More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.75

Awesome: 21.51%
Worth A Look50.54%
Average: 15.05%
Pretty Bad: 7.53%
Total Crap: 5.38%

7 reviews, 51 user ratings



Mulan
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Paulapalooza

"Not as good as Disney's finest, but deserving nonetheless"
4 stars

A step up for Disneymation, or a further lapse into commercial quagmire? That was the question on my mind as I went to see this movie.

All right, let's be honest. "The Little Mermaid," "Beauty and the Beast," and "Aladdin" made Disney get complacent. They threw us "The Lion King," it made buckets of undeserved luchre (seeing as how it simply IS NOT as good as the three aforementioned gems), and then they got careless. "Pocahontas"? Whatever. "Hunchback"? It was a kick to see a villain who was a horny self-loather, but ya got over it. "Hercules"? Pass. Now we have "Mulan," and while it doesn't have quite the kick of the three flicks that resurrected Disney's Toons from the brink, it's still a charming little story that's also an empowering fable for all the girlies out there.

The story: Bad guys invade China. Mulan, who has proven herself unsuitable as a "traditional" wife, steals her elderly father's armor and poses as his "son," Ping, so that military service won't cause his certain death and she can bring honor to her family. Eddie Murphy, newly remade as a kid-friendly wiseass, plays the guardian spirit-dragon sent along to help Mulan on her quest. Other notable voices include Harvey Fierstein(?) and the fantastic Miguel Ferrer as the head bad dude.

Unlike older Disney fare, most of the intense violence in this sucker is only hinted at, so the kiddies shouldn't get too upset over the off-camera runnings-through and arrows-to-the-back. Most of the humor is appropriate to the situations presented, but there are far fewer chuckles aimed at the adult audience than in, say, "Aladdin." I have to give away my favorite line, though, as it caused me to belly-laugh unexpectedly: "I hope I never see a naked man again." Pure brilliance that it made it through the strident, uptight Disney censorship machine. Expect it to be edited out of the home video as Disney bows to pressure groups.

That brings me to another reason I dug this movie. There are a couple of cross-dressing jokes, but the whole concept is quietly subversive. Also, the cheesy romance angle isn't overt unti the end of the movie. There's enough action to keep the typical boys happy, enough fancifulness to keep the typical girls happy, and enough humor to keep everybody busy until something better comes along. The animation is also very nice, with some computer enhancements showing up for some key scenes. Very slick and smooth for the most part.

So go see it. You might as well know what you're getting when you have to buy the video for your kid, anyway.

An imperfect yet rollicking ride. Hopefully Disney's back on track.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=26&reviewer=21
originally posted: 09/12/98 06:39:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/24/15 WALTER Best Disney movie since Sleeping Beauty and Aladdin. 5 stars
10/20/11 Magic Like Hunchback, a nearly great movie offset by annoying comic relief. Eddie Murphy, sigh. 4 stars
4/08/10 PAUL SHORTT ENJOYABLE ANIMATION, WELL STAGED AND DESIGNED 3 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. mulan is a great role model :] 4 stars
11/05/08 Dominic MULAN is just as good as Fox's recent animated feature film,ANASTASIA. 5 stars
9/01/08 Little Buddy Released after Anastasia,Hercules,All Dogs Go To Heaven 2,Hunchback,Pocahontas,Goofy Movie. 5 stars
8/31/08 Shaun Wallner My daughter loves this movie! 5 stars
7/27/08 The Dork Knight Snore. 1 stars
11/11/06 David Cohen Possibly the last really good Disney flick 4 stars
6/20/06 Herculade Tepid "girl-power" misfire. Weak villain, weak action, weak animation. 2 stars
12/23/05 cody a good disney movie about girl who saves her country, a lot of laughs, you the man sort of! 4 stars
10/24/05 tejaswi good 2 stars
8/11/05 ES Typical north american sentiment given to the wrong place/time, PC garbage 1 stars
11/01/04 Naka The last good Disney movie to date...but at least they went out with a bang. 5 stars
5/15/04 Sean Scanlan Fresh, however the humor is weak 3 stars
3/27/04 samuel disney just isn't what ot used to be... 2 stars
1/07/04 John rather dull story - emotionally uninvolving 2 stars
12/20/03 K.P. Great story and lessen in life 5 stars
10/14/03 Kendra Watson Basically women can do the same things that men can, sometime better! 5 stars
1/02/03 John Aster Habig Disney should've stop w/ Aladdin 1 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Middle of the road, harmless Disney product 4 stars
5/15/02 Blake Lots and Lots of fun! 5 stars
4/27/02 Tabitha Cartwright The folly of political correctness this time offensively stereotypes Mongolians! 2 stars
10/22/01 Andrew Carden Just Doesn't Make Any Sense...Disney Isn't Good Anymore. 1 stars
9/14/01 Butterbean A forgettable Disney movie 3 stars
8/07/01 ted v. very good movie 4 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Lots of fun! 5 stars
5/04/01 Gracy Lionheart I won tickets to Mulan. It was so-so...the worst part was Eddie Murphy. 3 stars
4/09/01 Gary Another not so good Disney movie. Mulan-Tarzan have been dissapointments! 3 stars
3/26/01 Ichabod Crane EDDIE MURPHY RUINED IT!!! WHY ALL THAT COMEDY?!!!! 2 stars
2/28/01 SHARODI SHABNAM well at the first it was preety funky and also funny i especilly like the songs well that's 5 stars
2/12/01 LOOBER A good animated movie, but Princess Mononoke is better 3 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin good movie but the comic relief is UNNECESSARY in such dramatic film. 3 stars
4/04/00 Penny I love Mulan. She is so sweet and brings tears to my ears. 5 stars
9/06/99 BBReBozo I bet is pissed off China but good! Fun movie. 5 stars
8/12/99 Merry One of Disney's best - gorgeous animation and a working plot 5 stars
3/13/99 Ah Dooey Better than Pukahontas and Anastasia 4 stars
1/06/99 demon_shredder Mulan rocks 5 stars
11/03/98 Philip Jan It's a great film with a great story and an excellent score by Goldsmith. 5 stars
10/29/98 zenball licks the bottom of the zenball's sack 1 stars
10/07/98 Korny Island They didn't sing much!! Extra stars for that! 4 stars
9/28/98 Heather Soundtrack wasn't memorable, but the story and emotion were. 4 stars
9/25/98 Geek Master Great one! 5 stars
9/23/98 ShadowStar© Best Disney flick since "The Lion King" but the music could've been much better. 4 stars
9/20/98 MR HOLLYWOOD PURE MAGIC!!!, (though some songs are stupid) 4 stars
9/16/98 Trav Jerry Goldsmith will win an Oscar for this wonderful, sweeping filmscore! 5 stars
9/05/98 pooky the bald Loved this fucking movie. And I thought I was seeing it just for my girlfriend. 5 stars
9/05/98 Jon The only true great Disney animated flick. 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Not real good. One or two good scenes, but I wasn't impressed. 2 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee great scenery, lame songs, some funny bits. 3 stars
8/13/98 {{OZ}} Brilliant. Forget Eddie Murphy is in it. It's good fun. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Jun-1998 (G)
  DVD: 26-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Sep-1998 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast