More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.89

Awesome36.84%
Worth A Look: 35.09%
Average: 10.53%
Pretty Bad: 15.79%
Total Crap: 1.75%

5 reviews, 27 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fireworks (2017) by Jay Seaver

Knuckleball (2018) by Jay Seaver

Roma (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Detour by Peter Sobczynski

Anna and the Apocalypse by Peter Sobczynski

Chuck Steel: Night of the Trampires by Jay Seaver

Suspiria (2018) by Rob Gonsalves

Outlaws, The by Jay Seaver

Unstoppable (2018) by Jay Seaver

2.0 by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Young Sherlock Holmes
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Roo

"Okay, so it's not high cinema, but it was lots of fun...."
4 stars

Did you ever wonder how Holmes and Watson met? Where Holmes learned to play the violin? Where on earth he got that ridiculous hat? Watch this one, and you'll find out....

Sure, it's full of anachronisms. Okay, so the characters are a little two-dimensional. And, yes, sad to say, they make a bit of a hash of Egyptian mythology, years before STARGATE was even written, let alone filmed.

Still, YOUNG SHERLOCK HOLMES is cute and clever, and not a bad kid's movie, and just about everything you'd expect from something that Steven Spielberg was involved with. The cast is excellent, even if the plot is a bit thin. The writing, well, it's as good as most films of the era--this one is a popcorn movie, pure and simple. but the scribes manage to throw in lots of little bits of Holmes trivia. If you're a Sherlock Holmes enthusiast, this one is a must-see.

Even if you're not, it's moderately good time. You'll even see a couple of familiar faces: Nicholas Rowe, the walking stick who played Holmes, turned up recently in LOCK, STOCK, AND TWO SMOKING BARRELS. Alan Cox, who put in a fine performance as a young Watson, appeared in the ODYSSEY miniseries (along with a good bit of the rest of the cast, from the looks of it).

The special effects were amazing, for the time, and still aren't bad, even fifteen years later. I've seen recent CGI effects that weren't nearly as good as some of the hallucinatory scenes in YOUNG SHERLOCK HOLMES.

Still, if you're an art-film fan or looking for Oscar-quality material, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a fun way to spend a few hours with the kids, it beats NEVERENDING STORY III.

If you or someone you know is an avid reader of Sherlock Holmes mysteries, this one is a must-see.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2510&reviewer=74
originally posted: 11/09/99 07:52:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Features Sherlock Holmes For more in the Sherlock Holmes series, click here.

User Comments

12/19/11 skippy mcdermott Complete drivel. Don't waste your time. Spielberg, Columbus, and Levinson should be ASHAMED 1 stars
9/28/11 C.M. Chan Not perfect, but fun. 4 stars
1/24/11 bill norris 1 of my favs as a kid! still pull this out from time to time 4 stars
7/16/10 the dork knight Indiana Jones for dummies. 2 stars
1/13/09 MOHAMMAD ALI IT IS THE BEST MOVIE . 5 stars
12/25/08 Pav One of my top ten favorites since i saw it 20 years ago. 5 stars
9/06/08 Igor AMAZING!!!! 5 stars
5/21/06 chienne I'm not much of a Holmes fan, but I loved this film. 4 stars
5/06/06 Italo Lenta This is one of favorite films - why all the bad reviews? 5 stars
12/05/05 Marissa This is a great movie for kids! The special effects are just plain awesome! 5 stars
8/02/05 Ric Bland, obvious mystery and mediocre acting. 2 stars
5/10/05 David Fowler Criminally underrated. Bruce Broughton's incredible score should have won an Oscar. Great! 5 stars
7/20/04 Laura Enrech I liked it a lot, above all how they speak I love their perfect english, it´s amazing. 5 stars
1/04/04 Vince Excellent - one of my favorites 5 stars
10/22/03 ML This is a wonderful movie that deserves much more acclaim than it got! 5 stars
8/15/03 Romek Amazing Movie-! Has been my fav. since 5th grade 5 stars
6/15/03 Jack Sommersby Thoroughly entertaning, even with its creaky finale. 4 stars
11/22/02 Myra Breckinridge Entertaining introduction to Holmes for new generations 4 stars
10/17/02 Charles Tatum Levinson should hire himself out more often 5 stars
4/03/02 T. Pendleton Simply put, I just love this film. 5 stars
3/14/02 A. Wallace If you are a huge Sherlock Holmes fan you will want to see this film 4 stars
11/20/01 Sara My favorite guilty pleasure... I love this movie. 5 stars
9/08/01 The Love of Three Mangoes I love this film - great score, characters, plot, cinematography. Well worth your time. 5 stars
5/28/01 Sarah This is my favorite movie, along with "Almost Famous" and "Billy Elliot." 5 stars
5/13/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) This movie is amazing. I'm ashamed to say how many times I've seen it. 4 stars
11/24/00 Mic Not in any way convincing or captivating after the first half or so. 2 stars
6/07/00 Jackie Benjamin well in the information on the big case but a little vague, but overall it was great 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Dec-1985 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Mar-1986


Directed by
  Barry Levinson

Written by
  Chris Columbus

Cast
  Nicholas Rowe
  Alan Cox
  Sophie Ward
  Anthony Higgins
  Susan Fleetwood
  Nigel Stock



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast