More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.57

Awesome: 6.12%
Worth A Look30.61%
Average: 6.12%
Pretty Bad: 28.57%
Total Crap: 28.57%

3 reviews, 31 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Fierce Creatures
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by rotten f. milk

"Good gracious, I think I've stumbled on a shitload o laughs..."
4 stars

If Jesus Christ had a younger brother, I'd hate being that brother. Such is the case with Fierce Creatures.

Fierce Creatures is a good film which was stained by the presence of a greater predecessor. The predecessor, being 1988's A Fish Called Wanda, one of the largest grossing films in British history.

You see, Fierce Creatures is almost a sequel of A Fish Called Wanda. It has almost the same cast, written by the same man, same crew, hell, the posters are almost identical. But keep in mind, it is NOT a sequel. It has a very different plot. In Fierce Creatures, a smalltown zoo is taken over by a megacoporation. In order to keep the zoo from being put out of business, the zoo decides to have only fierce creatures in order to draw a crowd.

In itself, deprived of comparisons, Fierce Creatures is a film which can hold its own. Sure, it ain't a Wanda, but it's not supposed to be. I mean, the comedic timing between Cleese, Palin, Kline and Curtis is still rather sharp. And the story carries out nicely.

In short, I like it.

If you want another Fish Called Wanda just rent Wanda. This is Fierce Creatures, bub.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=268&reviewer=3
originally posted: 08/18/98 11:02:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/27/10 PAUL SHORTT HEAVY HANDED COMEDY 2 stars
5/03/09 Dane Youssef Fun for the whole family. Cleese brings the joy he gave with Monty Python & Fawlty Towers 5 stars
1/31/06 John Aster Habig More Monty Python than Fish Called Wanda 5 stars
8/25/05 ES thought it was alright 3 stars
4/13/05 John Aster Habig MICHAEL PALIN and JOHN CLEESE are ALWAYS HYSTERICAL TOGETHER the animals are so cute 4 stars
2/18/04 tatum Ferociously unfunny 2 stars
1/30/04 ROY L. CAIN,JR. A FISH CALLED WANDA reunion ( Don't call me stupid!) 5 stars
12/20/03 john what happened there???? from the same people that made "Wanda"?? - only for small children 2 stars
5/23/03 mr. Pink Not as bad as many suggested. O.K. so it isn't Wanda, but it's still good. 4 stars
4/17/03 Jack Bourbon Where were the jokes?????????????????? 1 stars
9/23/02 I Can't Swim Its not that bad, and I never even saw "Fish Called Wanda" nor wanted to.. 4 stars
7/09/02 CVJ NWO hey fuckhead you are a fucking poof 1 stars
7/08/02 Neal Patel OHHH YYYEAHH the animals were nice John Cleese is SO attractive 4 stars
4/03/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Fish Called Wanda cast just couldn't pull off a repeat. Lame. 3 stars
3/26/02 Zargo it's pretty funny, but I'll admit that John cleese is capable of ALOT better 4 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden It Was Better Then A Fish Called Wanda. 1 stars
8/29/01 Gary This is poor, this is not funny, this is just fucking ugly. 1 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa I don't know what people see about "Fierce Creatures" that is so fucked up! It's really fun 4 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L What a disappointment!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
2/07/00 Richard Wright Oh dear, Oh dear. I thought A Fish Called Wanda was overrated but this is just plain bad. 2 stars
9/11/99 Jaddax I thought it was very funny any one who didn`t is a smeg head 4 stars
9/09/99 the Grinch Of course it's no Wanda..did it say "A Fish Called Wanda Part 2"? No ferkin durhey! 4 stars
5/14/99 Jaddax i thought it was very funny 4 stars
1/10/99 Dasha Crap, crap, crap 1 stars
10/12/98 Sheck Quality control? Thin, contrived, trite story. Not funny or cute. You WILL cringe. 2 stars
9/26/98 Maegs A cast with incredible potential, with no script. It was pitiful to watch. 2 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy saw it for free. it wasnt anything special. python fans will enjoy it. 3 stars
8/26/98 Pete This is no 'Wanda'. They should have kept delaying on this 'sequel'. 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball I'll stab you. 1 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet I guess you have to be a big fan to like this, COS IT WAS CRAP! 2 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} A sad sorry sack o'shit Fish Called Wanda rip. Entire 2nd half was a reshoot. Yuck! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Jan-1997 (PG)
  DVD: 20-Jan-1998

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast