More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.75

Awesome: 21.51%
Worth A Look50.54%
Average: 15.05%
Pretty Bad: 7.53%
Total Crap: 5.38%

7 reviews, 51 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Mulan
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"eddie murphy does a flick about cross dressers. haha."
4 stars

Not as bad as I thought it was gunna be. Not bad at all.

I was expecting the worst. See, the mouse and I, we haven't been on very good terms lately. Since Pochahontas, really. I've been very dissapointed in Monsieur Mousey, and I had him pegged as a sick, twisted tyrant, and the worst possible role model for the next generation. Seriously, what was the Hunchback of Notre Dame? What was that? And Hercules? Let's not go there. So that's basically the state of mind I'm in. And I go to see Mulan because, well fuck all, I'm stuck in this godforsaken country and the choices were this or the freakin Horse Whisperer, and I figure at least Eddie Murphy will make me laugh a little.

One main problem, in fact, the biggest, most glaring problem I have with the big Mouse is their portrayal of women. If they decide to be the monopoly, the kid's everything, and come out with bullshit like Pochahontas or that hanger they drew for hercules or a freakin gypsy prostitute like in Hunchback, then no thank you, I'll just pop in some teletubbies, alright? They were pushin me towards the teletubbies. That in itself should be a crime.

But they surprised me. Mulan kicks ass. Ok, she wimps out at the end there, but dammit, she kicks Donny Osmond's butt, and puts him and Eddie Murphy and even George Takei in their place.

I like Mulan. Cause she kicks ass, and she's a cross dresser and all that good stuff, but mostly because she saves China by using her mind, not her buff little bod. I mean, it's a streach and all, but the kids don't know that. Disney actually has a positive message. Instead of "Hey little mermaid, give up your life, your family, your voice, your friends, your fins, and really, your whole personality so you can trick this man into loving you and you can belong to him, ok?" it's more like "Your culture may think you're a worthless prize for some idiot, testosterone-driven male, but we want you to put on men's clothing and show those guys how to use thier brains instead of brawn and they may be stupid and ungrateful and incredibly sexist but guess what, you'll save the whole country from those evil huns and you'll do it with style, babe. go get 'em!" I can dig that. I'd much rather that than the teletubbies.

Of course, this being the world we live in, she gives up all her glory and rewards and goes back home to beg the acknowledgment of her father (which he gives...that was so nineties) and to get a husband! that's the important thing! She finally got a husband! WooHoo!

The animation was pretty damn cool. Very stylized and lovely and it worked and I liked it, and that's what matters. My opinion. And unlike Prince of Egypt, the computer stuff was really well integrated. Songs were...let's say... not distracting. And from me, that's a shiny gold star.

It's Disney. I know I can't ask for them to really make a movie where women and men come out as GASP! Equals. Much less ones that the kiddies might see. I give it 4 sporks, cause they're gettin there. They better not turn the Joan of Arc story into a young maid's quest to find true love and thus happiness.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=26&reviewer=6
originally posted: 01/04/99 11:27:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/24/15 WALTER Best Disney movie since Sleeping Beauty and Aladdin. 5 stars
10/20/11 Magic Like Hunchback, a nearly great movie offset by annoying comic relief. Eddie Murphy, sigh. 4 stars
4/08/10 PAUL SHORTT ENJOYABLE ANIMATION, WELL STAGED AND DESIGNED 3 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. mulan is a great role model :] 4 stars
11/05/08 Dominic MULAN is just as good as Fox's recent animated feature film,ANASTASIA. 5 stars
9/01/08 Little Buddy Released after Anastasia,Hercules,All Dogs Go To Heaven 2,Hunchback,Pocahontas,Goofy Movie. 5 stars
8/31/08 Shaun Wallner My daughter loves this movie! 5 stars
7/27/08 The Dork Knight Snore. 1 stars
11/11/06 David Cohen Possibly the last really good Disney flick 4 stars
6/20/06 Herculade Tepid "girl-power" misfire. Weak villain, weak action, weak animation. 2 stars
12/23/05 cody a good disney movie about girl who saves her country, a lot of laughs, you the man sort of! 4 stars
10/24/05 tejaswi good 2 stars
8/11/05 ES Typical north american sentiment given to the wrong place/time, PC garbage 1 stars
11/01/04 Naka The last good Disney movie to date...but at least they went out with a bang. 5 stars
5/15/04 Sean Scanlan Fresh, however the humor is weak 3 stars
3/27/04 samuel disney just isn't what ot used to be... 2 stars
1/07/04 John rather dull story - emotionally uninvolving 2 stars
12/20/03 K.P. Great story and lessen in life 5 stars
10/14/03 Kendra Watson Basically women can do the same things that men can, sometime better! 5 stars
1/02/03 John Aster Habig Disney should've stop w/ Aladdin 1 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Middle of the road, harmless Disney product 4 stars
5/15/02 Blake Lots and Lots of fun! 5 stars
4/27/02 Tabitha Cartwright The folly of political correctness this time offensively stereotypes Mongolians! 2 stars
10/22/01 Andrew Carden Just Doesn't Make Any Sense...Disney Isn't Good Anymore. 1 stars
9/14/01 Butterbean A forgettable Disney movie 3 stars
8/07/01 ted v. very good movie 4 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Lots of fun! 5 stars
5/04/01 Gracy Lionheart I won tickets to Mulan. It was so-so...the worst part was Eddie Murphy. 3 stars
4/09/01 Gary Another not so good Disney movie. Mulan-Tarzan have been dissapointments! 3 stars
3/26/01 Ichabod Crane EDDIE MURPHY RUINED IT!!! WHY ALL THAT COMEDY?!!!! 2 stars
2/28/01 SHARODI SHABNAM well at the first it was preety funky and also funny i especilly like the songs well that's 5 stars
2/12/01 LOOBER A good animated movie, but Princess Mononoke is better 3 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin good movie but the comic relief is UNNECESSARY in such dramatic film. 3 stars
4/04/00 Penny I love Mulan. She is so sweet and brings tears to my ears. 5 stars
9/06/99 BBReBozo I bet is pissed off China but good! Fun movie. 5 stars
8/12/99 Merry One of Disney's best - gorgeous animation and a working plot 5 stars
3/13/99 Ah Dooey Better than Pukahontas and Anastasia 4 stars
1/06/99 demon_shredder Mulan rocks 5 stars
11/03/98 Philip Jan It's a great film with a great story and an excellent score by Goldsmith. 5 stars
10/29/98 zenball licks the bottom of the zenball's sack 1 stars
10/07/98 Korny Island They didn't sing much!! Extra stars for that! 4 stars
9/28/98 Heather Soundtrack wasn't memorable, but the story and emotion were. 4 stars
9/25/98 Geek Master Great one! 5 stars
9/23/98 ShadowStar© Best Disney flick since "The Lion King" but the music could've been much better. 4 stars
9/20/98 MR HOLLYWOOD PURE MAGIC!!!, (though some songs are stupid) 4 stars
9/16/98 Trav Jerry Goldsmith will win an Oscar for this wonderful, sweeping filmscore! 5 stars
9/05/98 pooky the bald Loved this fucking movie. And I thought I was seeing it just for my girlfriend. 5 stars
9/05/98 Jon The only true great Disney animated flick. 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Not real good. One or two good scenes, but I wasn't impressed. 2 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee great scenery, lame songs, some funny bits. 3 stars
8/13/98 {{OZ}} Brilliant. Forget Eddie Murphy is in it. It's good fun. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Jun-1998 (G)
  DVD: 26-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Sep-1998 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast