More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.75

Awesome: 15%
Worth A Look: 15%
Average: 10%
Pretty Bad50%
Total Crap: 10%

2 reviews, 28 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Creepshow 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by the Grinch

"'Is to the original Creepshow what CRACKED is to MAD magazine"
2 stars

Even when I saw this for the first time as a kid, I knew it was a dud. This is inferior to its predecessor in almost every way. Should be referred to as 'Weakshow'.

I'm hoping you've seen the original CREEPSHOW, right? Well, go watch it again, because this one never happened, ok? Where Creepshow was a clever little homage to the old E.C. Tales from the Crypt/Vault of Horror comics, Creepshow 2 is just an homage to...fromage. The only thing that I can think happened is that someone said "Hey, Creepshow did pretty well and scored a devoted audience, since we have some money left over from our last film's catering budget, let's make another one and rake it in!"

I can't even remember anything worthwhile about this flick. Effects artist Tom Savini plays a nice little cameo as the Cryptmasteresque "Creep", but it's nowhere near as interesting a story lead-in as the evil little boy from the original Creepshow.

It seems that not only did they skimp on the writing, but on the actual amount of stories this time around. Creepshow had 5 little morbid morsels to chew on...this one has like 3, and morsels they ain't, boils and ghouls. A killer cigarshop Indian (and I'm not talking about Apu), the BLOB's country cousin, and a hitch-hiker that won't stay dead. That's about it. Actually, the Blob inspired story isn't so bad, probably the best of the bunch being as it was based on a Stephen King short story (I always thought his short stories were better than his books). But I'm being kind here.

Instead of renting this, just go buy a reprint of "Vault of Horror" or "Haunt of Fear". You'll get way more hollers for your dollars, kiddies.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2515&reviewer=156
originally posted: 11/17/99 15:38:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell it sux like the raft episode tho 1 stars
12/11/12 Lisa A good sequel. The Raft and The Hitchhiker are two of the bets Creepshow stories. 5 stars
6/22/11 Michael Creepshow 2 is just plain awful 1 stars
1/10/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Huge letdown from the original. 2 stars
5/30/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess Not bad, but know where the first 3 stars
8/19/07 cody a decent sequel with lot scary stories, the best being the hitchiker. 3 stars
3/22/07 action movie fan passable anthology 3 stars
8/12/05 ES The raft was excellent, the others eh, not so much 4 stars
2/16/05 Wilt Chamberlin Stephen King and George Romero are back! 5 stars
10/12/04 kevin watts I KNOW IVE SEEN IT BUT CANT REMEMBER IT.YOU KNOW WHERE IM GOING WITH THIS 2 stars
7/20/04 Mark Went you bring out on DVD Creepshow 1 it great film 5 stars
3/21/04 john the raft is worthwhile -the rest is boring and uninspired 2 stars
11/06/03 American Slasher Goddess The Raft is the only good one, the other two are stupid. 2 stars
9/21/03 prince6 Suprisingly decent horror anthology, enjoy. 4 stars
8/08/03 Adrian Rocha Very Good Movie 5 stars
4/19/03 y2mckay Only story #2 "The Raft" is halfway decent. Animation between stories SUCKS ASS 2 stars
4/06/03 Kyle If it weren't for the 2nd story, this would be completely worthless. 2 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby All 3 stories are lame, but the anime and boobs are decent. 2 stars
10/20/02 Charles Tatum How the mighty have fallen 1 stars
9/12/02 palaboy101 The best of the bunch is "The Raft" 4 stars
8/06/01 ted v. Great, but not as good as the first movie... 4 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L This movie blows chunks... 1 stars
4/01/01 Andrew Carden Really, really bad camera work, but surprisingly scary. 3 stars
1/04/01 Andrew Lines The 2nd and 3rd stories r the best and quite scary but the 1st has ok gore<on the fat guy> 5 stars
8/22/00 oZed Great scary-movie 5 stars
6/12/00 Bender "Shut up laverne or i'll smoke you, I mean it" Very funny about as good as the original 4 stars
3/16/00 Steve Layne For some reason I think This movie a little more entertaining than the original. ahoot also 4 stars
2/16/00 Kyle Broflovski Needed more segments...Liked "The Raft", though... 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jan-1987 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast