More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.57

Awesome: 13.33%
Worth A Look: 13.33%
Average: 10%
Pretty Bad43.33%
Total Crap: 20%

4 reviews, 36 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

Judge, The by Peter Sobczynski

Over Your Dead Body by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Perfect Murder, A
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"It's a Blockbuster. Or at least that's where it belongs"
1 stars

Dial M For Murder has never been so disregarded as it was in this remake.

Don't know why anyone would remake a film that was so complete to begin with, but I guess it was bound to happen.

Michael (more wrinkles than Phyllis Diller) Douglas and Gwyneth (I'm in everything, anywhere, ever) Paltrow star in this remake of the Hitchcock classic, and it's all a big bore.

Not even going to go into it. It's lame. Video fare maybe. I spent $3 on it and wished I'd gone to McDonalds. Gwyneth ain't all that, sorry Ben, and Douglas needs to embrace his greyness.

I'm sure Gwyneth is capable of acting, I just haven't see her do it yet. As for Douglas, I kept forgetting which movie I was watching while he was on screen. He looked the same as he has in every movie he's ever done.

It was Gordon Gecko married to Emma.

Why does every artist in films have long hair and a six pack o'abs? Just wondering.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=25&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/13/98 13:09:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/12/08 PAUL SHORTT SIMPERS ALONG WITH RELATIVELY LITTLE SUSPENSE OR THRILLS 1 stars
1/15/07 Gloria Dornin Well, I will never trust what I think is true in relationship 5 stars
5/22/06 Jack Sommersby Stylish and suspenseful, with Douglas simply magnificent. 4 stars
5/28/05 Indrid Cold Well made, but just too cliche to be interesting. 3 stars
1/18/05 tatum Slick entertainment 4 stars
8/11/04 engel y. sarvida its incomparable! 4 stars
3/31/04 ray The reviewers who gave this bad marks are plainly jaded fools who can't spot clever dialog! 5 stars
1/27/04 Priscilla Postlethwaite Creepily effective with Gwyneth Paltrow better than usual 5 stars
9/29/03 Monster W. Kung "Let's do Hitchcock as a 3rd rate direct-to-video thriller!" Horrid, despicable crap. 1 stars
7/25/03 Shadaan Feleli Remake a Hitchcock Masterpiece ... WHAT ARE YOU CRAZY???? !!!!!! 2 stars
5/23/03 mr. Pink A pointless remake of Dial M for Murder. Everyone is at their worst in this dull movie 1 stars
4/19/03 Jin Lame with dull characters. 1 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Gwyneth's acting as bad as Viggo's painting. Scrub brush? Curious George method pilfered? 2 stars
1/01/03 KMG OF COURSE A GIRL WOULD LEAVE DOUGLAS' OLD KIWIS FOR VIGGO'S MANHOOD! 3 stars
1/01/03 Jack Sommersby A tense, stylish thriller. Douglas and Mortensen are outstanding! 4 stars
10/30/02 Patrick this has a good ending. 5 stars
10/12/02 Elizaveta Well...you could tell Douglas was nuts from the beginning. And what was with the Hebrew?! 3 stars
5/17/02 Priscilla Postelthwaite Creepily effective with Gwyneth Paltrow better than usual 5 stars
1/24/02 R.W. Welch Those who think they can improve on Hitchcock are living in a dream. 3 stars
8/10/01 E-Funk Thrilling remake of Hitchcock. Douglas is as evil as ever! 5 stars
8/05/01 Randy G Not good slow, sloppy and wasted characters. Mike D is showing his age. He will be much bet 2 stars
4/24/01 analucia all in all not a bad movie, good examples of different forms of deceit, not predictable 4 stars
2/11/01 Leather jacket Don't get any ideas...you're suppose to love your wife! 5 stars
6/26/00 stranded on the Island thoroughly enjoyable thriller, for Gwyneth P. fans a must--she is beautiful in this one! 5 stars
2/17/00 Bozo i loathe and despise the overrated paltrow and she is horrible in this as well 2 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Deliver me from Gwyneth Paltrow's perpetual I'm-in-pain expression. 3 stars
1/04/00 Nice Guy Eddie Gwyneth was great; this flick was better than most thrillers being put out now. Bad ending. 4 stars
8/14/99 Marshy No more Hitchcock remakes! This bites. 2 stars
1/14/99 Em Heard Gwyn dumped Ben for Viggo Mortensen. Hope she wasn't attracted to his acting ability 1 stars
12/11/98 Brent Suprised to see all the bad reviews here - I rather enjoyed it. 4 stars
10/14/98 Chi-Fan Hu Stupid Plot and a stupid movie 2 stars
9/12/98 Bart Barton Douglas is too old for this part 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball I actually enjoyed this, though Douglas grated on my nerves. 4 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee My popcorn was more interesting. 2 stars
8/16/98 Johny Fine enough to sit through 3 stars
8/13/98 {{OZ}} Bah. Gwyneth and Michael? Yeah right. Lame. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Jun-1998 (R)
  DVD: 08-Feb-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Oct-1998 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast