More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.62

Awesome: 31.91%
Worth A Look34.04%
Average: 8.51%
Pretty Bad: 14.89%
Total Crap: 10.64%

1 review, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Northern Borders by Jay Seaver

Arbor, The by Charles Tatum

Oculus by Jay Seaver

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Wiz, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Teen Movie Critic

"But I think you can manage to get through those two roadblocks to enjoy a fine musical."
4 stars

Based on the stage musical, a black version of "The Wizard of Oz", Diana Ross plays Dorothy, still following the Yellow Brick Road to the Emerald city.

With her by her side (as always) are the Scarecrow (Michael Jackson), the Tin Woodman (Nipsey Russell) and the Cowardly Lion (Ted Ross). Not as memorable as the acclaimed Judy Garland version, but certainly a lot more hip. It's got great musical numbers, a well-organized score from master composer Quincy Jones and some good performances from Jackson, Russell and Ross (Ted that is). The major nadirs are the disappointing ending and the whiny performance by Ross (Diana that is).

But I think you can manage to get through those two roadblocks to enjoy a fine musical.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2502&reviewer=48
originally posted: 12/18/99 06:46:02
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/17/14 uamnkqlxjj USA 5 stars
4/16/14 Ftbockoh USA 4 stars
4/16/14 shhmrg USA 5 stars
4/12/14 Nrocqygd USA 5 stars
4/08/14 cffrmqtib USA 3 stars
3/31/14 Jimmy Gimbels Over long, over done, over the top 2 stars
2/05/14 Pjhtsudu USA 5 stars
2/02/14 Cspyxvrg USA 2 stars
1/24/14 Vkevzsci USA 5 stars
6/04/12 jsd The movie was like a bad LSD trip,but you will remember it, 1 stars
2/25/11 Sam some humor and good music but Diana Ross was TERRIBLE 2 stars
2/25/11 Allison okay....kinda bad. unnececary singing about every 5 minutes. should i elaborate more? 3 stars
10/02/10 bored mom The reimagining concept itself isn't to blame, but the music is really not that good. 2 stars
5/11/10 PAUL SHORTT FLAT-FOOTED, MISCAST MODERN BLACK VARIATION ON THE WIZARD OF OZ 2 stars
1/26/10 R Lan If it wasn't for some of the music, this would have been a total disaster. 2 stars
11/09/08 Definitive_One THE WIZ IS a BRILLIANT and FANTASTIC FILM!! 5 stars
8/08/07 David Cohen Not great, but no where near as bad as legend says it is 3 stars
2/09/05 Nicole Great Movie, very exciting 4 stars
11/19/04 Khalecia It was the greatest ever!!!!! 5 stars
6/10/04 CEB It was the absolute BEST movie i have ever seen they should make abother one just like it 5 stars
4/17/04 huckster This movie was the worst movie I've ever seen and a diservice ti the original story. 1 stars
3/19/03 Quentin Daniels Awesome 5 stars
11/27/02 joyce wrigght-Menefee I actually think that the movie was o.k. diania needs to sit down! 4 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum The only film I have ever fallen asleep during...in the theater 1 stars
7/22/02 MJtwins The movie was good. Diana Ross was bad. Michael Jackson was the highlight. 4 stars
7/18/02 KMG THE TITLE SOUNDS LIKE A CHILD PORN MJ WOULD PRODUCE 2 stars
5/29/02 Sam A haunting musical. 5 stars
3/25/02 Jimmy great movie 5 stars
3/14/02 Lizzy It's spectacluar , it's refreshing , makes you want to get up and dance! The cast is great 5 stars
11/29/01 vt it sucked...lame movie!!! 1 stars
9/09/01 Butterbean A movie with groovy cinematography. It's a hip version of the cornball original. 4 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat I don't know what to say about it. 3 stars
6/18/01 Phil J. Kau One to watch more than once. Sticks with you. 5 stars
4/01/01 Andrew Carden An extremly colorful and spectacular musical. 4 stars
3/16/01 Brittany I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!! I am a huge Michael Jackson fan. The music & dancing was great!!! 5 stars
3/15/01 The Universal Guardian This movie is great. When will the filmmakers update it? 4 stars
1/04/01 Marlandus Goodloe It's a fantastic movie, I liked the set design, the music, and the chroagraghy 5 stars
12/16/00 Dave A wonderful score and eye-popping sets makes "The Wiz" a film fantasy worth watching. 4 stars
11/17/00 Mary Roberts A great family film. The roles are adjusted to fit the actors. A modern version in its tim 4 stars
9/13/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Diana Ross stole this movie from Stephanie Mills. May Miss Ross burn for all time! 1 stars
4/24/00 LaQuana B. I found this movie very entertaining because I'm glad to see blacks at their best. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Oct-1978 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1979


Directed by
  Sidney Lumet

Written by
  Joel Schumacher

Cast
  Diana Ross
  Michael Jackson
  Nipsey Russell
  Mabel King
  Lena Horne
  Richard Pryor



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast