More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.75

Awesome: 21.51%
Worth A Look50.54%
Average: 15.05%
Pretty Bad: 7.53%
Total Crap: 5.38%

7 reviews, 51 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lion King, The (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Stare by Jay Seaver

DreadOut by Jay Seaver

S He by Jay Seaver

We Are Little Zombies by Jay Seaver

Lion King, The (2019) by alejandroariera

Darlin' by Jay Seaver

Astronaut (2019) by Jay Seaver

White Storm 2: Drug Lords, The by Jay Seaver

Vivarium by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Mulan (1998)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"If I was eleven years old, I'd see it again. I would."
4 stars

Some people thought Hercules was awesome. I didn't. If you did, you'll fart bubbles at Mulan.

Mulan is the story of a cross-dressing asian girl (hey, it's Disney, they can do that) who decides to honor her father by pretending to be a warrior and helping the Chinese defend against the Mongols.

The film looks gorgeous. Well animated, beautifully drawn, some of the shots are Imax-ish in the extreme. It's funny and it includes the voices of Donnie Osmond, Pat Morita and Eddie Murphy.

Yes, yes, the same Eddie Murphy who likes cross-dressing whores to suck his.. toes.. only to have them die a month later in a bizarre window-falling accident, wants to entertain your kiddies. Again, this is a Disney film, they can do that kind of thing. And surprise, surprise, Eddie doesn't stink.

Mulan is a good date flick. Heck, I got some when I saw it.
It has enough suspense and humor to entertain the kids, yet also enough to keep adults busy (when they aren't... otherwise occupied).

Grab some popcorn, grab your date and enjoy.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=26&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/13/98 13:27:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/24/15 WALTER Best Disney movie since Sleeping Beauty and Aladdin. 5 stars
10/20/11 Magic Like Hunchback, a nearly great movie offset by annoying comic relief. Eddie Murphy, sigh. 4 stars
4/08/10 PAUL SHORTT ENJOYABLE ANIMATION, WELL STAGED AND DESIGNED 3 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. mulan is a great role model :] 4 stars
11/05/08 Dominic MULAN is just as good as Fox's recent animated feature film,ANASTASIA. 5 stars
9/01/08 Little Buddy Released after Anastasia,Hercules,All Dogs Go To Heaven 2,Hunchback,Pocahontas,Goofy Movie. 5 stars
8/31/08 Shaun Wallner My daughter loves this movie! 5 stars
7/27/08 The Dork Knight Snore. 1 stars
11/11/06 David Cohen Possibly the last really good Disney flick 4 stars
6/20/06 Herculade Tepid "girl-power" misfire. Weak villain, weak action, weak animation. 2 stars
12/23/05 cody a good disney movie about girl who saves her country, a lot of laughs, you the man sort of! 4 stars
10/24/05 tejaswi good 2 stars
8/11/05 ES Typical north american sentiment given to the wrong place/time, PC garbage 1 stars
11/01/04 Naka The last good Disney movie to date...but at least they went out with a bang. 5 stars
5/15/04 Sean Scanlan Fresh, however the humor is weak 3 stars
3/27/04 samuel disney just isn't what ot used to be... 2 stars
1/07/04 John rather dull story - emotionally uninvolving 2 stars
12/20/03 K.P. Great story and lessen in life 5 stars
10/14/03 Kendra Watson Basically women can do the same things that men can, sometime better! 5 stars
1/02/03 John Aster Habig Disney should've stop w/ Aladdin 1 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Middle of the road, harmless Disney product 4 stars
5/15/02 Blake Lots and Lots of fun! 5 stars
4/27/02 Tabitha Cartwright The folly of political correctness this time offensively stereotypes Mongolians! 2 stars
10/22/01 Andrew Carden Just Doesn't Make Any Sense...Disney Isn't Good Anymore. 1 stars
9/14/01 Butterbean A forgettable Disney movie 3 stars
8/07/01 ted v. very good movie 4 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Lots of fun! 5 stars
5/04/01 Gracy Lionheart I won tickets to Mulan. It was so-so...the worst part was Eddie Murphy. 3 stars
4/09/01 Gary Another not so good Disney movie. Mulan-Tarzan have been dissapointments! 3 stars
3/26/01 Ichabod Crane EDDIE MURPHY RUINED IT!!! WHY ALL THAT COMEDY?!!!! 2 stars
2/28/01 SHARODI SHABNAM well at the first it was preety funky and also funny i especilly like the songs well that's 5 stars
2/12/01 LOOBER A good animated movie, but Princess Mononoke is better 3 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin good movie but the comic relief is UNNECESSARY in such dramatic film. 3 stars
4/04/00 Penny I love Mulan. She is so sweet and brings tears to my ears. 5 stars
9/06/99 BBReBozo I bet is pissed off China but good! Fun movie. 5 stars
8/12/99 Merry One of Disney's best - gorgeous animation and a working plot 5 stars
3/13/99 Ah Dooey Better than Pukahontas and Anastasia 4 stars
1/06/99 demon_shredder Mulan rocks 5 stars
11/03/98 Philip Jan It's a great film with a great story and an excellent score by Goldsmith. 5 stars
10/29/98 zenball licks the bottom of the zenball's sack 1 stars
10/07/98 Korny Island They didn't sing much!! Extra stars for that! 4 stars
9/28/98 Heather Soundtrack wasn't memorable, but the story and emotion were. 4 stars
9/25/98 Geek Master Great one! 5 stars
9/23/98 ShadowStar© Best Disney flick since "The Lion King" but the music could've been much better. 4 stars
9/20/98 MR HOLLYWOOD PURE MAGIC!!!, (though some songs are stupid) 4 stars
9/16/98 Trav Jerry Goldsmith will win an Oscar for this wonderful, sweeping filmscore! 5 stars
9/05/98 pooky the bald Loved this fucking movie. And I thought I was seeing it just for my girlfriend. 5 stars
9/05/98 Jon The only true great Disney animated flick. 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Not real good. One or two good scenes, but I wasn't impressed. 2 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee great scenery, lame songs, some funny bits. 3 stars
8/13/98 {{OZ}} Brilliant. Forget Eddie Murphy is in it. It's good fun. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Jun-1998 (G)
  DVD: 26-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Sep-1998 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast