More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.74

Awesome38.1%
Worth A Look: 28.57%
Average: 9.52%
Pretty Bad: 16.67%
Total Crap: 7.14%

1 review, 36 user ratings


Latest Reviews

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

Almost Coming, Almost Dying by Jay Seaver

Blade Runner 2049 by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Wizards
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Bakshi should stick to sleazy urban satire."
2 stars

Ralph Bakshi's first whack at feature-length animated fantasy is preferable to his later 'Lord of the Rings,' if only because it's about an hour shorter.

It also has moments of ragged Bakshi-style humor, mostly involving the wizened, tough-talking good wizard or the bumbling forces of evil. But this is pretty much straight comic-book stuff with occasional pretensions to satire.

It's not enough that the villains are obvious Nazi surrogates; Bakshi also has the evil wizard use footage of Hitler's armies as a weapon against the good warriors. It's possible that a cartoon primarily aimed at kids might find some legitimate use for such footage, but Wizards doesn't exactly make a case for itself.

Eventually, the film degenerates into sub-Heavy Metal carnage, with hordes of ogres and goblins wielding semi-automatics and riding tanks. Movies like this make you wonder why fantasy and science fiction have a following. It doesn't help that much of Bakshi's character design is ripped off from the work of Vaughn Bodé.

This was Bakshi's first movie for kids, and it feels like one in the worst way.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2503&reviewer=416
originally posted: 03/13/07 04:44:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/09/09 brian There's a really great movie in there somewhere, but I don't think Bakshi quite found it. 4 stars
8/23/09 CTT More Bakshi garbage; still the most overrated animator in history 1 stars
6/27/09 Walter Saw it long ago but I remember I liked it. 4 stars
4/11/09 Dr.Lao Made cheaply and hastily, and it shows! 3 stars
3/21/07 carniv4 Boring Bakshi - it only exists for the final line of dialog. 2 stars
3/04/07 Z-Man great 5 stars
10/27/06 Isaac Baranoff Just plain fun. 5 stars
8/19/05 ES It could have been done waaaay better, but some cool and funny stuff 3 stars
8/06/05 Zack Terrific fantasy! 5 stars
8/06/05 Pierre Amazing film! Another masterpiece! 5 stars
2/16/05 Wilt Chamberlin Brilliant fantasy! 5 stars
1/30/05 Dom DeWilde Ralph Bakshi is one of the greatest filmmakers of all time! Highly underrated! 5 stars
1/22/05 Marce What is it with this guy and nipples? 3 stars
12/14/04 Yvette Johnson The rotoscoped battle scenes were the best in the movie! 5 stars
9/08/04 Bob What are you people talking about??? "Wizards" was FANTASTIC! 5 stars
7/12/04 JiJi The Great I saw this movie for the first time when i was about 4 and i love it! 4 stars
7/11/04 I.M.B. I absolutely loved it! 5 stars
6/07/04 John bad animation meets pretentious non story 1 stars
1/30/04 Z Not my top choice, but good nonetheless. 4 stars
3/02/03 Charles Tatum Unwatchable, boring as hell 1 stars
12/19/02 Zw Cool violence, cool assassin, a surprise ending and Eleanor still gives me a chubby 4 stars
12/05/02 Gary A unique visusal experience. I won't say good or bad, definately unique though. 4 stars
10/26/02 kristin farmer great! charming! cool! saw it in theatre when first came out! 5 stars
9/29/02 Morally Sound Bakshi's best film. "Wizards" rules! 5 stars
8/06/02 Stacy Villeneuve It was great , people are just too critical 4 stars
5/21/02 Graham McDonald The animation's horribly, but the story's pretty interesting,take a look! 4 stars
3/05/02 John Biro I thought it was a relatively good movie. Especially if your stoned. 5 stars
3/04/02 Andrew Imanotgunnatellumylastname Awesome, Superb, Excellent, Heavenly, Marvelous, Fantastic 5 stars
1/11/02 max zhang Eleanor looks hot. Got a trick to dress in that once. 4 stars
12/15/01 J Not bad, but as far as "mature" animation goes I've seen better. 3 stars
5/12/01 D'Artagnan Guilty pleasure indeed! Weird, depressing and impressive images fill your brain for enlight 4 stars
4/24/01 Doust19 Wizards is one of Ralph Bashki's great films, with epic storylines, humour and a twist endi 5 stars
12/16/00 Razorblade Bizarre, twisted, epic fantasy tale! 5 stars
10/09/00 Mark One of my guiltiest of pleasures...not for everybody. 4 stars
7/29/00 Jinx A great "line" movie. Somewhat tiresome psychedelic scenes mar otherwise deep, funny film. 4 stars
5/30/00 James One of the greatest movies ever. Anyone who doesnt like it should get some friends. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Oct-1977 (PG)
  DVD: 25-May-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1978


Directed by
  Ralph Bakshi

Written by
  Ralph Bakshi

Cast
  Jim Connell
  Mark Hamill
  Richard Romanus
  David Proval
  Susan Tyrrell
  Steve Gravers



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast