dead Snow: Red vs. Dead by Jay Seaver

Land Ho! by Jay Seaver

Another Me by Jay Seaver

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For by Brett Gallman

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For by Peter Sobczynski

If I Stay by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Tremors
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"A 90's comedy-horror film with 50's B-movie panache."
4 stars

In the B-movie tradition of "The Giant Slug-Like Monsters from Outer Space who Ate Everything" comes "Tremors", a hilarious homage to the drive-in horror movies of yore that succeeds in all the ways that other pretenders (Eight Legged Freaks) failed so miserably.

Certainly part of the appeal is in the cast. Kevin Bacon and Fred Ward (I fucking love that guy) play Val and Earl, two unemployed town yokels who live in a trailer together (But they're not Gay!), avoid work like it was Ebola, and constantly engage in high-spirited bickering. They live in "Perfection, Nevada", a flyspeck desert town populated with assorted kooky characters.

While out in the desert, Val and Earl are chased by some giant slug thing that is a straight ripoff of the sand worms from Frank Herbert's Dune (They burrow at incredible speeds and don't care much for water). They manage to kill it, only to find that this one was just the baby. Momma and Poppa are coming, and they're pissed! With the help of cute geology worker, Rhonda (Finn Carter), they rally the townspeople to fight off the sand slug invasion.

Drive-In Triple Feature Picks for Tremors:

There are two direct-to-video sequels, and the second one (in which they got Ward and Gross to come back), ain't half bad. But if that sounds like just too many slugs in one night, try these instead.

Maximum Overdrive - about trucks coming to life and terrorizing a small town, based on a Stephen King story.

The Blob- The 1958 classic!

Fuck that Eight-Legged Freaks bullshit!

Props to Bacon and Ward, whose buddy dynamic helps carry much of the film, as well as Michael Gross and Reba McEntyre as the local militant couple with a bunker full of guns.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2475&reviewer=258
originally posted: 09/01/02 07:33:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/22/10 michael prestage Watched HD version last night & fell in love with it all over again. No CGI = real thrills! 5 stars
1/04/10 Jeff Wilder Look up "cult movie" in the dictionary and you'll find this movie. 5 stars
9/16/08 Ravenwest Great film 5 stars
3/31/07 Offworlder This film is awesome fun! I can watch it over and over. 5 stars
2/23/07 Charles Tatum Loads of fun, a minor classic 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist A classic of my childhood; an automatic "to be owned " film legend!! 5 stars
8/07/06 Christy The first time I seen Tremors was when I was a little girl. I love the movies and series! 5 stars
6/25/06 MP Bartley A rollicking good time. Who doesn't love Tremors? 5 stars
11/26/05 cr a good scfi adventure flim and not stop fun 3 stars
10/12/05 Tom Burns a great scifi movie, a classic. 5 stars
8/31/05 ES Love this movie, watchable over and over again, fun and action packed 5 stars
7/23/05 Brandy Harrington Very overrated. 3 stars
7/06/05 Zach One of my all time favorites. 5 stars
6/20/05 Quigley why do you people like this crap!? there's better stuff on a shampoo bottle! really, sickos 1 stars
8/28/04 G-man giant man eating worms....awesome plot 5 stars
7/25/04 Mike Kidd Best damned B movie of all time 5 stars
6/16/04 franknutz great movie sequels good too 5 stars
1/08/04 Nevz Entertainment for the brainless moviegoer. The kids'll love it. 4 stars
1/04/04 American Slasher Goddess Extremely well done, you just don't see movies that this anymore. 5 stars
1/01/04 ruzz One of the best movies of the '90's! 5 stars
11/29/03 Samuel Better than part 2 or part 3 could ever be... 5 stars
7/11/03 Eloise funny as hell, i also liked 8 legged freaks, fewer laytex monsters but similar in theme 5 stars
6/15/03 Jerry GREAT 5 stars
4/02/03 Zach I love it. 5 stars
3/27/03 Jen I love this movie!! It's cheesy yeah, but fun! 5 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Pretty much a classic. Sags at the midway mark, but that's the only flaw I can see. 5 stars
2/04/03 Turtle Although it's not too scary, it's the best horror movie ever, and a darn great comedy too. 5 stars
10/09/02 Jim Worth watching just to see Reba and Michael open up a can of whup-ass on the giant slugs 5 stars
9/24/02 Film Dude who the fuck are you and who the fuck is andrew 5 stars
9/01/02 Miracle Max Monster movie with a light-hearted sense of humor, & Michael Gross as a gun-toting badass! 5 stars
8/05/02 KMG IT'S REALLY BORING 2 stars
4/17/02 Film Dude How could anyone NOT like this movie? *COUGH*andrewsucks*COUGH* 5 stars
4/06/02 VixenJ Nice graphics and cliched script.Nice for a saturday night 5 stars
4/03/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Delightful Romp, well-tuned cast. Reba McEntire acts well as singers go. 5 stars
1/18/02 Jimmy James this movie is great 5 stars
12/09/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Its one of those friday night movies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
11/30/01 Shams Huque Hilarious! 5 stars
11/04/01 R.W. Welch Well done throw-back to the golden age monster movies. Jolly fun. 4 stars
10/27/01 faididi Campy monster film a tribute to the ones in the 50's. With lots of hilarious cursing. 5 stars
10/11/01 Andrew Carden Way Too Stupid and Goofy To Se Scary, and Badly Wrritten Scripts. 2 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk The only contemporary monster movie that works in every way possible. Too cool. 5 stars
4/23/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Nothing more than an homage to B Monster Movies...but a damn good one, though. 4 stars
3/26/01 Mr. Bloodytoes Temors shows a version of what most of us played as children (stay off the ground games). 4 stars
1/21/01 fifu a cool movie a classic bacon movie 4 stars
12/27/00 Turtle I watched this movie every night for a week, and I never got tired of it. 5 stars
12/10/00 Gray Funny and entertaining & the monsters are more than ugly enough. 4 stars
7/31/00 Matthew Bartley Fantastic fun. A great lesson on how to make a blockbuster with a small budget 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Apr-1990 (PG-13)
  DVD: 29-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Ron Underwood

Written by
  Brent Maddock
  S.S. Wilson

Cast
  Kevin Bacon
  Fred Ward
  Finn Carter
  Michael Gross
  Victor Wong
  Reba McEntire



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast