More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.16

Awesome35.56%
Worth A Look: 11.11%
Average: 20%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 33.33%

2 reviews, 33 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Alien Abduction (2014) by Charles Tatum

Nightcrawler by Peter Sobczynski

Before I Go to Sleep by Peter Sobczynski

Fury (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Babadook, The by Daniel Kelly

John Wick by Greg Ursic

Jinxed! by Charles Tatum

Wait Until Dark by Jay Seaver

Happy New Year (2014) by Jay Seaver

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bloodsucking Freaks
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"The nastiest, filthiest and just about WORST thing you will EVER SEE!"
1 stars

And I'm not kidding. Once again, I present myself with a daunting task: How to deter you from something after making it sound COOL! Well, if your idea of fun is torture, molestation, degradation and filth, nothing I can say will help you (except for maybe JUMP!)

This is that movie you've always heard of, the one that's supposed to be the litmus test for those with strong stomachs, the one where they maybe killed live people and which would make you sick just by thinking about renting it. Kids used to whisper about it on street-corners and no self-respecing video store would stock it. It's been banned, changed titles and is now out of print. It's a badge of honor if you've seen it once, and it's a severe mental imbalance on your part if you've seen it twice.

Basically, these guys put on a play in which they 'simulate' horrible torture and murder. But the surprise is that they are really killing people. But there is no real plot to speak of, merely a series of connected scenes of brutal torture and really disturbing images.

You'll see women get their teeth pulled out with pliers, molested by dwarves and just basically disrespected in many ways. You'll see bodies torn apart and disemboweled and you'll even see one guy drill a hole in a some poor schmuck's head, insert a straw, and drink his brain! I can't really imagine who would get a thrill from this stuff, but rest assured I do not want to party with him.

It's darkly lit and seedy and sleazy, which makes it all the more disturbing. If you think the idea of filthy naked women fighting in a giant cage is sexy, I would have to disagree, because I've seen THIS MOVIE!

As a matter of fact, I can see no real point at ALL in reviewing this movie, as you've never seen it (unless you're a freak like me) and you almost definitely never WILL. Be grateful for that. I'm just writing this as a catharsis, as I've been trying to cleanse myself of this experience for the past 10 years. That's what I get for watching a movie on a bet.

When people use the term 'bottom of the barrel', they often forget about the UNDERSIDE of the barrel, which is where poorly-made dreck like this belongs. It offers absolutely NOTHING in the way of entertainment, and I think you're a cruel little nutcase if you talk someone else into seeing it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2540&reviewer=128
originally posted: 05/17/00 23:52:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/19/14 stbsksd USA 4 stars
6/16/14 PAUL SHORTT DEPRAVED, SICKENING TRASH 1 stars
4/26/13 Black Wilder Ralphus for president!! 5 stars
1/25/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Funny horror flick. Not for the faint hearted. 4 stars
1/20/09 Church of Scientology Are these ideas copywritten and can we apply them? 5 stars
1/12/09 Dave I own it and I love it, in my top 5 list of must see 5 stars
4/19/08 JP Ward The artless incompetence of Battlefield Earth on a grindhouse budget 1 stars
4/07/08 Emo kid this movie got me off so many times like argh 5 stars
12/19/07 Charles Tatum Now we know where Eli Roth got his ideas 1 stars
9/23/07 mr. mike the greatest show on earth! 4 stars
7/28/07 Wee Todd Didd Excellent example of low budget horror, pointless violence, nudity and psycho midgets! 3 stars
5/11/07 Tim Chizmar I loved this movie. Always have.. always will. "I Spit on Your Grave" is good too. 5 stars
12/01/06 Matthew One of my favorites. If you don't find this amusing, you have a strange sense of humor... 5 stars
7/19/06 brendan cunning one of the worst movies i have seen in a long time 1 stars
5/23/06 Elon E. Hall This is a sadistic fantasy film with little or no artistic merit. 1 stars
12/10/05 Tash They recently rereleased it to dvd... it disturbed me dramatically. But I watched to end. 3 stars
4/11/05 Hugh G. Rection This movie is halarious,great for family reunions and parties. 5 stars
11/22/03 Mike Outstanding!! 5 stars
8/02/03 argh why the fuck movies like this exist?!! as bad as pink flamingo 1 stars
7/16/03 DZK great movie - amongst the kings of movies! 5 stars
7/12/03 frankie delmane Brilliant, bloody post modern take on the horrors of certain taboo realities. Great. 5 stars
6/27/03 Jimmy Yearwood Drive-in freaks rejoice!!..just don't show this one to your girlfriend..very nasty8) 5 + 5 stars
3/08/03 Jack Sommersby Exploitive yet compulsively watchable -- even if it's atrociously made. 3 stars
1/21/03 .Choadushouse. Movie itself is F'n HORRIBLE. Skipped alot of scenes. Only worth it for the INSANE sadism. 4 stars
1/01/03 Jack Sommersby Good, nasty fun; errs when dealing with "plot". Great brain-sucking! 4 stars
9/05/02 Sithard Lithe Beautiful and haunting. 5 stars
7/31/02 Mary I broke up with my boyfriend after catching him watching this. He's a sick puppy. 1 stars
6/03/02 Mark Hollyoak Totally Awesome Film not to be missed 5 stars
12/16/01 Eddy Madden One of the all time best and accurate depiction of the Ancient Madden family traditions 5 stars
11/27/01 ManDecay Absolute Sadism yes, but it's a MOVIE! A Freakin' CultHeadScrew of a movie!!!! 5 stars
4/02/01 Scott Martin WOW, A must for Frat Parties 5 stars
1/23/01 plantostickthat@hotmail.com this SUX 1 stars
5/21/00 Greyjack Great Scott's review is too kind---this film makes "Caligula" look like Branagh's "Hamlet". 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1978 (NR)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Jan-1978 (R)


Directed by
  Joel M. Reed

Written by
  Joel M. Reed

Cast
  Seamus O'Brien
  Niles McMaster
  Dan Fauci
  Viju Krem



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast